Photos: Protest march against deployment of army holds in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 January 2012

Photos: Protest march against deployment of army holds in Lagos

Dr Tunji Braithwaite, Idika Kalu, Ishaq Akintola and other activists this morning marched to the Lagos State House of Assembly, where they were received by the Deputy Speaker of the house. From there the crowd started to march towards the Gani Fawehinmi Freedom Park in Ojota, but were turned back by police at the 7up junction who threw tear gas at the protesters. The rally was then held at the car park of the Lagos State House of Assembly.

This march was not about the fuel hike, it was about the deployment of army to Lagos state. More photos when you continue...

Photos thanks to Sahara Reporters...

18 comments:

pelu bhadmus said...

Na wa o, God we kuku save us, Gud job.

It's a crime in naija to organuise peaceful rally na God go save us oooo.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Good stuff..f**king Army..go arrest some terrorists..go to Borno where you needed..senseless moronic buffons!!

But seriously tho, what are the military men on d road doin?! They r rili not affecting any1 so why bother abou them?! The so called millitary men they were protesting against dint evn react it was the police that attacked them. Anyways only God knws...

The yam army is on d move!

ONYEDIKING said...

www.gideblog.com say's What's the motive behind this protest? Who are they people doing it? Are the socalled "civil society group"really fighting for the good of the common man These are some of the questions we need to ask.Lagos has a functioning railway system, 4,000 BRT buses these most state don't have. Where were they when the state introduce togate in some part of lagos? LASU school fees was increased from N25,000 to N250,000. This protest is strange I can seethe voice of Jacob but the hand of Esau www.gideblog.com

ONYEDIKING said...

www.gideblog.com say's What's the motive behind this protest? Who are they people doing it? Are the socalled "civil society group"really fighting for the good of the common man These are some of the questions we need to ask.Lagos has a functioning railway system, 4,000 BRT buses these most state don't have. Where were they when the state introduce togate in some part of lagos? LASU school fees was increased from N25,000 to N250,000. This protest is strange I can seethe voice of Jacob but the hand of Esau www.gideblog.com

JOBS IN NIGERIA said...

Good about time.

Yetinde said...

As dis idiot jonah dey disturb us 4 dis state,na so God go dey disturb am.amen.

grace said...

so people still dey protest eh? i really donot know how to say this but it seems i may be giving up on nigeria, like when is the change going to come? i was all in support of this occupy nigeria movement, thinking it was way beyond subsidy removal but alas we were betrayed!

Useless Nigerian armed forces, where were you all when innocent bloods were shed in the North? O God Arise!

Personally, i don't see any reason for the protest. The soldiers are there to ensure that every where is peaceful, so why are they protesting? If anything the presence of the soldiers should give people a sense of security. It's not like they are going about harassing people on the streets of Lagos.

Me said...

FASHOLA HAS NO MORAL STANDING TO ASK GEJ TO REMOVE ARMY FROM LAGOS. HE STARTED IT, HE USED FORCE TO PUSH TOLLING ON LEKKI-AJAH EXPRESS RD,EVEN SOME ONE WAS ALLEGED KILLED.
IF U HAVE THE RIGHT TO PROTEST AGAINST GOVT POLICIES, OTHERS WHO R NOT IN SUPPORT ALSO HAVE THE RIGHT TO GO ABOUT THEIR NORMAL BIZ WITHOUT INTIMIDATION. BUT WAS THAT POSSIBLE ? NO. THEN THE ARMY SHOULD B THERE TO SEE IT HAPPEN SINCE D GOV COULDN'T ENFORCE THAT.

LET US ALL B REALISTIC, CHARITY THEY SAY BEGIN AT HOME. WHY CANT WE PROTEST AGAINST LAGOS STATE GOVT FOR TRIPLE TAXATION? WHAT HAVE THE USED ALL OUR TAX MONIES FOR? MAYB PLANT FLOWERS.
IF U MUST PROTEST, THEN IT SHLDNT BE SELECTIVE.

these guys are lucky they have not been charged with treason. they are trying to start a revolution. look at the people spare heading the 'protests'... losers from the previous elections. if they are serious, they should take take their protest to abuja. the govt has said NO to demonstrations, and they have the right to quell such if they deem it unnecessary. i don't see any gainfully employed or peace loving or patriotic person participating in the protest. people should wise up, and avoid falling victims to some people's agenda.

SAMUEL said...

Gov. Fashola is about to be removed as the Lagos State Governor if he is not careful! For him to allow miscreants to ruin his state in the form of protesting for good governance is the worst decision he will ever made. Very soon a State of Emergency will be declared in Lagos State if he will not call these self confused miscreants to stay off the streets. I can see the handwriting on the wall. They are jobless and mischievious homo-sapiens.

damico said...

at anonymous January 20, 2012 12:01 PM: why should the govt say no to a peaceful protest? do we now live in a military stated? we all have a right to free protest. its not called treason. or is it in the constitution that we cannot protest freely in nigeria. if it is, some send me a link of the page.
we all know what the nigerian army is like. theyre there to intimidate and nothing more.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Whilst the Army were deployed in Lagos..numerous bombs went off in Kano today..when I said Jona was clueless y'll thought man was biased!!

Backward nation. A nation that deploys Police to use tear gas or military force against PEACEFUL PROTESTING citizens should not exist.
The people should march on and never let off. They need to chase those vagabonds out of power.