Contrary to the claim by APCON in the widely circulated report, Guinness
Nigeria Plc had withdrawn the advertisement in question before the meeting of the
APCON Council which endorsed the recommendation of the ASP to impose sanction
on the company. In fact, the decision by the ASP to recommend the withdrawal of
the sanction imposed on Guinness Nigeria Plc followed a meeting between the
management of the company, its marketing and media agencies and APCON in which
the company established that it was not in breach of the relevant provision of
the Code of Advertising Practice and Sales Promotion as of the date the
decision by APCON was taken.
At the said meeting, both parties agreed the process of rescinding the withdrawal of
certificates of approvals granted to Guinness Nigeria for the advertising of
its alcoholic beverages including the submission of a letter by the company
stating its side of the story. As a matter of fact, the draft of the letter was
jointly agreed with Mr. Ade Akinde, who made input into it and explained that,
in view of the fact that the Council of APCON had no scheduled meeting for
another few weeks, the submission of the letter with part of the content provided
by him was the fastest and easiest way of correcting the error which the ASP
had misled the Council of APCON into by its decision to withdraw the
certificates of approval earlier issued to the company. Following approval of
the draft letter by Mr. Akinde, it was printed on the company’s stationery,
signed and submitted to APCON.
19 comments:
Typical nigeria ban. Definitely money has changed hand and all is now well. We hear. Next pls.
Who caaaaaaaares##bends over and sips her zobo##
Come on don't belive dat ban was raise fO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я free .bribe is in it ......at least fO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я once linda post my comment
I love guiness stout tho :-)
Let them ban all adverts not shot in Nigeria jare; enough with promoting foreign shot adverts!
How dis one take concern me now?? Why I dey comment sef???
Like I care,Rubbish
My brand :)
Come drink at the table of men!
Y were dey banned?
Lubish
Like say I care.
I'm Learning. :)
Udeme,kpomo no get advert o yet its the people's choice.dnt mind dem
Udeme,kpomo no get advert o,yet its the people's choice.dnt mind dem
These are the signs of a drowning brand. Drink of Old Men. Mscheewww
jus take a bottle of malta gness,harp, G.E.s(gness extra smooth),satz brouw, snap, gness top malt, dubic,fes(m),small or large and armstrong ur life wil neva remain dsame again.talking 4rm experience.
Udeme,kpomo no get advert o yet its the people's choice.dnt mind dem
Ban! E no dey work 4 9ja nau.