Listen to D'banj's new song - Top of the World | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 14 December 2012

Listen to D'banj's new song - Top of the World

"Top of the World" is the first single to be released through Sony Music's RCA Africa label and DB Records Nigeria since D'Banj signed his groundbreaking multi-album deal with Sony Music Entertainment Africa. You like?

171 comments:

Artful Dodger said...

sigh... Dbanj... smh & sigh.

t-pel said...

Good one

skatenigeria said...

together we can fix our social problems today......visit and lets see you in action http://skatenigeria.com/#!/development

Too commercial. DSTV tinz. Koko master don really hammer

Am so loving the song,so different from the others.

Truthfulsoul said...

D'banj just proves every day that he cannot sing. Please he should just stick to talking over some sound. We prefer that.

BTW you are indeed on top of the world and enjoy am o! Cos e fit no be forever.

Nice track...Like d change in style and beat..At least koko master is now doing something international...

I love the song, but I keep getting this feeling that D'Banj did better when he was with Don Jazzy.

Lovely son..Top of the world track

Nice one koko master,proud of u man

Nice one "I've paid my dues,now am ontop of d world" sounds more like a testimonial.

Methinks said...

I really like the feel of the song, it is not one of those Naija songs that sound like ten others. Having said that, I'm not sure the song is lyrically sound: first line says you only get one life, some get two. Em, I don't understand that The only lines that made it for me were "I'm on top of the world, ahead of the crowd". Besides this, good song!

Noise!

I think he's speaking too much english, Or is dat his direction now 2 make his music more western?he made most of his money appealling to nigerians oh!!!!

@bonaria u get it

I already luv d music, congrats Dapo, now dis is wat I call classy. Well done D, am so happy for u.

Good one Dee

Stop getting d feeling, u ar sick. Get a life, d song is tight, y is it difficult for u guys to accept dat Dbanj and Don j will nver go back? Move on abeg.

Bonario how u take knw?? Infact am in luv with u for this smartness. We Nigerians like comfort zone too much. Pple who take sensible risk ar alws on top of d world.

good one , cant wait for his show with big sean coming soon.

check out the laundromat in Nigeria , you can take your clothes there for self service.

http://www.snowyclean.com

I love it. He's changing his sound which is inevitable cos he's gone international.
We still want dance tracks sha o. lebete

I love it. He's changing his sound which is inevitable cos he's gone international.
We still want dance tracks sha o. lebete

Its going to be for a very long time dear, ar u God?? Its pple like u dat nver make it in life. Guess wat dear, pple ar moving on, apple brings new innovation everyday, bb nko is changing along too. If u like remain static, Dbanj has moved on, gone ar d days of talking over sounds, welcome to the era of class. Anuofia.

Sit down dere and be shaking ur head and sighing ohhh, while Dbanj is making his mony ehhh.unua go soon commit suicide over mata wey no concern unua. Na wa ooo

Good one

That was a nice song bro,sounds more of English rather Yoruba this time

TSUKI said...

Bonario dont you know with DBanj its always a testimonial

Online Reductionist said...

Highly illuminated is what this picture says

Femiluv said...

Nice song but D'Banj aint a vocalist. He can't sing to save his life lol

LOVE IT!!!

@olabisivan said...

Dis song won't sell in 9ja

brightt said...

bonario just shut up please. That song is great. And how does a guy who just signed a groundbreaking deal appear to you to be singing a testimonial...guy just chill..its not everytime a guy gotta comment if there's nothing sensible to say....see im oily face...hehehe

NB: YOU CRACK DRY JOKES...

D'banj fall my hand....why has D'banj exposed himself so?

The dude can't sing and we have always known this. That is the reason they have always been covering this up with a lot of drums in previous songs and the extreme swag on stage.

Now he's decided to sing slow music...ok o...D'banj u better be careful!

Nuff said..crap song though - undbanj-like

Damochedxb said...

Hmmmmm, i'mma have to listen to this one a couple of more times. One thing tho is that its diff from the usual style Dbanj is accustomed to. On another note, isnt it interesting that on one side we have the news of Dbanj's new track and right by the side on the advert line, there's Don Jazzy advertising Loya milk...lolzzz!! dont know if anyone else noticed.

kk dis is mre like it Skibanj. I'm nt even gonna hate. you have tried on this one. Sounds lyk anoda gangnam style hit!

NaijaBizCom.Com said...

Good song but on listing to it I discovered that D'bang lack that strength and vibrancy in his delivery's. Good song delivery is what made him to shine when he was with Don jazzy. This my honest opinion

johnnie said...

Good music,,I so love.sounding like Akon

Well one thing I know for sure is that D banj's growing success in the US music industry isnt as a result of his singing abilities or whatever. Its just a marketing strategy for them to further invade the Africa music market which somehow makes no sense to me because they already did. So I guess it has to do with something else which I am sure with time D banj will fully unveil... Grab ur pop corn and keep watching....

DB sings trash these days...Me no likey

This track wud surely enter the western market,almost like the breakthru single Dbanj has been yearning for! I celebrate wit him,its God who placed him 'on top of the world',I dare not curse. What a nice destiny.LAMI

NeW BoY said...

People don't still get it...I Love Dbanj bcos he works really hard to ensure his dreams come true...He's a guy who's versatile and can adjust to whatever circumstance he finds himself ...the truth is he's International whether anyone likes it or not...Talent is good but with Dbanj u can see talent and passion,and that's what young pple need to starT learning how to master....pursuing their dreams with a burning passion and dedication

The reason am here is to read comments of Don Jazzy boot lickers. They wil complain about d song not good and advice Dbanj to run back to his master. Anyway,I here say una don baba j say na milk e dey advertise nw, eeeeyaaa.....very soon may be na pure water e go carry 4 head dey advertise. Dbanj ride on jo !

Hmm... doesn't sound like him and its abit too noisy. The beats, auto tune, and volume drown his actual voice. But I must admit, this would be appreciated internationally compared to our usual naija "noise"

The Song is not my cup of tea. I just miss him saying it's don jazzy again :(

a better singer would have killed that beat... what a waste!!! *smh*

Nosey said...

My 2013 theme song! Still got luv for this bruv.

Upon all that's been said, the song is really nice jawe.yes! A deviation frm koko master things.yes! We hate that he left Don Jazzy but he is afterall an entertainer. Nice1 d'banj

Top of d world very 9c 1 I love d song #team dbanj#

Stop hating ooooo.to b sincere I'm nt a fan of dbanj.I lov my donj..dis song is more like it,nt bad at all.dbanj did justice to it..I pray all goes well with dbanj..we all knw wht sony stands for..hell is hell ooo.sony can b illuminati o wht abt u and u and u dat insults other pple..smh.we re kettle calling pot black..we dnt ve d right to judge anyone..we re all sinners too

rubbish song!!! music is not for u dbanj.. stick to ur celebrity status for more fame but music no be ya thing

Igwe Osita One said...

Sentiments aside, This will go down to be one of Dbanj"s best......enough of the noise.

mike said...

I totally agree.

Jeez! Give it a rest,already!!! Y'all still on this?! It's getting real lame now!

Ali Bassey said...

If DBanj auditioned for x factor or american idol,d barriage of insults/criticism he wud get from simon cowell wud make him reconsider career change....dude can't sing to save his life.He's a Great entertainer tho,and I luv him.#noHomo

terrible ...DBanj cannot sing

Sounds lyk a commercial...

@Truthfulsoul. There is nothing truthful about your comment! Truth be told,I'm guessing, you are one of those sadists that never sees anything good about people. And for your information,nothing last forever anyway...expect the grace of God!( that's a saying from my place)

Nyc one dbanj!

This song is just tops! Wonderful and meaningful lyrics. D'banj is really going places I must say. It looks like his exit from Mo'hits has turned out to be more of a blessing after all. Even heard this song is the official anthem of the 2013 African cup of nations. With a beautiful song like this I can't wait to hear his new DKM albun.

I like the song, really different. He has taken his song to international level. Sounds like what akon will do. He has left Nija level of azonto sounds. Lol. Thumbs up.

I love the song,so different from others.If u hate d song then go and listen 2 Tonto Dikeh song.

Super Dope song.....now that's what happens wen u go international...there is a meanin nw, an audience and an effect!...supersport theme song for African cup...God bless ur effort dbanj...niyinugar says so!

dope dope dope song.This is a definition of international.

Damn good sound! I said so..

i love this track, u hv really paid ur due, u know on top of the world, ride o my brother, nigerians love u, we may pretend we dont do, but we really do as u represented us very well.
Uche.

na God oooo, keep flying till it get to my turn, cos im d game u play also, pls pray for me.

Good one omo mi!

Justsayin said...

We tin baby dey find inside this kin song,naa woman he dey follow talk.tried to be objective but this song is whack.

I love the song,kudos to dbanj and I wish him all d best surely haters must do their job

1:24Am.. U are just a good hater. U can never make it in life with this your behaviour. Free dbanj and let him be abeg..

Its nt bad atall. Its nt easy doing different things dt u nt known wt. DB gud one 4 a start

I so so love this Top Of The World song. Dbanj so talented. God Go Make You Bigger Boss.

D'banj sounding like tonto, he can do better. Dis song is a no no 4 me

Imagine Dragons On Top of The World remix. nice one

Mtcheew... Useless song.

Rubbish!

Now i love this guy. New, Fresh and Hot

This song is so nice. People are just loving it in other blogs. Its so matured and different. I don't expect people who don't understand music to like it. This iinternational standard. Nigerians might not like it cus its way outta our league!

Beautiful song!Haters go and DIE!!!

No ure actually a hateful soul. Listen to that song over and over and then ull know that dbanj is really good. You can't understand the song because u are not enlightened

New Direction, a massive improvement on Mr Bachelor which is totally crap. love it

Sound like something akon would sing, kinda has that akonish rhythm to it lol. Love it tho, first of dbanjs songs dat make sense to to. D song is nice.

nt bad, kudos......bt Don Jazzy'z touch iz xo missn

Nekky said...

nice song no doubt but this is unlike the D'banj. can this track alone fetch him any award? *dunno*

uLeke said...

Pple will always hate change....nice one dbanj...it shows with time u'll blend wit d american style wit ur afro style....hope to see u do more collabo with 'em....and to don j fans....I'm yet to see any hawt track frm mavins family...

Its nice but it doesn't feel like a dbanj song

@ trustful ur indeed a trustFool may thunder fire your twin yanshes chaii c hate if ur angry y nt jump in d lagoon u filthy dumb fuck...if u continue this ur hating its gonna take u to ur doom u punk...linda post my comment o..
Volt

Wack song,i am not disappointed...i knew it,Dbanj u still need Donjazzy in ur life.

me said...

This song is a classic is foreign 2 d kinda of music we used 2 from dbanj ,however .change is constant .& am sure objective pple r gona appreciate it .thumbs up 2 dbanj

anybody who says this song isnt nice is an ogbanje!!!!!!!!! or from another planet... well done koko master

Wow. I'm impressed. Something different,his best song ever!

Dbang nice one...

BLOGLORD said...

..am on top of the world, i ve paid my dues, look at me now....
an achievement song i would call it. sounds good. its a song i can listen to again and again though the beat isn't original

D song is nice n different,haters can kip hating

Lovely song.....buh dis is not d playful dbanj we know

serah said...

Really like this1...

Walahi, this song is a bloody waste of time. Haba! this is not the Dbanj i know.

2face wud have sang dis.. Dbanj..Oyato ooo

Eh yaaa, dbanj going humble. Is this the dbanj we know and love as the entertainer or is this a gospel artiste? The funniest part was dbanj trying to carry a tune, I'll love to see him do that in a life performance. I thought he always claimed not to be a singer but an entertainer, he should carry his "kokolet 1,2" and see if the white man buys that bullshit. So obviously the deal with good music has gone kaput. Shameeee

ose said...

sad..very sad ..its wise u get some1 to compliment your sound .. D banj ..don't dull

still thinking it seems this sound track have been used before, i know beef u o dbanj but emmmmmmm omosexy,,,,,

beewhy said...

okay, this one sounds better. I was waiting for something like this from him. Me likey! Nice one D'banj

#TeamDonjazzy

sounded karaoke to my ears!! too much of oyibo mix. didnt really feel it. african music is beta for him.

Great! Koko Master and Nice tune.. Haters go hang unaself

POST MY COMMENT O

song was kinda confusing, it has a nice cosmo vibe to it, but dbanj's voice is better suited for our (9ja kinda jams)*sigh*

Dammy said...

Fabulosa y fantistico.Dis is da best of da bestest man.Dat's wats'up! Man, ds song is da bomb, dis is new D'banj. I listened to it y'stday, boy, it was incredible, outta ds world ,man , top of da world yeah. There's no stoppin' D'banj. Milk seller,forget! I've single-handedly,successful been able to convert many Jazzy's followers to D'banj's ,all of them hidin under Anonymous.In fact, Jazzy is got no time to send recharge cards again , he's 2 busy selling milk,more grease to his elbow, LMFAO! I rate it 10/10, da best so far!

I love , love, love the new direction he is going in. This is why D'banj keeps on remaining relevant, he adapts and re-defines Nigerians music.

Sokhannae said...

Linda don swallow my comment, well played...@ least we now know it is true that he don involve heself for matter

Though it does sound too much oyinboish (if there's a word like tht) but it sounds different from his regular 'beat n style' of music. I liked it n it also sounds more of a sports/movie song theme to me.

Miss 'A'

Dear D'BANJ,
i am not surprised especially when you disclosed recently that Bishop Oyedepo is your family pastor.Those bad belly souls roaming in the city of Lagos should close up and surrender to avoid any negative mission that will go against them full blast.They know themselves.

loveeee it dbanj oyato gannnnn

Different from dbanj flavour. Very P squared though. Definitely trying to go more commercial.

Dbanj is an entertainer NOT a vocalist. He should know that by now. He shouldn't be singing for fans to appreciate his voice if not he wouldn't be where he is today. He tone of his voice and the message he's trying to pass are contradictory. He definitely doesn't sound like he believes he's on top of the world. I still admire him though and am looking forward to hearing better from him.

Chimdiebere said...

This song definitely favors rita ora's "shine ya light" a nice song tho, but d beat sounds a lil bit recycled. Like something i have heard before. And iam not a hater, just my honest opinion

Haters stop hating oh! Change is constant & this song is different, dbanj has certainly paid his dues

@brightt,what is in ma comment dat made it dis hard for u to comprehend,first lookup d meaning of testimonial in ur dictionary before u attack a Bona. Talk of my oily face,trust me not tow ur line. I love u and I mean it.*lolz*

woow am so impressed....... nice one d banj........ one word...... unique. haters u can kiss the transformer close to u

ose said...

Shut ur mouth,Ose's r objective pple,u jst so cut up in the old swagger u don wana adjust 2 d new era.

FOOLHARDY said...

FOOLS

Toni said...

that is a great one.....yes that is it.keep it up

Nice One

http://applytojobs.blogspot.co.uk

Am on top of the world

Lool
I'm not a hater but people r missin the point
Other nigerian artistes have gone international by bein nigerian and still try 2 pull them foreign people. Afterall the'v been recognized internationally.this song right here sounds like he is only tryin 2 pull d other crowd and he is losin himself.
Just saying.

Hahaha at at BONARIO's oily face. LoL dude should change that profile pix. It depicts a hungry man. The music is more like a sound track. No Naija flavour. Not sure abt this one.

The big record label will always want you to change your style if you're not from the main stream eg FELA and KSA were told to do the same but they declined. Bulk of his fans are on the African continent, this style will not break into the mainstream because they have more than enuff. And if it doesn't work they drop you. Gangham is rocking the wave because he was original same goes for Oliver twist. I have my fears about this direction.

You're right. It's like a Latino salsa singa trying to do pop. The flavour is missing. Stick to what you do best.

Not feeling the whole GEOGRAPHY bit of the song listing all does African nations was a waste of time.

I jus fell in love wit dbanj..AGAIN!! D lyrics is deep,only a few can code it.ride on Dapo!

justme said...

is it me or has d'banj and don jazzy lost it ever since they left each other.no good tunes comin from d'banj,no good beats comin from don jazzy...this song might grow on u though...just sayin

If only stupid people can be known by what dey intend to write, dbanj haters wud never be allowed comments on LIB, this is one dude that has sung many songs that each was never wit same tube or mixed for each other, he pitched tent wit a super producers that produces Tubaba, yet haters (who profess love for tuface beats) say d beat is crappy, haba....mmmm,I wonder y people never make it in their struggles, now I knw its cos dey don't celebrate others. Mayb its d spirit of end time not to be thankful, it leads to hell
People complain of illuminati,yet dey hate so much d efforts of others, who is really hell bound? Don jazzy has moved on,u all heard dat Dr Sid said he hates d star of Dbanj and dey must push him out! So give him break,he is on top of ur world!

People,say it as it is.The song is crap.If u say u know music like u claim u will know dat Dbanj's past songs are not what u can really call good music.We fell in love with the beat and the local content.He is going to lose his followership in nigeria by trying to sound too western.the western world too won't accept him just.

Ziba! said...

Well it's different but nice...

Dbanj!!!!

Sounds like something off of Akon's last CD. Belongs on the "B side". At least it's a departure from stuff he's known for. Doesn't really have that koko master humph in my opinion.

Some people have survived near-death situations dat make them feel like they are having a second chance at life.

Fool!

Nice song but, he does what he does best as an entertainer...Akon or 2face would have brought out the vocals beautifully

Do you knw the meaning of testimonial?

Nice song but, he does what he does best as an entertainer...Akon or 2face would have brought out the vocals beautifully

Get a life

no one is asking anyone to love the song. if u feel u better go and sing ur own. 99 percent of those hating have never entered a studio booth before not to talk of recording a song. i have no business what so ever with dbanj. i will rather advise if we see one of our own going up lets give him our support. criticism has eaten deep into the nigerian system thats why we are not getting it right even our politician. lets learn to drum up support as one nigeria.

I thought don jazzy was going to produce a track for the ACN too or is this the track

I really like this....

You are so RIGHT my friend @ anno 15:37

@lily Anne you are so RIGHT.

kenny said...

If only he can stop bragging each time he sings..

lol......my Naija people ... if na Tonto sing this one now...u guys will finish her. tell me if her singles are not beta than this...... Go Tonto dear. POKO

dat is y i just love asa n 2face,dey change for nobody,chai wot happened to my dbanj

Sincerely,d song is 9ce,d-banj tried buh he needs 2 work on his voice if he wnts 2 do songs lyk dat more often.dare or 2face wud hv killed dat song and it wud hv bn beautiful buh d song is gud sha.its not noise...thank God

is it me or sounds like i'm listening to akon...not bad at all, this is an intro ppl, dbanj is switching!lol, we gon be hearing english frm now on.
no more lebete tongolo baba e lo ma run down mr endowed...

This should have been the theme song for Malta Guiness.

Olodo oshi, these peeps aren't attacking D'banj, they are criticising his lyrics, delivery and style, and u low life are attacking Don J, don't u see how shallow minded u are, na ur type dey pour gasoline for fire. Why can't u try to be constructive in ur criticism rather than attack Don J whose not even wishing D'banj any evil? RETARD!

This song is really meh...Really wanted to like it but it's just aight..nothing special. Whether Naija or US...this is not an on repeat song.

this is not good at all...thot this was meant to be an upgrade...#smh

it sounds lyk smthn they sing in a typical nigerian movie...that scene when someone just makes money and its all in slow motion

this guy cant sing. I advise he learns from P-Square. he really needs voice training.

Nice one "I've paid my dues ( or sold my soul to the Devil),now am ontop of d world" (Position given to me by the Devil) sounds more like a testimony of his new involvement with the illuminati. You dont have to believe this but just be alert as events unfold before our very eyes.

Mistr Tee said...

@Anonymous 9:06 PM If you say Tonto "Dickay"singles is more pleasurable than this then i pity your generation to come because your ignorance and stupidity will forever live on.."ode"

The sound is definitely not an original

Nice one!! Love the music!! D'banj u rock

Ibe said...

So it's true what I've been hearing? That D'banj can't write and D'banj can't sing?? JJC Skillz and other close artists even said this in one or more video interviews.

"I'm on top of the world in front of the crowd, ayy ooo, ayy ooo". Is that what we understand as music? Sure, the beat is nice and the producer did a good job making the sound come out right and appealing to the listener, but listen to the lyrics and the voice..... 'Horrible and Meaningless'.

Ok, it's official guys: D'BANJ CANNOT SING!!!

I really can't see D'banj making it far in the music game. Even though Dbanj is reportedly signed to Sony Music under Kanye West's wing, people will only pay to listen to good music, not this crap. Let's be honest guys, the Bachelor song and now this Top of the world, are both crap and meaningless.

See what Ego has turned D'banj into? Kanye West's puppet. Many of us are laughing here in the US - the way Dbanj is excited and praising Kanye for giving him a gold jesus piece chain. Lol it's just funny how some people have no clue what life is all about.

I don talk my own...but all in all, good luck to DB records!

-Ibe
Nigerian music website

How is it ur business if he goes western, if u want people to continue to enjoy nigerian songs why not sing ur own.
Idiot worthless piece of shit, u wld come here and be insulting some1 making millions that is how rapture will come and u will be left out because of hate, nonsense

Hahaha..,,, "Oily face" lol Not only dat o,see d cone head ma wit dat okada rider haircut. Dnt ask him to change his pic pls o,bcus dats his best pic in his entire life o

Mistr Tee said...

Just watching Super Sport now & this song came up while broke ass haters all they do is to come up to a blog to criticize while he keeps making money on airplay..This is the definition of poverty,when you remain in your present state and you criticize others while they make headway in their endeavour.."Mumu" people,Igbo people una go die on top jealousy...GO & CLAIM EGYPT..

Seriously, who and what is this guy signed to? Its amazing many labels he gets signed to in a year.na waoooo! THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

d banj did better when he was with don baba not now no beef on the dude

Lol @ibe ur really crap and @all haters that track is for Africa cup of nation official theme dis music is not part of his upcoming album. Back to u ibe if dbanj is ur brother will u criticise him, even if he is a kanye dog none of your family and generation can reach dbanj pick in life because your a hater and saddist I Don't hate success @ibe u ar enemy of progress get life Dick head

e don finish D banj? We hav been waiting for your new smash all these while n all we get is this???? Ndo o. I guess u should hav a rethink.

Tunde ogubitan u are acute