Senator Ndume told Boko Haram to threaten the Attorney General of the Federation– SSS | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 October 2012

Senator Ndume told Boko Haram to threaten the Attorney General of the Federation– SSS

The State Security Service on Wednesday told an Abuja Federal High Court that Senator Aliyu Ndume asked a self-confessed spokesman of the violent Islamic sect, Boko Haram, Ali Kodunga (a.ka Al-Zawahiri), to call and threaten the Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice,Mohammed  Adoke (SAN).

Konduga has since been convicted on two counts of criminal breach of public trust and intimidation through anonymous communication. He is currently serving a three-year prison term.

The SSS said it made the discovery when Ndume’s mobile telephone call logs were analysed during investigations. The Senator  is facing terrorism charges brought against him by the Federal Government.
On June 14, 2012, a Federal High Court in Abuja presided by Justice Gabriel Kolawole,  ruled that Ndume must face trial on four counts of terrorism.

The court also dismissed a motion filed by his counsel, Chief Rickey Tarfa (SAN), seeking the dissolution of the charges against him. Ndume is accused of having links with  Boko Haram and also being involved in its activities.

When the trial resumed on Wednesday, a chief investigative officer in the SSS, Mr. James Inneh, told the court that Ndume gave Adoke’s phone number to Konduga.

According to Inneh, the alleged threat by Konduga  was to force the AGF to influence the outcome of the election tribunal sitting in Borno State in favour of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Inneh said , “Konduga, in his confessional statement told the SSS that Ndume gave him the phone number of the AGF to threaten him (AGF) that they would make Borno State ungovernable if he did not ensure that the Borno State Election Petition Tribunal gave judgment in favour of the PDP.”

The agent admitted that Ndume gave some materials he obtained from Boko Haram to Vice-President Namadi Sambo and the Director-General of the SSS, while he served as a member of the Presidential Committee on Security Challenges in the North-East.

Inneh said, “We investigated his claim by using our tradecraft. We did not have any audience with the VP but we investigated. His (Ndume) phones were sent to experts for analysis and after the phones were analysed, we did not tell him about our findings.

“He was not there when the analyses were  carried out. Some of the materials we took from his house were laptops, GSM phones, an international passport and other things.”

Inneh said he could not recall if Ndume had written a letter to the Inspector-General of Police to ask for protection.

Justice Kolawole, however,  adjourned the trial to November 1- 5 and December 11, 2012.
Ndume had asked the court to acquit him of the charges, arguing that the proof of evidence filed by the prosecution did not link him with the sect.

Ndume said his alleged relationship with Konduga, which formed the basis of the charges against him, came as a result of his membership of the presidential committee set up to address the security challenges in the North-East.

Ndume told the court that before his appointment as a member of the committee, he had no contact with Konduga or any other member of the sect.

However, in a counter-affidavit, the prosecution counsel, Mrs. Olufumilayo Fatunde, had asked the court to hold that Ndume’s trial must proceed summarily in line with Section 33(2) of the Federal High Court Act.
Ruling on the matter, the court maintained that, after studying the charges brought against the Senator, it found that he had a case to answer.

Kolawole said, “There is a link between the accused person and the offences listed in counts one to four.
“The mere presence of a probable defense to a criminal charge is not enough to quash the charge. The fact that an accused person denied the charges is not enough to quash the charges. There is a link between the accused person and some members of the Boko Haram.”

Source: Punch

20 comments:

And d drama goes on and on and on...................... Till we hear nothing again

He had said ds long tym ago..#recycled news#...judgment is wat we want.

BLOGLORD said...

i said it! i said it that these Boko Haramist are politically sponsored.
Mr Senator and cohorts, shedding innocent lives(for ur ritual purposes) via bomb blast and claiming terrorist attacks...
God is watching you all.
Remember, you are nothing but a pencil in the hand of ur creator.
carry on! incite BH the more, go on!

We hope we see the true end of this.

SMH**breeze dn dey blow der yarsh dn der open#i knew top officals wer behind dis boko sect.#weapon wise n informations 2#abeg mr judge use dark shade giv ur judgement ohh**no look e face ohh

Angel said...

Ndume I pity you o. You see that Mrs Olufunmilayo Fatunde, she is fierce. You guys need to hear her speak. She's very articulate and brilliant so I trust she will deliver excellence in this matter. And as for Justice Kolawole, no nonsense judge. He is a role model for young Lawyers. So, Ndumeh, I pity you once again. I suggest you fire Rikky Taffa and just speak for yourself. Rikky Taffa was definitly confused the day he said an officer in the office of Attorney General can not sign charges on behalf of the Attorney general. such rubbish coming from a whole SAN Smh . May God help us in Nigeria. Our leaders have become our own enemies.

Adeagbo Kabir said...

May God Almighty expose all the underground evil doers in Nigeria. Also, the best government can do for the masses is to ensure none of the convicts on terroist cases go scot free. Capital punishment should be used against them.

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

dey don start again so na only senator ndume dey catch other big players for north way dey sponsor boko nko dem no catch dem okay no long talk there are concrete evidence to indict this bastard saboteur dat has been sponsoring death in Nigeria to hang for life let them quickly hang him he is full of blood he contributed in sending both christian s and moslems to their early grave

Buks said...

Things are happening oooh , Thank God for prayers the lord is exposing them one by one . President Jonathan no slacking on this , no fear them .

Now you guys know the idiots behind this boko haram nonsense. Jonathan and crew are you still sleeping?

At least we now knw Boko Harams guyz are PDP agents on rampage. Its a pity that †Ń’Îľ whole system is in rot. Some peeps deserve more dan death.

Best Comment Auto Award said...

Best Comment!!!

all these are hearsay evidence as given by the prosecution witness, "Konduga said this,konduga said that", I hope They would bring Konduga to come and Testify, GEJ just used Ndume as a scape goat, cos he needs d citizens of this country to believe that he is doing something to tackle the BH ish

Oge Nsimah said...

So this is actualy a political stuff ...killing people every where

all this accusation/allegations might still be arrangee. Am not saying it can't be true by the way who knws with nigerian politicians when they have set up their selfish interest at heart. May God deliver us from d hands of d wicked.

This Senator should be ashamed of himself.

Nothing wil definitely com out of dis...it wud b swept onda d carpet laik dos in d past!!!

That's how they keep deceiving us with news headline in vain repetition ... Let justice be done this our so-called leaders knows what they are doing just because they want to maintain their own selfish desire they equally forget about the people that voted them in and come in return killing them through bombing cause they have dissagreement against themselves ... E.g making a vow that the country will not be in peace cause somebody else won the election instead of them ... Ah pity people judgement D̶̲̥̅̊É‘̣̣̝̇̇Ăż̲̣̣̣̥ is near

our leaders,,,,,our own enemies,,the accused shud be given a death penalty to serve as deteret to all other politico(s) sponsoring d killings of both xtians n muslims in nigeria in d name of terrorism,,,thus makin xtians n muslims to live like enemies in d country while dey re suppose to live like brothers in peace n harmony,,alongside nationality n patriotism in upholdin d national flag. God will continue to expose more of dem IJN

Like and laik have the same number of characters. Were you just making effort to sound stupid? Just asking.