Alleged FRSC brutality | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 October 2012

Alleged FRSC brutality

A mail I got from the victim's colleague. See it below...
On October 24, at about 10am, Gbolahan Olayinka and his office driver had gone to the Mobil filling station along Agege Motor Road, adjacent FRSC office, Mushin, where they usually buy fuel. On arrival, they observed that some men of the Federal Road Safety Commission where stationed there. Gbolahan and his office driver parked at a place that obviously didn’t obstruct traffic, by the gate of the filling station. Before they could turn an eyelid, one of the officers was by their car and was about to release the tube of their tyre.
Please continue...

Gbolahan challenged him for his action. That was when a slap landed on his face, then another slap from another officer. Before he could say anything in self defense, the officers – three of them – had pounced on him. He was bundled into their vehicle and taken to their office where he was handcuffed to a mast behind their office, his phone was ceased – he was held incommunicado – and beaten mercilessly. He was forced to write a letter of apology (under duress). They made it clear to him that he had no way out; he got threats that he would simply be said to have attacked an officer of the law or that he used charms on someone.
When his brother, who is a lawyer, and other family members got there,the FRSC officials threatened to beat them too. Gbolahan and his people have lugged complaints at the FRSC office in Ojodu and the Commissioner of Police. This inhuman treatment must not be allowed to stand.
You know why I share stories like this? Tomorrow, it could be me or you! The brutalization of people by officers, which we hear about everyday, has got to stop!

107 comments:

Omg

Onakachi said...

Arrrrgh!!! What's wrong with these people?

Dear, I support jor... indeed it has to stop.

Buks said...

Hmmmmmm federal road safety unna wan flex !!!!!!! I laugh in Russian ,your very lucky no bi solider you touch , unna for hear am yeye people .
@ Corps marshal Chidoka , you seat down in Abuja and be doing fine boy , your boys especially the ones at Mushin na bribe dem dey collect up and down .they are disgracing you , hope this man gets justice .

Oge Nsimah said...

another miss use of power and authorith... ma God help us in the country

Nigerians in official positions do not know how to manage any bit of power they have.

well, i dont beliv this story bcos nigerians r insultive and d guy will not be d one to know if he wasnt obstructing traffic wre ever he parked, photo evidence will be okay for us to beliv, hey linda, dont just post any comment in the name of supporting general public. i dont trust dis man i am looking , u kmow average nigerian is proud even in his or her talk, he may be threatening dos frsc guys with his lawyer brother, let him take tylenor, and restm he will be okay

LOUIE says said...

Dis isn't d first tym i'm hearin somethin lyk dis. God 'll punish all dis so called officers of the law who re always desperate to make an arrest...wtf is their problem!!

Those we pay their salary via tax to service and be fair in all they do always conduct themselves in an unprofessional manner. It is so sad that it s only on common man they can flex their muscles... They dare not touch the untouchables. We have a long way to go in this country, there is nothing like human rights.

Oma ga o. The officers must be dealt with. When governor beats nepa officials, wat more do u expect. Everybody is just angry in dat naija n dey take it out on d next person.

I always say that in Nigeria, uniform is not meant to cordinate the people but uniform is used to oppress from police to road safety.

Wat a pity

delson said...

so, FRSC Offcials have been trained on mortal combat too?

delson said...

so, FRSC Officals have been trained on mortal combat too? eeee Naija...

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

well it is a sad story and i want to commensurate with the victim but still this is a blog that every one is entitled to speak their mind.
i find dis story very funny and hard to believe hard to believe in the sense dat road safety officers are hardly violent there has never been any case of them getting physical on motorist if it is the army(navy soldier and air force)or the police or kai i will agree but road safety dat is hard to believe they are not cops so dey cant possibly be carrying hand cuff and den cuffing the motorist is quite strange the victim claimed the road safety officer just slapped him with out any provocation dat 2 is very strange road safety officers to a reasonable extent are better known for maturity and self restraint unlike our police men
Then they threaten to beat up the victims brother that is a lawyer is quite un heard of they should no the legal implication i smell a rat in this whole saga but time the mother of truth will unravel this
a word of advice to Nigerians esp lagoshians if any road safety officer slaps u quickly return the slap back bcos that is exactly wat i will do it will be an all out fist fight if they refuse to be gentlemanly about their bizness its then the thug in me will manifest we all have it this is lagos

who give frsc power to beat?

Observed said...

The law enforcement in Nigeria lack integrity. What happened to due process?

childsplay said...

Nigerians practice this sort of thing and jungle justice, jungle justice is practiced by those who are mentally retarded, thus imbeciles

Uduak Dyamond said...

Linda, his phone was seized not ceased. Brutality of the highest order.

If this story is as straight as this, the Officer should be made to loss his job and apologize.

Too bad my dear Linda tnx 4 posting this

fikky said...

Wooow. This is the first time I'm reading about such nonsense behaviour from the FRSC.

HOUSE OF ZINNO said...

ahhhhh ahhh, heya, those guys re really mean.loll

These Officers ® all fond of taking laws into dia hands,once d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ have an urge to beat up someone d̶̲̥̅̊ @#swipes just station dia car anywia ãήϑ look for d̶̲̥̅̊ lastest victims, i hope dese bastards won't go unpurnished.den again dt might b my wishful thinking

Amarachukwu said...

The words are "seized" and "Lodged". I wonder how we can progress when folks cannot write correct English. That said, I believe there are 2 sides to a story. We just read Side "A".

nigeria is just a lawless society:(

Sorry to say, I think dis is not true, FRSC officers don't use Hand-cuffs and they have no right to arrest an individual, the worst they can do is impound your car, and they coudln't have started beating him just like that, something must have prompted the fight......

Its very simple na. We DON'T KNOW OUR RIGHT. We need to be enlightened. And their asses sued and made public. Yeye people.
Jojo

Linda its either "lodged a complaint" or "logged a complaint".

These law enforcement animals have come again. Why can naijas behave when we are in uniform?

That's Nigeria for you.

just who do ds uniforme men think they are? Nigerian shd learn to dismiss staffs for misconduct joor. Nobody is above the law,ds is pure assault!

subulola said...

they must be called to order by higher authorities or else they will abuse the power that has been given to them...totally...

That was so inhumane it should not be allowed at all.

ebun said...

I feel sorry for him but Linda how can you say that they 'parked in a place that obviously didn't obstruct traffic' were u there?
Whatever the case there is no need for violence.

pure act of inhumanity....

Madness. Please get a good lawyer. Animals in uniforms. FRSC officials don't seem to know their job functions anymore.

Are d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ even allowed to beat people? Dose officers should be relieved of their duties and d odas can learn from dis...

i tank GOD ds guyz r nt usin guns. De wd v bn kiln ppl anyhw.

FRSC??? God punish dem plenty. They are wicked and heartless group of human beings.. I could remember a day like dat wen I worked wif airtel, d airtel bus passed and all dey did was to hit d side mirror wif their mantle.. It was so bad and it resulted in a great fight btw d driver n d frsc officials...they will always prove dey r ryt. Foolish people. God is greater dan dem...

it has got to stop. It is in this country that law enforcement agencies abuse their office and commit all forms of atrocities. visit my blog justmekzel.blogspot.com

Power corrupts and tomorrow these same officers will blame the president and senators for the corruption in Nigeria when they sit on the throne of corruption. I hope gbolahan and his family get justice. This shouldn't be swept under the carpet. It could be any of us tomorrow. We should campaign against such brutality.

Stanley Onduru said...

Linda read ur english "have got to stop"....let's just assume its a typographical error...bt seriously I'm sick and tired of this brutality carried out by these so called "men in uniform".They forget that they are also human beings.

Linda u r rite,bt dis Is really getting out of hand I must confess.even if they comited any offense,do they desrve to b beaten up like dis? Nigerians r not safe anymore oooo? Imagine!!!

I was beaten like that once in ogba, I was sixteen, the police said I should be ashame of myself cos at my age I was driving a brand new car, said my father must be an armed robber, I was in SS2, he beat me like a robber too, they took me to elere station in agege. When my father came to get me he showed up with soldiers, after talking with their boss, the soldiers beat the shit out of them, I'm sure the soldiers came from aluu, cos that kind of beaten is not normal

Stupid ppl ,awon wereeee. Them no go do job, na so so dem go dey arrest innocent ppl.rubbish

delson said...

FRSC Officials? Unbelievable..

omg......there's too much injustice in this country I can't just imagine why an harmless citizen should be brutalize to this degree. who did this to this guy will should not go unpunished. Who ever did this, remember you have family members the will definitely get the same injustice.

This is so inhumane

What kind of crap is this for God's sake? Just a few weeks ago we all saw what happened at Aluu and yet again we are hearing of brutality of another Nigerian citizen. What kind of country of animals are we living in sef? Jzzzzz!

We need the judiciary to really help out here. When cases like this come up in court, if they do, the guilty party needs to be hammered with serious fines that run into millions. By the time FRSC or whatever agency is involved finishes paying that money, they would really advise themselves very well.

'Lugged a complaint...' *muffled chuckles* linda u can kill grammar at times. Muhahhahahahahahha

baby cute said...
Meka said...

Dis is one side of d story,clearly alot of tins are missin...let's see d oda part,den we can judge.

Man's inhumanity to man! We should all rise up against this act like we did in Aluu 4 case because this is equally barbaric and even coming coming from our so called enlightened officials. It's a shame on our country.

Ahhh Nigeria my country!!!! Why are we so mean? Why?

Na wah o....all these government officials especially FRSC and Lastma are animals in human skin. They are big bullies,on tuesday at yaba, they seized one of mr biggs delivery okadas and while the poor guy was begging them...they pounced on the chicken he was to deliver like wolves. Only God can help us in this country some of these people need their heads examined!

Revo. Bintin Laye said...

The law has been relegated to the background. This is not funny. Its a bad omen for this country

*ShmSlowly.ayaff tire 4 dis country 0! Cos Linda, i can bet my kidney dat nofin wil b done to dos Frsc boys buh dea is hope if evwibody cud join 1 force unit or d oda nd u, mr paul, wat ar u tinking? Advisin lagosians wat?
Luk @ wot jst frsc did 2 me <(-_0)> nd nt 2 tok of police, dy wil jst 4get groundnuts in my shining head. Mtcheew!!!
*SpeakingInOlayinka'sVoice.

U sure say no be u be d frsc man wey beat dis guy?

Ebun said...

Linda, before you pass judgement, you must hear the other side. 'Audi alterem partem'. It is one of the principles of fair hearing. You always sound biased. Just because the guy was the 1st to report or cos he has bruises doesn't make him the victim.You really can't say what transpired unless you were there.

in as much i sympathize with dis guy and condemn d cat of thr FRSC men,we shud also not judje a story from 1 side...FRSC men ar not dat violent, and besides..using an HAndCUFF? neva heard dat b4..

Olu-omo of d source said...

I can't stand it when fools like u try to use english words u don't understand,so u reckon using big words makes u sound intelligent?Epic fail,try commiserate punk

Olu-omo of d source said...

People really need to understand english in this country.Linda got a letter from his colleague and she obviously copied & pasted what was sent to her so if u have any bones to pick with the spelling;u may want to direct it @ the colleague who obviously has embellished the story to favor his friend.

Wateva d case mayb, no lagosian deserves to b beaten like dis on d street of lagos,dere is no justification for dis barbaric act.this same nonchalant & i don't care attitude of lagosian and nigerians in general is part of wat got us to dis stage,now an average nigerian is scared to walk on d streets even in his own home town.may God help us ooo

wenger02 said...

Dis ppl bad o.c as dem use blow finish dis guy face.

Them say charity starts from home, you wey slap a household helper for little or no offense is not different from these animal public officials.

this happened to me and my boyfriend this summer, one sunday morning we were on our way to ikeja, and because we didnt know the way we stopped an okada man to direct us . on our way there the okada guy decided to buy petrol so we waited for him at the side of the road, obstructing no traffic. next thing these frsc men just came and told us to park blah blah. we were trying to explain, next thing they started hitting my boyfriend

I think d main tin is that we can understand... And a few bad spellings here n der does not mean we won't progress! Chill on d judgment express train a bit ok

Miss ody

Olodo! The discipline u lacked den dey beat it into u! Arent u wiser now? Nah i don't think so

My broda abeg leave epistle for pastor. No b today, dont assult our eyes and patience with this ur long diatribe. Leave space for others to comment. Greedy nigerian.

how to sell a business without a broker said...

Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I've read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you've got the opportunity, Guess I'll just bookmark this web site.

ONLY ON FRIDAY, TWO STUPID POLICE WOMEN COLLECTED 5K FROM ME AT HERBERT MACAULAY ROAD JUNCTION IN BROAD DAY LIGHT BECAUSE MY DRIVER ALLEGEDLY 'JUMPED' A TRAFFIC LIGHT!!! I WAS SO ANGRY. THEY THREATENED AS USUAL TO GO TO STATION AND WERE NOT EVEN ABLE TO PROVE THAT WE HAD JUMPED THE LIGHT.
I FEAR FOR THE NIGERIAN JUSTICE SYSTEM WHICH DOESN'T EXIST. IF IT WERE IN ADVANCED NATIONS, IF ONE TRULY VIOLATED A TRAFFIC RULE, THE CAMERAS WOULD BE THERE TO PROVE IT AND YOU WOULD BE SERVED AN HONEST FINE.

ONE DAY WILL COME WHEN SOME OF THESE SO CALLED LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENTS WILL BE BRUTALLY KILLED. POLICE O, LASTMA O, ROAD SAFETY O, SOLDIER SELF DON JOIN.
THEIR EXPLOITATION OF INNOCENT CITIZENS IS GETTING TOO MUCH AND THESE IDIOTS DONT HAVE THE BALLS TO CONFRONT TRUE CRIMINALS

Am shocked uve never sn frsc wit handcuffs wen ordinary civil defence carry handcuffs around

What is wrong with u linda, why didn't u publish my commet? This is like the tenth time. Na wah oooo.

You were making sence until you exposed ur self as a thug. Shut the fuck up!

BLOGLORD said...

sad! everybody now taking laws into their hands.
what right does an frsc official have to beat n cuff a citizen?

Linda,

I once had an issue with these men. They tried to use me (my car) to stop a speeding trailer!!!!. I made sure that from the National Commander, Osita Chidoka, The State Commander Mr Agwu down to the Sector Commander in Ikoyi, Segun Ogungbemide, heard an earful and tendered unreserved apology. I also promised them that next time they attempt such a scenario, i will save myself first, which invariably will result in me running over the stupid officer. The truth is they really dont get that if someone runs over them the worst that can happen is that he will be charged for manslaughter, meanwhile they will be dead and gone.

The story above was exactly the it was written. Someone testified to the violent nature of even one of the corps memebers. He said the corps official beat his driver 2 years ago but came in with soldiers to handle them.

Ask a question. How would 3 men handle a young man and another corps official just standing by go uncoscious. So the corps officials claim. It is their ploy to raise alibi for the evil act.
Question the use of handcuff and locking of "an offendder to a network mast." It is inhuman. They even acknowledge that a press man came around at the time if the incidence but they seized his camera, until the pressman agreed that the picture be deleted. Ask what road safty has got to do with beating, assulting and molestation of citizens within a filling station? Let them explain themselves. Let there be fair hearing for both parties. Remember, Napoleon Bonaparte says: the world suffers not because of the violence of the bad people but because of the silence of good men.

Ok, but nobody should shout when FRSC officials faces jungle justice from oppressed citizens! Judgement day is soon..

It's obviously not linda that wrote the story so why are you guys complaining about her spelling and grammar?? If u were intelligent enough like you are trying to prove you would have seen the part of the post where she clearly states that she received the story as an email from the victims cousin.
Secondly I want to address those saying they don't trust the victim n that there is two sides to every story. Regardless of the mans attitude towards those animals , they had no right to beat him. It's called civilization

dare said...

Mypoic thinking. Even if the guy's actions were wrong, what law empowers road safety officials to brutalize offenders and treat him like an animal, handcuffing him to a pole?!

'audi alteram partem.. And its one of The principles of NATURAL JUSTICE..over sabi that is teaching nonsense.

What of Army Officers? Their own pass these days o.

@anon 3.40pm, u r just a fool I swear. How can u say dis, bcos he is not ur blood broda or relative . Ewu #hissing in chinese

2nd part of the story. It's true It happened in oshodi. Gbolahan and his driver caused obstruction by not wanting to queue.
The frsc official only feigned to deflate the tire b4 Gbolahan pounced on him, gbolahan hit the other frsc official, who was trying to refrain gbolahan from hitting the man who tried to deflate the tire, on the chest. He was later hospitalized due to shock like I heard. That was the reason why Gbolahan was accused of using charm. Τhe guys took gbolahan to dr office so he could b handed over to the police.
My bro works there. I'm not justifying anyone's actions but I'm giving a clue of what happened. Thanks.

G.U said...

i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Lokoja, I saw ​A̶̲̥̅̊ traffic warder(abi na warden? ) using his belt On an erring Okada man...people that are meant †✆ our secure lives and propErties are becoming threats †✆ us...if an army personnel is not using his koboko, ​A̶̲̥̅̊ dirty and miserable looking policeman is using his baton...even Okada union levy collectors now H̲̣̣̣̥ƏνЄ batons...smh! Now, d FRSC: it is totally gross for someone †✆ ß̍̍̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ tied †✆ ​A̶̲̥̅̊ mast...Our security system has failed us yet again...Navy fit even drown person naaaa...mscheeeeeewww

FortySeven said...

To a large extent we are the ones who bring this kinda misfortunes on ourselves!

Our ignorance and cowardice are unprecedented i swear!!

For all those talking about audi alteram partem, please stop it at once! There is simply no justification for a public official taking the law into his own hands to the extent of inflicting physical injury on a member of the public! Even if such a person was being insultive, or verbally abusive. EVEN IF such a person was being physically abusive, it still does not justify this sort of jungle justice. For crying out loud, as an officer of the law you should be trained and equipped to subdue a perp with minimal use of force!

The problem with us in this country is that the majority of us are products of various military regimes and we have unfortunately been brain washed to believe that any man wearing a uniform is entitled to infringe on our fundamental human rights with inpunity and we must simply be thankful that we were not killed in the process.

Come on my people!! Wake up!! Enough is enough!!!! Wise up!!!!

Hi Linda,
Just to inform you that we in the FRSC have noted this development and to assure you that it is being looked into and i will definitely keep you posted.
Jonas Agwu
Corps Public Education Officer, FRSC HQ Abuja j.agwu@frsc.gov.ng

akpos said...

Ah! Wo! Karma far for this one o.. I go just reason one jazzman wey dey try impress with him craft and all of them wey involve go begin "see things" #nonsense!

kas said...

there will never be justice until we all come together as one people with all the press/blog sites and then go to the Governor's house or office and put the case to him.

Assault to our eyes(true story). It breaks my heart more that a comma didn't make this epistle.

Lmfao. Linda linda, I know you just posted this comment so that i'll have a field day laughing at this imbecilic fools ideology.

Lose.

And what has written english got to do with a country progressing. You that don't make mistakes when writing in english, what exactly has your perfectly written words done for your country? Please always Remember to pass the mic when an inappropriate word in a sentence takes the place of the appropriate word that actually sounds like the inappropriate word forbids you from understanding the sentence. Onye nkwuzi odekpe.

Logged kwa? ok.

And who said Linda wrote the mail?

Those. So there are law enforcement officers that have the right to beat? I didn't know o.

It's not its thank me later. I know yours isn't typographical error though.

I have a funny feeling that you were one of the men. How exactly did he lack discipline and let's day he did, how exactly is he meant to get wiser from such beating if not losing faith in the police? Okponti.

A harmless citizen, brutalised.

Read again from the top and you will notice that the grammar killing came from the sender of the mail not linda.

Lmfao it's one of the principles of natural justice not fair hearing. Audi alteram partem is fair hearing.

"Ran a traffic light" though. Kpele sha.

Like. Linda you should have a like button for reasonable comments like this one abeg.

Ohaeri grace cum Jonas Agwu. Ok i'm guessing he is writing through you. It will be lovely if you do kind sir. Kudos.

Dumb and dumber

Whether wrong or right, what gives any man of uniform the right to lift your hand against a citizen, when we are not in a military rule, this also goes to police men.

No one should be treated as such, does he look like an animal? even the law is against animal brutality how much more a human being. All you ignorant people should shut the hell up, I guess you wouldn't know until you are directly affected.