Heavy Rain Wreck Havoc In Lagos Early Monday Morning: 1 Killed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 February 2012

Heavy Rain Wreck Havoc In Lagos Early Monday Morning: 1 Killed

Left: Moremi hall after the down pour today. Right: A large billboard fell on a Camry along Ikoyi/Obalende bridge. Continue to see more of the damage the rain caused in Lagos today.

A teacher at St. Gregory College, Obalende, killed by the mast which collapsed on him.

35 comments:

kcee said...

Thats a picture of what to expect this rainy season. Not forgetting last year's catastrophe. Lagosians and the Government should prepare. Thank God am currently not in Lagos. Wishing them the best this coming rainy season.

mimi said...

When i saw ur tweet about this...i was like: which kind stale news linda de report like this? God save u say u put up pictures wey i never see.

Since this ur vacation i've be frolicking from one blog to the other, do and get back to work o! And pls! Stop waiting till night (Nigerian time) before u blog about important issues. Lemme not even talk about ur late approval of comments. This ur blog don dry since u travel do and come back.

Wat i'm honestly just trying to say is we de miss u o!

Too much rain in Lagos along with flooding. My goodness!

Bloglord said...

JESUS CHRIST!!!!!!!!!!!!

wow.since when did Lagos start having these kind of rains?na wa o. Times are changing indeed

peter ojo said...

so sad may he soul rest in perfect peace amen.http://peter-ojo.blogspot.com

ONOME says................
Disasters happen,even in developed countries:tsunamis,snow storms,floods,hurricanes etc;the difference is that these countries have an EMERGENCY SERVICE THAT WORKS!Sadly this incident is not enough to make those in charge sit up and provide such essential services and basic human right...mark my words,this is not the last of this very unfortunate and sad incident.Rest in peace bro,UR COUNTRY FAILED YOU.And those electrical wires criss crossing about?God dey.....

Linda my friends gate man also died in lekki. A mast fell on their house!

Baby Daddy said...

Linda Ikeji, what do you want me to give you on Val Day?
What do you desire?
A pregnancy? A baby?
I'm your man.
Cum see me in NYC. I will give you a BABY.
If you want money, gifts, car, or wedding ring, get lost. Smh.

lol.
I'm kidding oooo :)

Ooh my God, may his soul rest in perfect peace... Amen!

seun said...

SO SAD

I was on the road while it rained, it was a terrifying experience with sharp and heavy objects falling on the road. The rain droped like cubes of sugar. Let's pray against this type of rain because we can't stand the damages.

GlamNotchApparels said...

Omgoodness! this rain must have been really heavy. wow!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Poor teacher..oma she o!!..RIP..

mimi said...

May he RIP, so sad that someone was just going about his normal job and death come find am, not sickness or motor accident...God help us!

That was how someone was shot in lagos on sunday by a police officer because of 50 naira.

Ify said...

Lagos will end up having cases of environmental refugees. Something should be done seriously about land reclamation in that state.

Come oh Linda, your room used to be on this side this picture was taken in moremi now abi, last floor i remember well....that room...hmm hmm

UBADIRE ASHIEGBU said...

It was so sad for what happened today. All we need to do everyday b4 we go out from our homes is to ask God to be with us in our going out and in coming in. The person that lost his life never expected it to happen. God Be With Us

emerald said...

God pls, the enemies of lagos will not know me

Freesmszone.com said...

Rain rain go away,come another day.
http://freesmszone.com/

To the Teacher, RIP. SO SAD.

Dats my brother teacher,he was a futhermaths teacher, dey said he was d nicest man any1 cud av as a teacher n he jus lost his sister lastweek,now this wat a way 4 his wife 2 celebrate valentine

I watched with dismay as the PS on environmental issues was talking on air yesterday about how they cleared Alexandar,boudillon etc.they didnt think they should mention and show other areas as this above.why?cos the people that live in other areas besides bourdillon areas(tinubus area)arent people?

Oyinkansola said...

Yesterday's rain was so so heavy..I forgot something at home in the morning so I quickly drove back to get it, the rain met me on the way home and it was indeed a very funny episode, everywhere became so dark, I had to use full headlights (at 7am), the winds were SO SO strong, I was literally fighting with the winds to close the house gates, when I thought I had one closed, the winds blew the second gate and slammed it hard against the car... At the end of the episode I was so soaked, just had to get into the car n rush back to work like that..

Austin said...

Wow. not surprised. when i saw the clouds on 4rm 3rd mainland,it was the darkest rain cloud i have ever seen.

mesi said...

Na wa oo! This na leap year rain ooo. Poor school teacher,RIP

That of Moremi was because its a Devils home place, Sodom and Gomoral.Rest in Peace Teacher.

We are discussing an important issue and you are talking trash. If you dey nyc nko. Rubbish, oponu. Na baby Linda wan chop? Take ur stupid nyc mentality and go hug transformer

Didislim said...

This is so sad. Those that died left their houses not knowing what they would behold...we do not know the day nor the hour...let us just keep praying for God's protection over our lives and our families day in, day out. May the souls of the departed rest in peace. Amen!

uSaveOne said...

God help the helpless! Is it right to say that this is a case of Hurricane Subsidy?

May the dead rest in peace!

It was really terrible. Part of my neighbour's roofing sheets ended up in my compound while the electric poles on my street got broken. It was a real disaster yesterday. When I woke up, I actually thought people were fighting on my roof. The wind was extremely scary!

Brainybamz said...

Wat!...so sad,to the teacher,RIP o.... Guyz visit www.ayobami-okediji.blogspot.com its also fun....kudoz to linda

apple said...

when ll nigeria become like other develop country like uk,use even gana is better than us,just because of rain somebody lost his life what of does country were it snows every day how may people has it kill shame to nigerian government

apple said...

so sorry

ASAMPOKOTO said...

WOW! apple you are a big idiot. wow wow! its almost unbelievable. what is your point? that the Nigerian govt should have sent someone to grab the mast that fell on him :S. people die in the snow, floods and that in 1st world countries. trust me i know. so again i ask.... YOUR POINT?