N10.6 trillion wasted fund: FG takes on former minister, Ezekwesili | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 28 January 2013

N10.6 trillion wasted fund: FG takes on former minister, Ezekwesili

The Federal Government, yesterday, reacted to comments by the former Minister of Education, Dr. Obiageli Ezekwesili, alleging that the governments of presidents Umaru Musa Yar’Adua and Goodluck Jonathan, squandered $67 billion in foreign reserve, describing the allegation as “outlandish and clearly fictitious”.

Minister of Information, Mr Labaran Maku who addressed a press conference in response to some of the allegations raised by the former Vice President (African Region) of the World Bank said the damning verdict passed on the education sector by Mrs Ezekwesili was a self-indictment as she presided over the sector without making any positive impact on it.

The Information Minister who was flanked by the Senior Special Assistant on Public Affairs, Dr. Doyin Okupe; Economic Adviser, Prof. Nwanze Okedigbo and Special Adviser on Performance Monitoring, Prof. Sylvester Monye, said Ezekwesili’s allegations were curious in the light of the fact that she had been part of governance in the past as the Vice President of World Bank.

According to Mr Maku, Ezekwesili’s criticism of the education sector amounts to hypocrisy as she was part of the sector and contributed to its sorry state because despite receiving N458.1billion between 2006 and 2007 for the sector, there is nothing to see in terms of achievements.

The Minister said: “If she says education has not worked it means she is saying she did not work”.
He accused the former Education minister of  betraying a surprisingly limited understanding of government finances in her comments at Nsukka.

He noted: “These statements are even more curious in the light of the fact that she has held senior positions in government, and more recently, a position as a Vice President of the World Bank. However, rather than speculate about her motives, we would focus on the facts.

All I demand is accountability  -Ezekwesili
Responding to Maku’s attack Dr. Obiageli Ezekwesili challenged officials of the Federal Government to a public debate.

On allegations that she mismanaged funds meant for the education sector during her 10 months as Education Minister, Mrs Ezekwesili said: “I Challenge them to a public debate of facts regarding 2007 Excess Crude Account (ECA) and foreign reserve and last five and half years oil revenue.”
Also writing on twitter yesterday in messages prefaced with the declaration, “Nothing but Accountability,” Ezekwesili said: “In 2007, the incoming Administration was handed $45Billion in Foreign Reserve plus $22Billion.
Nothing but accountability: Let Mr. Maku go further. As a citizen all I want to know is the Mathematics of the ECA and the Foreign Reserve. Nothing but accountability: I demanded accountability and that’s all a citizen asks of government. I will not stop asking for accountability.

N458.1bn Education Ministry fund
“The statement by the former World Bank Vice President that the governments of Presidents Musa Yar’adua and Goodluck Jonathan have squandered $67 billion in reserves (including $45 billion in external reserves and $22 billion in the Excess Crude Account) left by the Obasanjo Administration at the end of May 2007 is factually incorrect. At the end of May 2007, Nigeria’s gross reserves stood at $43.13 billion – comprising the CBN’s external reserves of $31.5 billion, $9.43 billion in the Excess Crude Account, and $2.18 billion in the Federal Government’s savings. These figures can be independently verified from the CBN’s records. The figure of $67 billion alleged in her statement is therefore clearly fictitious.

“However, since President Obasanjo left office, the reserves have experienced fluctuations, rising from $43.13 billion in May 2007, peaking at $62 billion in September 2008 during the Yar’Adua/Jonathan Administration when oil prices peaked at $147 per barrel, and falling subsequently to a low of $31.7 in September 2011. This fall in reserves was a result of the vicissitudes of the global financial crisis which caused CBN interventions in the currency market to defend the value of the naira. The Excess Crude savings, a component of the reserves, was also used to stimulate the economy at the height of the global financial crisis to the tune of about $1 billion (or 0.5 per cent of our 2009 GDP). As a result, Nigeria is one of the few countries in the world that did not seek assistance from international financial institutions. It should be noted that the fiscal stimulus used to shore up the economy during that period was shared by all three-tiers of government, including commitments of about $5.5 billion made under the Obasanjo Administration for power projects.

“On the use of reserves, it is fallacious to say that the nation’s external reserves were dipped into or misapplied by the Federal Government. It is important to note that the Federal Government cannot dip its hands into external reserves. Like in other countries, the management of external reserves is one of the statutory mandates of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

External Reserve under CBN
“Section 2 sub-section (c) of the CBN Act (2007) states that the Bank shall ‘maintain external reserves to safeguard the international value of the legal tender currency’ – in other words, to defend the value of the naira. No President since the democratic dispensation has contravened this Act. Other uses of the reserves are to settle both public and private sector foreign currency (e.g. payment of goods and services, settlement of external debt, etc) it must provide the naira equivalent to the CBN before the Bank sells the required foreign currency. As a former World Bank Vice-President for Africa, surely, Mrs. Ezekwesili must have known this.
“We also found Mrs. Ezekwesili’s interrogation of the educational system somewhat disingenuous and borderline hypocritical. During her tenure as Minister of Education between 2006 and 2007, she collected total sum of N352.3 billion from direct budgetary releases. In addition, she received about N65.8 billion under the Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC) Fund, and over N40 billion from the Education Trust Fund (ETF) during her time as Minister of Education.
“In view of these humongous allocations, few legitimate questions arise. What did she do with all these allocations? What impact did it have on the education sector? One wonders if our educational system would have been better today if these allocations were properly applied.

“No one disputes that Nigeria still faces challenges, most of which were built up over a long time. But we need to acknowledge the significant achievements of this administration in the aftermath of difficult but necessary macro-economic and structural reforms being implemented in the country.
“This administration has restored macro-economic stability against the backdrop of global economic uncertainty, slow growth in the United States and high unemployment and unsustainable debt in Europe. In the first three quarters of 2012, Nigeria’s economy grew by about 6.4 per cent and is set to continue at a similar pace in 2013 according to independent forecasts. We have reduced our fiscal deficit to only 2.17 per cent of GDP in the 2013 budget, while rebalancing our spending in favour of capital expenditure. These achievements have already received strong endorsement from international rating agencies. At a time when many advanced and emerging markets are being downgraded, Fitch and S&P have upgraded our sovereign credit ratings. The inclusion of Nigeria’s sovereign bonds in the emerging market bond indices of JP Morgan and Barclays also testifies to the growing confidence of the international investment community in our economy.

“We have also focused our attention on removing the bureaucratic and structural bottlenecks in the economy to enable the private sector create more jobs for our youths. In the power sector, most Nigerians will attest to improvements in power supply even as the 10 new power plants being built by this Administration are yet to fully come on stream. There have also been improvements in rail services; for example, the Lagos—Kano rail line is now fully operational and serving Nigerians for the first time in over 20 years. There have been significant improvements in road development; aviation – in particular refurbished terminals; and agriculture, where new jobs are being created every day. Serious work is ongoing to improve our ports and lower the cost of doing business and the cost of consumption in Nigeria. The government has further launched a number of initiatives targeted at creating jobs for our youth, including support for entrepreneurship through the YouWin Programme; work for the unskilled through the Community Services programme of the Subsidy Reinvestment and Empowerment Programme; and support for unemployed graduates through the Graduate Internship Programme.

“This administration is squarely focused on promoting a stable, non-inflationary, and inclusive economic environment for Nigeria to ensure that Nigerians can live better and more fulfilled lives”, Maku said.

Responding to a question on why the Federal Government waited for the former minister’s outburst before charging  her for the alleged misappropriation of $458.1b, Maku said:  “The essence of the briefing is not to prosecute her but to debunk her claim that Federal Government had squandered N10. 6 trillion. It is wiser that people of Ezekwesili’s calibre become more conscious than to behave like strangers in what they ought to know better in the way they condemn things after they have left office.”

On the recent threat by MEND that they are going to bring the country down on the account of Henry Okah’s conviction in South Africa,  Maku said since the MEND leader  was not convicted in Nigeria, it will be very shocking if any Nigerian or group of Nigerians will take such actions against their own country.

“What we expect at this time is that all Nigerians should show higher level of commitment and patriotism to Nigeria. We can’t live in a nation where we abandon the law.
What I expect at this moment is that our citizens should understand that this nation offers the best of opportunity to live better lives and that anything you do against your country is not a plus.
We call on all those making the threat to commit themselves to the laws of the land and allow the peace that have rained in the nations over the couple of years since amnesty programme started not to be bridged.
He charged all Nigerians to condemn terrorism and vandalism, saying “that this is the time to unite Nigeria.”

Source: Vanguard

70 comments:

Amarachi said...

Too long to read Linda,what ever it is .i dont care .They all eat money while in power

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.
Corruption needs to be shown the way out!

Dz woman is A shameless fucking old bitch.. After sucking OBJs 2inches labalaba dick during her tenure as education minister she here talking thrash..she should take several sit abeg

Let the war begin, we the masses are suffering while a selected few are spending money meant for development of our economy. May God see us thru IJN. Hope Oby Ezekwesili is treading on the right path. She should build her facts & fight on.

millions are dying of poverty and hunger yet...
this people don't have conscience.

frannie said...

*longG Yawwwnnnn*

labaran ole!

I haven't seen the job in which the federal government claimed they created, as well as the empowerment scheme made for unemployed graduate.

We need more people like Ezekwesili. let demand for accountability from our govt,let's not be misled into the usually taking sides. If it is not 67billion let see whatever the govt used the money for if it 20 or 30 billion that is sent let know what it was use for. We can't send such huge amount and not be able to point to something significant.

Addy said...

Why is it that the Nigerian govt/people like counter accusations instead of giving a straight forward answer?

June said...

Gradually Gradually

linda u de try but i v nt 4givn u ova d man of God u insulted bcos he ws tokn abt wht u gelz wear.

These IDIOTs are just robbing us blind! Now you wonder why there is Boko Haram & Kidnappings...if ONLY they can just focus their anger at the criminals in our govt instead of unleashing terror on ordinary people!
we are doomed as a nation!!!!

Nawa oo...cldnt read it all, so long! Visit www.thespianamber.wordpress.com to see all of president Jona's grammatical boo boos. Hehehe

This is simply a case of "Rat and cockroach arguing about who did more damage to the house".........T...

Dis country is finished, every politician should be held accountable, thievies

Menh... no comment, Next. www.naijanewsmag.com

sheylee bee said...

Omg! I am more pissed with this response, wtf is all this crapp, stating lies just because most Nigerians won't understand it or what?

1) The reserve has experienced fluctuation from $62b in 2008 to $31.7b in 2011... Omg and you are saying the minister is wrong, I mean what a drastic fall....and your most gullible excuse is to blame it on the global crisis...*shocked*...whats the figure for 2012? My guess is its still falling right? may be it has fallen to $10b, and I guess ur excuse would be that its because we didnt allow you impose fuel subsidy on us right? (Under yar-adua a litre of petrol was #65 per litre and they could still maintain a $62b reserve, now a litre is #97 and reserve is still falling, no more global crisis o and its still falling...nigga plzzzzz)

2)In the first three quarters of 2012 the economy grew by 6.3 percent...what about economic development (the major)? As there been reduction in poverty, inequality, unemployment? So WTF are you stating the fact that it grew when there as not been changes in economy development... economy growth is supposed to promote economic development....but NO, not in nigeria....plz stop bragging about your worthless economic growth

3) Lagos - kano is now fully operational, u even had to add fully....a 30hrs ride from lagos to kano and u can bragg about it and even use the words fully operational...so when it reduces to 20hrs I wonder what you all will be claiming

4)Since the mend leader was not convicted in nigeria, it will be shocking to take movement against the nigerian govt" in order words they should take actions against the south african people and workers in nigeria, embassy and govt?.... Interesting...keep talking iam getting you

I just love this woman (won oni le yoju, wo oto be). They just love to defend this ramshackle administration just bcos they are all dwelling in corruption. If they are bold enough, they should come out for public debate like the woman said.

Awon ole gbogbo!!

So they new she did not do anything with the money that was allocated to her ministry and they all kept quiet. Now they are talking bcos she made that statement . They must think we are fools . How can u run a govt via blackmail . Useless people

All she is asking for is accountability. Now that she is asking the govt for a public debate on what happened to the money, you want to gag her with your misapprooriation allegation. What timing! Next step, you will send EFCC, its not new that‘s your MO.

Rukevwe said...

"She presided over the sector without making any positive impact on it".

I don't need to read the full story: The statement above is a BIG FAT LIE. I personally witnessed the transformation this lady brought to WAEC and JAMB Examining Bodies.

Why do our leaders always take constructive criticisms personal? If you do your job well, no one would raise accusing fingers.

The other day, Channels TV showed the decayed state of the Nigerian Police Training Facility @ Ikeja and I was so disappointed to read the President's statement that "it was the work of the opposing political parties to tarnish his image", as though the opposing political parties are the reason why the facility is decayed. Like, seriously, how politically incorrect can our leaders be???

I am really thаnkful to the оwneг οf this ωeb ѕite whο has shared thіs great ρaгаgraрh at аt this tіme.
Take a look at my website ... click through the next Article

RAPTOR said...

ANOTHER DAY ANOTHER DOLLAR...WE DON TAYA. THESE GUYS ARE JUST BAD NEWS...SEND EM ALL TO SOUTH AFRICA FOR SOME NIGERIAN JUSTICE SINCE THAT'S THE NEWEST TREND...SMH

constitution said...

na so so big money we dey call, dey claim sey dem alocate to dis and dat, but still no sign of improvement in Nigeria. our govt na waste of leadership. how can u speak of unitY wen u are busy scattering and destroying dis blessed country. GOD PUNISH ALL OF UNA WEY DEY FRUSTRATE OUR NIGERIA.

WTF, dis moni ar too heavy to be left unattended to.

Eva said...

Lol, that is soo very true

Unlimited said...

Lol.

Even longer yaawN! Too long abeg.

Linda hav yu hrd dat mallam el-rufai accused our lord jesus christ of having sex wt mary magdalene?? Hw tweeted dat ystday, buh he was lashed by his followers sha

Asin ehn!!! That's so true! Hahaha.....

You are fool that woman is saying the truth. Nothing but d truth.

BIG FISH * said...

This is the most funnies country.. Maku don't knw how to talk... He speaks without proper guidiance .... Shai if there is crisis in this Country Labaran Maku will b d 1st to taste of it..So on mend issue cos is southafrica court dat jailed him, den MEND should face south Africans by bomb dem abi... Yeye Maku

deborah said...

D story is damn long but all i will say is that d Lord is on the throne. Its been foretold dat alot of politicians will witness the warth of God dis year. Come 2015, freedom will take place..all these corrupt politicians will all fall and then PDP WILL CRUMBLE!!

deborah said...

D story is damn long but all i will say is that d Lord is on the throne. Its been foretold dat alot of politicians will witness the warth of God dis year. Come 2015, freedom will take place..all these corrupt politicians will all fall and then PDP WILL CRUMBLE!!

happyhausabunny said...

Lmao!

SOULJACHIC said...

It was way too long to read but all I can say is this: CORRUPT POLITICIANS, GOD IS WATCHING YOU in 100D

Prince charming hahahaha funny comment

Lolz. PrinceCharming you hit the hail on the head bro,its comments like yours that keep me addicted to LIB

Pre$h said...

@Prince, i owe U a very big kiss for dis comment

i need war in this country please and lets stand for Revolution

Liveschoolnews said...

We all know that Nigeria is the most corrupted nation in the World. IMO STATE UNIVERSITY -IMSU 2012/2013 3RD SUPPLEMENTARY ADMISSION LIST IS OUT!

PC this is deep,i would have to borrow this comment. You described our situation so well,the FG just waste and steal our resources

All na wash

I often pity folks who have hope in this system. They are either deluded or do not know the extend of systemic rot in the polity. I have long given up hope in this country of ours, it is the only logical choice.
Good luck, Mrs. Ezekwezili. You'll need loads of it.
Arguing with Labaran Maku in public must be a despicable act. Men like that will disown their mothers in public just to remain in govt. We all know how Livi of NNPC ended.

Queen Bee said...

She should STFU dere!
What is public debate,I Expect her to ask for public declaration of assest!...
these govt officials once they are out of office,and d game stops favouring them,they become anti govt!
Infact she should just gerrout'!what visible thing did she do during her tenure? ..rubbish!!

I second your view, she has challenge them to a debate. So what's the long story. We need accountability in this country. Our system is "fucked". The law maker with those who execute it and those who adjudicate it are friends. We need detailed audit report of the reserve. If you country want to be fair and good, they should embrace transparency in their govt.
Discover the Secret to losing weight and burning tummy fat

This quoted statement of yours really burn my heart. If this is true, it shows GEJ lack FOCUS and Fearless. WTF, how dare he have such a thought to the extent of uttering it. Even a good senior leader in high sch or SUG president in a higher institutions cannot even say that. If this man is not strong and capable enough, he should just resign. What a shallow mind.

GBAM! Prince u said it all

If they are capable enough, tarnishing her image because she let us know your fraudulent act won't help you *All what she ask for is accountability and public debate. Lobatan.

Maku is a sorry 'a' joker. If he thinks his so right he shld face Ekwesili's advice n come out in d open in a debate n let nigerians make dia judgement demselves. Maku wz just making a big fool of himself wit his answers. He wz just shooting himself in d FACE. Shiiiooo Ole agbeja

Linda Ikeji, my third post here. Thanks for looking into the $67billion federal reserve wastage. I am greatly impressed that you actually catch up on your feedback. They are trying to waste huge amount for a so called cetenary celebration in 2014. Just like the 50th year anniversary waste. On top of that dont forget the money spent on new aircraft when this pres. assumed his role. Money used to grease peoples palm in the primarys of PDP elections as exposed by Sahara reporters. Can't believe i carried a banner so the then V.President can attain power. However not been very impressed. Best out of the bunch athe time, maybe! The PDP primary had Atiku,IBB,and the defence ministet who later resigned to contest.(can't remember his name). ACN could have really have pushed Ribadu all the way but surprised with the way things turned out there. Well checks and balances should be the theme to counter the reckless frivilousness going on now. The least this generation can do.

Dumb ass, ppl like you are the reason why this country is in a state of rot... Maybe you should try reading sometimes and hold ppl accountable for a change. Lazy ass negro

Hmmmmmmmmmm! I beg; dis so called Leaders will not kill us, couldn't even believe who to trust between d two eloquent personality. But! All d same Nigerians av got 2 demand 4 accountability henceforth. AS YOUTHS WE'VE got 2 SAY NO....

Simple question. He cannot answer What happened to the monies?
(a) I chop am
(b) we share am chop
(c) na oby chop am
(d) I don't know
Nonsense corrupt leaders may your bellies rotten and swell with decay and sickness on your greed and lack of love and leadership for your fellow humans y'all know who you are

POLICE PENSION BOSS ADMITS TO STEALING N23.3billion but was given the option of paying N250,000 and be spared 2years jail term. He was said to have forfeited only N325million in property. Now is this how checks and balances are carried out in a sane country. This verdict was meant to have been given by a judge in an ABUJA HIGH COURT THIS MONDAY. I remember a young girl who was given 10years for stealing a mobile phone, or the young man sentenced for peeping at a couple having sex. Why is this country deceiving itself as if it has a govt. wow GIANT OF AFRICA. How can this happenning and no one questions anything....

Simple question. He cannot answer What happened to the monies?
(a) I chop am
(b) we share am chop
(c) na oby chop am
(d) I don't know
Nonsense corrupt leaders may your bellies rotten and swell with decay and sickness on your greed and lack of love and leadership for your fellow humans y'all know who you are

Hmmmmmmm original BB,make una dey open una yansh,we dey dia dey watch & hear,& linda u dey fck up ooooooooo,all dis write up,d worse part of it we d masses can't do anytin,we'll b shouting God punish dem or God help nigeria,u xpect God 2 come down?make una no open una eyes make una dey wait dey luk.See hw dem dey call billions of dollar lyk say na thousand of naira.God help dose who help dem self.Lynda if u lyk......... ***Lincoln

You are disgracefully unintelligent! I guess your mother also sucks OBJ's 2 inch "labalaba dick"? If u don't have any meaningful thing to contribute here,go outside your house & buy corn.Don't come here insulting peoples wives & mothers!

shyla said...

Trust the federal govt to turn the table at the slightest provocation when it has to do with money and looting. Won't be surprised when they send their partners in crime (EFCC) after her.

lammy said...

The Minister said: “If she says education has not worked it means she is saying she did not work”. he he! I'm just laughing to dat,at least she suggested a public debate let's all see whether such wl ever hold.I pity my beloved country Nigeria

Thank u chinemerem, u'v spoken my mind.

Oge Nsimah said...

Nigerian politicians are jokers ... They even know the woman did not with the money allocated to her ministry and d didn't say any thing...hahahahahahahah Now she is asking for acountability and open debate the remba she did nothing. Children children !children , politicians pls tell us a story ! That is what these politician are doing .

I'm just sorry for some of you guys who can't read the full article...I mean, seriously? And you wondering why Nigeria is a mess and you just dont give a damn?...SMDH

I don't see anything wrong with her speech. If you can actually take out time to read and digest the full lecture, you 'll appreciate her courage. It's a wake up call!
>>UNN CONVOCATION LECTURE DELIVERED BY OBIAGELI EZEKWESILI ON Thursday, January 24, 2013<<

Kawai! This Oby di kwa yugly biko!