Lagos Chief Judge frees 46 prisoners from Ikoyi Prisons | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 12 December 2012

Lagos Chief Judge frees 46 prisoners from Ikoyi Prisons

The Chief Judge of Lagos State, Justice Ayotunde Phillips, yesterday Tuesday December 11th released 46 prisoners, including 75-year-old man, from the Ikoyi Prisons in Lagos during her visit to the prison.

Justice Ayotunde Phillips released 233 prisoners just four months ago after reviewing their cases during a visit to the prison in September. She said the gesture was aimed at de-congesting the prison in order to alleviate the sufferings of the inmates.

30 comments:

My dear Linda, welcome back. I really admire you and the good work you do. I was so touched when I saw your picture with the lady you featured on your blog that is receiving treatment for cancer in the US. God will continually reward you and bring helpers your way even before you ask. Now to this story, it is good to free prisoners if they are not guilty of the crime supposedly committed.If that is the case, I hope they will be compensated for wrongly locked up in prison. Freeing prisoners to decongest prison sounded somehow!!!!! Now that the people are freed where do they go and what will they do to keep soul and body together? Am I the only one thinking this way? Hope the old man has a home and family to go back to.

Dey will enjoy d xmas well.gud for dem

June said...

Wack Reason....to de congest τ̣̣ђё prison

Let's see what happens next...d people released should contest their position in court and see if Govt & Police should not be guilty.....Anyway nice Job done by the CJ

dats d kind of woman we all need in nigeria....linda welcome from US and i hope to get ur special invitation..u know what i mean

Wonderful gesture indeed! Go and sin no more freed inmates!

I no understand o,hw he come dey free dem like dat.hp na bata pple sha.

There is nufin lik freedom cos u don't stay in d prison n find somfin doin....a big thumbs up to d lagos C.J 4 sure gesture cos som pple ar in d prison 4 no just reason som ar even stil awaitin full trial

Trully spoken bt most of dem r there awaitin trial 4 so long n notin is happanin nt 2 talk of de poor condition of livin so they shld b freed

SUE JORDAN said...

GOOD WORK...I WONDER WHERE THE 75 YEAR OLD MAN WILL STRAT FROM?? ITS SAD THE CONDITION OF OUR PRISONS...

Hope there is a list of the offenders in case they come out to wreck havoc again. In 2003 a man was convicted in the usa for 5 rapes and murders after he was set free in the 90s for a rape in the 80s. Some apples are just too bad................ng owerri

What of those on death row? When was the last time a convict was hanged in 9ja. Una don they release them? Sorry to sound this way but those that deserve death should be killed. If u neva jam dem dem u no go understand. Some released nitwits will quickly join kidnap gangs and take on jobs as hit men

tonye said...

I agree with u....! Their souls and body need keeping!

Mumu soo dey shuld remain dre bcos they might hav nowhere to go? Nd yes ure d only one thinking dat way.

Bussy said...

out of every 10 people in Nigeria prison 8 are not guilty of what they were charged for.@Anonymous , apparently every1 has a family, they will go back to their family and am sure she would have screened them and be sure they deserved going home.Thank you Justice Ayotunde Phillips you did well.

no space in the prison anymore?

Furlee said...

There are thousands of innocent people languishing in Nigeria prisons all over the country. I had visited prison before and discussed with some inmates.

There are procedures before the case of any prisoner cold be reviewed which ranges from having the time of the staying in prison awaiting trial more than the actual sentence for the crime committed, inability of police to prosecute the offender with flimsy reasons and many more. Justice Phillips is a woman of honor and would have studied the procedure before releasing these people.

As for the 75 years old man, I hope the civil societies, NGO will locate the old man and rehabilitate him. There are charity homes for the elderly ones all over Lagos. This is if he cannot trace his relatives.

Thanks

Wow!!! Datz 9ce...Patriotism @ its best...wish we had more reasonable Chief Judges in 9ja

Uncle Babs said...

CHOI!I hope them release my man o!

Welcome back Linda.

Only 46 out of the over 2000 inmates? Is the chief Judge believing that more than the freed 46 are not to be spared? I know 1st hand that more than half of the inmates are innocent of whatever got them locked up. Some have been incarcerated for years for minor offenses that days doing community service would have been a good way to punish them. some have been there because they were at the right place at the wrong time. some are there because police could not find the person they were really after. some have been there for wandering in their own country o. some have been there because a family member supposedly committed the alleged crime. some are there for drinking in a bar. some are in there because one big man or woman wants them locked up. The list goes on and on.
Mrs Chief Judge, I honestly commend your efforts to do something positive but more work needs to be done.
Everyone is innocent until proven guilty. Being locked up for years in the name of awaiting trial is becoming too rampant in the justice system.
We concerned citizens implore you to use your good office to look into these matters that defile logic and human reasoning. 46 inmates is a good way to start something good. Please please please.................. more can be done for families whose only hope is the Justice system. Please do not let them loose faith in this system.
Most accusations before any court are bailable offenses. please use your good office again to ask our judges to grant offenders bail. wandering is bailable. breaking environmental sanitation movement restriction is bailable these are not capital crimes and Long delays before and during the trial is very fraustrating.

On behalf of my family and i, i say thank you to the chief Judge for freeing these men. Only those who have been inside a prison for whatever reason can truly understand what she has done. I was once a victim and being in prison only opened my eyes more to what people in prison and their families really go through..... so Thank you Ma!

Deekay said...

That's very nice of her. Wonder what took so long. Cheii, some of these ppl never thought thought this day would come. They really need to work on the whole police, evidence,sentencing ish. There's hope for naija! :)

They re very lucky they av to fo nd give thanksgiving

Good work Aunty Ayo.. God Bless u abundantly. As for those of u saying they should remain there, u are all so selfish and wicked. what if it was u or a relative that was in that position and other people were passing such comments, how would u feel. Nonsense!!!

oloriburuku, u mean innocent pple shld b left 2 rot in jail bcus they av no where 2 stay? ur just a foolish person thinking upside Down. Maybe u were born with a home frm heaven.KMT

The ones who don't have cash to speaak for them r left to rot in prison! What a society!Been abroad for twenty eight yrs but don't give a fuck abt Nigeria! The ppl r fucked up!

Ooops!! Sorry dear.

Tess said...

There is really nothing bad in what this person has written. Do u just take pleasure in abusing or cursing pple?
Why not just write ur own comment or better still read and move on.
I think there are lots of animals on this blog these days, looking for the slightest excuse to rave and rant.
U are the mumu here becos every right thinking person will hope this 75yrs old will have some home to go to.
Pls think before u comment.

debimade said...

Chei see as this Chief Judge fat oooo. This people have chopped Nigerian money tire dem have all become obesed and rotunda!!!

Thank u Tess true talk..God bless u..

Chief judge.... Hit the gym abeg