Nigerian Students in Ghana Pay N155 Billion as Tuition Annually | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 31 October 2011

Nigerian Students in Ghana Pay N155 Billion as Tuition Annually

According to the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Malam Lamido Sanusi, 71,000 Nigerian students in Ghana currently pay an annual tuition of N155Billion to Ghana. Meanwhile the whole government budget for all Federal universities in Nigeria annually is a N121Billion.

The CBN Governor was drawing attention to the on-going serious capital flight from Nigeria.

Doesn't this call for a sober reflection? They only mentioned Ghana, what about the thousands of students in Malaysia (I hear there are so many of them there) in Europe, in India, in the US etc, paying trillions of Naira to get quality education. Meanwhile, you will hardly find foreign students in Nigeria. Obviously there's need to reform the education system in Nigeria. So instead of complaining about money leaving Nigeria, they should do something about improving the quality of education in this country, so parents will stop sending their kids abroad.

33 comments:

He didn't mention that there are ONLY 3 federal unis here in ghana (asides their polytechnics) generating these funds. They have foreign students from other countries in africa, the us and asia. Their educational system is really good and they can make fees affordable to their own citizens

lucabracee said...

don't mind the useless nigerian government rather than making it easy to register and run private universities they have made it even harder.

my dad is an educationist of over 40 years and he has applied for a university license first they told him to provide 300 acres of land apart from the usual requirements he did this in a nice location next they told him to start developing the land before they could issue him a license now who in his right senses will develop 300 acres of land without any guarantee of getting a license??

he has even given them the option of a temporary operating license and provided about 3 acres of land with buildings as a temporary site in a central part of (lagos mainland ikeja area) yet they are still not having it.

this is why there are several illegal universities springing up i just wish the government and most important universities commission will remove their heads from the sand and start running the commission like they should

I know of UK and Malaysia. Many Nigerians, especially muslims from mostly Northern Nigerian study in Malaysia. The poor quality education, power cuts, lack of quality books, constant strikes by Nigerian teachers and lectures, activities of cults and the worthlessness of a Nigerian University education in UK, Europe and America, etc ...... that's part of the reason why parents who can afford it send their children out of Nigeria - to get BETTER education. Malam Lamido Sanusi that's moaning about capital flights, his children didn't study in Nigeria. Capital flight is not the cause of the diabolical state of education in Nigeria. Make the economy, country and education better and maybe you can reduce capital flights.

The CBN Governor was drawing attention to the on-going serious capital flight from Nigeria.....VERY FUNNY!

Can you compare this to the statistics of Nigerian students in the UK, USA, Canada, etc? and at what tuition?

Mr. CBN governor, which schools do your children presently go to, where in the map of the world is the school and please pray tell, how much is the tuition?

These people should F***KING stop patronising us here, its becoming rude and irritating....

On that note...Make i hear word jor!

When i swear for Badluck head una go dey fidget. See no good education but if na to pass law on gays and to put licence for toto dem go be number one. Nigeria.......redemption far sha.

*ajalahtravel*

THIS INFORMATION cannot be true...N155 billion?...

how much does 1 student in UG pays per year?

someone is misquoting or someone just don't have their facts right hence this huge, huge misinformation.

linda, you too should not hide under the guise that your so 'yourself' and re-publish stuff...do some thinking too

damn shame. Nigeria should truly learn how things are done.

Hausa people who can afford it send their children to school in Turkey, Malaysia, Libya, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, UK and USA.

Sexless Mosquito Created said...

All the money that goes to Ghana is not going for tuition. It is a form of forex remittance at official rates, trust me...

Ghana does not have enough students PERIOD to warrant that kind of $...

And GEJ is thinking of building more federal universities when the ones on ground are not upto scratch...who exactly is advising GEJ and our president is supposed to have Phd....please Mr President lets fix what we have and if you are thinking of building more of something,build more refineries!!!

The best teachers in Africa always came from Ghana. Matter of fact the best are even out of the country teaching in institutions in places like South Africa and what.

I know for a fact majority of GAMBIA's leaders were mostly educated in Ghana (eg Achimota School).

You never learn mathematics until a ghanaian math teacher teaches you.

The teachers were a lil strict back in the day but either way you got the job done and learnt a hecka of a lot.

what a disappointment we really need to be cained bloody bastards!!!

chidinma said...

more will continue to school abroad if nothing is done to Naija's education system. This figure is just current. The ones from the past nko? That's why Ghana is doing well economically. They should stay there and be giving statistics

Diva said...

what would he say about Nigerian students in USA and UK? that one go reach trillions na. cos as a foreign student i know what i pay per annum here in the US, then imagine, x over 100,000 foreign students. but can you blame us for seeking better education abroad? Nigerian educational systems are shitty. imagine a graduate that claims to have a degree in some specialty and yet he/she can not even defend the course that they claimed to have read. even Ghanaian universities are way better than Nigerian schools. i almost went to Legon in Ghana to school. There was no way my parents were gonna let me school in Nigeria not just for the fact that education is poor there but because of how unsafe and corrupt the system is. i'm pretty much such i would have had cultists and lecturers on my neck asking me to sleep with them. not to say that i am the all dat, but hey! its just the inevitable truth

Diva said...

my kids sef will not attend Nigeria Universities. i have seen better by schooling abroad, my kids have to see better than i have

Latest News On Your Fav Musicians said...

Why would Govt approve a University license for someone with 3 acres of land if the requirement is 300?

Then again, why should govt be in the licensing of universities business anyway?

Shouldn't their work be limited to accreditation?

how will they not leave Nigeria, when a girl gets raped by 5 boys and nothing happens. Abeg

Mchewwwww! Seriously they should quench the fire in their homes before pointing fingers. I love Nigeria but the educational system is in shambles. It needs a total overhaul and educators need to be retrained in psychology and educational leadership. Sounds crazy?

Why would any student want to go to a school where your grades are publicized in front of the whole class, you get beaten for it, and you're not provided multiple sources/formats of course delivery to accommodate your learning style?

Why would any student want to go to a school where his learning disability is not discovered, reasonable accommodations not provided, but he is subjected to name-calling all the time?

Why would any student want to go to a school where course objectives totally differ from course outcomes, where no chance exists to transfer skills from training to practice?

The only reason ANY student would attend such a lacking school is because he/she is left with no choice. Ministers or whoever you guys are, we are left with no choice but to put up with mediocrity. Period

Look who is talkin??? Aren't your children in schools abroad?

So sad! What about the US... At the college I attended, it was $30,000 for international students per annum and there were at least 100 international students straight from Naija in that school. That's $3,000,000 per year in 1 school. Talk about the thousands of Nigerians in schools all over US, Canada, UK. Please, Fix Education and Health care system!!! If only the Government was smart enough to pay teachers and doctors well... most of the money made in Nigeria will stay in Nigeria instead of other countries.

Most countrues have exchange programmes and some deals with other countries regarding fees, this is what the external affaira minister, Nigerian ambassadors in other countries and diplomats and or course our Presido should be lobbying for.

Do they even understand their jobs sef?

A woman gives birth, just becasue she is international, she pays 100000000% tax and same goes for school fees. Time to beuatify ourselves and tighten our borders!!!!!!!! or lobby for fairere delas for naija citizens. But when??? Each to his own!

yes oo they should jump in the lagoon im in my final year in a UK university and loving it. my 3 siblings went to uni in canada, one just left to meddical school in america. initially my parents were going to send us to a private uni in naija but with all the cultism and all what not in the nigerian educational system they decided otherwise. its not quite easy on my parents but they would rather starve to send us to uni abroad than let us suffer in naija uni

Adams said...

71,000 students paid
# 2,183,098.59 per year
almost $13,644.37 at rate of #160
to Ghana Government
I have family in USA, Finland, UK and few other countries

What about health?
What about Tourism? Kenya made 10% from this

Ocuppy Nigeria pls pls pls!!!!!

i jst smh wen ppl say "common ghana"...little do dey knw d@ development in "common ghana" is slow but surely! i recently read d@ ghana will b d worlds fastest growing economy dis yr accordn 2 IMF!!! shame on Nigeria the giant of africa my ass!!! btw i'm a proud graduate of D University of Ghana! schooling n living dere was d best 4yrs of my life!

CryforChange. said...

This amount can ensure that all our naija univ will function properly. Let us know the children of those in Ghana univ. They will be children of politicians - govs.,NASS members, top civil servants,business men. govt.contractors etc(all accomplices to stealing our wealth).They are those that will complain about our falling educational standard;they are those that will want post-UMTE exams to be stopped, so children from disadvantage homes will acquire low rate education and remain subservient to their children while their children get top jobs and remain masters after them. Yeye people.

ibo boy said...

Nigeria outsources everything, from our education, to health, to refining crude,etc.

someone should put me in power na. make I perform for this country.

Segisonline said...

@ October 31, 2011 12:32 PM ... the information is VERY TRUE and correct! IN University of Ghana, students pay almost $6,000 a year for B.A AND BSC/BSC ADMIN and Medical Students pay about $10,000 (that's if it hasn't been increased) include feeding and transport and others. Now you see?

Simon ID said...

Even in eastern european countries like russia and ukraine, where african students could get racially attacked, still every year there are students flooding their embassies to go study over there.
#change4naija

calling rates to Ghana said...

Enjoyed reading post on your blog.!

PROJECT MADE EASY
ARE YOU A FINAL YEAR STUDENT AND YOU NEED NEW AND CURRENT PROJECT TOPICS WITH READY MADE MATERIAL?
CALL US-08035318892 OR 08187748804
OR
TEXT US IN THIS FORMAT
... ... YOUR MAIL+DEPARTMENT+LEVEL (i.e. ND, HND, B.SC, MASTERS) OR MAIL US ON getricheoa@gmail.com

N.B: PLEASE DON’T SUBMIT YOUR PROJECT TOPIC TO YOUR SUPERVISOR WITHOUT SEEING THIS SITE.(TELL YOUR FRIENDS ABOUT THIS ! YOU CAN GRADUATE WITH EASE...CHECK IT OUT)See More
http://WWW.FINALYEARPROJECTMADEEASY.BLOGSPOT.COM/
WWW.FINALYEARPROJECTMADEEASY.BLOGSPOT.COM

Uba Babs said...

The educational system in Ghana is a very nice one and they tend to make things easier for the students in their university there,and they always graduate competent and qualify graduates from their university.

Appreciating to those, who are studying in Ghana and abroad. To get latest news and family entertainment... go here.