Young man arrested & in police custody for 3 days for wandering | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 2 November 2015

Young man arrested & in police custody for 3 days for wandering

According to close friends of Lekan Abanikonda, he was arrested and has been in police custody for 3 days. They claim his offence is wandering. When did they start arresting people for wandering in Lagos?

His employer said he was actually on his way back from Shomolu where he'd gone to print paper bags when he was stopped by police officers. He supposedly showed them his I.D card but was still taken to Alakara police station on Agege motor road where he was locked up. All efforts to have him released has so far proved abortive.

The community CDA chairman  and executives have gone to the station to bail him and identify him but have not succeeded. He hasn't been charged with any offence and this is the 3rd day. He is said to be the sole benefactor of his family.

Is the police supposed to hold anyone for more than  24 hours without charging them? Biko, Lekan needs to be released asap or charged if he committed any offense...

42 comments:

Good!

SMURF said...

Really?

I thought they only arrest when you are not with an ID

Dave Mide said...

same unjustified arrest of citizen as usual. Its cos at the end, none of the ppl involved get punished

Lolzzzz

They will soon change the story and say he's a suspected cultist or armed robber. You don't know our police? Maybe those ppl went there without money, and police once they take you to that station, they expect money to come out. God help touch their heart to be good ppl

These policemen have all gone crazy. The IGP better call his boys to order.

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Thats very wrong...y shuld dey detain him

Glowyshoe blog

Dis is d highest level of unprofessionalism frm d police force and I hope d authority wil puta check to dis madness b4 it get out of hand.

They should sue them bcos dis can never happen in developed countries and....

It seems today we are studying the book of Revelation about these policeboys.They bore me big-time with their actions

Nigeria my sick country! Ndeewonu!

Arrested for wandering!!!!
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Arrested for wandering!!!!
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Police.. You guys needs to get busy. But I can see there's no work.. Plz just release him. Thanks

Nigeria Police fear lawyer, hire one and the lawyer will secure his bail within one hour.

lexi said...

Linda you might not know how far this action of yours has gone to bring succor to people like Lekan. Your voice "LINDAIKEJI. BLOGSPOT. COM" is so loud that so many people has being freed from bandage, cells, prisons as well as hope restored. This is not just a blog but a voice for the voiceless, you're indeed doing great service to humanity. God bless you

Nigerian police sefff,I dn't even knw what to describe dem with lolz I knw dis wil happen too "arresting innocent people"

@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Victor Emeka Isaac said...

Nigerian police needs to review human rights cos it seems they're feeling like they can do what ever pleases them

Also Check www.vabadon.com .

CERTIFIED GENTLEMAN said...

Nigerian Police Force needs to understand the law, he's not suppose to be arrested.

Police is our friend indeed.. God bless Nigeria

Nigerian Police should just be scrapped, let us just start afresh!

NPF don't know their work...

CERTIFIED GENTLEMAN said...

Mr Driver what's good in getting someone arrested without an offence?

The movement was suspects, but in a normal way he should be granted bail. Lagos is change place now.

head of state(linda's foe) said...

Some skuls call dem AK,oda skuls cal dem popo,buh i cal dem bumbling idiots.dese ppl r jus so insane.since wen did dey start arresting ppl for wandering.ds ppl r jus so freaking annoying.luk at all d ills happening in lagos,d rate of armed robbery especially az skyrocketed ova d last few weeks.instead of dem to fight d crimes n restore peace n tranquility which dey swore to deliver,dey r dere arresting ppl dat r jus walking jeje.stupid men in black

Police is getting worse day by day since the inception of this new IG. It was not as bad as this during Abubakar time.
Our oga IG, try to caution your boys, the way they unlawfully arrest innocent people is alarming.

You heard his version only. The story is one sided

You are right. Very right.

silent1111 said...

Don't be surprised if they have killed the boy

Nigeria police are the most useless people in this country. They will not see people rubbing in the traffic but som1 walking in the street.

Same in Sango Ota Ogun State. with or without ID, you will be arrested. now were have to sneak in and out of our homes.

I hope they don't implicate this poor guy further. Nigerian police. Smh

And since when has it been criminal to be a Nigerian, going about your legit hustles in Nigeria and not have an ID? Receive sense in Jesus' name

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

head of state(linda's foe) said...

In as much as d npf is performing below standard,i udnt agree to dat suggestion of urs,dat d npf shud b scrapped.who is goin to defend us wen dey r gone.at least deir presence puts in some element of fear in d minds of perpetrators of evil n az so far helped in preventing wat cud av been a huge crime party...tink abt it.

Naija police self ehhhh

Jade said...

The Police is NOT your friend!!!

Why not get a lawyer and sue the DPO and IPO and the IG of Police for denying him his universal fundamental human rights via unlawful detention? This is a case that can fetch him Nmillions of Naira and possibly bring criminal charges against the IPO and DPO.

Dirty Cops.

Every family should have a lawyer. Before you say jack my lawyer has written. I know my right like the back of my hand. God help all of us in Nigeria. His lawyer should start work immediately and free him from all this suffering.

My own brother was also arrested in Lagos for wandering. The court clerk told me on phone that a surety and the sum of #500000 is required for ball. Nigerian police and the Judiciary lmao.