Police Arrest and Parade 14 Teenage Prostitutes in Akute | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 September 2011

Police Arrest and Parade 14 Teenage Prostitutes in Akute

The sex workers and their pimp on parade
The Ogun State Police Command have arrested 14 teenagers, who were allegedly forced into prostitution.

The girls, who were arrested during a raid on a brothel, Temiogbe, in Akute area of the state, are between the ages of 13 and 20.

Spokesperson for the command, Mr. Muyiwa Adejobi, an assistant superintendent of police, said that the brothel not only harboured commercial sex workers but also served as a hideout for hoodlums in the area.

He said, "Based on recent directives to the force given by the Commissioner of Police, Mr. Nicholas Nkemdeme, to embark on constant raid of black spots, the policemen attached to Ajuwon Division, led by the Divisional Police Officer, Mr. Isukkekhe Oisamaye, carried out a raid on the brothel.

"Fourteeen teenage girls between the ages of 13 and 20 being forced into prostitution were arrested there. Upon enquiries, this brothel has been harbouring hoodlums, who terrorize the area.

"The ladies will soon be handed over to the National Agency for the Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons for necessary action."

Adejobi said criminals who did not change their ways would face the full wrath of the law, adding that parents and guardians should monitor their children and wards closely so as to prevent them from taking to crime.

Source: Punch

21 comments:

so Boko Haram is killing innocent souls yet our police is 'raiding' prostitutes??? i dont understand, why not channel this energy to raiding Boko Haram

Nigeria Newspapers said...

An act of inhumanizm and very Barbaric. All associated offenders should face the wroth of the Law. They should be made to know that we are no longer in the Neanderthal Age where humans have no respect for another human's life. I am so Angry!

ADMIN said...

This is wrong...putting the girls on parade like this is just plain wrong. unfortunately the child rights' act in Nigeria exists only on paper...no enforcement whatsoever...the guys who live off their earnings are the criminals not the innocent girls..society and law enforcement must ALWAYS stand in favor of and protect children, regardless..

Ejyk said...

n leT The hand ova b asap!....make una no go rape The gurlz for Their cell room....phucked uP NPF[Naija Police Force] mstchewww

Kabuoy said...

You know, its a very unfortunate situation. these girl have been one way or the other forced into prostitution. Like Duchess said, Child right acts only exist on paper. no implementation watsoever... its a really pathetic case... and it would surprise you to know that some of the supposed police men wud be "raiding" these girls too.... so what are we talking about. Please i just want to appeal to readers of this blog, whichever NGOs u know that is into taking care of abused women and children, please inform them of this incident...

May God just help all those in Government in charge of cases like this an are jes embezzling funds meant to take care of these children! Their end would be a very sorry one and i just pray their children will not be partakers of the punishment because its very likely they get punished too.

You shouldn't show the picture on your blog, Linda. Those girls are under-age...

sleekreek said...

@Annon Sept 13,9:54am.......exactly my thoughts oooo......

How are u sure that these girls are prostitutes? Yeye police

Emmy P just popped a Tram said...

Since they were forced into prostitution, why parade them like criminals? @anon 11.38am, the police held a press conference, parading them to the public, so what are u talking about? Some people go just dey comment without reasoning sha.Since they were forced into prostitution, why parade them like criminals? @anon 11.38am, the police held a press conference, parading them to the public, so what are u talking about? Some people go just dey comment without reasoning sha.

1976AD.com said...

So the police feels it is necessary to parade underage prostitutes as a means to accomplishing what end?

mariamah said...

The Nigerian police, are a bunch of useless animals, they say the girls were forced into prostitution, and they are being paraded like criminals, instead of being protected. Their identity should be protected not displayed. What is the probability that these girls are not being raped by their captors(police).

Arise idiots! Arise and fight for ur rights lest all the trampled upon young all turn to armed robbers,kidnappers,prostitutes,terrorists,house helps,illegal immigrants etc. For how long do we all have to wait for crumbs from our corrupt leaders tables.
Siddon look na dog name ooooo.

Kabuoy said...

@1976ad... u took that straight out of my mind... exactly wat i thot!

Come on peeps! Is Linda the law or was she the one that took that initial photo?? Linda is doing her job by report the news.

Why were the VICTIMS paraded in the first place?

Eweeeeeeee linda! U see oyibo amongst them sef.

If the girls were forced into this why are they parading them? Some of them are minors of dare these uneducated fools do this to them?

Kemi said...

Things like this just make me sooooooo angry!!!!!!!!!!!! They were FORCED into prostitution and are now being paraded like criminals??? Those girls should have their names and identity witheld to protect them but NO!! the idiot police force has to add more degradation to their shame and scar them some more. Awon oponu!

shouldnt they be finding out why children so young are prostitutes and helping?

mscheeeeew

It is very unfortunate that our police force who are surposed to protect live and properties of the common man has turned to openly parrading these innocent and vulnerable young girls. The police has even condemned them befor a court sitting, what a terrible society. Linda, you should remove this foto as these young women are women like you. You that is oppurtuned should better be a voice for such less prevelaged. the Nigerian police is just taking advantage of these ladies perhaps the ones in the fotos are the ones that could not afford their bribes. I am in no way justifying prostitution but they should be treated with dignity because they are citizens like me and you. From Spain

odiaselawyers said...

Without Aggressive law enforcement against the purported victim/valians(teenage prostitutes), the real manipulative kingpins will remain elusive