Pope includes Nigerian Archbishop among newly appointed cardinals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 October 2012

Pope includes Nigerian Archbishop among newly appointed cardinals

Pope Benedict XVI named six new cardinals yesterday Wednesday October 24th, and among them is a Nigerian Arch-bishop, John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan, who until his promotion, was the Archbishop of Abuja. Bishop Onaiyekan becomes the fourth Nigerian cardinal after Cardinal Dominic Ekandem, Cardinal Francis Arinze and Cardinal Olubumi Okogie.

The other five newly appointed cardinals are: Archbishop of Bogota, Colombia, Ruben Salazar Gomez; Archbishop of Manila, Philippines, Luis Antonio Tagle; Patriarch of Antioch of the Maronites in Lebanon, Bechara Boutros Rai; and the major Archbishop of the Trivandrum of the Siro-Malankaresi in India, Baselios Cleemis Thottunkal.

51 comments:

Congratulations Your Grace who will now be addressed as His Eminence.....he better comes out as the next pope ooooo before they rob him the way they robbed cardinal arinze .....

Dr. Rukevwe said...

Congrats to him.

Immaculate said...

CONGRATS TO THEM ALL.

My joy knew no bounds when I heard d news yesterday,its a well deserved honour,my Bishop has been a very gud shepherd to d Abuja Catholics,non catholics and even non Christians. He's a very simple,jovial,lively,loving personnalty. Above all he's a bridge builder,his roles in seeing to d unity of Christians and Muslims in Abuja cannot be over emphasized. Whenever he enters the sacristy to vest for mass,he takes his time to discuss and joke with us.
Congratulations His Eminence Cardinal John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan. May God bless and keep you Padre.

Great news
Billie jean

GODKNOWS,

DEAR LINDA

Bishop Onaiyekan becomes the "third" Nigerian cardinal after Cardinal Francis Arinze and Cardinal Olubumi Okogie.

WE HAD LATE CARDINAL EKANDEM

CONGRATS NIGERIA. SOMETHING GOOD CAN COME OUT OF NIGERIA

Hypocrites! Pharisees and Sadducees.

Hello Linda, please check your facts before publishing re - 3rd Nigerian Cardinal after Cardinal Francis Arinze and Cardinal Olubumi Okogie. You have missed out the first Nigerian Cardinal, Cardinal Dominic Ekandem. Please correct this. Thanks.

Linda, you forgot to include Dominic Cardinal Ekandem, first Cardinal in Nigeria, in your list.

No linda, he is the fourth. The first being late Cardinal Ekanem or Ekadem, not sure which one.

Linda he's the fourth Nigerian Cardinal, you left out Late Cardinal Ekanem. You for google am na.

That's great news, Congratulations to Cardinal Onaiyekan
Check me out--- tongryang-pantu.blogspot.com

Nice one..congrats Sir

No matter the atrocities and anarchy on our land, one thing for sure is that Nigerians are God fearing people. Proud to be a Catholic.

SEC GEN said...

Linda, He becomes the fourth Nigerian Cardinal, the immediate past ArchBishop of Abuja, was also a cardinal, His Eminence Cardinal Dominic Ekandem of blessed memory, he passed on in 1996, He is buried at Our Lady Queen of Nigeria Procathedral, Abuja

Meka. said...

CONGRATULATIONS his eminence, Cardinal John Olorunfemi Onaikan..may God continue 2 bless and sustain U̶̲̥̅̊,grant U̶̲̥̅̊ long,healthy n fruitful life in his vineyard amen.

Congrats 2 our archbishop, may God increase him all raminification.

Hourayh said...

Aunty Linda, get ur facts right!

Archbishop Onaiyekan is the 4th Cardinal from Naija.

You missed out, or are seemingly unaware of, His Eminence (late) Cardinal Ekandem!

Hourayh said...

Aunty Linda, get ur facts right!

Archbishop Onaiyekan is the 4th Cardinal from Naija.

You missed out, or are seemingly unaware of, His Eminence (late) Cardinal Ekandem!

nkeonyelu said...

congrat.. his grace!.. congrat africa!... congrat nigeria!.. #proudlycatholic#

sokomighty said...

Τ̲̅ђƎ reward FO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я a job well done is more work...congrats padre

ebuka said...

He is the 4th from Nigeria.Dominic Cardinal Ekandem was the 1st.followed by Francis Cardinal Arinze.u know the rest.

So happy for him.

Been there done that said...

Congratulations. Honour well deserved. May God strengthen your vocation as you become a prince of the church

Congratulations to him.

Banario so you are a mass servant.

Congratulations your grace!!!

Bonario pleeeease marry me.

Ify

Chukwu Albert said...

All the best to His Eminence John Onaiyekan. He's a source of inspiration to me.

Chukwu Albert said...

All the best to His Eminence John Onaiyekan. He's a source of inspiration to me. I believe in what I see. Am not surprised but happy at this joyous achievement.

Nop! He waz d 4th Cardinal, after Cardinal Arinze, Cardinal Ekandem, Cardinal Okogie, & Him. Fabianson said xo. from Holy Trinity Maitama, ABJ. OFFICIAL SWAGG!!!

@Bonario... So you are a Mass Server or...How nice*smiles*.

mike said...

Proud to say I have served with him before now ......... cooool

Sir Pat said...

y r u sayn dz bro?

May God forgive your ignorant and uneducated existence as a being

Soo? Devil worshippers!

You're stupid

@6:54 be mindful of the rubbish that flows out from ur gutters.

francisca said...

Congrats ur Eminence. I am a pround catholic.

Congratz Pabdre,more grease to your elbows.Its a well deserved appointment and he is so charismatic

Congrats to His Eminence, Cardinal Onaiyekan. May God grant u more wisdom in His vineyard. Amen. Proud to be a catholic. NG - Onye-uwa.

And who made you a judge ? Better repent before the devil kick u into the lake of fire...alakoba

Everyone is proud to be a catholic now. The Cardinal belongs to all of us. After all, success has many relatives. WE are proud of you sir. More good things from 9ja.

Spoken like the true offspring of the Devil

Lmao this blog no go kill me!! Congrats

@10:42 we are sorry for being selfish, he is actually for all of us.

Pls oo,those of u saying that Linda omitted Ekandem should use their glases ooo,I percieve some level of myopicness here.mikkypraise.

This news united lIB readers.wonderful!!

Catholic till I die.

Congrats to His Eminence!!!

GlamNotchApparels said...

He deserves it. Congrats. #proudlyCatholic

My family members all the time say that I am
killing my time here at net, except I know I am getting familiarity all the time by reading thes fastidious articles.

Feel free to surf to my web site ... Krankenversicherung Private
My web site - Homepage