Has Wizkid left his music label, EME? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 1 February 2013

Has Wizkid left his music label, EME?

There have been rumours for months now that Wizkid is planning to leave his music label E.M.E; a rumour he has vehemently denied in the past. But now he's talking about moving on and starting all over again...

Plus he has already re-updated his twitter profile by removing EME/Konvict music from it. See it after the cut...

161 comments:

VICKY DARL said...

You can move to heaven.....

Hmmm.......we just have to wait and see!

segunsd said...

Linda seems he's moving on to a new label. Read this article on 360nobs

Also check out this What WEIRD MC means on naijaPOSE

fungi said...

now loyalty is stupidity** LOL.. hey take a sit ok!
YCFOnline.com

Only God can judge us all.... hmmm

I pray it works out for the good of his career

RAPTOR said...

WHY?

Wizzy looks pregnant!are u preggy? Why is your face looking all swollen.Not suprised though hve been waiting to hear him and Banky are out from that dead group

Linda na watin dey person mouth 9 u dey find abi? Lol...

He is goin 2 meet Tinie tempah or Akon cos dat is wat is on his twitter bio...I feel sorry 4 banky w *listening 2 don't break ma heart*

Fantasyberry said...

some strong av happened...lol

Hmn, I hope not o but if it's true, it's gonna be be first major split of d year 2013 #sobbingalready#

If that will take move him to even greater height oh please move. But with no hating!!

I hope its a babe too, but Wizkid has never been a cry baby about emotional or gurlie stuff on twitter before, I hope my fears ain't true, fingers crossed here.

He better not cos he's gonna loose majority of his fans. I love d EME family. If wizkid leaves,his career is going down

Woomie said...

No wonder! i thought about him today funny enough and i havent even checked twitter.
This is because Banky has shifted focus to Skales.
It is sad that there's little or no loyalty in the music industry.
Hmm Linda pls get 2 the bottom of this story and tell us why he moved.

Be grateful to the hands that feed you. With this it's obvious You're still a boy, this aint being a man... Growup kid

who is he saying Fuck you to?
With the hand?

All these small boys sef.
If you wa cut loose, must everyone know?
And in such smoking gun style?.

I like him tho. He does really have talent.

bitchplis said...

It's a split waiting to happen...with wizzy's current star status,it'l b difficult for banky w to hold on to him much longer...I just hope he's makin d right move sha.

Tinz like dis are bound to happen,but lets not conclude yet.

Wizzy man!what is actually going on..confuse...kings

freeangel said...

Linda that is face is funny he looks like sum1 who hav recieved three blows. From a angry guy. Sorry bro u hav to move on. Life goes on. such is life.

Anything is possible mehn,I talked to my friend about this today...its so possible,I wish him all the best.

Olubeey said...

Correct......it's been long over due jor!!! With the peanut banky they pay......issssh!!!!!

ade said...

I knew it was gonna happen.....buh didnt know it was gonna be so soon.....i wish him best of luck....EME is gonna miss him.

Olubeey said...

Correct......it's been long over due jor!!! With the peanut banky they pay......issssh!!!!!

DUH IT'S BEEN OBVIOUS DEPUIS

"re-updated"???? Hhhmmmmmm, Linda.

Fuck boy, normal thing with Nigerian artistes!

Kimoralala1 said...

Nne I saw the tweet too o!

Obviously

Donttttttttttttttttttttt you got something good there. Stayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Too many people jumping ship these days.

Marzzzzz said...

I think I saw this coming tho. Still love the dude DIE!!!lol.

Puleeeesssss,hu cares if he leaves or stys...dats he's own cup of tea ****switchloe****

Abt time... I heard pays Banky W 75% of how much he earns from every performance and dts absolutely UNFAIR

Oga... Ú beta not let what happened in Mo'hits happen to u oooo. Ur wizkid 2Day bcos of EmE. They were part of ur popularity.
Wonder why Nigerian artists re always doing dis to demselves.
Mschew
t's the official gathering of Event vendors as an international events company (with over 365 weddings a year in record) embraces Nigerian!!!
vendors in the various categories (Make-up Artist. & stylist, Catering, DJ, Dress & Attire, Ushering, Event Rentals & photobooths, Favours & gifts, Flowers, Invitations & design, Photography, Lights & Decor,Unique Services,Videography, Cakes & Cocktails, ) are hereby invited for a Session of appraisal @ ZaaZ hotel(4 Allen Avenue ikeja) on Wed 6th 2013 (11am). Vendors will be classified to various categories and signed on a One year deal!
Interested vendors are adviced to come with there company profiles , evidence of previously done Jobs, 2 passportphotographs, A valid Government issued ID

He can go to hell for all I care

Oga... Ú beta not let what happened in Mo'hits happen to u oooo. Ur wizkid 2Day bcos of EmE. They were part of ur popularity.
Wonder why Nigerian artists re always doing dis to demselves.
Mschew
t's the official gathering of Event vendors as an international events company (with over 365 weddings a year in record) embraces Nigerian!!!
vendors in the various categories (Make-up Artist. & stylist, Catering, DJ, Dress & Attire, Ushering, Event Rentals & photobooths, Favours & gifts, Flowers, Invitations & design, Photography, Lights & Decor,Unique Services,Videography, Cakes & Cocktails, ) are hereby invited for a Session of appraisal @ ZaaZ hotel(4 Allen Avenue ikeja) on Wed 6th 2013 (11am). Vendors will be classified to various categories and signed on a One year deal!
Interested vendors are adviced to come with there company profiles , evidence of previously done Jobs, 2 passportphotographs, A valid Government issued ID

He can go to hell for all I care

Omo i knew this guy is planning something, he once said he wants to be like p square that means he wants to be a business man of his own. Anyway that is the way forward, Wizkid u don make connections, u don get fans, carry on NIGERIA GOT YOUR BACK BRO!

Thenextbuzz said...

wow great guy well i have just link this post to http://9aijahouse.blogspot.com/2013/02/maybe-wizkid-has-left-his-music-label.html

Kasala don burst!!!

SLEEK said...

If he leaves EME ki ni big deal! Is he the first to split?Oh you thought they were going to stay together forever? Music is a game,its strictly biz no friendship. Why are you guys always surprise when you hear an artiste detaching from his label or group? It's show biz baby!
If you don't know the big names you hear today were in groups or labels known world wide. It decided to moe on.
Diddy left to form Bad boys entertainment, jayZ left his group back then,R Kelly left public announcement,Dr Dre left deathrow (suge knight) to form aftermaths,snoop dog left No limit (master P),eminem left aftermaths( Dr Dre) to form slim shady,beyonce left destiny child,lil Wayne was in a group,Ice cube left NWA, etc.
Mohits split,plantashion boys split,remedys split,Kc presh split,then tribe men split,olu maintain,ruggedman left Little fish, tuface left kennis music, ikechukwu left Storms Records,9ice left codes tunes,azadu left devoclan,freestyle left Eastside records,kellyhansome left kennis music, the list goes on and on , so wizkid can decide to leave if he want ,perhaps he has a brighter plan for himself .

Good luck if truly you wanna leave EME.

I have noticed his bio on twitter doesnt av EME on it for a while now not that he just removed it like yesterday or last week..Its been a while.Also,Linda,did you notice that all other EME acts dont have EME on there bio as well even including Banky W himself.This might be deeper in-house thingy than we all think.Arms akimbo as we await press release from these people buh i trust Linda to get the authentic gist of what really happened and whats going on with them.

Nightcrawler said...

he is still young.....& maybe not thinking straight. He should rethink this b4 he moves......anyway, he has his reasons.

None of my business! NEXT!

mccoy said...

yeah right, it always begins with a rumour..too bad

Ewooo,lobatan!!the servant has grown bigger than the master.Change is inevitable sha,i think the mistake these label owners make is that they refuse to accept that their artistes have grown so they need to change the way they deal with them.

hmmmmm drama uprising.... *Grabs popcorn*

It implies so...all this coding should be decoded soon biko.

http://theglamfile.blogspot.com

Why should I worry abt him moving.. Abeg I nevr chop.

Concerned citizen

deborah said...

Its not a new tin

This prove Nigerian Musicians don't honour contracts,Banky W GET YOUR BEST LAWYERS AND THE DO THE RIGHT THING,OTHERS ON YOUR LABEL ARE WATCHING.
Bring Whizkid business to a stand still.
For the record i love Whizkid,but we need to move our Country integrity via our musicians to the next level .
Foreigner/Investors are scared to invest in our music Industry,because of bullsh** like this,Akon,Stevie Wonder,Lionel Richie,cHRIS bROWN,rIHANNA etc did not walk out on their label @ D HEIGHT OF SUCCESS,WHAT IS WRONG WITH OUR MUSICIANS - l'm part of this Industry

So I think it's his own time now to go and wash Tinnie Tempa's boxers in London, d same way he yabbed D-banj stupid boy.

If he likes he should go 2 hell who care mschewwww

Who cares? If they like let them broke down *hiss*

Oh dear! Pls I hope he knows what he is doing. He is still young and needs mentorship. Sometimes dear u gat to play the fool. I wish u cud stay on till ur 25. Pls reconsider. Its a wide world and u still av a lot to learn fromEME.

Hmmmm, nothing last forever!!!!
If it's true, don't stress it
Just move on
For your best is yet to come.

Who gives a fuck?

That explains the sudden ostentatious in his behaviour recently. I dare say, a lot of sweat was invested in him at the expense of other talent including Banky's career.
I remember my husband saying that Banky was sacrificing his life/career for Wizkid and would live to regret because people have very short memories.

Well good luck and I hope you well.

Please note all the ibu ewu people around you. Hopefully they are giving you good advice

wow!
Who knew?

Why now

Yaaay finally pls av a name of ur own,I tink its beta dis way enof of d eme shiit n ul stand out n shine lyk dbanj!! Lilliee

Eya.what a pity, dat the pitied can not be pitied.

>why must it always result to this,pray they settle whatever internal crises they've got brewing up there coz ds dude's an unequaled talent under dem EME management<

whatever ish brewing shud best be settled ASAP cuz ds dude's a maestro unequaled under EME. WORD!!!

chisco said...

dog wey no dey hear im hunter whistle...

wizkid calm down and handle this matter sensibly, at the very least hire good PR and restrain yourself from making inflammatory statements/rash moves on twitter

It was bound to happen tho

I still love you wizkkid no matter what!!!

Chideraa said...

hope not o! too early i suppose, they all need each other in one twisted way looking at it logically. please just check out and possibly follow,pretty good stuff here :) http://www.vanessajays.blogspot.co.uk/

He won't try it

Crying dnt leave dat grp wizzy

Dats dia Biz. na...... Niggaz makin money ova dere nd we dnt wanna b here wastin time nd talking abt dem.... Fuck it!!!!

I heard banky wore wizkid's cap and expanded it..na wetin cos trouble o

Queen Bee said...

Na WA o!
Its like d relationship btw producer and artist,is a whore to client relationship!
See lil wizky,banky brought out and washed',talking shit abt loyalty!!

all these celebs self... *sigh*

hmmm...dis one na I CAN'T SHOUT...Nigeria self no settle

I expected dis,people always bite d fingers that fed them..nothing new,NEXT!

Guy you don too tey there self...letting banky west feel like a boss dat he ain't....nice one if its true bro....¶ hate banky Ãπϑ dat hopeless skales dat can't rap....keep it up bro....

E clear

E clear

Dont dull, fuck banky w... forming Don jazzy..I know hater will talk, fuck dem too

wow! we were hoping you would tell us since u r the busy body in this case! u just like drama sha!! get a life or borrow one, properly confirm ur stories before u put them up! geez!!!!

JustPorsh said...

Moving on... Nxt pls!

Na wa oooo! Hian! *rme*

Wizkid should know that Pride cometh before a great fall!! Whatever happens he should have tolerated Banky W/EME Family.

Na wa ooooo! Hian! *rme*

The only thing I can see is that wizkid bought followers...hahahahahaha! He is one of them

We've all been expecting this as he has become bigger than the all EME. He's the life of EME & this might mean they r in trouble & time for him to blow exponentially. It was good while it lasted

dammyroja said...

Confirmed.....best of luck bro

perfect mood apparel said...

Eyah all dese people sef

from evry other young artist this dude is the best. I like d guy. Yo' Wiz which ever u wanna do go do it, u na Star boi anybody way no like as God take bless u, make that person go die.

volt said...

I hope its nt tru sha

If he likes! Does it increase or decrease my skool fees? Msheew!

emmy said...

He is old enough to kno wat he wants, so if that's d case wishing him d very best. NEXT..

Yeepa..banky's pension and retirement plans don enter one chance..wizzy one love

Man dey grow..saw dis coming..

Hmmmmmm wonder what would have gone wrong EME brought him to where he is today and to become the wizkid we love

Omo , banky doubli U .... #Lobatan

Banky don try,himself don try make banky find another payee.Work don knock

e don be

e don be

Odulowo Immanuel said...

The guy don ja go yankin leave don change....

To all sister Linda *lover* fans pls check out my blog and pls Free Free to have your Say... Cus I value ur comment a lot.
www.odulowo.blogspot.com
Thank u so much and God bless u. Hope to see you soon.

Who cares about this talentless over-hyped ass goat? I don't know why Nigerians love this guy so much, I'll never get it. I never found anything special about his factory-made, over auto tuned music.
I don't know who is worse between him and DavidO. Neither can hold a note to save their own lives, yet try to sing. Please.

Odulowo Immanuel said...

his now a big boy... Na so dem day do.

www.odulowo.blogspot.com

Linda this is getting rather annoying. why does it take you days to post comments?

Jay said...

Hmmmm Lobatan

Ehen when Skales is always borrowing his clothes (˘̯˘ ) it was bound to happen. All man for himself its life. Don't make this shit a big deal just move on.

Sexual games gone wrong at EME. LOL!

Wow nd banky to confirm this. Why must they all fight? Cant they all change labels I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̅ peace?

Eyaaaa... I wonder what group will b next to hit d breakup list. *sighs* i wonder what happened? i hope they all seperated in good fate tho. But I trust Wizzy to brake loose and scatter d place with or without E.M.E. I wish them well sha. Mr Ori sorry 4 ur loss ooo. Ehen bia Linda. Dis brings me back to my question. Does he have a girlfriend? If yes who is he dating?

The only thg permanent in life is change.... Isokay!!

tipslodge.com said...

Goodluck to him

Now dis is old Linda,news as its in d oven....lol hian

I expected this!!! The guy has enough talent..to take him anywhere in d world but it shouldn't end in a quarrelsome manner

A kid will always b a kid...#dats all#

Ounje ti gbage?

Its way time the nigga moved on tho..

Boy o boy! He surely can't be serious... He is still young, and should be managed properly.
Anywayz gud luck. Afterall he is a talented young lad.. But arrogant too.

No body is surprised

Come this guys, must you have misunderstanding befor u leave a label....well you guys are so unprofessional cos if u guys had a deal which definately will end smtiime wats the point quarrelling and then moving on...pls be professional , sign a contract so when u wana leave it will b without fight..."small boiz" "fish brains"

Admin said...

I don\'t think it\'s a babe cos I read a tweet about BANKY W saying he had to let go of WIZ KID cos \"his head was becoming too big for d room to contain both of them\"
that brings up d question \"is BANKY jealous of WIZ KID\'s success?\"

udrimz007 said...

I heard Banky W wore wizkid's cap and expanded it,na wetin cause wahala be dat o aunty lindiway

the classic naija music industry tale.well let c how it plays out.

Linda wots ur stress na?post comments 4 cry out loud.wen u started bloggin nd lukin 4 commenters,u wuld post it fast,or beta still dia was no comment moderation.Dis is d reason ur blog is becomin DRY,and ur readers are leavin u nd goin 2 Ladun's blog.mtcheeew.u had beta change or else u and ur blog wuld b left unknown.take it as an advice.

so ???

Legal Oracle said...

Foolish Boy

Ebunoluwa said...

Well ... Maybe its time to be on his own ...but d question is... Is he ripe enough? The fact that one young boy is doing well on his own doesn't mean you can do well on ur own, and on second thought, he cld stun us all with a bigger success... We'll kip our fingers crossed... All d best .

Chidozie Mario said...

Hope he's not making a mistake.
Pornography: 6 Steps To Stop

Wizkid be calm n dnt leave .. Its beta u. Sort tinz out dan leave ooo. Dnt leave dem Demuren ooo.. E go affect u gann ni oooo.. U just startin oo

candylove said...

Plss what is funny?obviously d grammar is too hard 4 u.he neva said loyalty is stupidity,he said his loyalty SHOULDN'T be taking 4 stupidity.

candylove said...

This is d reason y pple like u never move forward.too much bitterness and am sure u will be older than him.u too move 2 hell

I think it's high time he moved on. He is capable of holding his own even as young as he is rather than wait to be further exploited in the way and manner we are seeing it. He deserves to be respected because no matter what, his contributions to the EME and Nija music scene is immeasurable. I'm sure he has his lawyers and parents who would protect him henceforth from exploiters

Lmao @ move to hell

lanre said...

Banky should expect this, the boy needs to grow up.

Yellow dunce.

Mumu... Who has most of the EME fans??? Connect ur mouth/fingers 2 ur brain!

nigerians have ecouraged wiz!hez nw established and cn stand on his own!!..i stumbld on ds guys sng on d net,he is just 16!!u hv 2 hear hm..i contactd hm nd encouragd hm on twitter @tvtboy_lay ..so humble nd down 2 earth..tink we shld nd Linda shld encourage ..download and share..mk ds boi xplore hs talent lyk wiz ..link www.hulkshare.com/bw7gprc7in7k

Whether he leaves or not, I don't care. I for one think he is over rated by the way. Nothing special abt the songs he Sings. All naija songs done dey even sound the same these days sef..

dear wizkid, who do you think will make your beats again?? who did you think made your songs sell?? better go and correct your mistake before it is to late or else your career is over!! or you quickly drop music and go back to school like your mates!

MOJ said...

dear wizkid, who will make beats for you!! who do you think made your music sell?? better go and correct this mistake before it gets late!.....or you end your career in music and go back to school just as your mates!!

Correct me if I am wrong but isn't disturbing london brand name used by tinie tempah?

Haleeemarh said...

You are very dumb.,.its a business deal not a family thin,pls gt dt.part of d music industry REALLY,Mr annon

Smoking gun style hehehehehehhehehehe. Please stop contradicting yourself

Dende said...

Pls can u tell me if that was a rhetorical question or you truly want an answer in which case I DON'T!!So why the fucK did i write all this bullcrap if i don't GIVE A FUCK?I dunno...maybe cos i don't have anything better to do. ***walks away thinking of what next to write

wizkid go where...?nd wetin u dey go do for dere?......

Lol. U 2 funny! Can't stop laughing.....

Lol, you dey craze.. Lmao

Marzzzz said...

Lwkmd! Y so bitter, u b wizkid siblin? @Ogechi bet was dat joke supposed 2 be funny sha? Asin wr we supposed 2 laugh?....hia!

Marzzzz said...

..Anhan! Yellow dunce?!?! Issorai

Marzzzz said...

U r obviously dat bleachy bleachy skales or bomb head banky!!! Oya gaan tell wizzy face 2 face.

Marzzzz said...

Wetin concern us if u tlk 2 ur friend? Ohhh...

The funniest shit will b to see psquare split!!!

it is not a big deal, life always goes on!

Rayzak said...

anyway what am gonna say is patience is not too much only if it is not enough if u are close to wizkid tell him a I said he should endure...what he is going through and all things gonna be ok… EME music has good relationship with multi choice, African magic, big Friday show…and when this type of issue is on we have to be careful EME and wizkid have already create history and interesting memory! Pls if u are close to wizkid tell him to be cool…it not good to end friendship, partnership, relationship etc with quarrel

even if he really wanna moved on he should think about the genesis and go in a good relationship with eme music...Tuface and kennis music still have good relationship!

God bless you wizzy...... youre never alone

so yh...umm i dnt noe if im d only 1 hu has noticed but...
THERE'S NO EME WITHOUT WIZKID AND WIZKID OWNS HIS FAME LYK ALL TO EME ESP. BANKY!
I luv wizkid swo much but leavin EME is such a mistake.no serzly luk at d'banj....gud music and all he's crap big tym...wizkid pls i luv u but DNT!!!

wizzy move on joooor, nah only u see wetin make you move, dont stop blodd, life is too short, explore boy..

Nigerian News Online said...

They've finally resolved the issue. That's what big boys do. Nice one EME.