Labour, FG Meeting Ends Without A Deal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 January 2012

Labour, FG Meeting Ends Without A Deal

NLC president, Gov Amaechi and others

Labour and the TUC again met with FG yesterday Saturday January 14th and failed to reach compromise to end nationwide strike over ga prices. The strike continues tomorrow.

What a stubborn government. I'm so ashamed.

28 comments:

What r d smiles for

bloglord said...

yeaa dats to show u d kinda govt we have. ohhh wat a loving president who loves his masses. so much for govt of d people, for d people n by d people.
this is to say our kids will still stay home as schools cant resume, meanwhile 2 senators kids where spotted at MMIA returning to sch in america. Patience on d oda hand has jetted to uk for medical checkup.
how du expect my dear president to be reasonable in negotiations???

The Government are not only stubborn but also stupid. Fuck all of them joor. Mstchewww!

God ur d only one dat can come to our rescue oooo.dis stupid Jonathan may God punish u and ur generation,it shall Neva b well wit u ooo.

See the silly smile on their faces ! I hope these NLC peeps haven't collected/won't money from these govt people coz i know GEJ no dey slack when it comes to bribing matter!

Fearless! said...

What is funny???!!!

The evil that men do now live with them,they should keep jetting abroad, God will judge.

Insensitive leaders oshi!!!

Blessing A. said...

Na wa oh! Is it by force? Jonathan's attitude is dat of a weak person trying to show strength. Can somebody pls tell him conceding to the masses shows strenght? Really pathetic.

bloglord said...

d truth is even Jonathan,Madueke, Okonjo n the rest of the gang has no interest n do not believe in nigeria. they r just there to steal their own share as our past govt did.
If these people believe in nigeria, why is patience flying to u.k for medical checkup? why didnt she use general hospital maitama? why is diezani buying a house for 1.4billion naira in far away vienna where they refer to her country nigeria as "hungerland" and of which her neighbour who owns another massive property besides hers is former OPEC chairman lawani...
u see, these people r just makin policies that can earn them more funds to loot.
ohhh! they forget that all of these are earthly riches. just a thin line btwn life n death.
i pray for their souls.

bloglord said...

Mr President!!! We Know
1) We know that Deziani Allison Madueke Minister for Petroleum is your mistress.
2) We know that her sister is the mother of your two children (and not Patience)
3) We know what you do in your private meetings
4) We know how Patience slapped her at an event in Aso Rock, for sleeping with you.
5) We know how she charged on petroleum products to finance your campaign.
6) We know that she gave Chris Aire and co allocation to lift Nigerian crude
7) The most annoying thing that we know Mr President is that you don't think that we Know that diezani has washed her yansh n given u d water to drink reasons why u are heady not to lift this burden off nigerians n better the nation.

Na labaran maku own dey vex me pass,I feel like shaving off dat his useless moustache he leaves hanging above his lips so dat he will shut d f**k up!!! Idiot of man. He has forgotten everything so soon cos he's now a minister.

concerned guy said...

foolish set of people

God is our only help.

When U̶̲̥̅̊ cal something or someone stupid how do U̶̲̥̅̊ expect him to act? Wisely? And isn't that the NLC president? Isn't he also smiling? Only Govt Govt Govt, plz check ur words and stop been insulting. Use the right words.

Se ur mouth ur rendering curses on ur President, if he is stupid ur also stupid because one who isn't stupid won't vote in a stupid person. Use the right terms, and he is only doing what he thinks its right as the president, we Nigerians only like today today forgetting the future, oya now runn ur mouth let se if it will change anything.because its not Abacha, will NLC or anyone have mouth to talk. Mstchewww abegi

Like seriously? What a shame! Jonathan's Govt shame! Shame! shame!!!

Nigerians will soon be tired of this strike,we are party and fun people. we are NOT like the Arabs, me 'fink' the ONLY people in Nigeria that can successfully stick to the strike are the Hausas, the west wants to parry, the east wants to make money..Let's facing it we can't HOLD it for long, showbiz people are moaning, biz folks are moaning,..we are just a bunch of LOUD Lazy people..we can NOT do it like the Arabs PERIOD!!!

UK.

shuga! said...

Srzly y r dey smiling? Mscheeeewwwwwwww!

I sympathize with all Nigerians concerning oil deregulation. I am convinced this is a divine call for Nigerians to be committed to Nigerian state. What do I mean by this? Let me give an analogy here—let’s say we have three brothers that inherited a property from their father. The three of them got married and had many children-having many generations. Imagine a situation where these families: none contributed anything to maintain the property. They are only collecting proceeds from that property, whether buildings or business; it will fail. If I invested my money in a business, I will work hard to protect that business and prayers concerning that business will also work. How many Nigerians pay their taxes? They only seek for what the country will do for them. Everybody is in a kind of a queue waiting for their turn to loot the country. Most large, small and personal businesses desire to do business with government establishments, because of huge sums of money that could accrue from such contracts. Many of us are involved in this fraud against Nigerian state. How many have been given appointment by the government and they stopped criticizing government of that time; right from the military era it started-late Tai Solarin of community bank, Wole Soyinka of federal road safety corps, Levi Ajuonuma currently the PRO of NNPC, what of Reuben Abati the media adviser to the president. Politicians are not left out of this, especially those ones that did not win elections- pastor bakare is a typical example.
If we had something at stake we will protect our investment in Nigerian state. That we are oil producing nation does not mean everybody should go to sleep and wait for the government. When we pay our taxes in form of this deregulation of oil sector; we now have a say in the governance of the country. We now have right to question maladministration of any level of government. Public amenities must be provided--electricity, good roads, hospitals and water. That the Governor of Lagos state is doing well is because of his commitment in educating the Lagosians on the need to pay various levies and taxes. Many developed countries operate a system where the citizens contribute to the welfare of their countries both intellectually and financially (in form of tax). Government is being put on their toes to deliver; if not they should wait for the wrath of the people. My advice to all aggrieved Nigerians concerning hike in fuel price is to exercise patient. Let us give the government at least one to two years to find out what the fund that accrued from the deregulation would be used for. If our expectation from the government is contrary, then we could hold the government at their jugular. May be by then Nigerian people would be more responsive to forcing government to account for any misappropriation of public fund and in turn being more responsible.

I sympathize with all Nigerians concerning oil deregulation. I am convinced this is a divine call for Nigerians to be committed to Nigerian state. What do I mean by this? Let me give an analogy here—let’s say we have three brothers that inherited a property from their father. The three of them got married and had many children-having many generations. Imagine a situation where these families: none contributed anything to maintain the property. They are only collecting proceeds from that property, whether buildings or business; it will fail. If I invested my money in a business, I will work hard to protect that business and prayers concerning that business will also work. How many Nigerians pay their taxes? They only seek for what the country will do for them. Everybody is in a kind of a queue waiting for their turn to loot the country. Most large, small and personal businesses desire to do business with government establishments, because of huge sums of money that could accrue from such contracts. Many of us are involved in this fraud against Nigerian state. How many have been given appointment by the government and they stopped criticizing government of that time; right from the military era it started-late Tai Solarin of community bank, Wole Soyinka of federal road safety corps, Levi Ajuonuma currently the PRO of NNPC, what of Reuben Abati the media adviser to the president. Politicians are not left out of this, especially those ones that did not win elections- pastor bakare is a typical example.
If we had something at stake we will protect our investment in Nigerian state. That we are oil producing nation does not mean everybody should go to sleep and wait for the government. When we pay our taxes in form of this deregulation of oil sector; we now have a say in the governance of the country. We now have right to question maladministration of any level of government. Public amenities must be provided--electricity, good roads, hospitals and water. That the Governor of Lagos state is doing well is because of his commitment in educating the Lagosians on the need to pay various levies and taxes. Many developed countries operate a system where the citizens contribute to the welfare of their countries both intellectually and financially (in form of tax). Government is being put on their toes to deliver; if not they should wait for the wrath of the people. My advice to all aggrieved Nigerians concerning hike in fuel price is to exercise patient. Let us give the government at least one to two years to find out what the fund that accrued from the deregulation would be used for. If our expectation from the government is contrary, then we could hold the government at their jugular. May be by then Nigerian people would be more responsive to forcing government to account for any misappropriation of public fund and in turn being more responsible.

Angus said...

Occupy nigeria is just the begining very soon the wind of change will blow to our state and local government it is high time our leaders account for the resources enthrusted to them .

Angus said...

What a government,what a country whoes leaders have no focus.

Timothy Idowu said...

Since Jonathan wish to be stubborn as Pharoah, I'm afraid he may end up in the red sea like Pharaoh

lepa toh behd said...

chei!!!Nigeria is in trouble"hands on head"

Abegi, we no want subsidy jare. They should tush up the country like yankee jooor. We know we have the money.

lynnpope$ said...

anon 3.06pm you too sabi. U've said it all.

No Jonathan is not stubborn he offered to install subsidy at N100 Labour said no it must be N65. If he was really stubborn he would've insisted on no fuel subsidy, but he gave ground. It's called compromise.

stacy said...

Jonathan is d man, for d first time in Nigerian history, the rich also cry, dis is d time to re-occupy our oil from d hands of d cabals, d cabals if una like go ahead and sponsor d NLC and Boko haram to continue with d strike and d bombing, all i know is dat ur time is up and NLC make sure u guys bring out ur children to protest on d streets frm tomorrow.....

Its really high time u guys know that nlc/tuc are not fighting for the masses they are fighting for their pockets.
They said d r carrying the mandate of the people, y didn't they fight back wen minimuim wages were not implemented WHY???
There is more to it behind closed doors. My anger is that it is we d masses that are the "grass" where the elephants fight. Nlc said " the meeting wasn't a deadlock but a compromise wasn't reached" what does that mean?
They use the masses for their selfish agenda. We have to also understand that there are strong forces greater than this Government which only prayers can breakdown.may God intervene in all this.