Arrested currency smuggler forfeits over N100m to federal govt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 23 October 2012

Arrested currency smuggler forfeits over N100m to federal govt

You guys remember the bulk currency smuggler, Abubakar Tijani Sheriff, who was arrested on the 27th of September at the Murtala Muhammed International while attempting to smuggle about $7million out of the country? Well, he appeared before a Federal High Court today in Lagos and he got some of his seized money back, and lost quite a lot to the federal government of Nigeria.

The court asked EFCC to return the $4.5million he declared at the airport when he was traveling while he should forfeit 25 percent of the money he didn't declare to the Federal Government.

He didn't declare about $2.5m and 25% of that is going to the federal government. 25% of 2.5 million dollars is over 600 thousand dollars and when you convert that to Naira its about100 million naira.

According to Sheriff's lawyer, the money he was transporting before he was arrested belonged to 20 people
who pulled their resources together to buy goods in bulk in order to bring down the price. The 20 people even went to EFCC to explain how they got the money and what it was meant for.

But I guess smuggling is smuggling and there's a penalty for that! N100 million gone just like that? Wow!

19 comments:

I shake my head for politics in Naija......*Haba*....they just played a fast one on us!
God dey!

Don't miss out: Check out my blog by clicking [url=http//www.lanreclassic.com]HERE[/url]

Story,story.......how can they feed us this Bs, if the money is from a genuine source then they should have done a bank transfer. So the guy is a courier as well as a personal shopper. Anyway, we now have a replacement for the otedola/lawan missing dollars.

Jay O said...

Thats still madness, who on earth will carry $7m in cash??? Na wa o!

BLOGLORD said...

Story story!! story!!!

Zunny said...

<----Badass dude

Linda, get your self aquinted with the law, 100 million Naira is not gone. When you dont declear, the case is investigated and if your claim of not declearing is found guilty, then thats when the money is gone. In this case the 100 million is held as bond

bunny said...

Hmmmmm $2.5m going to the FG..Lies,they have seen free money which will be shared amongst themselves..they are just taking advantage of the situation.. EFCC I hail u guys.

Nawaoooh, nigeria govt. Una de chop money oooh

Why does the government of this country think we are so stupid.its a shame

Dr. Pinch said...

Stories that touch, who are these 20 people? We want to know them and how they made their money? They can tell that to a kid and not a grown man like me. Why carry that money in cash? What kind of business organisation will want to accept that kind of cash when most businesses these day do online transactions. Mr TJ the only question I have for u, is who is the politician you want to launder money for? Come to think of it the case did not even last up to one month and this is that same nigeria where cases stay in court for 2 to 10 years, this simply shows that the people involved are indeed the high and the mighty. When will Nigeria change? Liars and criminals calling themselves leaders nothing will ever make me believe that rubbish story.

What an excuse!!!!! ... *sarcastically*. "According to sheriff's lawyer, the money he was transporting before he was arrested belong to 20 people. Who pulled their resources together to buy goods in bulk in other to bring down the price. The 20 people even went to EFCC to explain How they got the money and what it was meant for" .... Jeeeeeeeez!!!!

d explanation jus no gel , more confused dan evaa

Meka said...

Only God knws d top govt official dat wil b lickin his lips now n d money goin straight into his personal account,or d senators n house of rep members d executive wil use d money 2 bribe 2 get deir way out of a situation.

Suzie said...

They should die it joor...
Dem for no even tell us ow far it went

Jack nappier said...

Money couriers are common in the north....these guys are mostly illiterate merchants who deal in goods from arab nations, like gold, trinkets, fabrics etc....i dont know dia motives bt if you know hausa ppl, they still very much deal with cash and rarely do banking transactions due to religious, cultural and social reasons...and that is why the islamic banking model was introduced......i know hausa guys dat can single handedly pull that amount in Yola where i grew up...and if u see dem, dey look tattered and wretched

FBI said...

just stopped by to say hi

Absolute rubbish!!! Someone accused and guilty of money laundaring, his pictures and names are displayed to the public and is immediately purnished but the Allu4 and cynthia's killers identity are concealed and they walk freely. Who launders money more than d Nig Govt.? Losers!!!

Smtcheeeeeeeew!

ndee purity said...

Who is this federal government? No be people like us? Arrant nonsense!