Dana Air named best domestic airline in Nigeria by FAAN | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 22 October 2012

Dana Air named best domestic airline in Nigeria by FAAN

According to the Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria (FAAN), the airline company that crashed and killed 158 people in June 2012 is the best domestic carrier in Nigeria - well, they said in 2011. FAAN GM said Dana Air got the award because of its good customer service, and prompt payment of dues!

Prompt payment of dues? Oh I see why it's the best. Good maintenance of aircraft and the rest don't matter? Meanwhile Lufthanza Airlines was named best international carrier.

84 comments:

Lagos-is-my-Home said...

If Dana is the best then Nigeria is finished ,no hope for domestic travels. Close them all make we enter bus, car, boat, sheep , donkey and what not. Anything but fly

***Eyes rolling , government need to sort the mess in that country and stop stealing what can be used for improvement

They are just trying to get its name back for destroying it. asswipes

Oh pls leave dem alone! It cudda been any airline dat crashed u knw... Dey jst hpnd 2 be d unfortunate ones so let's not judge cos we all make mistakes... Wat matters is dat we don't make the same mistake twice.... Yay Dana! Congrats! :)

Dear Linda its so sad that at a time like this the minister still hurts us more with such decisions or conclusion if i may say.i have had course to use the said plane to uyo severally and its sad that a blind man remains king in the midst of the blind. but i know one day they will pay for the inhuman leadership roles they ever exhibited. Please post so they can see because i know they visit your Blog..cheers

mscheeeew(long hiss) thats a slap on the faces of all family members of those that lost their lives on the 3rd of june. Have they not suffered enough??? Why add insult to their injuries? What could be worse?

Diran Idris Kasumu said...

What do you expect from a ministry headed by a minister with tattoos on her body? Mtcheeeewww!!!

Prompt payment of dues??? Lets spell it out correctly PROMPT PAYMENT OF BRIBES! mscheeeew!

I envy people who still have faith in this country. Rubbish!!

Na madness dem dey so! After killin more than a hundred people! Dat means all d airlines wuld start crashin their planes so they can av d award. God pls help 9ja,cos d wrong people are bein credited. Na wa noni!

ndi ojo.... vampires... what nonsense best domestic flight... i think it should be 'worst wild flight'. just beacuse of dues? what happens to their 1804 engine? ... NULI DE NONYES

It's Lufthansa not Lufthanza ! Of, course, they've got to be the best, by far. It's a German airline, you know !

Nigerians won't be okay with this.

Yeaaaa... Vry soon Aluu would be named d most friendly community n boko haram d most dedicated humanitarian organisation! KMT

Dr. Rukevwe said...

Na wa o! E get something wey person no go hear from this my country, Naija?

An Airline that crashed and killed hundreds of persons for a "yet to be thoroughly investigated reason" (because I recall, a staff of the company alleged, after the unfortunate incident,that the fatal crash would have been aborted if the Management of the Airline didn't decide to play dice with people's lives by using an UNSOUND carrier); that same airline today, is not only back in business (even when many deceased families claim not to have gotten their due compensation) but they have also merited the award for the BEST AIRLINE IN NIGERIA! Wonderful!!! Where else in the world would this INSENSITIVE act occur???

Men, I don't know whether to cry or laugh or rain curses on someone!

Can our obviously clueless and EMOTIONLESS leaders be SENSITIVE TO THE FEELINGS OF THE PEOPLE THEY ARE LEADING FOR ONCE? Why this kind of gesture when people are still mourning their dead from the same Airline??? Is it a law that you must give an award to the best airline, this year, assuming they truly merited it, knowing people are still hurting from the airline's actions and inactions?

What kinda kindergarten leaders do we have sef? Why reopen sores that are trying to heal???

Lord have mercy!

lizzy said...

Thanx for that part linda "killed 158 people" what in Gods name is wrong with all this people? So the dews is y they won the award? Na wah oo.

Naija i hail thee!! what a country this is,where the rich do whatever they want and get away with it.i knew the Dana investigation would be as empty and trying to nail Ifeayin Uba.

NecTes said...

If i may ask here! Why are they the best of the year? Is it that, there is no accident event on their airline? Just want to know.

Meka said...

A killer airline dat deir lack of concern 2 d safety of deir aircraft was properly documented and made knwn is d best in d country,simply cos dey pay deir dues in time,dat says it all abt wat d authorities are after....isorai.God knws wat d oda airlines are like.my advice is dat ppl shld learn 2 stay in deir houses cos no means of transport is safe in naija.those dat need 2 travel 4 bizness meetins,shld start adoptin MTN E-presence.

oh didnt read all of the story...
that's crap best airline as a result of prompt payment o dues!! only in 9ja

Laff make me mistakenly touch ma padi gurlfrnd 4 bobby hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!! See Naija!!!

Guys in FAAN, should be sensitive for a moment pls. I lost a friend/colleague in that crash. Still having nightmares how there last moment would have been. these guys should stop playing on our collective sensibilities. I have a strong feeling someone will get shot for this DANA endless publicity sometime soon. Idiots.

Am not surprised, we are in Nigeria

come, Linda. this ur blog is dry...ahn ahn. only 3 posts since morning. abeg joor. find us some more interesting things!

Wao, this is just unfair!!!

Rather resort to witchcraft n fly on imaginary wings dan fly dana air.

TATOOO ke?omw!enof BJ fr baba

stupid people

Warri Girl said...

All this 1s na just means to convince people to use the airline, but I wonder if anyone would be moved by this.

Aviation Minister, is there something wrong with you or you are just hard hearted /headed. Its not even 6months since the fatal accident, yet the same organisatin is being awarded. Even it they did qualify last year, the. Government should have witheld the award and inform us that they had to rescind their decision in the light of what happen. But I guess, none of the family of the shareholders was affected in in the crash , hence the award. Just watch out , it will soon be payback time.

Love have mercy what a country we live in

Best for what? Killing? Senseless decision

NIGERIANS DO NOT B DECVD COS NONE OF THEIR FAMILIES INCLUDN D SO CALLED MIN OF AVIATN.WILL BOARD DAT AIRLINE.DES SMTHNG DEF FISHN,ITS EITHER DEY BELONG TO D SAME SECRET SOC,INTIMACY OR SERIOUS BRIBERY HAS TKN PLACE.WE KNW MISTKES HAPPND BUH D NATURE OF D CRASH IS SHEER NEGLIGENCE N CARELSSNESS N UNEXCUSABLE.WITHOUT TANGIBLE XPLANATION TO NIGERIANS,DIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE JARE

As i was reading ur comment, i'm like hu is this fool. Ua the most senseless human beign on earth, yes people make mistakes but not the type that wud claim 158 lives. That is no longer a mistake but mis management. Ode like u.

Wat do u expect,d pressure n tension will def go down n pple tend to forget aftr a while,dis is exactly d case.n trust naija pple,if d price is ryt,dey dnt mind puting der family in d same flyt.

And soon Aluu would become a "national tourist attraction". This is Naija and sadly, anything goes.

ella said...

SMH vigorously.....wot a country.my earnest prayer is dat dis wicked leaders of ours get d pains someday#sad#

U are very stupid am sure u wrk for Dana! If it was ur family on the plane u wont open ur useless trap of a mouth.
If they had maintained their planes then crash wldnt ve happened.

Thank you for your comment unlike dat silly person who is congratulating them.

If you are a frequent flyer within Nigeria then you will agree with the award. Dana fleet r sleek & customer service quite managable aside the occassional delay in take-off which is normal to all carriers. The crash could ve been carrier & i still give thanks to God for my life cos Dana was always my choice & i got loads of calls frm friends & colleagues who wanted to be sure that i was safe. FAAN & oda govt agencies in-charge of monitoring the avaition industry should brace up to their responsibilities.
....@seglon

Are you serious!!!!!!! 158 people and "it could have been anyone"? Maybe d next one that crashes you will be inside that aircraft IJN!!!

Hmm my broda ("sad")!!! Na house some people dey o wey plane land for their head!

LWTMB!!!!!!!

Come u get work so?

LWTMB!!!!!!!

Hmm my broda ("sad")!!! Na house some people dey o wey plane land for their head!

Anony 3.33 you are very stupid for that statement . What stupid mistake, buying a faulty plane, putting it on a air despite many mishaps and even flying it on multiple schedule . A FAULTY PLANE !!. how is that a mistake , you must be very silly for that . Go and read the history of the aircraft.

If Dana every fly, i hope you put all your family in it , let see how well it turns out . THE CRASH WAS NOT A MISTAKE IN ANY WAY but caused due to greed and then corruption.
SAY NO TO DANA AIR OR YOUR FAMILY WILL BE NEXT

Afi LufthanZa na! Get it?

These people obviously don't care.

Mary said...

ALUU IS THE BEST COMMUNITY IN TOWN... go to the market square and shout theives. when you are done please present this award to them.
NIGERIA IS A BIG FAT JOKE . KISS MY BLACK ASS FAAN

@anonymous 3.33pm u shd shut ur gob in shame! how dare u? if u have any decent bones in ur pathethic body u wud think before u type. Would u be saying that if u lost ur whole family in one single day to some avoidable plane crash? #justbeinghonest

WOW! AM LOST OF WORDS...I NO FIT LAUGH, P/S I NEED TO MIGRATE TO SUDAN, ITS BETTER THERE

Corruption with impunity at its worst, how will the families of the deceased feel if they see this news??I wonder why the minister is letting those curry bastards have their way.

Some Nigerians are bloody hypocrites. So now that it is Dana Air it is called a mistake, What ALUU people did , was that a mistake ?.. Can we call that a mistake too, so say sorry and all is well. . Lets give them BEST community award.

Dana Air has blood on its hand. The management deliberately bought a faulty plane that has been abandoned and put it on the air . Deliberately killing innocent people. How is the different from Aluu. This country is just so stupid, the government is stupid , Faan are bloody fool ass kissers and Dana Air are murders with deep red blood on their hands . Only a fool will fly Dana Air again, and

I TRUST THERE ARE MANY FOOLS IN NIGERIA. SHAME SHAM SHAME ON YOU FAAN.

When the graves of those that died in the crash are yet to be covered,when the tears are still fresh, these guys deliver this dirty slap on the face of Nigerians! We all felt the pain and the loss. We are still recovering and they just had to do this.We Nigerians are all to blame for these.With these their awards they just said,"NIGERIANS,YOU CAN'T DO MORE THAN A DEAD RAT."
I almost here them say to them selves,"Is it not Nigerians,what can they do? Abeg give them the award collect the money from them make we share."
Hmmm... it is well!It will really be sad if the affected families and all the lawyers and activists in this country will sit back and let this happen.This is when the Aluu community for show them self.The tires,matches and fuel will come in handy in blowing up some packed air planes and offices that have DANA written on them.If that community got vengeance for the death of those on the Dana crash,them for get many fans by now.Even Boko haram.Sometimes I dey just tire for Naija.God please come to our aid.

MORE THAN HALF OF THE PEOPLE I KNOW TOOK DANA BEFORE IT CRASHED. WELL FOR OBVIOUS REASONS. SO SURELY THEY DESERVE THE AWARD. THEY REALLY WERE GOOD.

Whether or not they were the best Airline in 2011, Faan have shown gross insensitivity to the feelings of countless friends, relatives and colleagues of the crash victims. Totally shocked by timing of this announcement and once again shows that we are been led by a bunch of uneducated baboons. God save our country.

omoibo said...

Doesn't surprise me, Nigeria is a country that rewards mediocrity because its led by a bunch of imbecciles.

Dana was really the best i keep telling people,it just that the Unfortunate thing happened,which can happen to foreign airlines too,i have always said it that Dana Air was the best,safer and well organised,i cant fly air Nigeria ,even Aero isnt good,Arik isnt good too,Dana was the best its a fact,but i still feel very bad for the loss,i lost a friend,any plane can crash,pray never to be a victim and let it never happen again in Nigeria

Me said...

lufthansa i have to agree they are the best, their economy better than KLM n Airfrance (Rubbish people). better service too and them dey allow 2 carry on, unlike KLM n Airfrance. have more space too. prefer their business class. never had any problem with them. united, continental & delta, the worst airlines.

Dana my bro said before the crash they used to be the best. me once i reach naija na by road i dey wkak, i no fit shout. now with the flooding maybe na canoe i go follow.

"Oh pls leave dem alone! It cudda been any airline dat crashed u knw... Dey jst hpnd 2 be d unfortunate ones so let's not judge cos we all make mistakes... Wat matters is dat we don't make the same mistake twice.... Yay Dana! Congrats! :)

October 22, 2012 3:33 PM"

You're either trying to cause controversy on this blog or something is highly wrong with you. You obviously don't know people who died in this crash and you have no respect for the people who are still grieving. One family lost NINE FAMILY MEMBERS! NINE!. Your insensitivity is something I cannot understand. God help you. I also took Dana over other airlines before the crash, but that's not the point. If you had any sense you would see that it is not a case of 'any airline'. That phrase is only applicable to Nigerian airlines because Nigerian airlines are careless and put faulty planes in the sky. I keep saying it. Many Nigerians deserve the government we have... like even as I'm typing this I'm in shock about this comment...is it that you're possessed with wickedness and callousness as to be serious about this, or that your brain is possessed with stupidity as to be serious about this or that you're possessed with tastelessness and don't know when it is a bad time to crack a joke? Either way...I don't even know again

Wen I saw dana plane in mma2 last 3weeks I jst put a call to ma friend in exclamation...omg wat is it doin here...and faan gve it best domestic flight.....aviation ministry..God is watchin u pple on a plasma tv...domestic flight;wat happened to arik,aero even irs sef...Dana..mba nu...

dazzy said...

Dana was actually the best before the crash.

IF U N I SAY NO TO DANA AIR,DE WILL B NO DANA AIR THEREFORE LET ALL THOSE HYPOCRITES DAT MAKE RUBBISH COMMENTS HERE N EVENTUALLY BOARD D SAME FLYT PERISH IN IT.SAY NO TO DANA AIR

At anony 8:14pm, were is ur feeling? Sensetivity? Emotions? Do u knw som families r stil in griv? I lost my uncle to dt crash wen his wedn was jus abt a few wks. Habah? We all r stil in pains we Nigerians dnt desev ds news now. I dnt blame u, u can open ur mouth gbaga to say dey r d best cos u did nt bud dt flight dat day. U can run ur mouth nao sebi u r alive. Buh seriosly mr minister u av d gut to announce ds yeye award. GOD is watching u all

clevadani said...

only in nigeria tins lyk dis happen
all Nigerians visit http://naijamustchange.blogpot.com

oh c'mon!!ow INSENSITIVE is this??clear someone somewhere isnt thinking straight...the minister of aviation is sooo incompetent.i have seen any positive thing that she has done.

*i meant clearly*

Before d crash dey were my best ooo,almost always on time.customer service great.I was always recommending dem.now Lufthansa r they serious with der dry bread and nonsense food abeg virgin berra joO.vnt flown BA sha

@ 6 10 no matter what the person said are u also praying for another crash? Coz u don't know who might be inside! The mouth is very strong! Be positive! Caution but don't take it too far! Tx

The ppl dat r sayin dana was d best b4 d crash-does dat mean dey shld be awarded d best after d crash? No matter wot deir services were,lives were lost due to greed anD corruption! Dis FAAN award to Dana is so WRONG on many different Levels! Can't stop SMH!

Yeah congrat DANA, de deserve it. It was jst vry unfortunate 4 dem on d crash bt DANA was d best wen de were still flying! Some of u have neva even been 2 an airport b4 yet u r criticizing dem.

Anonymous October 22, 2012 3:33 PM...you can wag ur mouth anyhow cos u didnt loose anyone in that crash....the likes of U are suppose to be in such ill fated planes, lemme see how u can talk Nonsense!!!
And for FAAN, God is watching ur corrupt motives, the spirits of those innocent 158 people torment every staff of FAAN that supports this insubordination!!! How dare U spit on our faces with such baseless award?
Says>>>Redcherries

As a few others has mentioned above, Dana Air deserves the award given to them base on their performance before the accident. I also lost quite a few friends just like anyone of you did but we are all only assuming the management intentionally allowed the accident. We are all into one business or the other but never pray for evil to happen to it. May the souls of the departed rest in peace.

You are a block head! How does that warrant them being the best airline!!! Shouldn't maintenance of aircraft be a criteria! Mumu go and enter dana airline again and stop writing rubbish here. It is obvious Dana is very good at bribing FAAN!

DITLO said...

Nigerians sha, they must find a way to fool themselves#apology

Nekky said...

Even if they deserved it prior to the crash, it shouldn;t have been announced. Jeeeez!! how insensitive can our leaders get? is it that once one assumes a government position in Nigeria, human sympathy and feeling departs from u. this is really disturbing and a bitter pill to swallow especially for the families that lost loved ones. it's not fair at all at all.

Death, poverty and misery will be the portions of all those involved in this decision of Dana Air emerging as the best domestic airline.

About 6 months ago, 158 lives were lost, more than a thousand relatives thrown into sadness and grief, people's homes were destroyed, many l missed their appointment when the airline's license was temporarily revoked....all because of Dana Air.

And now some shameless devils have the audacity to name them the best domestic airline in Nigeria?

May they never know peace until they are sober enough to realize the evil they are doing all because of money.

am i dreaming i think i'm goes back to sleep. what a lot of bull

Are u kidding lik serzly r u fuckin kidding 153 ppl died on deir fuckn plane souls lost lik dat even a loved 1 of mine lik dey can shove d stupid award up deir asses stupid pricks I hope dey will experience worse deaths best domestic airplane my fuckn black asss stupidfaggotts I can't even begin to deall wiv dis bull crap dey are so stupid n dis idiot faan bastards ur ppl shall experience worse death fuckards lik m so bladdy upset fooooolllllssssssssssssssssss

I don't think this blog is meant for children who feel all they can do is to call others names for airing their opinion. I don't also think anyone ever said the loss of lives in the Dana accident is good. Even if Dana goes out of business as quite a number wish, it still does not stop other Airline from experiencing accidents (God forbid). Let FAAN and the management of Dana be I beg. If you no board Dana aircrafts so many sensible human beings will board.

This is why other countries don't respect Nigeria. They give awards for things that are not supposed to be awarded which is really annoying.On CNN they insult Us indirectly now this is a big head line for someone like Erin Brunnet outfront we are making a fool of ourself outside

Not just a fool, a suicidal psychopath!!!

Exactly! Dry, cold, hard bread! I'll give the best to Virgin not Lufthanza.. As for this Dana, I'm still speechless!

Yes.. The recent crash negates whatever credence they had before it.. That award shouldn't have been given to them. If ever, it should have been awarded BEFORE but definitely not after..!!

Sharrap...! Does one need to go even go to an airport to know that the award was wrongly given??? Isn't that why we have the news to give us some form of exposure. Mschew! I'm sure u that's talkin hasn't even seen what an airport looks like even on tv.. Rubbish!