UNILAG students in Moremi Hostel protest over lack of electricity | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 28 January 2013

UNILAG students in Moremi Hostel protest over lack of electricity

Female students living in Moremi Hostel at the University of Lagos are protesting inside the school premises over the lack of electricity in some wings of their hostel for many days now. They mobilized and just charged out of their hostel this morning...think it's still going on

70 comments:

VICKY DARL said...

Naija for us.....

I just hope this will have an effect on the authorities, because this electricity glitch in Nigeria is too compound of a problem, a situation where even a PHCN office is using a generator.

Tobenna said...

Naija for you

segunsd said...

Lol. #OccupyMoremi. I wish you guys success in your protests.

See WHAT PEOPLE WORE to the 20013 Screen Actors Guild Awards. Fabulous Dresses

ehyyaa...ndo

tadewusi said...

UNILAG no dey carry last....God punish devil. i rep UNILAG for life.

Sexily Endowed said...

They shud no de country they live in by now. Protestin is like makin noise, Govt. Won't do shit. Man-o-war can't do shit, students suffers for wantin to be eduacated. God plz help Nigeria.

PWETTY ANJY said...

hmmmmmmm the bigs girls on campus are not mouthed them 4 vex buy personal generator instead of bhaving "razz"i beg vc do somthing pamurega

some wings of d hostel and dey charged out of their hostel to protest. Ndi ujo akwukwo.

oh so how much tuition & accommodation fees did these students pay? did they contribute towards the electricity bill? nonsense

Wretched girls,wretched school! Thank God I'm In Scotland.

Yomslaw said...

Is this suppose to be News??? As if sey dem no dey take Light for ya House.....................

Yomslaw said...

Aproko!!!

CLEMENTINA said...

THESE KIDS ARE NOT SERIOUS AT ALL.THERE ARE OTHER WAYS OF BEING HEARD.I DONT WANT TO SOUND NEGATIVE OR SAY THAT THE STUDENTS DONT NEED LIGHT,BUT DURING MY DAYS IN SCHOOL,I STAYED WITHOUT LIGHT FOR 3MONTHS AND COUNTING.AND I STILL MADE A FIRST CLASS.THEY R JUST LOOKING FOR LIGHT TO CHARGE THEIR BLACKBERRY PHONES.SMH

The protest actually brot gud results. The DSA immediately took necessary actions nd derz is light in moremi nw

na today? nothing will come out of it. they better go and rest their heads

June said...

**Hiss** Like they are gonna leave there Forever....Do smfin Reasonable with your precious time!

I love it! Ppl continue to exercise your voice. How dare school officials have students pay and suffer thru these horrible conditions. These are future leaders and professionals aiming to make this country great. Ppl shouldn't have to go to the UK and abroad for a better education/ life. It's modern day slavery!

Naija can never move forward as long as we have brainless people like you. So they have to suffer and live in deplorable conditions just because they are not living there forever? Upgrade your brain pls

Chidozie Mario said...

Nigeria is a country where nothing happens except something happens. People should learn how to ask for their rights.
Pornography Addiction: My Own Story

How do u reason sef? How do dey do sumtin reasonable without eletricity? Do u understand dat dey need light 2 study, cook, press deir clothes and many oda tins. Well I don't blame u mayb u didn't attend any tetiary institution

Somadina, I doubt that you really thought your comments through. These are students that require electricity to read. This threats their whole purpose of being in the university.

I guess the hostels are real hot when there is no light.most of them cook with the light...some of the people in charge of this stuffs are so slow...especially their hospital attendants..now everyone don't live in their fears any longer.now I think the light will be on since they did it now in the hard way..Rawlings Banks.... @wisper2raw follow on twitter

Monkey

Stupid mofos Dey shld cum Τ̲̅ȍ medilag n see lyt issue for demselves! Idiotas!!!

Monkey

Dey ar stupid nah!!! I dnt blame dem, most of dem won use A̶̲̥̅♏ watch film on laptop ni

Apoda(paintmixer), u dis refugee

If u like have 1st class...electicity is electricity..maybe u like darkness.nonsense!

Queen Bee said...

Great Nigerian studennnnnts.........carry on.
Hope dey listen anyway!

Lol!

#stevebond007

Ode!

You are a fool, we didn't pay hostel fee abi? Ode oshi! Some of those girls bought bed space for 100k 120k.. So TF you talkin about?

You are a goat, I swear! So what shud those in America do? Those in Harvard,Yale,Brown, they shud die bcos you are in one foolish skul in a tax motherfuckin payin country? Goan kill urslf.. Greatest akokite!

I'm sure the fool graduated from one dead school in the eastern part of Nigeria! Whr they don't give them light for months..Oloshious fellow!

@Anon...u r fool...I rep UNILAG n stayed @ Moremi...wt do u knw..ode oshi..na scotland u go die nah..

So becos u stayed witout light 4 3mnths nw mins odaz 2 must suffer abi! Pls,if u dnt knw anytin abt moremi galz,dnt come on here sayin nonsense.it cos of pple like u who fail 2 fight 4 deia right dt Nigeria aint movin 4ward

Something actually came out of it, because there's light in Moremi now.. See the hostel managers don't care bcos they know we can't go to the DSA office..Now the manager is goin to face the DSA, cos I'm sure he didn't inform him..

I'm sure the fool graduated from one dead school in the eastern part of Nigeria! Whr they don't give them light for months..Oloshious fellow!

You are a fool, we didn't pay hostel fee abi? Ode oshi! Some of those girls bought bed space for 100k 120k.. So TF you talkin about?

Uniport admission list is out said...

This is a great shame to the citadel of learning. What i really cannot fathom is what are leaders doing to make nigeria institution conducive for learning. Shame, shame, shame UNIPORT 2012/2013 CERTIFICATE IN FAD &THEATRE ARTS TO DEGREE PROGRAMME ADMISSION LIST IS OUT!

Like generator's re allowed on campus! Pls keep mute

Uncle abeg park well,if u aint got any oda tin 2 say get off!

Cos ur parents ve moni 2 send u 2 scotland nw means oda re wretched abi! May God punish ur mouth

Loooool... U r EVIL!and angry

In ur days u chose to suffer in darkness... Remove that dirty nigerian mentality of "the fact that I suffered, everyone must suffer too" they should be heard... They should protest!

ADIEU NIGERIA said...

some fools condemning the protest...all of u condemning d protest are fools and ''STEWPID" if we all can come 2geda in our littles voices and demand dat wat is rit shud b done...wallai, there wil b sanity in Nigeria.

June said...

Exactly...To charge their BLACKBERRY Phones

June said...

You forgot to mention....They also Need Power to charge their BLACKBERRY Phones. Only a few needs power for what you just listed

June said...

@Anon 12:01.....seriously i really need the OS to upgrade ma brain....Kindly get me one! Bitter Frog! ****Crosses Legs***

June said...

Hey! Trust me i understand...i just wan quarrel small jare! It has tayed.

Haleeemarh said...

@clementina so we r to giv u trophy for ur 1st class,am sure u not intelligent ur 1st class s just by cramming#mscheeew

Giddytohpweedy said...

Some comments sha?, light is needed for awhole lot of things, cookin cos stove is not even allowed, press dai cloths to klass,read @nyts and even feel comfortable in their rooms... Fine blackberry or not fones must be charged.... Shior!!!!!! Backward commentors....

nah sorry be their name....i don waka!

It is dis attitude of urs in General that has made naija wat it is today.people prepare to turn the other way when somethin bad is goin on. U made a first class and hear d rubbish coming out of ur mouth.no wonder a President with a PHD isn't any different.

Hurlar said...

GEJ this is an averge Nigerian gathering as per light issue oh!

Anon 10:35, no hating, I must say ur comment is very foolish, how dare u called a nigeria university and the student wretched, I belive u are a child to a corrupt politician who send their children to school abroad, wen they spoil nigeria, u are so stupid.

Bros, three months without without electricity? And you are happy? It's nothing to be proud of, 3rd class or not!

These are student and u've told them not to use any other means of power except the one the school is providing and you don't want them to protest.....some of don't actually use brain when commenting what shud they do,dey shud leave like nothing's happening

Who cares were u r?

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̶̲̥̅̊ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ S̶̲̥̅̊U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅̊A̶̲̥̅̊R̶̲̥̅̊ said...

Keep quiet dere idiotic fool! Wretched rat ℓi̶̲̥̅ke U̶̲̥̅̊....♓☺W culd open D̶̲̥̅̊α† stinking shit hole ☀̤̣̈̇F urs to call dem wretched Ãήϑ unilag τ̅☺ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡!

If U̶̲̥̅̊ werent Ά̲̣̥ wretched rat why wld U̶̲̥̅̊ leave ЧЯ father land †̥ reside Ȋ̝̊̅Π scotland? U̶̲̥̅̊ retarded slave! Oloshi omo jatiti!

even if u ar scotland dose dat permit u to call pple wreched? Tink before u talk.. Thank u

Stfu.... So obvious d stupid anonymous į̸̸̨§ a bloody wannabe. U don't av shit, u r nt in scotland bt a bloody illiterate from d slum!

OH YES! Dey nid it 2 charge deir blackberry fones. Wat į̸̸̨§ life without communication which į̸̸̨§ d essence of blackberry fones. Can dey learn without communication?

Hurlar or whatever u call yourself, how dare u call GEJ on this. Are u so retarded that u have lost your sense of reasoning? The story says 'there was no electricity in some wings' by elementary reasoning that tells u there was electricity in other wings, which means that the problem was local if not the whole students would have protested. It's high time u started using your reasoning faculty so u can discuss intelligently.

Linda,
Go and donate money for a standby generator.
No be Moremi hall school you on all survival tactics.

Abeggi dey should go n sit down......graduated dia 03/04 n it has always bin lik dat.....NEXT

WHAT DO THEY EVEN NEED ELECTRICITY FOR ITS NOT LIKE THEY ARE ON CAMPUS THEY ARE ALWAYS OFF CAMPUS SLAGGING THEIR TOTOS

mscheeew how much are you guyz paying dat u re complaining, we pay 500k in Covenant and cant boast of 12hrs of electricity a day

Dats wat ur head is looking for,shebi una papa get money n u always feel too tush to protest.Wateva evrione is in skul to do is vry differnt.Moremi houses d female scholars in unilag so,+ dose dat r selling toto n dose reading,dey all need light.bsds,dey use light for all tins including bb n laptops.#gbam#