Bishop David Oyedepo accused of exploiting British worshippers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 21 October 2012

Bishop David Oyedepo accused of exploiting British worshippers

This is a story published by UK Daily Mail this morning. They are accusing Bishop Oyedepo's Winners Chapel of exploiting their worshipers and receiving over £16 million in donations from them. See it below...
A church run by a controversial multi-millionaire African preacher has been accused of ‘cynical exploitation’ after its British branch received £16.7 million in donations from followers who were told that God would give them riches in return.
Followers are ferried in double-decker shuttle buses to the church, handed slips inviting them to make debit card payments, and are even told obeying the ministry’s teachings will make them immune from illness.
Today’s Mail on Sunday revelations about the Winners’ Chapel movement have prompted the Charity Commission to review the charitable status  of the church – one of the fastest-growing in the UK.
Winners’ Chapel is part of a worldwide empire of evangelical ministries run by Nigeria’s wealthiest preacher David Oyedepo, who has an estimated £93 million fortune, a fleet of private jets and a Rolls-Royce Phantom. 

Dubbed ‘The Pastorpreneur’, he was accused earlier this year of slapping the face of a young woman he said was a witch. The assault case was struck out but is being appealed.

Branches of the church have sprung up in major UK cities in a huge recruitment drive centred on Mr Oyedepo’s ‘prosperity gospel’. This claims that congregants who make regular donations and pay tithes – a ten per cent levy on their income – will be rewarded financially by God. 

Followers are urged to target vulnerable people such as the lonely, the sick, the homeless and the suicidal as potential candidates for conversion. 

Last night, Labour MP Paul Flynn said Winners’ Chapel was cynically exploiting supporters. ‘They [Winners’ Chapel] are making clearly spurious claims and it seems to be a cynical exploitation of the gullible,’ he said.

Referring to the slapping incident, Mr Flynn added: ‘What is also alarming is the reported violence and the lack of respect for the status of women. It’s taking us back to a previous age of ignorance and prejudice that we all thought the church had escaped.’

This newspaper’s investigation can further disclose:
  • Congregants are handed a payment slip requesting payments using cheque, cash or debit card when they enter London’s Winners’ Chapel.
  • Donations to the ministry in England almost doubled from £2.21 million to £4.37 million between 2006 and 2010.
  • Mr Oyedepo’s superchurch in Nigeria received £794,000 or 73 per cent of the charitable donations paid out by the British Winners’ Chapel between 2007 and 2010. This was despite claims in Africa that he is enriching himself at the expense of his devotees.
  • The registered charity has spent £6.81 million on evangelism and ‘praise, worship and fellowship’.
  • The church’s ‘Joseph Squad’ preaches in British prisons and has a weekly broadcast named ‘Liberation Hour’ on satellite and cable TV here.
In the past three years, Winners’ Chapel churches have been established in Liverpool, Birmingham, Leeds and Bradford, adding to those in London, Manchester, Dublin and Glasgow. 

An undercover Mail on Sunday reporter attended Sunday services  at Winners’ Chapel’s ‘London HQ’  in Dartford, Kent, which attracts 1,000 congregants – chiefly African and Caribbean immigrants. It is run like ‘a business conference’ by Mr Oyedepo’s son, David Oyedepo Jnr. Packed buses deliver singing worshippers from South-East London, Essex and Kent to the huge auditorium.

The reporter saw a payment slip being given to every person entering the church encouraging them to donate money by cheque or cash or to fill in a form with their debit card details. The slip said tithes should be paid separately using a ‘Kingdom Investment Booklet’ and the reporter was informed that payments could also be made by phone. A pastor told the worshippers: ‘You shall be financially promoted after this service in Jesus’s name if you are ready to honour the Lord therefore with all your givings, your tithes, your offerings, your Kingdom investment, your sacrifices.’

Congregants were told to fill in their slips and hold them above their heads while the donations were blessed

A jet belong to Bishop Oyedepo
The service was interspersed with testimonies. ‘I received a bill from  the bank that I didn’t understand, so I prayed,’ said one congregant. ‘A few days later, the bank wrote to apologise for their mistake – Hallelujah!’ ‘Hallelujah,’ the audience shouted back.
Congregants were told they could gain favour by persuading others to follow Mr Oyedepo’s teachings. His son said: ‘Look around you. Someone is sick and already wishing he or she were dead, that is a fruit ripe to harvest. Someone is confounded and considering suicide as an option, that is another fruit that is ripe to harvest.
‘Someone else is lonely and wondering if there is any future for him, that is another fruit ripe to harvest. 

‘Also there are many men and women, young and old that are homeless, these are fruits ripe to harvest.’

The reporter was taken, with 20 other new recruits, to a room where preachers gave sermons claiming acceptance of the Lord would prevent them ever being ill or suffering misfortune.

The Mail on Sunday has seen video footage of Mr Oyedepo striking a woman across the face and condemning her to hell after she said she was a ‘witch for Jesus’. He attacked her in a Winners’ Chapel superchurch, believed to be in Nigeria, in front of worshippers. A separate video shows him saying: ‘I slapped a witch here last year!’
In May, he was sued for £800,000 over the alleged assault. The case was struck out – a decision which is now reported to have been appealed.

The Winners’ Chapel movement, also known as the Living Faith Church, has hundreds of churches in Nigeria and across Africa, the Middle East, the UK and the US.
Mr Oyedepo has received fierce criticism in Africa. One Nigerian journalist accused him of ‘leading a growing list of pastorpreneurs – church founders exploiting the passion and emotion that Christianity commands to feather their nests’.

Catholic Cardinal Anthony Okogie criticised such preachers for placing materialism above Jesus’s message. He reportedly said: ‘They have been skinning the flock, taking out of the milk of the flock.’

Among Mr Oyedepo’s fleet of aircraft are said to be a Gulfstream 1 and Gulfstream 4 private jets. It is also claimed he and his wife, Faith, travel in expensive Jeeps flanked by convoys of siren-blaring vehicles. He is the senior pastor of Faith Tabernacle, a 50,000-seat auditorium in Lagos reputed to be the largest church in the world, and runs a publishing company that distributes books carrying his message across the world.
His other business interests span manufacturing, petrol stations,  bakeries, water purification factories, recruitment, a university, restaurants, supermarkets and real estate. The latest addition is a commercial airline named Dominion Airlines. 

A Charity Commission spokesman said: ‘The Charity Commission is  currently assessing what, if any,  regulatory role there is to play with regard to the complaints made against the World Mission Agency. It is important to clarify that this does not constitute an investigation at this stage.’

Winners’ Chapel administrator Tunde Disu declined to comment.

325 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 325 of 325

This man is a thieving thief abeg....

When a man of God lacks humility and revels in opulence, then it's obvious the world is coming to an end.

At least she is not telling ppl to visit her blog and that in doing that, God will visit them at the point Of their need. She did not come up with these stories and anybody comes here come here of their own freewill. There is power in spoken words and it is that spoken word that leads ppl to part with their possessions hoping to get rich or get that miracle call. One thing this article is concerned about is whether the church just makes money and keeps acquiring all these wealth while upholding the reason why it was set up. Churches don't pay tax and cos of that, they exploit this fact and carry on business under the churche's name and evade tax. To me that is fraud.

I believe in God and I believe in my Saviour Jesus Christ and these Duo has never failed me. God has answered the prayers I prayed on my in tears while on my bed more than he BAS answered the one I prayed in church with everybody jumping up and down. I don't go to church every sunday to worship God because I know for a fact that the same God that is in those churches, is the same God that watches over me and sees when I go down to say a prayer to him and he has always answered because he is always there. I tithe when i'm in church not because the pastors sing ur tithe ur tithe, but because I feel I want to. As a matter of fact, if I have tithe I may decide to visit any motherless babies home with that tithe and I would hv given it to God because it was what tithes were originally meant for. Be can be rich if he wants to as ryt now in the world we live in, no one would listen to a man in tatters preaching God. However, the one thing that I ask God is to keep teaching me his word and understand it too. I have been to Winners and I couldn't care about the preaching, I just loved the choir as the choir has failed to lift my spirit like it used to, I stopped going. I'm a worshipper and good music is the one thing that makes me feel closer to God. All I need to know about God is in the scripture and be not deceived as a lot of pastors quote scriptures out of contest. The salvation we need is in the scriptures and not what another man sifted from the scriptures. I know so because I read the scriptures myself while I was down and I knew God 1st hand. Whether he is ordained by God or not, I just can't tell but I know one thing, if my spirit has doubts about a church, I shift.

The comments here make it clear to me that most of us do not know what Christianity is all about.some people are saying nobody forced them to pay money,meanwhile the Daddy and Papa in the Lord has worked on the psyche of the congregation in a subtle manner backing them up with appropriate quotations from the Bible,in the end even those who have not are forced to surrender all they have.
Fellow Nigerians and fellow Christians you cannot buy blessings from God,neither can bribe God with money.The blessings He has destined to give you,you will get whether you sow the seed or you don't.H e does not need your money.Of course the mission on earth needs money to grow and move forward, and as such we should make contributions to support God's work.So stop being victims of these business men in collars,Daddy GO and Mummy GO.Live aright.love your neighbor as urself ,help the poor and orphans and you will be closer to heaven than those who believe they can buy riches and blessings from God.The earlier we open our eyes and condemn evil in this country the better for us all.Touch not my anointed is a saying we use when we want to close our eyes to the truth.I will never be a victim of these swindlers.Catholic for life!!!! Grabs my rosary.

Seun said...

It's important all Christians read d epistle of Paul to understand d real doctrine.without judging u would kno the truth and it shall set u free.preaching prosperity is foolish and collecting tithes and offering is not obligatory.pple can give gifts to Gods mission without persuading them to in d form of talking them to do it.seek the kingdom of God and all other things will be added unto u.but our pastors preach all other things first.if our people can read thr bible,they will b free from all these money grabbing pastors ....peace

Okubo said...

Hmm... We will know 1 day. It's true you shouldn't speak against a MOG even if smtyms u can't help it. I got a question tho and it's wat evri1 shld ask demselves. If Christ wia here nw, wat wld he do wt all his wealth? just dat 1 teeny question. Afterall we r supposed to be Christ-like and emulate him. As 4 ppl hating on lin, do stop already. She's just doin her job. If u dnt like, ignore. Plain and simple.

CARDDY said...

Linda Ikeji's blog is a tabloid blod and it thrives on sensational journalism. This kind of VOODOO journalism with its myopic and skewed reports should be ignored. She mentioned that Oyedepo slapped a girl whom he called a "witch". Thats a blatant lie because it wasn't Oyedepo but the girl that called herself a witch. Self serving bigots like this Linda would not say anything about Islam and Boko Haram but they keep rubbishing Men of God. For sure they know that nobody will come with an AK-47 to blast their brains off even if they blaspheme Jesus Christ. As much as I am not blindly supporting Oyedepo, I can clearly see the skewedness of this report.

And what makes you think this is not God's way of exposing him? Consider that too.

I can understand that it is quite easier to talk about pastors, even christianity without any aoita of fear or reverence. This is because christians believe that vengeance belongs to God. That is why Linda could post this news about Oyedepo without blinking an eyelid.This is not the first she posts negative comments about men of God.

If Linda is so bold let her post issues about an Imam or Muslim. There are many issues in that realm also.

My advice to Linda is that she should concentrate on social and political issues or even marital affairs, but she should let men of God be. If she should post things about religion let it be a balanced posts, having muslim and christian issues discussed in this blog. But not one sided. But if she thinks otherwise, I believe Oyedepo and other men of God are accountable only to God not to man or Linda.

Nigerians are fools..If Nigerians were that religious, y is the country in a mess..Developed countries no carry God matter for head like all u brainwashed fools yet their country is a million times better than Nigeria. Nigerians are the most corrupt people in the world and some of you still feel its appropriate to overlook the fact that these pastors are making so much money from these church business stuff. Obviously they dont force people to follow them but its all mind games, they promise people riches and better lives thats enuff to follow anyone. This is legit 419 to me..Nothing more

linda linda...d gist lady. na you know o. give up spreading unnecessary gist.for once, let ur blog educate this illiterates posting rubbish on it.

the so called man of God is busy building his business empire, what about the schools he built with tiths and offring, how much is he charging? Nonsence! Criminals parading as mog.

He will definately not punish u, but obedience is better than sacrifice. Go read ur bible very well, tithes are meant for the levites. And offerings for the store house. U havnt been tithing so far u have jst been giving to the needy. Pls go back to d basics and don't be ignorant. Wen u give d needy do u follow dem up to know whether they were fraudsters? It is only God that can reward so do it the way he has commanded plz.

U means d basics??? Nd wat ar d basics if I may ask. Do not forget that even Jesus enjoyed his fair share of controversies. So dis is not new Abeg. U jst work out ur salvation with fear and trembling and leave every other person to do jst that on deir own

Jesus faced temptations and so will his followers.

Abeg shut ur trap and stop talking like a retarded dummy. Inasmuch as d veil has been torn and God has given us all the grace to cry abba father, men of God still have their place and God neva jokes with it. Dnt mistake pride for spiritual boldness Abeg.

Ode, u have watched too much movies, its obviously beginning to manifest in ur thot realm. Smh for u

Abeg shut ur trap and stop talking like a retarded dummy. Inasmuch as d veil has been torn and God has given us all the grace to cry abba father, men of God still have their place and God neva jokes with it. Dnt mistake pride for spiritual boldness Abeg.

Heaven and hell exist! Heaven and hell is not here on earth!! And religion, especially Christianity, is not a badly written nollywood script!!! sic...

Went through the whole article and all I could see was a write-up written by a confused and angry journalist who doesnt just get the point. Its almost like absolute disdain for no particular reason.

The first basic questions here are this: Is he speaking the truth? Do people actually get blessed? Is what he says in line with God's word?
If the answers to the questions are all yes (which they actually are IMO), then you are just libelling a man of God foolishly... and the word of God clearly addresses this in 1st Chronicles 16:22.
God is the one who gives the means to get rich. And he blesses His children as he so pleases. I wouldnt expect most people to comprehend that though... 1 Cor 1: 19 explains that too. Most of you on here have never even heard Him speak... or try to understand the message he teaches.

Just cut Bishop Oyedepo some slack... and drop the image destruction ure aiming at... its not worth it. And that goes for you too Linda.

What is wrong with Papa's choppin life.

BLOGLORD said...

Pastor chopping money! issorai!

WELL AS FAR AS AM CONCERN,I HAVE BEEN A MEMBER OF THIS CHURCH FOR THE PAST 13YEARS, I MUST BE REALISTIC WITH YOU THERE IS NO DAY THEY EVER FORCE ANYONE TO GIVE OFFERING.PEOPLE GIVE WILLINGLY HERE....WHATEVER YOU SAY I AM STILL IN THE LONDON CHURCH 2 SERVICES TODAY THERE IS NO PRESSURE ANYWHERE.
FOR YOUR INFORMATION OYEDEPO WILL BE COMING LIFE TO LONDON CHURCH IN 2WEEKS FOR CONVENTION SO YOU GUYS
BETTER START TALIKING ABOUT ELSE.

Yes ooooooooooo

it is well talk about something else.....your news is not genuine. i was still in London church today.
for your information Oyedepo is coming to london for a Convetion in 2weeks.............

CTM said...

A man of God does not need all dat kind of wealth my dear, how abt continually giving to d poor. Build hospitals where bills can be subsidised n so on. Vanity upon vanity all is vanity. I see no difference between some pastors n our greedy politicians. May God help us all. #catholic forever#

Did she force anyone 2 connent? Hiss

Don't mind the idiot! Was she the one that wrote it? ewu gambia, aturu!

How?

Exactly!

CTM said...

Anon 2.01, you are d one dat needs d brain. Omo jesu is talkin about humility, simplicity and servant leadership.not literarilly as ur fish brain interpreted it.

Anon 12:13, pls work on ur English! Thank you

Shut up

Pls wc part did she condemn him? U must be blind or dumb!

GBAM!!!

Exactly!!! Well said

Pls oo 4 ur info, she didn't make it up, she published wat has already been published! Mumu

Well said

Why are Nigerians such HYPOCRITES!!!!!!!!!

The so called followers of this pastor will openly come and judge another person/pastor if the scenarios were reversed but will use the "LET GOD JUDGE THEM" phrase when its their own pastor.

GOD NEVER SAID BEING WISE IS A SIN!!!!!!

THE PEOPLE I FEEL MOST SORRY FOR ARE THOSE WHO WILLINGLY DECIDE TO BE IGNORANT, THEY HAVE NOT STARTED DUPING YOU PEOPLE YET!!!!!!!

AM A MEMBER OF OYEDEPO'S MINISTRY, AND THE OYEDEPO I KNOW CAN NEVER OR WILL NEVER ASK ANY MAN FOR MONEY NOT TO TALK OF EXPLOITING THEM.

This is purely an hypocritical write up.Were they compelled to pay tithe or make offering.we have listened to and watched many American and British preachers preaching tithes and offering and the congregant responded.in many European countries he Catholics tithes are deducted directly from source.so why can't they legislate against it.i want people to investigate this and prove me wrong.it depend what your faith can carry.Do you know that this people acted on rubbish you people wrote about this man of God.Today you will write about his aeroplane and tomorrow it would be slapping someone.

Oyedepo prefers to teach a man how to fish than to give him a fish that will last a moment. Many, i mean thousands of us are a beneficiary from the teachings of this man. Every man of God teaches on the law of giving cos its biblical....Pst Adeboye, Oyedepo, pst chris, asimolowo, sam adeyemi....but it all depends if the pst is preaching it to make money or for u to understand the mysteries behind it

Touch not my anointed and do my prophet no harm.....God does not joke with his anointed weda he is rite or wrong, God is to judge not you....David cud nt kill saul cos saul was an anointed ofGod , moses missed d promise land cos of d harsh words he spoke to the isrealites.....be warned

Lmaooo

Lmaoooo!uncle/aunty pity

Lmaooo

Well said

Shut up

http://iearn123.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=6075you all should check out this link for an amazing opportunity and its real!!

I agree with you...the rules that applies to non "men/women of God" should be the same rules that apply to Pastors/Vicars etc...ordained or not...we are all humans...we have to follow the rules put in place by the government i.e. giving what is Ceaser's back to Ceaser and what is God's to God. Telling people that they will be blessed financially and they wont fall ill etc if they give money every month sounds like fraud...especially if these people are still suffering and are still paupers. Therefore, In law terms it can be said that what has been sold (i.e. the promises made by Oyedepo and his goons)to the members of their church are not "fit for purpose"...This is why they should and are being investigated. It sounds like fraud. If it quacks like a duck it is most likely a duck!!!

Linda, more grease to ur elbows! I was once gullible, and blind; until i read the Bible for myself and not from the angle from which the pastor wanted me to understand, or the context he preferred. U are doing the real ministry work here.

Signed:
Ex-Winners' Chapel Member.

By the way...people need to be careful WHERE and TO WHOM they pay their tithes to. The Bible made it clear that it is for the needy and never mentioned that it must go to a church. Since these churches are now abusing and lavishing money meant for the work of God and poor people. I now pay my tithe to the motherless babies' home, charities or i use it to sow into the life of one who needs it.

Lisa, London said...

I SEE BRAIN-DEAD PEOPLE. WALKING AROUND LIKE REGULAR PEOPLE.

You can question a man's motives without judging him & many of these so called MOG need to be questioned.

The bible says in the last days many people will claim to be MOG. How on earth is one to discern who is who if you do not QUESTION?

What would Jesus do? Do you really thing he would be living a life of excess? Our dear lord who rode in on a donkey and fed the 5000.

QUESTION AWAY.

Warri Girl said...

@ Ahdaisy Jayde
she force you read? monkey. brainwashed chicken. You should be ashamed of yourself

Sorry I rather feed a starving man than pay tithe-lets all ask ourselves which would Jesus prefer...to save a life or feed a church inwhich the money would be used to buy another jet......People need to open their eyes start reading the Bible more than believing in man....smh

So because the cardinal stated an obvious truth without referring to anyone in particular, the fact that he allegedly oppressed (Exact case not known) has to be stated. And you assume they do not have anyone to answer to...... Let me remind you of the ex-Archbishop of Benin diocese, who had to step-down and even apologised to the Holy See when the knowledge of an affair he had before becoming Bishop came to light.

The difference is that the Catholic church knows it has weaknesses and continues to pray for strength for their priest and ordained. But others (not every church included) would rather not talk about it, put a deaf ear or say "Don't judge" or even "Touch not my anointed".

So my dear "Anonys" let's stick to the topic because when cases of child molestation rise against our priests, even those that cover it up bear consequences. And one would be a fool to say bad things don't happen in churches, it's a question of "Knowing who you worship - Man or God? And why you go to church - Pentecostal and Non-pentecostal alike". No man can be greater than God.

Is it that majority are daft? Linda didn't write the article don't get it twisted. If na Pastor Chris una go touch and condemn but dis one na d real anointed wey no deserve touching typical human nature. On the last day we shall all be judged on our relationship with God and Man. God loves a cheerful giver pay ur tithe and help the poor and needy. People often give where dey will be noticed and receive blessings on earth rather than in secret.if you bless a poor family or a widow their prayers can go a long way in your life and lastly you money cannot bribe God for miracle u have to fast,pray,repent and be patient.God is faithful.

okay! okay! if people should stop judging then reverend king should be freed from jail abi, so only God can then judge him abi. afterall he too no be man of God? nonsense and ingredients...

most humans are very cynical. so because he is a very successful man of God, its a bad thing now abi. so its only people that are in d world that are allowed to be successful. the bible says that the righteous shall eat the good of the land. What is the good of the land- is it not the rolls royce phantom, the private jets, the lavish real estate, the thriving business, nd the general success he is experiencing. and mind you, he was not always rich;There was a time the church was just two long benches and he was still preaching prosperity in the Kingdom of God even at that time. He never mattered to anyone then as he does now because he wasn't very bountiful (financially).He gave God his all, and now God is giving him. Think of it this way; when you have a friend that keeps giving you gifts, love , attention; a friend who is faithful and kind towards you, a friend that loves you; a friend that sticks to you no matter what people say; what do you do to that friend when it is in your place to do thesame. You give and give and keep giving, and wish you even had more to give, because you know that friend has loved you with all he has. Now imagine that friend is God- God that created the earth. Imagine God in His glory and might giving gifts to His beloved friend, talkless of son.How do you think he would give it. Efizzy on a whole new level. Hmnn. The bishop has a relationship with God, were he has given so much to him (and I believe he is still giving), and now God is giving him back - and its a problem to you, why? because you are not in his shoes. when you have your own, dont eat, dont spend it, give everything to other people and let strangers tell you how to use your blessings and while you are at it ask the world if you are doing it right.

Thank you very much for this comment

omototun said...

First time in history Bonario make sense....abeg helep me ask them....CHILD OF GOD OR MEN OF GOD....

We forget that Christ died for us all...We all are THE Priesthood(anointed). Where in your bible do you find The Church that was birthed after the ascension of Christ having Pastors or Bishops?? Like Paul asked the Galatians...."WHO HAS BEWITCHED YOU??!!" Now that everybody is screaming bloody murder "touch not my anointed"...Are we trying to go back to observing the law. Or can you point out any Apostle from the early Churches that was called Reverend/ArcBishop??
All a local church needs are elders as leaders that would help in keeping things coordinated and also missionaries in the field spreading the gospel (which we all should be doing anyways)....

I have nothing against Oyedepo, but something is obviously wrong with the current model the Mega-churches are using.

Diva said...

This pastor is a big thief. Rubbish!

Linda i think Anonymous 11:18 am has said it all, you have posted too much on this particular man of God. Do not allow God's judgement fall on you o.....you Linda Ikeji are not God i plead with you to respect God's annointed and try not to involve yourself in matters you know nothing about. As far as i know no one is coerced into paying their offerings or tithe it is between them and God. Posting this is causing people to Insult Bishop and dig their graves....you all are too quick to comment i plead with you all to let go of issues that only God has answers to after all He is the Alpha and Omega. God is not a man respect Him and those who he puts over us like Bishop that is all...if you insult me it is well with you i have only said my piece. Thank you and God bless.

one last thing Linda when God puts food in a man's hand he uses it to bless him, you have been blessed you have tasted money i bet you don't want to go down....respect this man and leave this character deformation that is your new lifestyle.....Pastor David Oyedepo Jnr once said only you knows your self only give to the Lord what you can afford i can tell you the Winners Chapel forces no one to part with their money but the feed us with the word raw.

Abi o! Like ds pastors re abov God's judgment n its only floor membrs God will judge. Na wa for pple o! Una dey read bible at all? Its cos of pple like dese dat there rapist pastors n fada. Even wen u show dem 3d video of pastor raping dia dotas dey wil still suport him. Thr re rules in d bible on how to handle pple who re goin astray in d church n those rules, PEOPLE DONOT exclude these men of God. Its like dese pple fear these pastors n dont evn consider God.

Linda, do wetin u dey do, on judgment day, na all man (pastor, harikrishna, floor member etc) go stand n talk im mata b4 God. And thr re rules in d bible that says all xtians shuld obey d law, so if pastor break law, he shuld be dealth with accordingly n let him cary on, waitin for God tl judge him.

Their accusation is not strange, even when Jesus was on the earth those who don't understand the mandate god gave him, called him all sorts of name. Some even said Jesus was working for the devil. So let the British people say whatever they like.
Is the Church of England not rich? Why don’t complain about that?
Is the Vatican not rich?
Is Saudi Arabia not richer as a result of all the millions of Muslims pilgrims that visit Mecca?
Let them leave Oyedepo alone.

Linda, the truth of the matter is that a vast majority of Nigerians see religious leaders as their only hope in life so they follow blindly, transferring the meager wealth they have to the already stupendously rich "Pastors" who are far removed from the sufferings of their members. Religion it is said is the opium of the poor masses, in nigeria it has morphed into the crack cocaine of the masses.

Simple basic logis and common sense and blindingly irrational fear of saying anything unflattering about their pastor is verboten. While the pastors live in the lap of luxury their obedient unwashed hoardes going to give their meager resources to their pastor. You are never going to change their views because they are too far gone.

Wat kind of god do u serve dat wen he strts punishin (i supose dats wat u mean, right?), he wnt stop? Na wa for pple o! Abi,.wasnt it David wen God asked him whose he wished to fall into as punishment n he told God he'd rather fall into His hands cos He will always have mercy, but Man has mo forgiveness in dia hrt? Person, d god u just described does not represent d God of heaven n earth, d Alfa n Omega, d all merciful God,.u hear?

Ai

U c how u misquote/misunderstand d bible, thereby giving dat scripture anoda meaning entirely? Dat land belongd to Ananaias n his wife, so he wasnt under any kind of pressure to sell it for d church. But he did n lied abt it to d apostle. D apostle told him lied not to him but to d Holy Spirit. Go back n study dat passage very well n d apostle's reply to dem. It was not bicos dey brot half d moni, u hear?

Ai

I am not a member of his church and I believe some of the Bishop's wealth can benefit more people than it is doing right now. But though the truth is bitter it must be said. It is better to be rich through preaching the gospel to the poor than becoming an armed robber or doing some other ungodly activity. That paper (and its article) has not said anything new. I think it would do itself and its readership more justice examining and highlighting the continued underhanded exploitation of developing countries by its own government who have promised to alleviate poverty in those countries but has done nothing but send their prince and his wife on a whirlwind tour. Hypocrites are everywhere but the question is: who is the greater hypocrite. Is it the man who openly practices what he preaches by building schools and preaching hope to the poor, or those who fill us with their empty promises and suck us dry while pretending to help. Say what you like but Bishop Oyedepo represents progress of the kind the developed countries and their twisted and biased media are afraid of.

This is what I mean when I say there is something significantly wrong with Nigerians. It's OK to criticise politicians and people, even those who serve God, but it's not OK to criticise some dude, cos he's a pastor.

Ignorant fucks.

The man has Gulfstreams and a seemingly endless string of expensive business ventures, yet not once have I heard about him giving back to his congregation, or giving back to the country.

Face it, in Nigeria, Christianity is a business, the 3rd biggest money maker after Political Embezzlement and Oil.

Chucks.

1Demola said...

Pastorpreneur, Spendvangelist, Moneyister, Prophit, Monetary Overseer. God is watching in 7D

MY GOD! I USED TO GO TO THIS CHURCH WHILE I WAS IN ENGLAND. PAYMENT SLIP THE REPORTER IS SAYING IS OFFERING ENVELOPE. AND IF GOD DOESN'T ANSWER PRAYER WHY R WINNERS MEMBERS IN LONDON ALWAYS PROGRESSING N GETTING THE BEST OF THE LAND. PEOPLE PLS DON'T BE DECEIVED. I HAVE GOTTEN HEALED BY DIVINE HELP N IF I TOLD THAT TO A BRITON THE PERSON WOULD CALL ME A LIAR. PLS DON'T LISTEN TO PEOPLE THAT DON'T EVEN BELIEVE IN GOD

PASTOR BISHOP DAVID OYEDEPO ...U R D GREATEST THIEF IVE EVER KNOWN....I WANT TO B LIKE U WEN I GROW UP...U HAVE USED UR MINISTRY TO STEAL FROM UR WORSHIPERS N LEAVE D BROKE ONES WORSE DAN B4.DERS NOTIN ILL SAY DT WILL CHANGE U SO SINCE I CANT BEAT U,I MUST JOIN IN D LOOTIN.....HOLLA @ME NIGGA OYEDEPO

IF THEY SAY PAY TITHE IN CHURCH IT WILL BE THAT THEY R BLACKMAILING U TO DO IT. ITS IN THE BIBLE IF U WANT TO GROW U HAVE TO PAY UR TITHE. LINDA I AGREE PEOPLE ARE ENTITLED TO DIER OPINIONS N U HAVE A RIGHT TO PUT WOT U WANT ON UR BLOG BUT PLS I BEG U BE CAREFUL D WAYS OF THE SPIRIT R MYSTERIOUS N IF U HAVEN'T BEEN TO THAT CHURCH BEFORE DON'T BE QUICK TO JUDGE.
PS: THE BUSES TRANSPORTING PEOPLE TO CHURCH IN DIER NUMBERS R TO REDUCE COST OF TRANSPORTATION FOR PEOPLE COMING FROM FAR OFF N MOST OF THESE BUSES R FREE

Therese I. said...

All those saying that Linda should not post such are just silly brainwashed followers of Oyedepo!
There is nothing wrong with saying the truth! If the bishop does not want such critique then he should act in a way that the Lord will approve us; in a way we will approve of!

The bishop did not write the bible all the so call allegations are bible based. Tithe are payed in churches all over the world, it is not peculiar to winners chapel. will all the churches in the US and all over be investigated too? if u have things to attend to in Nigeria, US, UK, and all over and u have the means, i bet u will buy a jet. People who don't do that much have jets.

Kabuoy said...

He suffers no man to do them wrong... yea he rebukes kings for their sake. saying touch not my anointed and do my prophets no harm!

So my dear Linda ure a young lady wiv so many good things ahead of u. you have a right to use ur blog for whatever u want but please leave men of God out of it. do not be part of it abeg.

God bless u! :*

Our Lord JESUS was critisized too.like what a writer said MY HAND NOt DEY DIScussion ONE OOOO and dey no put gun for der head wat is der own self! touch not my anointed and do my prophet no harm.

ITS AMAZING HOW FOLLOWERS OF THE CHURCH ARE QUICK TO CONDEMN LINDA FOR A STORY SHE JUST COPIED AND PASTED ON HER BLOG. SHE TOOK THE PAINS OF MENTIONING WHERE SHE GOT THE STORY FROM... WHY ISNT ANYONE CONDEMNING THE UNDERCOVER JOURNALIST WHO BROKE THE STORY...

Is simple, if u dont want to comment den dont comment. linda neva said " comment or leave my blog" So y insult Linda for what someone already posted and she copied? Beside she told you stupid, idotic, kul metal, foolish and monkeyly aminals where she got the information from before posting.Do u guys read at all? or u just feel like insultin her? For All of u insulting linda, YOU ALL ARE BIG FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.

na wa.... first of all Linda has not commited any sin by posting the comment, is she d one judging the pastor? she is only doing her wrk which is delivering news and she posted what the mail said about the pastor. i think its advisable to think b4 u comment. besides when u saw the post was about a pastor why did you read it/ you for just move on to the next post now. and am not judging but frankly speaking checks and balances shld be put in place to check pastors, politicians, md's etc. lets wake up dats why our country is still backwards. see how uk is coming out to address the issue but we nigerians ist tin we say is leave them o, lets not judge. we need education sumtimes to understand the bible

idara said...

You guys are missing something out here...you say the church is full of poor people abi? Na the poor people go raise billions for church?

Where were you guys when the bishop was driving state to state in btw weeks to meet up with preaching God's word. Now the ministry has jets that have helped to make the work of God easier you are complaining.

Have you checked the ratio of the church members who came in poor and are now multi billionaires?

Have you listened to the man yourself preach a series of message or na dem say? to know if he is a money grabbing pastor. Forgetting that journalism will most time come from a subjective point of view,based on the writers interests and gains.

I think people who criticise should go to the right sources to find out how the church is run.

Oh you want him to run the church like our fathers have runned Nigeria ehn? Go and read the bible properly and stop treading in paths that can kill you.

Maybe you need to investigate and know how the money is used,what the private jets have helped to do in the work of God. After getting your facts straight,we would like to know.

Make visiting the Oyedepo ministry a project

I like that guy so much, he hasn'
t time for critics...that's the way to go

The English should rather concentrate on the homosexuality and several immoralities eating deep into their own kind of 'Christianity ' instead of writing rubbish against the principle of the scripture. they prefer gays as pastors to a reasonable teacher of the truth. Well. I am not surprise, signs of the end-time.
And as for you Linda, desist from promoting such news because you stand a chance to partake from their punishment. May your glory not diminish into obscurity.

'Lugo Vince said...

He is Chowing them Hard :((

no one was under any form of compulsion so dere 4........

Touch not my anointed and do my prophet no harm, always find out the truth before u publish things. if the man of God sues you for defamation of character OYO.

too bad, if dats true

naijaopenmouth.com

Nonya said...

I can't believe there are people calling this stupid and greedy thief an annointed. Who made this illiterate an annointed one? How can Nigerians be so stupid and gullible as to allow fellow human beings use the so called word of God to become billionaires off of them. I am even getting physically angry looking at this fool sitting in that private jet with his suspenders. Nigerian idiots will go to church to give these fools their life savings and go home poor and can't even open their eyes to see that these bastards called pastors are getting rich of off them. Was Jesus Christ flamboyant? What do you mean by touch not my annointed? These guys are getting richer and their followers are getting poorer and you guys no fit shine eyes? Family business with your offerings and you support these bastards? God punish all of them one by one if there is really a God.

Nonya said...

I will NEVER ever give my money to any pastor. I pay my taxes and I give to the poor. That way I am contributing to the good of my society. Unfortunately, Naija is so fucked up that the government will chop my taxes and the poor people i HELP will never be grateful. Oh well...

anon11:55 u r a big fool and idoit, an ummilked cow, goat, a ram, an animal, a dump dog, and a dirty, smelling pig.

Hmmm. Don't wanna talk o b4 God vex 4me. As a grad of covenant uni, dnt wanna talk about sme weird death that happened to some people back in school. God knows his servants. Ehen I wanted to ask. All this naija pastors that went to hell and back and saw some nigerians or so. Didn't they see christopher columbus, or other people that brght developmnt 2d world. I de suspect our naija pastors. Exporting churches. Linda I go send gist of wetin happen for winners Ghana 2ur email. Xpct it oo

no be force to read and comment. for una information as long as una read, comment or not, as far as u read, God go still judge u dey wey una say e go judge linda since una be God P.A( Personnal Assistance) so. Coz bible say" Judge not that you may not be judge" So for all of una wey dey judge linda for Copy and paste wey she do, una go stil take part for her punishment. Na she be d first person to carry the news? because na WINNERS Pastor and so? But if na another pastors from other church or catholic priest God no judge den because they no be MEN of God abie? C deir head like small Dog9(PPL JUDGING LINDA).Na only God na dey c d heart of man incase una forget dat part and na only kn anytin wey we dey do in secret. For d fact say una dey go winners church no give una d right to judge linda. Y una no go kill d report wey first report d incidend? Na linda una power reach. MANGO HEADS*Rolling eyes*

Warri Girl said...

Only God knows the truth and he would be the judge.

3 private jet for pastor where some people are suffering only God know who is going to heaven and is only God that can judge everyone not pastors.

Tope Akomolafe said...

Dear Linda. Thanks for your good works. However, there is nothing wrong in what God servant(The Bishop) is doing. Do you ever ask any member of the church if (The Bishop) has ever carry GUN to church to collect money from members? Lets Stop all this issues...... and focus on how we can be best person GOD HAS DESTINED us to be.

The church of God is growing fast n d gates of hel shall not prevail . Everyday more churches r opend n souls multiplied . It is well with d righteous. Do not sin against ur soul . Repent!!!

niaja is a disgrace ppl re more scared of pastors than God!! u ave a criminal as pastor exploitn d poor and u re too afraid to challenge him! nono

Ellariffic said...

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Linda...u better b careful, cos at d rate at whch ur going as rgds articles bout men of God is alarming. Y not come out straight if uv got ny bones to crush wif em, dn leading some ignoramous LIB readers to sin. B guided o! u may not publish dis...buh who cares, atleast ud get to read it sha.

mary said...

linda, wats up with your blog paper now? shoo. e dey pain eyes na. abeg change e.

So linda you no publish my comment i dey vex for you

The reporter wrote ignorantly i don't blame him. He sounds like he is not a christian. Are we not to pay tithes! don't we pray on offerings before it is given in our churches? many churches have buses that convey their congregants to church, is he saying people who cannot transport themselves,should trek to the church? I could go on and on but you see when the devil wants to make people biased about the truth he will raise people to paint Gods servants black. Many who listen,forget the most important thing.....There is a Hell and there is Heaven. If he takes your mind away from from the truth he has got you. Rev David Oyedepo is a man of God why don't they dig up the good things he has done......He has many individuals on scholarships,God is using him here and around the world to preach the gospel of Christ, in Nigeria he has changed ( through Gods help) the educational system, He donates to a lot of charities, he gives greatly to the poor. God has said that we shall lend to nations. I know that because i am a christian! many will still live in poverty but this is because they lack knowledge or for one reason or the other......The bible said seek ye first the kingdom of God and all this things shall be added unto you.....serve God crazily,do his work and he blesses you crazily. You don't know the sacrifice he has made so don't compare yourself to him.A worker is due the wages for his hard work. Its well!!!!

ek said...

I HAVE ALWAYS KNOWN THIS MR OYEDEPO AND OTHER MONEY MINDED NIGERIAN PREACHERS LIKE HIM ARE CRIMINALS. WHAT WILL A MAN OF GOD BE DOING WITH SUCH AFFLUENCE. CHRIST LIVED A LIFE OF SIMPLICITY SO WHY WOULD ANYONE CLAIMING TO BE A REPRESENTATIVE OF CHRIST BE INTERESTED IN PRIVATE JETS NOT JUST 1 BUT 2 , ROLLS ROYCE PHANTOM ETC.
WELL I HAVE NEVER FALLEN FOR SUCH CRAP AND WILL NEVER BE PART OF THE FOOLS THAT CONTRIBUTE MONEY TO JUST ONE MAN AND HIS COHORTS TO BE SUPER RICH.
THE GREATEST WAY TO SHOW ALLEGIANCE TO GOD IS TO LOVE YOUR FELLOW HUMAN BEING AND HELP ANYONE IN NEED IF IT IS WITHIN YOUR MEANS, AND NOT CONTRIBUTING MONEY TO ONE CRIMINAL MASKING AS A PREACHER!!!

COMMENT BY : VALLACIAO

some people will die of what they do not know, though the bible said it" my people perish for lack of knowledge" becos you all are talking ignorantly, this same man of God "PAPA" donated 6 PHCN transformers to some communities in OTA, ogun state just few months ago, where were you when he wanted to re-construct ILO AWELA ROAD in OTA Ogun state and the then governor (immediate past) ask him to bring the money so that they (the government) can embezzle as they embezzle government money. Are you blind to see all the boreholes Oyedepo dug in OTA, Ogun state also do a research and see how many thousands of the church members children are under his scholarship (primary, secondary, higher institution level).

Was he not the one that force the price of sachet water (pure water) to what they are selling now in ogun state when he cannot sell at N100 per bag like others, they have to join him when they cannot beat him.

Above all let all that can say openly that they are members of WINNERS CHAPEL and since they joined the church the MAN of GOD has forced them or even compel them to bring their belongings come out.

I joined the church about 8 to 9 years ago but before i joined i was once one of those that say more than the rubbish you guys are saying now but when i see the light without any body inviting me to the church, now i do not think i can leave the church again. REPENT THE COMING OF GOD IS AT HAND.

All i can say is to those who read their bibles well God bless you as for you Linda continue to use Bishop Oyedepo as traffic for your blog.....i will not curse you mba it hasn't come to that but i want you to know that God sees the hands that point at His prophet. I pray you never find yourself in a difficult place where you will have to return to look for this same man and beg. it is well o i repeat it is well and for those who will say i am an idiot thank you o.....i serve God not the man of God but i do have respect for him i rest my case...

you keep criticising and God keeps blessing him.....pity

Mic Alley said...

A lot of comments here makes you realise the importance of worshipping your own God/god and not ur pastor. Wake up call. I argue this thing everyday. The art of confusing morality with religion

A biblical story just came to me now and I would want to share with most of us who seem to know exactly how Jesus lived his life. The woman who broke her alabaster box at the feet of Jesus, that was all her life savings. The bible records that it was so expensive that Judas said it was waste for her to break it and pour at his feet. And that it could have been sold and proceeds given to the poor. Jesus answered, the poor will always be among u but what this woman has done will always be told to generations upon generations. If it was in our day, some of you would have said he isn't the son of God. Leave these people to God.

It was more interesting reading the comments than the story, people with different ideas and all.
I wish people would stop cursing the blogger. To y'all who said God is the Judge, why don't you put your own very words into practice first, by not cursing and judging Linda!!!

We are all entitled to our interpretation of the News from a place where there is moral decadence...READ YOUR BIBLE!!!! We are responsible for our own salvation!!! #shikena

why are people so limited in their thinking? This wasn't written by Linda please give Linda a break

Chinwe said...

Linda, has got nothing to do wit dis news. So if u guys wanna pass judgement on some since you are all God, then direct it to the originator of the story.Only God knows and sees the heart of men including David Oyedepo and other pastors. Some people stop fighting over wat you and i dont know. Please read carefully before insulting or cursing.

labbthehealthnut said...

Hmmm in my own opinion, we are all human beings and sometimes its very difficult not to comment on some things, thats why we are not perfect.Especially when we are very familair with the Bible and reflect back on how the teachers/apostles in those days behaved, even those who God blessed with so much wealth.Sometimes its difficult not to comment especially when you see people who cant even afford one meal a day going to churches.It is very wrong to use tithes to make yourself rich,so if that is the source of his wealth,..well let God be the judge and if it is not..well,Let him be the judge as well.I highly believe in Tithes but God did not say we have to pay it in the church.Tithes in those days in the Bible were meant to help widows,homeless people and orphans.You can give tithe by sending someone to school who genuinely cannot afford education.But like It is in the Bible, God alone is the only one who can judge and knows who serves Him.God help us all.

chinwe said...

linda, has got nothing to do wit dis news. So if u guys wanna pass judgement on someone since you are all God, then direct it to the originator of the story.Only God knows and sees the heart of men including David Oyedepo and other pastors. So people stop fighting over wat you and i dont know. Please read carefully before insulting or cursing.

It doesn't matter how many people stand against the bishop, as long as he stands on Gods word, they will not prevail against him....

ISIDORE MBIANDA said...

Placing worldly possessions over the mission of the church deeply derails the vision. So i don't blame those criticizing those possession driven men of god of our days....

Am so so surprised that those who talk in favour of Oyedepo hardly mentioned 'GOD' in their sentence, it all about winners this and oyedepo that... i was reading a testimony from the 'seven columbian youth whom God showed hell', i recall i read one of them talked about TITHES and said tithes are meant to be given to church then afterward it will be used to feed the poor, he never mentioned tithes are to be used to acquire jets and multimillion properties all over the world... it saddening that these days people worship their pastors and forget about God...

All am saying in essence is this acqiuring of all these jets and other things are uncalled... millions of people are suffering... did u think if Jesus didnt feed the 5000 people with fish and bread, the would listen to his sermon? the church is meant to be a refuge for the poor...

well, am short of words though... the misionaries that brought christianity to us rode on common bicycle...

Nuli De Nonyes

I wish Linda had not posted this. This is my first time visiting ur blog introduced by a friend because of this allegation. What I can tell u is that, the Bible is the Word of God believed by the Christians, Quran is the Word of God believed by the Moslems, likewise, Ogun, Ifa, Obatala, Sango, Oya, Osayin and many more are deities in Yoruba land believed by our forefathers and few descendants today. Likewise in other tribe, we have beliefs. Only God, the Unseen Invisible Creator can judge a mortal man. Don't join man to castigate man. They lead to one's fall. I believe in the Ministry and teaching of Bishop David Olaniyi Oyedepo. He is called by God, with hands laid on him by another servant of God, Pastor Enoch Adejare Adeboye. His teachings has root in the Bible, I believe it and it works and is still working for me. It is according to your faith. The man is not moved by what people say, because, Back Biters are always at the BACK!

I dont expect yall to understand wat we go through in canaanland or covenant both staff n students!!! Its unexplainable d things u here n see... A man of GOD calling d student daughters of jezebel!!! So who much is given much is expected!!

I am shocked at comments by people who have not sat in for a service at Winners Chapel. Bishop has NEVER cajoled or forced anyone into giving an offering, paying tithe, or sowing a seed. All he teaches is basically that giving to the Lord is biblical and also the root of blessings experienced in the Bible. He is a living testimony of the blessings of sowing. The truth is many many lives have been transformed as a result of contact with his ministry (MINE INCLUSIVE). God will determine on the day of judgement who has served him uprightly or not, but i know for a truth that if God is not with the Winners Ministry, the blessings experienced there and upon the life of Bishop will not be envied by the multitude castigating him. It is well.

Closed-circuit television Solutions - Symbol of Security and Safety

My site: cosmetic surgery web marketing
Here is my webpage : plastic surgeon seo

ANYALEWA PAIGE said...

it's such a pity linda,u call urself educated and also a christain yet u dont know God 4urself or His words. U still rely on wat pple say to paste such a blog,who has made u n dem judges,y r u n all the negatives so against prosperity? witout it u wouldnt be online to paste such,be educated,wear nyc tins,or have the finer tins of lyf,d bible says i wish above all tins that thou mayest prosper and be in good health as your soul prospereth,so can u pls interpret this portion of the bible? DONT JOIN ODAS IN TALKING OR JUDGING MEN OF GOD. leave them to GOD AND ABOVE ALL PRAY FOR THEM. This man has done nothing rong, his is only living the word,he has caught the rhema from the logos,dig deeper dear and u will find GOD IN A DEPTH N BEYOND,OYEDEPIO FOUND God n now men r contending with him for bin blessed.

Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
I wrote this without touching 6 letters on my keyboard

The scripture statement "Touch not my anointed" has been grossly misunderstood much to the detriment of the host of largely vulnerable, unenlightened and unreflective evangelical Christians in Nigeria. Why can't Christians do a little bit of study to understand the Bible a little better and place quotations in the correct exegetical context?!

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 325 of 325   Newer› Newest»