16 church members suffocate, one dies at service | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 July 2014

16 church members suffocate, one dies at service

A six year old boy has been confirmed dead while 16 others are receiving treatment for suffocation after they inhaled carbon monoxide fumes from a generator they were using during worship at the Young People's Christian Fellowship in Aba, Abia state today Saturday July 26th.

According to eyewitnesses, the worshipers were doing their Friday night vigil with a generator close by when they started to collapse one by one. Residents of Eziukwu road where the worship centre is located woke up this morning to find the worshipers unconscious. There were initial fears that they'd all died but all of them, except a 6 year old boy, recovered in the hospital.

The victims are all on admission at Austine Grace Hospital as well are Goodness & Mercies hospital in Aba and are all said to be responding well to treatment...

96 comments:

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Ewoooooo. Wonders.

Editor said...

Sad. they suppose fast before na.

Religion is and will continue to be one of the biggest problems in nigeria, this pastors are stealing from the poor and ignorant, #gay anonymous#

Lord have mercy.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

They should arrest the pastor for public endangering #gay anonymous#

Angie Cape said...

All in the name of church business...; face me I slap you kinda church.
Lord have mercy!
RIP to the young soul.

*My R1.50c comment*

Why did they take them to the hospital,Why can't the pastor heal them abi the pastors in nigeria have super powers, lol #gay anonymous#

God have mercy!@opsy

Ceeflo said...

Where does ur soul go to when you die in church?

Unbelievable! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

NaNcY DreW said...

How come dey were inhaling smoke,knowing it was 4rm d gen & didn't do enitin abt it. Deres no way a person ll be in a smoked room and not feel uncomfortable

Rip to the little boy...ignorance is a disease

Wow. Tnk God 4 saving dia lives

This is not interesting atall buh I urge you believers not to panic atall plus LINDA psalm 121:4 ..Bishop Dammy# imahiadammy@gmail.com

How sad

Too bad #bright bravo#

I wish them quick recovery.
Nawao @ the second pic seems Aba won't be Aba again if its doesn't look dirty.

xta said...

Thank God for their lives...at least not d other way round.

Chineke! Nah wah ooo

DOBY DOBY said...

Saw dis on sm1s fbk wall 2day.. was evn tinkin its a joke.. wish dem quick recovery

ayodeji said...

Ignorance kills faster than aids,they knew its hazardous to health yet they were ignorant to it,it was God's doing that they were alive,I thank God for their life,they should get better soon to praise God

Hmmmm, na wetin plenty church every where dey cause na

CHERRY said...

Na wa o. May his soul rest in peace, wishing others quick recovery.

Dan Skila said...

Not good atall, that is what you get when you are not been careful, thank GOD They all survived, and RIP to the dead

danskila1@gmail.com

It leaves me amazed that even in recent times, people still don't know how dangerous it is to have generating set close by.

Emjay said...

May d good lord grant dem speedy recovery,generator matter
#Em jay########

omg..patoswife@gmail.com

AB CRAZY said...

R I p to the little kid quick recovery to the rest
large dick says so

thank God... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Emjay said...

May d good lord grant dem speedy revory,generator matter!

#Em jay#######

Aya,Rip poor boy

Wonders

julz said...

Hmmmmmm...people need to be careful with generators especially those small ones that fume like hell. Thank God they didn't all die

Thank God for divine intervention!

God! What were they thinking when they were collapsing one by one?wishing them quick recovery...RIP to the poor boy.

Everyday one sad story...

XDON D DON

First to comment#LGM

Shey dem no get nose. To smell d smoke 4rm gen or wat? Anyway this death is upon our leaders heads

May they soul Rip.

carbon monoxide its quite deadly @nan

Sad news indeed, may his soul R.I.P....

Her Excellency said...

Nigeria and wonders o....generator fumes killing almost every user...no efficient power supply d govt of d day are busy looting and investing in d importation of generators d more!

Nawa ooo! Dis exactly wat clear one family in my village one certain year. Thank God for rescuing den n RIP to d dead.

CROWN said...

Things re happening o. Night vigil?.#glo for life#

My thoughts and prayers are with the families of tghose that lost their lives. It is hard time people find alternative means for power instead of Generators. Gen must be kept far from human.

Do nigerians ever learn? How many more times do people have to die before they learn how to properly use the generator?! Condolences to the family of the deceased and I hope the sick get better.

Na wa o. What type of church is that? Thank God they survived.except for the 6 year old. may his soul rest in peace.

NiKi Posh said...

Ah! My heartfelt condolences to the parents and family of the dead boy. So unfortunate!

Nigerians can look... tufiakwa!!! btw, aba is a very dirty town

MICKY: wot a gist,no one saw each other fall and called for help? Anywyz,tnk God they survived n sorry for d loss to d mother of dt child. Buh they should hv known better,d danger of generator fumes

comfort said...

Quick recovery

leecia B said...

Tins dey happen I swear.

Were is God they came 2 worship,DAN.

Bigtymerbitz said...

Na tiger gen them dey use for church?...

May his soul rest in peace..amen
God knows best.

it was actually close to my cousin house And the name of the church above is wrong that's CPM. but the dude in charge removed d sign post immediately . wow this my first time to comment lili keep it up

Aba hasn't still changed from being very filthy.. SMH!

Tanx nancy

Stfu... religion is not the problem. If there was power they wouldn't need generators. Did a pastors kill them? Ppl like you always have ish to say.

ife said...

Correct. I though I was the only one that noticed the awful uncovered gutter! 3 things will assure you it's a pix taken in Naija.. the ever present 'drip',standard for all Naija hospitals;the crowd gathered,staring aimlessly ;and the filthy open gutters! LOL

I wish them quick recovery
But ignorance is a case....

BORN TO SHINE!!!!!

RIP 2 †Ñ’ƹ Boy. Speedy Recovery 4 †Ñ’ƹ Sick. (Linda's Man)

U jez spoke my mind...wat a dirty environment. while we prayer God 2 v mercy on dis guys in d hosp., we prayer 4 mercy too over body living in dis sooooo dirty Aba...its a life risk environ

See d environment, see d croud, come for a protest, u won't see a soul. Everybody will be like "I dey go work"

When they've turn churches to bisiness centres. Why won't people suffocate in the mushroom they kept themselves for the night vigil. When people too frustrated, they become pastor overnight. It is no longer God's calling. This one, na them call themselves.

Carbon monoxide kills slowly, u wont feel it till u pass out.

lynkon lynkano said...

dis is amazing,God hv mercy on us n heal d remaining 16 soulz....4 d 6yearz old boy,may his soul rest in peace

@Nancy:Carbon mono oxide doest is an odourless colourless gas,nd wen inhaled u won't feel anytn @ al..wat it does is 2 mix wit d oxgen in d body nd use it up..D person jst stops breathing nd slumps without any symptom..so d pple in question mite not knw.

You should confirm the authenticity before disseminating Linda. And your write up should be proof read before clicking the publish button. "Night Vigil"?

That pastor should be arrested

God have mercy

Judging from the scond pic, another danger may be imminent. I mean, how could someone be unperturbed about the pollution in that background?! And whatever happened to the old saying "cleanliness is next to godliness"?! MB.C. DORIS.

Religion contributes 80% of our problem as humans.ignorant fools,why did they in up in coma praying to god?.#only the wise survive.

Carbon monoxide is odourless

Religion contribute to 80% of our problems as humans.brain Washed&ignorant mofos,why did they end up in coma praying to god?.#only the wise survive

LEEZ said...

Hain! It's well ooo

U did not put lib princess

So sad

Abraham Ndu said...

Ututu Young People's Fellowship Home and Abroad! That's my village's fellowship! My hrt is heavy...Father help your children!!!

Not what u tink, it weakens d body organs before u evn think of anything.

I wish dem quick recovery

La said...

Religion is the easiest way to get gullible people. I cant be fooled.

Thank God they are responding to treatment..

See dis bonario wey de stay for gwagwalada.....abeg shut up! No make me burst your lying ass here. Bonario nnagozie.....dnt be shocked. Mind d way u feel here cus am here now. Termite!

This is really sad

Abia is God's own state, no evil will befall us. Thank God for giving us a good, dynamic and listening government that cares for its citizenry, making sure that those in the hospital are well taken care of, and speedy recovery.

UCHENNA OKORONKWO said...

Very unfortunate,I thank God for the lives of those that survived and pray God to grant them a quick recovery.To the family of the poor innocent boy that lost his life,may God receive his soul and grant the family the fortitude to bear the loss.

Eric Uzondu said...

The way some peeps comment tells u alot about how demented some people can be, the time the r supposed to use in commiserating with d dieseased, the use it to start a religous war of words, there is a saying in my place that Says " When d corpse of another is carried past u, u dont really know what d owner of d corps feels" I think d police shld really investigate this matter further incase there is more to what blogs are telling us, who knows this could be another terrorist attack, cos im sure there was no way d generator would be inside d church neither will d windows be locked for them to have suffocated to death.

If only the government can provide steady electricity, death wld hv been reverted.. too bad the government sits on pwr n enjoys undisturbed light.

hm ignorance gone on rampage.

I pray Abia state gets lucky with the next government. You can never see a picture taken in aba and dare find it pleasing. #disheartnening# check out environs.

Good evening every one!!!

My name is miss Cherry Morgan from USA Texas, I want to quickly say this to the hole world about my HIV illness that was cured by a HIV healer called Dr, William. Since last 4years I have being an HIV patient. I never think I will live long again and am so grateful about this great man called Dr. William who cured my HIV/AIDS 2weeks ago, I was in a great pain so I told one of my best friend about it; one day she told me that there is a great spell caster that use to cure HIV online. I asked her if she had his email address, she said yes and gave me his email when i contacted him. He talked to me and he perform the necessary rituals and he told me that after two weeks I should go for a test and Which I did, when the doctor told me that am now an HIV negative, I couldn’t believe myself, I went to see another doctor the result was still the same, I was human on planet earth again, so I emailed him and thanked him. Please if you are having a similar problem please visit him/contact him on [profectwilliamspiritualtemple@gmail.com] or call him on via mobile phone, +2348102386568
Good Luck...