Channels TV Reporter, Enenche Akogwu, Killed in Kano Blasts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 January 2012

Channels TV Reporter, Enenche Akogwu, Killed in Kano Blasts

31 year old Channels TV reporter, Enenche Akogwu, was shot dead today by Islamic militants during the Kano bomb blasts that rocked the city. 

Eneche arrived at the Farm center police station shortly after the first bomb exploded there and approached by-standers thinking they would tell him what they had seen. Before Akogwu could realize they were Islamic militants, the men had pulled out a gun and killed him on the spot

The late reporter graduated from Benue State University in 2004 and joined Channels Television as a reporter in Abuja two years ago. He was later made the station’s correspondent in Kano. He was the winner of Channels Television’s 2011 Chairman’s award and was honoured at the station’s end of the year celebration.

Akogwu had only returned to Kano two days ago after spending some time in Lagos. So so so sad! May his soul rest in peace...amen.

64 comments:

larrycoal said...

Dis is so pathetic... #Sobbing. May His gentle soul rest in the bossom of the Lord.

i m completely devastated...

orange said...

I am tongue tied and lost for words. Why kill an innocent manon his chores? Where are these killings leading us? Are we fighting civil or cold war? Gosh! It's so so sad. And pathetic. The Lord will confort and console his family. Such a young man??????????

U saw a blast and still filming,if to say Na CNN reporter u fit be a hero but not for naija...may his soul RIP sha

Olayinka Oladele said...

Ewooo. The explosions have claimed this innocent man's life... O lord, look upon the affairs of Nigeria.
RIP ENE!
More naija gists and updates @ Naija Talkative.

George A said...

Life is all abt risk, wel may his Gentle soul rest in Peace....

in the name of reporting...u see danger like this u still day report..nawa oh..this is so sad

what can i say? a country where pple's lives are not worth anything to their govt! May his soul rest in peace and may God give his family the fortitude to bear the loss.Guess John Momoh will do something about this! maybe, direct some anger to GEJ for a ''good security'' in Nigeria.How many lives have been lost since this boko haram sef! yet, all these killings doesn't mean anything to the govt!( saying it loud with a fist)!

na wa ooo i heard his voice on channels tv not too long ago and now he is gone and oga jona siddon dey look i tire oooo is it when they kill all of us before sometin would be done by jonathan and his security nawa ooo

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

I still saw dis guy filming the occupy protest lastweek in channels..sad.

Aww this is so sad! what a waste, so young and full of life. may his soul rest in perfect peace

May his soul rest in perfect peace. This is a real tragedy. The job can be really dangerous.

He was shot? By who? I hope it wasn't "friendly fire" like what happened to the innocent civilian who was killed by the incompetent Nigerian Police (force) when the Boko Haram suspect escaped. It's a real pity. May his soul rest in perfect peace and may God comfort his family.

Smh...Amen

The Great Oracle said...

We shall live through it. GEJ's recipe to Boko Haram problem. We are definitely living through it. All should get ready to say many more RIPs in the coming days. RIP, my bro.

Nikkie said...

This is so sad, May his soul rest in perfect peace

Na wa o..wat does dis pple want na?y r they bombing everywia?r we still safe in dis country?may his soul rest in peace o

Yetinde said...

Omolomo,o ga o.jst because he's trying to find out how its happening.ok. E te raa mo o.God dey.shot dead nt bombed.

What manner of animal shoots journalists?

SMH

sharpie said...

may he #RIP. too sad. God will judge everyone disturbing the nation's peace.

so sad indeed

http://pointblanknews.com/new/exclusive/3515-how-ringim-presented-fake-kabir-sokoto-to-police-minister.html

simple police procedure from time immemorial...every arrest by the police is recorded...with the arrestee holding a number, at least two pictures are taken, frontal and sideways...then finger prints are collected...did the nigeria police do this?...with bomb suspects, chemical tests are carried out on the hands and other exposed part of the body...dna is taken...but ignore the last two...Nigeria still takes pictures and fingerprints...well, info received states that, the police have presented a fake Kabiru Sokoto. The picture in your website is not that of Kabiru Sokoto! He is currently in Kano coordinating his boys! Why was the policeman Zakari Biu brought back into the Nigeria police by the present IGP long after he was removed by OBJ? We all know what is happening and cant be fooled!

ONYEDIKING said...

RIP www.gideblog.com

funnysmile said...

RIP Eneche Akogwu. What a young life cut short. Oh Lord we need your help in this country. Grant his family as well as channels Tv the fortitude to bear the loss. Amen.

Fiffy said...

May God grant his soul enternal rest and may he guide the family.

What a shame!
Noone is safe anywhere,anymore!

*smh*sign*

Hmm!! The other side of journalism... RIP.

Rachie said...

For God's sake....watz Nigeria turning to?is this how our govt will keep on looking like moron and allow people die just like that.so painful...May Jehovah console his entire family and coleagues

O'Yinka said...

AMEN!!!

shuga! said...

May his soul rest in peace.

HENRY NSOFOR said...

ith this trend it means that journalism has become an endangered profession. i really feel for the life that was cut short in the line of duty. i pray d gud lord will confort his family and d channel tv family @ this moment of thier grief.

wat a grt loss,......so so pathetic!!!....

May His soul rest in perfect peace. O GOD pls strengthen his family n giv them d fortitude 2 bear d loss.

So sad RIP and to his family take heart

Solomon said...

So sad, he should have been more security conscious but all that is irrelevant now. RIP

Dede said...

I have not stopped crying. I knew him personally and he was one person that did not deserve to die. His death is still a big shock. Gentle at heart and a really good friend. Why do the good ones always die???
Rest in Peace, Enenche.
I'll miss you.

May he RIP, i still maintain dat GEJ and boko haran are one

And hv dey deployed soldiers to dat state?

FAROUK SULEIMAN

It's sadden my heart. May his soul rest in peace.
To you LINDA, this you must know, they are not ISLAMIC militant. Call them boko haram militant. Islam do not condone militancy.

How to Create a Website and make money said...

how will thay do that and get free.

bloglord said...

to be a Nigerian CHRISTIANA AMANPOUR is not worth it. No life insurance, nothing. just one minute silence n they all move on.
so sad. May God accept ur soul n i strongly sympathize with ur family. Godbless ur soul.

Free BB Stuff said...

This is crazy. Imagine being this man's parent, wife? Jeezz! Channels go compensate hs family?
www.nigeriantvshows.com

grace said...

see hw God will punish GEJ? boko haram he has not tackled then its fuel subsidy he wants to tackle. anuofia!

Butumi and Joke He Likes said...

I was so saddened to hear the news of his death! Just few days back, Monday precisely I was watching him reporting the protest in Kano, then I thought to myself that his job is really a big risky one as he wore bullet proof while reporters from other regions weren't and there you are, four days after, he' been shot dead. So sad! May his soul RIP!! And may God grant the family and Channels Tv the fortitude to bear this great loss and tragedy. My prayers is with you all.

ENECHE SAW THEM, GRACE (COLLEAGUE)CONFIRMED IT, THEY ARE NOT BOKOHARAM, THEY ARE POLITICAL THUGS THAT WAS Y THEY SHOT HIM #RIPENECHE

Too sad. May he RIP. Amen.

OUTCRY said...

Nigerians!!!! this is very brothersome. When they increased the amount of fuel, the outrage had no competition. Now innocent citizens are being killed by Islamic militants and people are not even half as outraged as they were with the pockets being affected. This is sad. Greed...anyways this is horrible. Who are these animals? we need intelligence in Nigeria to help decode. Please O ye thieving policticians, can you please for once invest some of the money you rob Nigeria of everyday and invite American or even Russian intelligence to help you investigate these bastards. Nigeria can afford surveillance, you can pay people to get info, you can tighten security on States that are likely to have these cells. NIGERIAN POLITICIAND AND LAWMAKERS, CABALS, DECISION MAKERS, Please for once in your miserable, greedy, theiving lives, spend money to save the lives of Nigeria and its citizens. This is getting out of control. Why aren't people marching that Boko Haram should be brought to book? tHIS IS JUST TOO SAD

Abdulrazaq said...

Boko Haram is evil. Save for mischief or ignorance no reasonable man will qualify or describe Boko Haram as Islamic or even agree with that description. Can any one of you, the mischief makers - media men or journalist, explain to us what exactly is islamic about boko haram, a group that kills muslims alike. And can you tell us anything islamic in the governance or life style of politicians who have been alleged to be sponsors of boko haram. I would have expected people like you to seek knowledge about Islam regardless of whatever your pastors could have told (misinformed) you about Islam. God punishment awaits mischief maker in any way.

But he was wearing a bullet proof vest wasn't he? Or where was he shot? In the thigh?

So sad... May he rest in peace, may God give his family comfort n d ability Ï„o handle this.

Terrible...

You know its a big deal when this is broadcast on the news here in the UK and there is a field correspondent reporting from Naija and someone else sitting in the news studio discussing this.When they are discussing the blast of the UN building, Xmas day and now Kano.
How this will affect them in the long run as the news caster says Al quaeeda is now sponsoring the young militants in Nigeria to fly over to afghanistan for training. They shdnt come and pour sand in some innocent people's gari and make it difficult for Nigerians back home to acquire visas to travel abroad o!!

Dis is d dis-advantage of journalism, shocked wen I heard, if sum I had tld me he wz gonna die dis week, I wz goin 2 deny it, I got 2 knw im durin d protest.*so sad*

Idoma, my fatherland weeps for you, Enenche!
Another of the few promising young Idoma boys of our generation gone again.
You died a brave man as only a few would have been able to show this kind of dedication to his/her job.
Rest on my brother. Owoicho(God) knows best.

@anonymous 12.50 am, your statement is kind of callous!

C'bone said...

Rachie pls contact me on twitter @iheduruc or on my BlackBerry 312ad095, we need to discuss something.

Bashir Ahmad said...

May his soul rest in peace.

Accept my condolences. Sad loss it is.
Ndo...

Solomon said...

I do hope channels bought him a life insurance cover of good sum assured. May his soul rest in peace.

Rachie said...

@C'bone iheduru am sorry am not on twitter neither ve a BB.U can contact me on FB rachietaiwo@yahoo.com

RIPP

circuitatlantic said...

This is just so sad, imagine the pain his family would go through. May God grant them the fortitude to bear the loss

mmamma said...

This is really sad, may his soul rest in peace i do hope he knew God in his lifetime. as an aspiring journalists, i sometimes wonder if its all worth it but u've gotta do wat u gotta do.

Kehney said...

Oh Lord....
Plz hav Mercy on Our Land....
(Father,,,, Cuz U will not Share Your Glory wit anybdy..... Plz Xpose all doz causin Confusion in our Land, Nigeria....Prayin)
Amen!
May His Soul Rest In Perfect Peace..... Amen!

R.I.P Enenche said...

I pray God will kill the members of this stupid boko haram, including their family members one by one.
I pray, the leader of this islamic sect will fall dead.
I pray, they will blow themselves up with their own bomb explosion.
The sadness/pain/tears they brought to my family and many others out there, they will never see peace in their life.
If they don't repent, they will all burn in hell, IN THE NAME OF JESUS, AMEN.

sleekreek said...

Its a pity......may his soul find rest!!!