What do you guys think of Okada ban on 475 roads in Lagos State? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 22 October 2012

What do you guys think of Okada ban on 475 roads in Lagos State?

What do you guys think of Lagos State Government's ban of Okadas in Lagos? It's not like an outright ban, they are just not allowed to ply many roads in Lagos. 475 roads to be specific!

The Okada riders went on a rampage this morning destroying government property along Ikorodu Rd (They vandalized BRT buses), prompting the Lagos House of Assembly to threaten an outright ban if they continue to destroy government property.

Do you support the Lagos State Government's decision on the ban?

165 comments:

clevadani said...

they shud accept d ban
all Nigerians visit http://naijamustchange.blogpot.com

Yes, it is a dangerous means of transportation. They should give them an outright ban.

I think the lagos govt is cool with the decision on the ban,but at the same time,fashola should also provide an alternative means for the survival for those affected.abi???

Gbabe said...

What's dat???

Question: Are okada operators responsible for the traffic congestion in Lagos?

I don't know the answer to this question, but my instincts tell me that they are not. I wonder whether the Lagos state government thought about the economic impact the decision would have on okada operaters and their customers. I doubt that they did. In a country with very limited opportunities for people to work and earn a living, what were the legislators thinking?

chinedu akenzua said...

as much as i love governor fashola, i strongly believe he is missing it, destroying bikes and banning bike without alternatives...deep sigh

chinedu akenzua said...

as much as i love governor fashola, i strongly believe he is missing it, destroying bikes and banning bike without alternatives...deep sigh

i dont support that at all...where is the job opportunity in state,accept the lagos state govt want eko to baje with thief and alu act of human

475 roads???how many roads are there in Lagos???*looking up the ceiling and counting*

fashola shld tread softly,i think he's taking change to the extreme.Lagos CANNOT look like california in one year.yes change is good but when a large nos of the poor masses begins to live on less than $1 a day,then its worthless!

Yes! They shouldn't be allowed on some roads, what's the point of destroying LASG property? They're just reminding people why they were partially banned in the first place

NecFix said...

Wrong move by the okada riders. You don't buttress a volatile/sensitive point by resorting to violence. ("Violence destroys what it intends to create" - Gandhi). The protest should've been peaceful, that way, they could be perceived as a bit dignified, & not as ruffians that most people perceive them as. I'd support the ban if there were alternatives, otherwise, the ban is probably 'inappropriate' for now. I only pity those who use okada to feed their families. Only God knows what they'd fall back on.

On a lighter note though, the ban has to be the best thing ever for the 'BIG' ones; they'll be forced to TREK to the nearest bus stop... #WeightLossByBruteForce

Leah said...

Please do not ban them... Just make stricter rules. If it was not for them, I would not have made it to my job interview. I had to park my car, hop on one of them bad boys in my business suit and ran inside. I had been job hunting for almost two years and would have been crushed if that horrible lagos traffic had robbed me of that job!

in a bid to monetize ur website, you are drawing us into debate because of slow news day. God dey.

With the rate of poverty in this country....hw do they expect dis okada riders to survive? Its insane! Crime will definitely increase in lagos state! God help us.

Don't agree with the ban, the government should have put stronger safety measures in place initially. The number of unemployed people will go up, what are the okada drivers (probably no school qualifications, there are not many other job options in the first place) supposed to do now?

They should be banned. The serious ones i.e. those without a death wish,can be upgraded to keke Marwa or napep after undergoing the necessary training.

mosesakinfe said...

One to be careful on how to comment abt the so called Olokada, but I think Fashola should be careful.

They should be banned. The serious ones i.e. those without a death wish,can be upgraded to keke Marwa or napep after undergoing the necessary training.

There is a reason 4 everything...plz mr.governor we do not need more crime in that our country Nigeria..okada business has really help to reduce crime. It has really created jobs for so many Nigeria.expect u got another alternative sir

Emperor fashola. lagos is not newyork. you cannot run a megacity policy in an okada economy else people turn to crime. think dude
-newyorker

Mtvbase Africa Template said...

This is really crazy... If I may sayn I did fashola want this people to start stealing in other to get food to their table.. Cos if they stop riding bikes how re they going to feed theirs family. Government to sit to it and do something fast

Yes i support ... useless government..only think about how to increase their account and not on how people will feed there families...if the government wished the masses well they wont even banned okada ... xmas is coming ... do they want rubbers everywhere ... wicked people ...

Ay said...

demiji bankole and others have over 54 billions naira which doesn't belongs to them , fashola and others haven't done anything to them,but okada riders which are making just 3,000 to 10,000 a week as turn to there problem... different senate president have built over 1 billion naira house ... the question is , was there parent that rich before they passed the wealth to them ? useless people....

Its cool...or are thr okadas abroad in d US n UK?

Hell yes. I support. There are other states that there aren't okadas and life moves on. These okada guys take a fucking piss mehn

very good idea. these guys are getting uncontrollable. finally, someone does something about it!

The lagos state government should leave the okada riders alone..how do they want them to feed their family

CocoSharmell said...

Yes o...they are devils and they need to be taught a lesson...although I'm sure they could attempt reaching a compromise..I take bikes too but mst tymz I pray while on it that I dget to my destination safely..they are very reckless!..fashola carry go!

CocoSharmell said...

Yes o...they are devils and they need to be taught a lesson...although I'm sure they could attempt reaching a compromise..I take bikes too but mst tymz I pray while on it that I dget to my destination safely..they are very reckless!..fashola carry go!

i support lag government

Linda to my own little understanding i will support the Government even in the outright ban only if the Fashola regime could get them an automatic job by segregation in order to know the one who are highly skilled and the average ones. But am not sure the Govt in Nigeria could boost of that ..they only want to adopt developed world standard overnight without putting basic things in place.

Am sort of indifference, looking at the positive and Negative side of both arguement. If government can provide alternatives for these guys. Some of these guys with families depends on this Okada to feed thier Families. Fashola should begin a process, re-registration of all Okada men, through a regognize Okada Union. Where this can both benifit the two side, ensure that the union promise good behaviour and regognize uniform for all registered Okada men, with a regognize number. This will serve as extra avenue for also Government and ensure that this guys also pay tax...that way we all win

I just love my Fashola! These Okada riders act like all in all, forgetting that riding their okadas is a privilege, and not a right. Let these men now go and engage in meaningful trades.If we are to attain world class standards in this country, we must start somewhere!! we survived before okadas came, Nigeria go survive without okada

I feel bad about them losing their source of livelihood, but Okadas are such arrogant and careless on the road. I was driving and almost ran into one, he was distracted looking elsewhere and as I was honking, folks were screaming, he still kept checking whatever he was checking, out. If I would have hit him, the whole Okada nation would have swarmed me. I use them for quick movement but I honestly can make do without them.

475? Wetin remain again? Useless man! Any one in support of the ban, sha be ready for enuf robbery in ur house. D govt no provide jobs, they r busy choking the private coys that should have employed more hands, with their dirty multiple taxation. The jobs the people have provided for demselves, dey want to take it again. God punish dis wicked naija govt.

lovelylady said...

They Banned it in portharcourt and we have survived.they brought in kekes,even though they are also a nuisance,they are better than okadas.there has been a significant reduction in head injjuries since the ban of okada,so its ok if u ask me.they should introduce more kekes.

Z hrtbrk'n**if d govtment z 2 go diz dat means der hav in plan 2 find sumfin else 4 d riders#

The Ban on okada is but harsh and obnoxious.we cant replicate london or america.Its time our leaders realise that they must make policies that reflect our beliefs and accommodate our weaknesses.I am sure if both parties come together,they'll reach a compromise.

sokomighty said...

I totally support it,its not an outright ban like u said..its an attempt by LASG Τ̅☺ save lives D̶̲̥̅̊A̶̲̥̅τ̲̅ ђa̶̲̥̅̊vε̲̅ been lost via okada accidents on highways

jemimahnaa said...

Although it would make the roads less rowdy, and dial down the recklessness as in the city center of Abuja.I don't think it can be implemented yet mainly 'cos of the traffic situation and secondly cost of transportation esp cabs.their prices are ridiculous in lag mehn!! and not everyone wants to b squashed in a bus,some of us want to feel the breeze in our hair while maneuvering through cars stuck in traffic *evil grin, asides that, it is a means of livelihood for this people so what is the alternative for them? and some roads are not even accessible except by the use of bikes. I have had to bike from Aja to Ikeja in order not 2miss my flight once, not a pretty sight but i made it!if there were no bikes then, what would i v done? All this should be put into consideration before the final decision is made

jemimahnaa said...

oh and yay!! for once i got to comment first on here :D...lol

No I don't, brt buses can't reach evrywer, taxi men have skyrocketed their prices now, and buses are turning out 2 be kidnap zones and ritualist zones, pls bring them back ooooooooo, we need them

Let dem go

kcee said...

In as much as okada is not a very good means of transport and they cause nuisance on the roads, there has to be an alternative in place before banning them. There are many places the brt and buses deosn't cover. I pity lagosians. What lagos needs is a mass transit system like trains.

Sunai said...

Wit d Fashola administration tryin 2 transform Lagos state in2 a Mega City, 2 an extent I support d decision o̶̲̥̅n d ban, but let's also consider d terrible nd incessant Traffic condition I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ d state, D̶̲̥̅̊i̶̲̥̅̊s ban wud ve an adverse effect on lagosians, imagine U̶̲̥̅̊ goin 2 a destination D̶̲̥̅̊å† on a normal D̶̲̅@̤̥̣̈̊̇ÿ̲̣̣̣̥ witout traffic U̶̲̥̅̊ cn spend ‎​J̶̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇τ̣̣̥ 10-15mins, wit som terrible nd mad traffic, U̶̲̥̅̊ cn spend close 2 1hr plus gettin 2 d same destination, I mean dats ridiculous....Some lagosians wen goin 2 thr workplaces even prefers leaving thr vehicles park @ home nd tak okada 2 get 2 work on time, LASG shud also d fact D̶̲̥̅̊å† unemployment rate wud drastically increase I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ d metropolis nd we all knw d consequences D̶̲̥̅̊å† wud result 2 .....Infact I № ‎​J̶̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇τ̣̣̥ undastand sef, both parties shud ‎​J̶̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇τ̣̣̥ com 2 a reasonable compromise nd mak Lagos State safe, conducive nd livable.

They should thank Fashola for still letting them operate in lagos, okada has since been forgotten in Port Harcourt and i heard some hospitals has close bcos no more customers.

Okada is also ban in Warri now they just have few weeks to operation. lagos still allow them they are making noise ban them so they won't talk again.
they will go and do something good with their hands instead of killing pple with the okada

yes i support, abeg okada na work?

To me,I feel it shd and shdnt b. In the sense that, that's wat some ppl feed on, for graduates alone in lagos state no jobs, now askn this ppl nt to ride wat they feed on is going to b hard on thm. No job,no aw to feed their families and that leads to stealing.things re tight already in the country,nw takn their jobs away frm dem is punishment. Fine they av loads of rough riders among them esp the malams. They shd all b called,if possible trained to av a license or they do smtin evn tricicle is dangerous sigh! They shd deal with graduates without jobs first deir re so many tins to b worried abt in nigeria,lagos state itslf.haba!!!!!am partially nt in support

Yes Linda, Okada or what is it called should be banned, where should we start with? Is it the robbery attacks? Is it the nuisance? Is it the killings (Accidents) Fashola is just wasting time over this ban, maybe he's scared or something? He should ban okada all over lagos because the worst mistake he made was just leaving them to still operate inside the streets because the robery attack on citizens will increase, all these Niger republicans will increase their robbery attacks on us now. I have been robbed by okada riders and there are always two on each bike with their guns inside the the Ovaltine or bournvita cans which they put in the nylon bags pretending to be groceries they purchased when police catch them.. FASHOLAAAAA PLZZZZ BAN OKADA ALL OVER LAGOS ... THAT WILL BE OUR ONLY CRITERION TO VOTE ACN ON THE NEXT ELECTION.. I HAVE SPOKEN

Ojefia said...

fashola and the Hons' forgot that these okadas voted for them, infact this govt policy is affecting the average and the poor masses cos tolls fees is affecting those who ply lekki/ajah road and now Okada riders! so who are they governing?Linda talk.

teelong said...

yes i support it.......visit igbobi and you probably would support it too.....they don't obey traffic rules and think they are a law unto themselves....they have to be checked and it can only work using draconian tactics....infact in other states, it was outright ban...in Akwaibom, the governor went as far as buying up all okadas, u bring it in, and they pay you 50,000 naira....but i guess lagos cant do dat, they are simply too much, and we dont have oil money to share....lol....if they wanna remain, then operate within the confines of the law!....chikena....

Hmm...I totally don't support d ban, sorry to those that have been victims to robbery through these cyclist aka "okada".. If a ban is put on riding of okada don't u tink d crime rate in lagos state wud increase? Coz that's where an average lagos man earn his living from..I suggest certain plocy orpolices shud be made ..that's my view or beta still opinion.

Linda pls tell Fashola that d suffering is too much, imagine what I went tru at ikeja yesterday,instead of banning them he shld make an active law to regulate there reckless driving.Gov Fashola pls leave Okada riders alone

Governor Fashola you disappoint me o,Y ban Dem wen you knw dat okada transportation is part and parcel of Lagos road users.

While bikes re crying n fighting keke marwa drivers re relaxing n making their kul cash dey wish dis could last forever heheheh

On a serious note before d okadas came into existence were we not trekkin to our destinations, pls as For me i love it,it will make me trekk and make me loose some pounds and also keep it, dos okadas will still find work to do, it is only bann on major highroad.

I SUPPORT D LAGOS GOVT 100%,OKADAS ARE VERY DANGEROUS ON MAJOR EXPRESS ROADS DEY SHUD ONLY FUNCTION WITHIN ESTATES WIA D RISK OF GASTLY ACCIDENT IS REDUCED.I STAY IN AJAH AND I DONT KNOW HOW MANY OKADA RYDERS HAV BEEN HIT AND KILLED BY MOVING VEHICLES.

john doe said...

the okada riders are approaching it wrongly, destroying brt buses is not a sign of anger but a just reason for LASG to ban dem totally...other states have done it and lagos doing it is no big deal...

I support the govt, this okada people don't value peeps lives. This ban is like a speed limit for them and they should accept it and keep quiet.

HELLLLLLL YEAAAHHHH.................
THOSE GUYS JUST ENDANGER LIFE AND SCRATCH N MESS UP RIDES....THEY SHLD F*@K OFF.....

ada said...

2 wrongs cannot make a right,when r we going to realise dat violence doesn't bring abt solution.we all know der livelihood is at stake here bt destroyin tins is nt d way forward,more dialogue pls.Oh God help us in dis country

Kober said...

No i do not support the lagos state government on this , the traffic in lagos is too much ... i just hope they are doing the right thing.

Rather that ban Okada, Lagos state government should replace with Keke Marwa. Give a kind of soft loan to cussion the effect of payment to the people concerned. They okada riders are human beings too and part of our society.

I think the Government is creating more criminals as if Nigeria is not in enough distress as it is, those okada drivers that have forged a means of earning a decent living instead of part taking in criminal activities how does the state plan to compensate them? Is the state going to provide them with alternative jobs ? because if these men become criminals in the future would you really blame them? I am so honestly glad I do not live in Nigeria cause to me Nigeria is a country that doesn't acknowledge it has citizens who need to be considered in all its political decisions, now they have happily added to the number of unemployed people within that country. KMFT, Linda abeg I am tired of Nigerian leaders they are oppressing that Nation so much , but the day the people will actually finally have enough and rebel against the leadership that would be a day of joy for myself honestly , I would even fly in for such an occasion ... RUBBISH

Kober said...

For me i don't think its right for the lagos state government to ban the okada riders for plying any road in lagos state.... the traffic in lagos is just too much for people to move around faster without okada .... i just hope the government are doing the right thing.

supported!they are too reckless.no regard for human lives and property(vehicles)....I think they deserve to be banned.how were we coping 10-15yrs ago without okada?now everybody is lazy.Driving in lagos would be saner without them,Gov Fashola do not relent.It has happened in Akwa Ibom(capital of okada),it has happened in Owerri,it can happen in Lagos.....WE ARE SOLIDLY BEHIND YOU!....Oriaku-diya

I do not support lagos state government cause the population in lagos is high and traffic jam will become high. Most people will get home 1am and will have to leave home early by 5am to beat the traffic jam. So it doesn't make sense.

Scholastica Ugonma said...

I don't support the ban of the Okada riders atall!
The question is these okada riders how do they fend for themselves now that they have being put off 475 roads? A lot of which are illitrates.Even some graduates ventured into the occupation due to lack of jobs.and Lagos state being so overly occupated,with heavy traffic jam,that's some persons only means of getting to their various place of work early(if U̶̲̥̅̊'ve ever lived in Lagos,U̶̲̥̅̊'ll know what am talking about).
Lastly! Has Gov Fashola thought of a way to empower these people?,because hunger and starvation is no person's friend,like the saying "an idle mind is the devil's workshop".

Honestly okada riders can be a pain in d neck,but yet u can under estimate their usefullness in lag,dey have always help me to get to my destination on time,at time I leave my car and go for okada

Temmybaby said...

me i no support oo, instead of the House of Assembly to provide more jobs for the masses they prefer to stop pple struggling to make their daily bread.is like they are now promoting robbery at large. as we have recently recorded more that 3 robbery incident in our area within this Okada ban period, Fashola pls you need to do a re-think over this law

monticarlo said...

To some extent i support dem but i don't support to dem as they ve failed to address the issues that support the decison..dey can't place a BAN just like dat...

Boladale said...

We all know the activities of Okada rider in Lagos, but in my own thinking I think the government suppose to provide alternatives for this ban e.g. provision of Marwa (keke napep) also if care is not taken this jobless okada will turn to armed robbers to torment the citizens especially in the interior part of the country. 475 roads is too much oooooooo.

I think it should be extended to an outright ban throughout Lagos. The riders brought this on themselves with their lack of respect for human lives, their attitude to other road users and relevant traffic laws. Yes, we'll feel the pain but we're better off without them.

vanessa said...

Its ridiculous,stupid,these people take dis as a means of of livelihood,so wats going to happen to dem?then the crime rates become so high,people on the streets getting robbed,how den will d government cub dat?lagos traffic is terrible,bus fares are on the increase.how on earth will dey ban bikes in a city as commercial as lagos?were dey even thinking?

My problem with Government of nigeria and Lagos specifically is dat they believe that serving few currupt lunatics and derelics makes them relevant. Ipaja-Ayobo road had been abandoned, several other roads had become dead zone and yet nothing is happening to this govt. They campaigned with Ikorodu road to be federal road yet they divided a part of it for BRT to their profit and are arresting nigerians for plying that route. apart from few roads in Ikoyi and Lagos Island where governor and his friends live, no other one is ever considered for repair, yet He claims to be doing well, requesting for special stautus for lagos state that is 80% slump. Responsible govt provide a way out of poverty for the people, (watch presidential debate in US) and find a way to make them comfortable, but nigerian govt (Very irresponsible) increase the pain of the people. The wicked willnot go unpunished

I think the ban was not well taught of. The so called 475 roads if you check the list are as good as all the major roads in Lagos. The Ministry/Government failed to think of the ripple effect on peeps,many businesses use Okada's as dispatch/ delivery. The cost of purchasing the new specification as stipulated by the government is enormous. The police have as usual made good use of the opprotunity to exploit citizens....its just a messed up situation.

ugochysom said...

me support them... But hey, lagos govt be sure tu provide other opportunities for 'em

Okada should be ban, they have maimed a whole lot of Nigerians now they are vandalizing Public properties, tax payers money. God bless BRF!!! Eko o ni baje!!!

Chinedu said...

what do govt want them to be doing???
This will just lead to increase in robbery

Ever been stuck in traffic on your way to catch an international flight?....den u'll know okada is relevant!

The rationale behind the law is good, but the approach to implementing it is very wrong.
It requires a gradual process to implement laws in a dynamic society like LAGOS STATE.

Good work, wish I had a Governor with his state of mind, Lagos will reach there

The biggest problem in Lagos is the population which leaves the transport system insufficient... ever been stranded at the bus stop for hours?

they should come to port harcourt or go to Abuja or owerri den dey wil kn he is bin fair.

Yinkah said...

Yes, I support the ban and They should be shipped to MARS and Jupiter.

I support

Yes yes yes they just too much

The Realist said...

It would definitely make driving in Lagos a lot easier. I just think crime rates would rise due to the now jobless okada drivers

For goodness sake, if okada riding must be banned in Lagos with adequate measure to cushion its effect in the life of Lagosians not in place, then Government is myopic, selfish and brutal. the BRT buses are not enough and does not ply every route of Lagos, based on this reason, pravate bike riders(workers) should be allowed to use their bike but not for comercial purpose so as to lessen the burden of transportation on them.

look linda, we cannot continue to be a nation where anything goes. Anybody can just go and start an okada business. I'm a doctor and i can tell you that over 50% of Road traffic accidents are caused by these drivers, some of whom did not have any formal training some of whom are not nigerians!!!!!!!!!!!
We have to sanitize the system or we will all face the terrible consequences.

Yes we support o! Ordinarilly I would have said they should give them job opportunities to substitute this but then they shld relocate to other states abeg, we no want .. If they trully dnt gat a choice, then they'll be willin to start a new life in another state.. Double joy fr us, no okadas yet we r depopulatin Lagos.. Halleluyah!!.... Don diddy!

Kabuoy said...

Mehn... Linda i don't support outright ban o!!!

i think they should be banned from the highway tho cuz the rate of accidents on those roads is alarming. Igbobi can testify.
I strongly support the ban on Ikorodu road and third mainland bridge. kai! those okada men are recklessly reckless!

our lives are more important than getting to wherever early.

But biko, the inner and less busy roads... they should allow them and the policemen should stop harassing them. its just unfair

The govt should build more roads too cuz mehn... the traffic on those roads they banned okada from is hell. and these okada men make getting home easier.

Kabuoy said...

More buses and tricycles would help too....

Govt needs to look at this decision again. We entering festive period. Roberry will be on the increase.

Angel said...

if lagos state is banning okada riders on virtually most road is it going to solve the problems that we are facing daily? Instead of them to find means of repairing all the bad road so that traffic can flow freely the best they can think of is okada riders. i just pity our state in this nation. when the poor masses are crying daily about the sufferings and corruption in this country, the government instead of relieving the pains are even making things worse. most of these okada riders earn their livelihood from it and you want to ban them. Its as good as creating unemployment and sending them to the streets to become robbers. when we make decisions we should always look at the future consequences. I dont think that okada riders are our major problem in this state lets just leave them alone and solve real problems. They are even there to give some of us relief from stress when going home after an already stressful day. The roads are bad everywhere let the govt. deal with that then there will be no need for one to take okada. Just my opinion anyways.

It's fine that they banned it but st least give these ppl another option. It's the government job to do so.

i support and will support lagos state government over and over again.

I ALWAYS SAY THERE IS ONE ILLNESS WITH POLITICAL OFFICE HOLDERS, THAT IS POVERTY OF THE MIND... REASON BEING THAT THEY ACT STUPIDLY JUST BECAUSE THEY SMELT POWER... THEY NEVER THOUGHT THEY WILL EVER BE IN THAT HIGH POSITION EVER IN THEIR LIVES... I MEAN THESE ARE THE POOR MASSES WHO VOTED THE SO CALLED GOVERNOR INTO POWER... THOSE ARE THEIR MEANS OF LIVELIHOOD... THESE MEN HAVE FAMILY TO CATER FOR... IF AN OPPOSITION PARTY DECIDES NOW TO TAKE FASHOLA TO TRIBUNAL, HE WILL FIGHT AGAINST IT WITH THE LAST BLOOD IN HIS VEINS... THIS CHEER WICKEDNESS... WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO LAWS? WHERE DOES THE GOVERNOR EXPECT THESE MEN TO GO TO... IF HE REALLY WANTS TO BAN OKADA, HE SHOULD HAVE AN ALTERNATE MEANS OF LIVELIHOOD FOR THESE MEN, IF NOT, THE RATE OF CRIME WILL INCREASE... GOVERNMENT ARE NOT BEEN FAIR TO THE MASSES... INFACT THEY ARE ALL MEALY MOUTHED POLITICIANS...

NULI DE NONYES

Banning Okada is not the issue. The real issue is the hungry so called law enforcement agents i.e police, lastman, and other forces of destruction who have now seen this unfortunate situation as an opportunity to kill, steal and destroy.
Driving to work today, as i negotiated into GRA i noticed over 60 policemen and army officials,parked in clutters all talking on walkies at first i felt maybe there was an armed robbery operation happening but driving closer, ALAS it was a siege on Okada riders. It was a sad pathetic, barbaric and animalistic site like we are known to behave.

I took it upon myself to warn all other okada riders going in that direction to turn back.

Now to the issue, is it a BAN we need when the so called 475 roads haven't been clearly marked? Now you seize these bikes that people spent hard earned cash to buy, take it to a massive factory where the wheels are removed and it is squashed. is there a compensation plan in place? then the most annoying, people are stranded and are having to trek LONG distances on these BAD ROADS. We know about the road network and the horrible stat, let not go to the so called alternative means of transport e.g keke napep and co.who can't even get into the inner roads to chauffeur people. We always place the cart before the horse in this country. Now we can argue that in other countries people trek blah blah blah but these are countries with CLEAN roads, well connecting routes and a transport system that WORKS. I keep saying it Fahsola has lost the plot while he means well, i think he is being a bully about enforcing these rules. We have the media Linda your blog isn't just for gossip, like you informed us about closing 3rd mainland bridge and exposed the alternative routes government needs to use all forms of media to campaign this issue, stating the so called marked 475 roads, sensitizing people about what the NO OKADA signs look like. Then FIX our roads so walking on them would no longer be unplanned suicide sites. We know our roads are death traps. Linda God has placed in this position for a time like this, use this opportunity well. Trust me i will be first to shout BAN OKADA, i and my car have been victims of Okada and its riders especially those aboki riders. Go to Igbobi and you will quickly agree with Fashola BUT we also need to have a human face to this, some of these people are fathers and family men. Take the Okada but pay a token as compensation of cause on presentation of a valid receipt that the rider actually purchased the seized Okada. Nuff said biko.

Mimi said...

How can you compare Lagos to New York on this okada issue. There is a class of Lagosians that do not own cars and the percentage is very high. I believe in Fashola and I love what he's been doing so far, but this - it just wasn't well thought out. So what's the alternative. How many buses go into the interiors. Will we be walking for 30 minutes to come to the main road and another 30 minutes when going back? its outrightly silly. Buses and cars also cause accidents so I guess we should ban all of them since walking on foot is the only sure way. If you ban okadas, then give us suitable alternatives. Consider the environment in which the law operates. Lagos and no okada or suitable alternative just can't work. Fashola is in for it this time around.

ALL THESE PEEPS HERE IN SUPPORT OF OF THE OKADA BAN, I JUST SHAKE MY HEAD IN PITY. HOW WOULD U FEEL IF UR FATHER'S MEANS OF LIVELIHOOD IS FLUSHED DOWN THE DRAINS JUST LIKE THAT... THOSE MEN ARE PEOPLE'S FATHERS... THOSE YOUNG MEN ARE THE BREAD WINNERS OF THEIR FAMILY... TOO BAD THOUGH... JUST THINK FOR A WHILE 'IF IT WERE TO BE ME'....

NULI DE NONYES

Mimi said...

To all you people comparing Lagos state with Port Harcourt and Abuja, I've lived in Lagos and Port Harcourt too and I've been to Abuja a number of times, these states have alternatives. Cabs there are also affordable. Cabs in Lagos are crazily expensive. No problem with banning them in the long run, but it should be a process. Provide alternative means of transportation and livelihood. Consider the peculiarities of Lagos state and create policies that can work. Set things in place before making laws. Don't just import what operates in New York without considering the situation in Lagos

I support the ban! It is about time!

What's 475 guys? Anyway it will increase robbery and kidnapping! Fashola suppose to set some rules for them which they must abide though law enforcement with their egunje won't help matters

Less we forget ACN gave the bike men helmets during the last elections to win their votes claiming they wont ban them...now thats history i guess.

Hnmm dy shldnt evn try it!coz crime rates will b on d rise!secndly wat oda mins of livelyhood has bin put in plc 4 ds pips if dy dnt wnt dm in mst prt of lagos?d only tin I tin govt cn do is lay dwn regultns 4 okada drivers jst d sm way dy do wit car owners,(LASTMA) any1 of dem who fails wld pay a fine!its as simple as dat!

i support the ban 100% even though i use them once in a while i still support the ban. their wahala is too much.

Chidinma said...

I dont support the ban at all Had a very terible day yesterday, trekked from akerele to marsha after stressful day at work.
There has to be a way out.
linda whats up with your page

Kabuoy said...

MY TURN.... on point!

We should see the effect of our decisions at times. Yesterday I was held up in the park for like two hours.

You see now that they are thugs? How is the answer destroying state property?They disobey traffic lights and drive on the wrong side of the road in the opposite direction, they zip across the road like there's no tomorrow and yet if they cause an accident their mob will be on you like white on rice. I know it's a means of transportation for millions of people in Lagos but if they are not going to behave like human beings, what's the point? I've seen so many situations when even the passenger is shouting at the okada man for reckless driving in front of a car *hiss*

Its going to be quite difficult for everyone both passengers and the riders but looking at the posiitive side of it,I tink this is the best decision. Accidents will reduce thereby saving lives,I rather be alive and suffer a lil inconvenience,been a vicitm of okada accident and the idiot still made me pay. Robbery on the high way will reduce as well. We have over 3000 roads in lagos,maybe not highways though,let them more to the other roads,it can never be the same though but its better than nothing. It was difficult in portharcourt then but after a while pple got use to it. We all will adjust with time.Okadas sud never had been on the highways if we had good laws in Nigeria.

If you are not awear please be informed that they are involved in 90% of the accidents on our lagos roads. They do not obey traffic rules and never obeyed the curfew the government gave them some years back.

You must be stupid and insentitive.....is okada nt better than armed robbery or kidnapping?.......mumu oshi

They will obviously find work to do.....they wil rob ur mother,stab ur neighbour,rape ur daughters.........idiot,selfishmumu..,an idle hand is d devils workshop and by the time this okada riders(robbers) descend on ur household...,fashola will not be affect,God come butter ur bread na december don reach so,na ur hand dem go collect money for xmas chicken,make we see weda u no go loss ur stupid weight....OZWOR oshi

Personally I feel Fashola has lost the Plot.
This pattern occurs everytime.
You put a level-headed Nigerian in a position of authority.
And they become monsters.

Is it a genius that will recognise that you desperately need Okada to service the largest population in the country?
Cant they be given RFID tags and taxed?
IS THIS A EARTHSHAKING IDEA? THAT A 4YR OLD CANT OFFER?
The INFORMAL SECTOR ALONE, CAN BARELY CONTAIN LAGOS STATE!
AND WHERE ARE THE JOB CREATION OPPORTUNITIES, E-LEARNING, JOB TRAINING CENTRES, THE INDUSTRIAL PARKS IN EACH LOCAL GOVERNMENT?

Fashola is a sad commentary on the Insensitivity of Nigerian leaders.
And I believe his only mission is to:
Ba Eko je.

Does Obama have 2 heads? Isn't he a lawyer?
Why is he able to create jobs like that?

Africa is hot and fashionable right now, You'd think with all the hotness, Fashola will be utilizing the season
to bring more industries, opportunities and lift more people out of the lower class - to the state.
Particularly in Manufacturing!
Instead he is focussing on Okada.
Is Okada, the biggest problem in Lagos, or electricity, health and security.

But of course, his Oga is building hotels across the state!

Bloody Disppointment of a Governor.
And Godfather.
Don't even let me start on the flowers issue!

Linda publish this comment! Thanks.
I love you baby.

Der are lots of tins 2 do aside ridin an okada,therefore I support it,des guys are too reckless,dey dnt av value 4 human lifes,go on a visit 2 igbobi den u wil undastnd wat I mean nd d worse is dey act like dey own d roads,if lagos is 2 hard 4 dem,den dey shuld go bak 2 der villa nd develop it,must evryone be in lag?

Walahi, ur english bad. Why not resort to pidgin na?

Aww Congrats. This just made my day, there's hope for me still. I tap into dis testimony IJN. Amen

Ode!! So is this US or UK? Cities in the US or UK have taxis that offer door-to-door services, so is it Ūя̲̅ molue or brt bus dat offers that? Only the okadas can boost of that especially with the state of the roads in most communities. I just think all that is needed is a sanitization of the riders,thorough screening before granting them licences and prosecute offenders just like normal motor laws stipulate. Abi we don't have reckless bus or car drivers ni? And for your info, there are bikes in some top-class countries too e.g china.

I completely support it.

Hahahahhah... Remember most okada men are family people they have †ђξ daily task they must meet up with... Govt should look inward.... If ban let consider †ђξ rate of unemployment

I do not understand, These okada riders came from somewhere, they should go back home and farm or something. Instead of castigating fashola, Please face other governors of other states who have provided nothing for their people thereby putting the pressure on Lagos.

So much like you opinion in the case of ban ,

You on point bro

reading all the comments make me wonder how some people passed JAMB sef. THE MAN DID NOT "OUTRIGHTLY BAN" OKADA RIDERS, HE LIMITED THEIR AREAS OF OPERATION!!!! come to think of it, like 10 years ago, we never had anything like okada in this lagos and we survived perfectly so all that crap about taking away their means of livelihood wont't work. You don't go fighting LASG and expect to win!! this ha sbeen signed, sealed and now being delivered. Asides, they were all briefed and accented to it. Make dem leave levels abet!!

Please ban them outright. Lawless bunch of Touts. Who do they think they are? Vandalising Govt property..... Get the scum off our roads!

My Turn, You have totally made sense I am a Nigerian born and raised in the UK, when I go to Nigeria the shock is quite hard to absorb, I totally get what you are saying about the states of the road and no public transport service, my husband is a Nigerian who has been in London just a few years he refuses to buy a car as he finds the transport system overly effective here, and any disputes to public transport one is notified in ample time.

My argument is how will those said okada drivers be compensated, you cannot just take an individuals property and destroy it because you have decided they should no longer use their bike son the road did the state buy those bikes, not only is the state rendering these men jobless it is also destroying their properties without any form of compensation being made? I keep saying the leadership of Nigeria has no concern for its people , they really don't in addition I do not believe they have thought this their brain child through properly because I would really like to know how they want these people to hold body and soul so to speak, so when crimes increase what will be said ? One may argue that these said okada men are dangerous , why doesn't the state look into creating / maintaining better roads and also possibly having driving schools that would train these dangerous drivers. I mean Nigeria is a funny place, people don't take lessons or driving test they just get licences, in London I had to take a theory test and practical test before I was given a full drivers licence and if I should be involved in any road accidents/incidents I stand to loose my licence.

The fact is Nigeria is disorganized and our leadership is just pussy footing around dealing with trivial issues they need to go to the core roots of issues within Nigeria and treat those issues if there is any hope of getting rid of the effects all I see in Nigeria is the leadership dealing with problems without eradication of the cause of the problem, for instance if person get cancer , they attack the cancer from the core root not just give you medication to subside the pain, so please let that Governor sit down with his half baked agenda and go and face his real problems lack of adequate training for okada drivers, lack of adequate training for car drivers , bad roads et al.

I would like to add that the behaviour the Government has displayed publicly in the burning of those bikes , is nothing short of vandalism and criminality at its best, how can the Government be destroying individuals properties that it had no financial contributions in acquiring. So please help me understand how a country where its leadership acts like common criminals , how does one expect its peoples to act , no wonder killings and all sorts of atrocities are rift within Nigeria , that country lacks serious law and order and even the leaders follow no law so what do the masses do, if not follow in the foot steps of its leaders...KMRCT

Stop having too many children Nigerians!

Banning of okada is not only act of wickedness, but barbaric, 475 roads?, how many roads do we have in Lagos?. why didnt it ban them b/4 2011 election?. comparing Lagos with any part[s] in the Europe is stupidity n foolishness

with this i use pray for my family that live in lagos.....cos armed robbery will surely be on the increase no doubt

When I drive I dislike the utter recklessness of okada men but I appreciate them when urgency is needed. I think Lagos isn't ripe for the ban.The law @ this time only adds to ppls hardship( both okada men & commuters who live in areas plagued by trafik)

'Nigerian raised in the uk', I was actually agreeing with you until u lost me altogether again. Nigerians are really a tough bunch to please. We like to sympathise & empathise every situation instead of looking @ it wholistically. It is not an outright ban so pls people get your facts straight before you whip up d sentiments. 60% of d crime in lagos and its environs are perpetrated by these so called men trying 2 eke a living. 80% of road accidents have their hands written all over it. Some people are more scared of okadas than other road users. They are lawless, violent, don't obey laws and to put the icing on d cake, when the ban took effect, the only sensible thing they can think of doing is vandalising properties bought with tax payers money. Back in d days when cabs were a menace and used for all sorts of crimes, the sensible ones decided to form a proper union, sub divide them into units to save their integrity and continue with their means of earning a livelihood. Granted d road networks are still bad but don't make it worse with 'menaces to society' in form of okada riders trying 2 make a living. Let them use d opportunity to dialogue and look for a better way forward. Seperate the wheat from the chaff. The good ones will identify their worthy members and the bad ones will have to find an alternative means of survival afterall that was what the business was to them initially. Lazy louts.

http://spiritualplace.blogspot.com/ said...

THEY HAVE JUST MANAGED 2 UNLEASH MORE CRIMINALS IN LAGOS. Cos these people are now jobless.....Ihe amagi otuneme, otuneme ga adi.

More reason for everyone to give their lives to Christ.

http://spiritualplace.blogspot.com/

I am in support of the ban. d Okada riders are used to [perpetuate evil, such as Ritual killing, robbery ect.

furthermore, its not save to ride bikes on the major roads. u need to see how dey drive. Everything is changing in d world, lets us also give change a chance..

I will advise Lagos state Government to create more jobs to accommodate dem in d society as most of dem will fall out of jobs as a result of d ban.

Pls ooooooo Okada is my easy means of transport. Sharpily sharpily 4 getting around dis damn Lag and hooking up wif work!
Mayb ill just buy me a powerbike!
Billie jean

i know my parents like it but i dont oooo....will i start entering bus ni?CU boy n dey enter bus...

U are stupid to say about okada guys I am so sure u don't even a toy as a car idioit

Tha ban is welcome as too many people I know have had ghastly okada accidents and some have died; and I don't know how many road users haven't lost a side mirror(or two) to them.I have never been on one and have begged God not to ever let me find myself in a situation where I'll need to(pls note I've used and still use keke, danfo and co so not butty talk). Mine is a phobia plus they're unruly and think they're invisible sometimes. I'm glad they're gone but provision should be made for them regarding income etc. So long guys, it was horrendous while it lasted!

Lagos traffic is mad this okada help out a lot if u ban this okada robbery will increase fashola I taught ur a good man but now I can't say that again any bike man that dies or his family mind u their blood is on ur head

sharon said...

Fashola pls u can give this okada men a time range to work say from 6am to 8pm its fair armrobbery will increase in lagos state this men voted u in u can't compare lagos state to ph the traffic rate is much pls rethink

U ppl against the ban should pls go to the National orthopedic hospital,Igbobi n see the number of okada accident victims. A tour will convince u. So bcos of cheap or faster means of transportation, u wanna risk ur lives. Them no dey sell body parts for market ooo.

Jay O said...

1) Fashola should have tightened regulations, where not just anyone can start an okada business.

2) All okadas should be registered and if unable to be registered be impounded.

3) Enforce helmet wearing by both the bike rider and passenger.

4) Enforce it where not anyone can get a license any how in Lagos period! Car or okada! Having a regular moto driver's license shouldnt be sufficient for operating an okada. They should have their own special okada license. This is what happens here in the US since he now thinks Lagos is Yankee.

The rules should be established and only a restricted number of okadas should be allowed on the road aka be allowed to be registered in any given year.

Thats what government is about, not making bans all over the place like is accustomed to being done in Naija.

One Word Man said...

n view of d okada ban combined with fuel shortage, let me humbly give a few tips here.

10. Buy shoe protectors. Replace as the need arises.

9. In relation to number 10, carry an extra pair of foot wear. (preferably slippers) in your bag (men inclusive). That bag should also carry the following: a small umbrella, water bottle and small chops to go.

8. Wear casual clothes to work. Change into your official clothes at work. Change back to the casual clothes for the journey back home. You don’t want. to look too official while trekking.

7. For the ladies, this is the time to smile from ear to ear with that ugly male colleague who drives a car and lives near your residence.

6. For the guys, buy a car before them tif your babe.

5. Save the money for your gym membership. You are getting enough exercise already.

4. Start trekking groups in your class,church,mosque,office etc. After all it is said that a trek trekked with companion is no trek at all

3. Learn how to entertain yourself in your own space. Stock up on game consoles, books, magazines, movies etc. Pay that DSTV
subscription too.

2. As the crime rate increases due to the okada ban, buy a gun.

1. If none of the above works, pack go your village and fulfill Fashola’s innate dream for Lagos state.

Abeg later. Let me prepare for this evening’s trek.

Eko o ni baje... Ju bayi lo !!!

BLOGLORD said...

Am not against the ban but am worried about the survival means of these okada riders. i hope govt comes up with some form of employmnet for them before robbery rate becomes increasingly high.
In another thought, i think this is another way of passing the message that Lagos is not meant for the poor but for the middle class n rich. e be like poor people go soon begin pack go back village cos i do not see how they'd cope. if they decide to trade at road side, KAI will nab them. so what option do they have
? oya back to village!

they should replace it for them with keke maruwa....dey would drop the bike and add little change. i think thats better

BAN THOSE DAMN TERMITES ON THE ROADS.BLOODY ROAD TERRORISTS,MENACE TO SOCEITY.

If you knew there were no bikes you would have managed your time better and left in good time to be able to catch your flight

Anon 12:51 why do some of you here feel that other people are not entitled to their opinions just the way you are entitled to yours? Someone gives his opinion on an issue and you rain insults on him because his opinion is different from yours? Beats me your kind of mentality

If you knew there were no bikes you would have managed your time better and left in good time to be able to catch your flight

Bugacious said...

.....hmmmm, I once had a very dull and dumb gateman, a mallam( as in really dumb). After gathering some funds, he buys okada and quits his job.......and den I tot to myself....so dis guy would carry someone on the road and the person would feel safe.....huh

Pls note that a majority are mallams(uneducated) who migrate to Lagos only cos they feel Lagos allows orishirishi.....

I take okada(or well I use to) until I had an accident......so now, I learn to plan my journey and give ample time

Change is the only constant thing in life, yet it takes time for people to get used to it.....I bet wit time, we' ll appreciate d ban

Ego onibaje o.....

Yes, if they can be banned in Abuja, Enugu is it Lagos, Ban all of them Ifeanyis make dem go look for better job, if na cleaning the roads on Nigeria and getting paid na job.

linda'sfriend said...

i only feel bd for the okada guys cos some of them have to feed on riding Okadas etc. if they completely BAN them i guaratee that crome rates will go up.

Hey bloggers, I assume a lot of you on this blog didn't go to school and Linda's blog happens to be d 1st formal education some of you will pass through. Please enlighten me how crimes rates will increase as the said okada's were used to perpetrate previous crimes in Lagos. If an okada man doesn't have his bike, how does he then intend to go and commit crime, on foot?

Nancy said...

Coming frm someone who just recovered frm a bike accident, i'm askn what's the wisdom in dat. In a country of 150 million people, how can U ban bikes when our roads and transport system are below average? If U ban bikes today, do U think our mediocre police force can tackle d impending increase in crime rate? There are decent men who would rather ride bikes and feed their families than steal, and U are pushing them to do just that. D fact that d policy works in other states, doesn't mean it will work in overpopulated lagos. You can't be in an chauffeur-driven in an Air conditioned car and think you know what it means to live below average. Just look for a way to weed out the reckless ones and enforce some discipline, and all will be well. As hard as it is, Fashola needs to imagine the serious hardship he is are inflicting on the masses that voted him in. You can never begin to imagine the distance people are trekking this days bcos of the ban. The country is already difficult for people, dont make it any worse.

Nancy said...

There is no denying the fact that some of them are reckless and are actually responsible for most accidents on the road. But that is because the same govt shirked in their responsibilities and allowed any tom, dick and cockroach pick a bike to ride. If you put laws in place that ensures that these men are duly tested and registered before they start, instead of the unlicensed riders or aboki's that dont understand the red traffic light; then you have restored a degree of order and sanity. Imagine me trekking from sheraton road ikeja to toyin roundabout. I'm sorry guv fashola, but this is just plain insensitive. I used to have a great deal of respect for you, but lately you seem to have lost that magic that made you a man of the people.

veeon said...

Its a very good idea.. but the fact remains that this is some peoples livelihoods.. this is how they feed their kids.. if the cant get money through these means they will get it through dangerous and illegal means which may be harmful to us. we all know the government doesnt partake in any form of job creation so its a lose lose situation no matter the decision taken.

Governor Fashola inasmuch as we keyed into ur vision for Lagos state this particular one is pure retrogression. I have my seriious qualms with okadas in terms of safety but its extremely practical in lagos state at the moment.
Besides without okada that simply means all commuters will travel by car and traffic volumes will simply increase. Cost more time and fuel in lagos traffic and reduce the efficiency of an already innefficient economy.

Bros turn off that Hollywood soap and look around u pls. This is Lagos not Rhode Island. This ban alone is going to spike an oversupply of ruthless bandits.

L.A.S.T.M.A Killa

Water & garri......if u dnt understand english, biko go bck ur village; btw, linda, d ban of okada is causing more havoc in las'gidi. BRF should reason dis tin well; abii hin no get adviser ni? Hw d heck does he want 'em to survive? Hold on, lemme ansa dt -- robbing/stealing......they've goh families mahn, in my est alone 2 robberies in 3days.....n it was still a bike man dt let d police get a hold of one of d thieves, in life thr are 2sides to things.......we goh advs & disadvs~~ d way we treat d disadvs individually is wht matters...u dnt av to ban 'em; I dey tink d kain waka I go dey waka nw....for those saying its a gud fing, I bet u goh cars; if u dnt n ur saying dis *i comment my reserve*

Thunder fire ur mouth!!! Na u wan upgrade them to keke? *longhiss* ode oshi

Bhahahahha!!!!! Oh gawd, very bad english.....he must be one of d okada riders, he jes want to be heard. Pls let him *ROTFL*

Mumu, must u enter it? Leave it for those dt need it......biggest mumu on earth, onyiara///// brain not detected at all, shior.

Bhahahahha!!!!! Oh gawd, very bad english.....he must be one of d okada riders, he jes want to be heard. Pls let him *ROTFL*

Ola said...

I have a lot to say....
First of all,madam Nigerian raised in the uk, pls ur understanding of what transpires in Lagos is far from what mental picture u had or experienced the okada riders act wen u last came visiting.... Ur seating in the comfort of a functioning environment wer things are placed to help the ppl, now fashola is trying to save lives as well as remove the menace, the dredge of some blown out of proportion means of transport from the society!!!.....I DARE u to ride on an okada if there allowed bck(which I pray never)...

Secondly,why are some of u peeps going on abt Fashola trying to change Lagos into NY or some other place, if he cant achieve the copy at least hes making an effort for a better change..as far as I am concerned he can do no wrong, the guy has done a whole lot,past Lagos governors wouldn't even dream of....

Thirdly,all you ppl saying wat would "these okada drivers" survive on? Pls there are more than enuf wrk in Lagos to go round... Ago(ppl that carry loads of stuff for ppl in the mkt)....sweeping the streets..... Gateman/security(tho ild rather not hire).....sell newspapers/magazines,....keke,.....dustbin carrier(and before ppl jump on me,I knew a graduate who had no choice,looked dingy wen he's doing the wrk but wen not in wrk clothes he looked very decent)..... So pls the list is endless , if all else fails go to sch or learn a trade, or bck to ur village to farm or watever,there are options,,even Fashola has some vocational schs set up already.

4thly,...all bad mouth prayers abt "rise in crime",I totally Reject that in Jesus Name.....but why?Haba!... Instead of praying for evil lets pray for GOOD,FOR the BEST!

5thly... Abt bad roads we should hold the "local govt chairman/chairlady" responsible not Fashola as the money allocated to these ppl comes straight frm Federal Govt not the state purse..... He has tried with the roads let the local chairman/lady do her bit!.... Chikena!