Worst conversation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 May 2007

Worst conversation

This is the worst conversation I have ever had in my life.

Time: 2:17 pm
Date: Thursday 11th January 2007
My phone rings...I pick it up

Linda 'Hello?'
Caller "Linda how are you? It's Mrs Adewunmi"
Linda "Hey Mrs Adewunmi, nice to hear from you, how are you?"
Caller "I'm fine. Have you heard about Kayode?"
Linda "Kayode? I spoke to him on Sunday. Why? What is it?"
Caller pauses for a few seconds, then says "Kayode passed on yesterday"
I stop breathing for a few seconds. Then I ask "What happened?"
Caller "He had an Asthma attack and didn't survive it"

The phone dropped from my hands as my whole body shook uncontrollably. I cried like I'd never cried before.

Kayode Fayemi was a journalist. Married with 5 little girls. His first daughter was just 8 years old, his last daughter just 7 weeks old.

Kayode was my publicist, confidant and best friend. Someone I knew for seven years, someone I spoke to on Sunday January 7th, someone I'd been planning to see on Saturday January 13th but he died Wednesday January 10th.

He was asthmatic, had an attack in the office, tried to use his inhaler but it didn't work. No one around him could administer CPR. He died on his way to the hospital after not being able to breath for several minutes. His wife later found out that he went to the office with the wrong inhaler...

So what's your worst conversation? Do share it with us!

14 comments:

Seems as though two Kayodes died on that day. My friend died in Abuja and the story I heard is quite similar to what i am reading here. I don't want to remember. I will only say May their souls rest in perfect peace.

Nov 3 1997.
me " hello? "
him "yes what can i do for you?"
me " am pregnant"
him " for who?"

The child was born 61/2 months later.

my father calls me in the usa April 3rd 2007 to tell me my mother had died.she was not sick, she just died in her sleep at the age of 56.The conversation with my dad was the worst of my life

ExcitedJade said...

my brother called me from naija on the 2nd of Jan, 2007 that my aunt who travelled home for xmas had died.. the worst and i still cant get over it.

SET said...

I AM SO SORRY LINDA,

Asking one to post one's own worst converstion made me for a second to think your post was fiction.

Please Linda tell me it's not real because that post sounds so pathetic.

And guys sorry, but I hope you are all not real about these stories. Sad .

heyma

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon. kayode was a famous journalist.Ask anyone who knew him in Lagos how he died.It was a very sad, unfortunate event.

Meadows j. said...

Did this Kayode write for Hints and hearts. MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE.

Linda Ikeji said...

@meados.yes its the same Kayode.He's gone!sad the way he died right?May his soul rest in peace

LurLar said...

Him: Hello Lurlar
LurLar: Wats wrong u sound like u panic.
Him: LurLar did u know Patrick died at 6:30 today.
( i was so shocked,jaws dropped, tears filled my eyes i felt cold, nd alone in d world)
LurLar: (shaky voice) what happened? How did he die?
Him: He collapsed in a basketball game, despite all the cpr, nd ambulatory services, he died on his way to d hospital)
LurLar: I said to myself: I saw patrick yesterday, patrick gave me the warmest hug yesterday, patrick helped serve food to everyone in church yesterday,patrick smiled,and was lively all thru yesterday, nd today monday dec 6th 2004. He's gone? He just celebrated his birthday 2 weeks ago.
RIP Patrick!!! Ur smile nd warmth hugs brings sunshine to me everytime i remember u.

This is so sad, I'm so sorry Linda. May God grant his family the fortitude to bear the loss. Is it the Kayode Ajala who left hints to help start up Hearts? If it is, then we've truly lost a gem.

Linda Ikeji said...

@Tayo.Its not Kayode Ajala.He's very much alive. This one is Kayode Fayemi aka Chicago.

Two weeks ago
You wanna get killed?
No!
Then gi mi all u gat!
I was jacked

chidi said...

thats so sad..may his soul rest in perfect peace