South Africa Releases Bank Notes Bearing President Nelson Mandela's Image | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 12 February 2012

South Africa Releases Bank Notes Bearing President Nelson Mandela's Image

SA president Jacob Zuma holding the note with Mandela's face on it
One of the world's greatest statesmen, anti-apartheid activist and the first democratically elected president of South Africa - President Nelson Mandela, 93, has been honoured by his countrymen with his image on the country's bank notes.

His face repaces designs featuring the "big five" safari animals - Cape buffalo, elephant, leopard, lion and rhino. All five notes - 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 rand will now bear Mandela's face on the front.

What a way to honour him and thank God he's still alive to see it!

31 comments:

That is excellent. They should give the man his roses whilst he can still smell them. I am glad he is being honored while he is still alive and kicking. That is how it should be done. Good move South Africa!

What a way 2 honour a tru leader. Who is 9ja honour? Nobody cus they are nt meant 2 be honoured

A deserved honour.

hunray said...

honour well deserved.

This man is very blessedg, plus, he's a living success.

Naija should emulate dis o, lets honour our livin heroes. They are so numerous to mention.

Aduke-luv said...

Aawwww this is sooo beautiful!! I Luvvvvv Mandela!!!He's sooo sweeet!!Good Health n more years ahead Daddy!! XOXO

A well desrved honour to a legend, may God continue to keep him. Madiba!

Priestess said...

This is wat they call honour. God wil continue 2 kip him n his family. Weldone, SA.

Ng said...

Fantastic!!! This is long overdue.

Dee dee said...

Honour well deserved. And yes, it's great that he's alive to witness it.

Best decision ever. Mandela is a living legend and deserve so much more. He is a father to us all in Africa.

Pjobaby said...

Wow! Am impressed... Mandela remains my hero.
So sad, not a single ex leader in Nigeria who can be so honoured!

PoLyMaT said...

Wat an achievement??**at least,he can see his worth himslef!

Tycoon said...

Infact Linda, that is more important than anything..... that he is still alive to see it.

Wao! this is nice! He deserves even more.

Sam Fagbohun said...

I honor Mandela in my heart. I thank South Africans for honoring him while he is yet alive. Long Live Nelson Mandela, Long Live South Africa, Long Live Nigeria and Long Live Africa.

That's so thoughtful for such a special Legend.

Waooo! Dis is wonderful. Is a great tin to appreciate dose who were dere 4u wen u need dem most.

Ahh d idea of a black man having to fight to live in his own black country still baffles me! White DEMONS!!

Ngo uwaoma said...

Yes indeed he is a true leader. He caries people along

A well deserved honour. But here in nigeria they only honour the dead

Therez Ojukwu 2 honour

Opera mini free browsing said...

What a way to honour him! I like the first comment most. Give him rose while he can still smell it.
A well deserved honour.

Jamb results said...

What a way to honour him! I like the first comment most. Give him rose while he can still smell it.
A well deserved honour.

Like Sani Abacha stadium. Nepotism: sincerely that's the true trait of majority northerner leaders. Sorry to say if hurt but the real right minded one esp youth must kick against any unscrupulous action that is giving the north too much sand dust. i doubt if obasanjo will be so honour before or after his death cos SW generally thought he hasn't done enough to merit it except Ĉ’or his obasanjo library. i am talking public monument. Let's be honest with ourselves.

Nice one Manadela is so honoured. But is this not going to be termed a reversal of apartheid? His pic on ALL Notes?

A well deserved honor indeed

J-BOY said...

WHAT A WAY 2 HONOUR A MAN WHO STOOD AMONG HIS PEERS. HE REALLY IS A RARE GEM

He is sure a Living Legend! !! !!!