2018 WC qualifier: Victor Moses & Mikel Obi turn Uyo ecstatic as Nigeria defeat Algeria 3-1 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 12 November 2016

2018 WC qualifier: Victor Moses & Mikel Obi turn Uyo ecstatic as Nigeria defeat Algeria 3-1

It was a big win for Nigeria on Saturday evening as they beat Algeria 3-1 in Uyo, making it their second win of Russia 2018 World Cup Qualifying officially making Nigeria become the first team to defeat Les Verts of Algeria by two goals since Ivory Coast at AFCON 2015.

A goal from captain John Mikel Obi and two from fellow Chelsea teammate Victor Moses sealed the win for Gernot Rohr's men despite a fightback from Algeria in the second half.
Victor Moses put the Super Eagles in front after 26 minutes with a low shot from inside the area after Hicham Belkaroui failed to defend well and then in the 42nd minute, Mikel Obi received a well timed straight pass while in the 18 yard box and then slotted into the net after looking up at the linesman to see if he would be flagged offside.

Algeria with top players like Mahrez of Leicester City already in their ranks, then attacked ferociously in the second half as Bentaleb canvassed a brilliant shot into the top corner in the 52nd minute.

With two minutes to go before the end of the match, Victor Moses sent the fans at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo into ecstacy, as he scored his second of the night in stoppage time after beating the keeper at the near post with a good placed shot.
Nigeria are now top of their World Cup qualifying group after Cameroon were held to a 1-1 draw at home to Zambia, making it six points from two matches for Gernot Rohr's men.

Congrats to them! More photos below.

23 comments:

Am proud of u guys

Congratulations to dem

So proud of our boys👍🏼

Good news. Linda please we need an app LIS.

Plz add me on LIS@ Nnenne George. Thank u in advance

CONGRAT TO u guys and NIGER DELTA and goodluck Jonathan. The new coach is trying like late keshi.If they play this in lagos or hausa state nigeria they would have loose but is because they play it in Niger delta.TERRORIST BUHARI PLEASE IN THE NAME OF GODS DON'T CONGRATULATE THEM OO AVOID BAD LUCK OO

Nikoro Emmanuel said...

Commenting From Nueltech.com

Anne K said...

Yeah! Victor Moses, the man of the match. But Iheanacho performance today is not impressive at all. Kudos to super eagle.

CONGRAT TO u guys,NIGER DELTA,Godswill akpabio and goodluck Jonathan. The new coach is trying like late keshi.If they play this in lagos or hausa state nigeria they would have loose but is because they play it in Niger delta.TERRORIST BUHARI PLEASE IN THE NAME OF GODS DON'T CONGRATULATE THEM OO AVOID BAD LUCK OO

Bravo guys! 👏

Good they played very well

Yaaaaaaay! We did it! Linda take note!

MMM,,,,moses Mikel moses.

Wow!!!dat's awesome

ASHANKA said...

LOL SEE HOW YOU DEY SNAP FROM YOUR TV... GUYS CLICK MY PROFILE AND FOLLOW ME ON LIS JARE

Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks
Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks Hello guys! please Follow me up. i follow back..tnks

U guys did well

What are you talking about? Do you even know football? How many games did Keshi play where we actually scored. We were lucky when we won that Nation's cup and every catch needs luck. Keshi had luck but was tactically deficient. It showed after during the world cup. We struggled against every team including small Iran. Keshi and Rohr are not mates. Rohr outclassed the best team in Africa tonight. I don't know what you are talking about. -Newyorker

Tpy said...

You are just an idiotic child

So proud of u guys

You took the words out of my fingers, iheanacho was a waste of space yesterday.. He was playing big boys game, where u will lose a pass or a ball but can't fight for it.. He keep making short and wrong passes without fighting back to regain the ball... In-between the new Chelsea coach brought out the best in Victor moses, it was a delight watching him yesterday.. Alex ewobi pulling off okochas stunts, impressive... And mikel Obi was such a magnate at mid-field yesterday..... Good game in all

......... Liber maniac..........

Any serious lady who need my hot services in the other room should contact or whatsapp me up 08183165717,i am so hot,strong and sweet you have ever be dreaming of.

sholetoga said...

You go boys.....show them how its done. Thank God;they should remember to pack their pillow and bedsheets.....

gd 4 dem