Controversy trails expulsion of 28 Redeemers University students | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 February 2013

Controversy trails expulsion of 28 Redeemers University students

Culled from The Nation
The expulsion of 28 students by Redeemer University for allegedly failing drug tests has sparked a big row.  The tests were conducted last November for 42 students, who were asked to go for “routine tests”.
After resumption this year, some of them were told that they “tested positive” and last Friday, some of those who “tested positive” got expulsion letters; others got theirs on Monday.
The institution’s Director of Corporate Affairs, Mr. Adetunji Adeleye, said the decision was taken in line with the school’s values and philosophy “to raise godly children”, but the students are alleging unfairness.

Adeleye said: “A student was caught with an illicit drug. He mentioned others involved and we took them to the school clinic for tests. Some of them tested positive.”

But some of the affected students said the university authority never told them the purpose of the test and did not show them the results.

“I only saw in the expulsion letter that I tested positive to hard drugs. I asked for the result of the test, but they didn’t show me. Even if they won’t show it to me, they should at least show my parents the result,” said one of the expelled students, who preferred anonymity.

The affected students complained about the expulsion and the fact that they were not given a fair hearing.

“They should have at least set up a panel of enquiry and if the panel finds us guilty, so be it,” another student said.

On the results of the tests, Mr. Adeleye said: “There is no need to show the students the results because the university cannot conspire against them.”

Adeleye defended the institution’s decision, saying the expelled students are guilty–in line with the school’s religious norms.

He said: “Nobody should think anybody hates those students. It’s not spurious. In fact, it is even painful for us because we are losing revenue by sending them away. But it’s a painful decision we must take in our quest to raise students that will transform the world. The expelled students are those that refused the university’s lifeline of a second chance.

“We wanted to help them. The university has a programme designed to help them live a normal life, but they rejected the offer. A few of them accepted and they are undergoing the programme.”
Adeleye was evasive when asked if the school’s clinic was capable of testing urine samples for hard drugs.

On why the students were not handed over to the narcotics agency since their offence was a criminal act, Adeleye said the school was neither the police nor the narcotics agency and had no reason to do so.

He later told The Nation that the Vice-Chancellor was considering a review of the matter.

156 comments:

RNC said...

I'm tired of all this Convenant glorified secondary school talk. Abegiiiiiiiiii

Chidozie Mario said...

Definetely doing drugs does nobodu any good. But the school should have been fair and transparent in this case. Not telling them before conducting the tests and not showing them the results of their tests are already a violation of their own rights.
The 25-Year Old Virgin: Part I

YOungLord said...

Something is wrong somewhere. Was it not about a mounth plus samething happened in covenant university? http://www.icon5ive.com

supremacydone said...

Its a serious matter!
Though it happens in all universities

Nigerian woman poses completely nude with child(pictures)
Lady gaga post nude pics to twitter followers(pictures)
3 nigerian brothers arrested for raping 15 year girl(picture of the 3 brothers)

Click Wwww.supremacydone.blogspot.com

YOungLord said...

I am fucking tied of all this advance secondary school. http://icon5ive.com

Sometimes being strict drives home the message to deter others, mind you, this is a faith based university, its religiously inclined and all. Signing up for such a school should make you know what it entails and all. They should show them the results of the test though. They have a right to know.

'In fact, it is even painful for us because we are losing revenue by sending them away.'
This was the only thing that caught my attention.
ehn ehn na so e be?

Madonna university is worse!God help my friends in dat uni

LEE said...

Religious bodies have now become the new age judges! If one is thrown out frm whr ordinarily help shd come frm, whr do they go to?

Heey hey I know say God is watchg all of u I dnt knw wht naija is even turng into Kai don't we pple even thnk of death for a second I won't judge anybody but even those tht conducted d test re thy clean God will ask both of us how we use our life

Is this 'RNC' mad? Did you see covenant university there? Mumu! Bad belle oshi.
Pls go and sleep somewhere Jo.

Fool! Go and sleep jor. Dis is not Covenant University. Goat!

Rubbish!!! What happened to 'TRANSPARENCY'??? I wonder why parents still send their kids to all these glorified Secondary School..I hope there are no final year students amongst them??

Marcel Duplexis said...

In as much as I don't suscribe to usage of hard drugs, I think the school Authourities did wrong in not telling the Students what they were being tested for and also for not allowing them to see their test results. For a religious establishment, they should have handled the situation with a little bit of fairness.Many questions abound; Why weren't the drug tests conducted on all the students? Does the University have an existing Policy on conducting random dope testing? How concievable is it that a student that is being treathened with expulsion, will refuse to accept the offer of a 'second lifeline' as stated by Mr Adeleye? Finally, where were the tests carried out & how accurate, reliable & conclusive were the test methodologies & results? I think it's either the punishment here is worse than the crime or a great injustice has been meted out to some of them.

Am also tired

Dat is non-sense abeg wats wit dem am certain d sch authority does more than drugs if I was a parent in dat sch hmmmmmmm

@ RNC, ode oshiii, ow does covenant university and redeemers university correlate. make gud findings b4 u open ur *i**y mounth!!!!!

Shut ur trap u fool if u can't read well..what does this have 2 do with covenant..mumu like u

y e t t a i said...

It's a pity on both sides of the story..
Of course its a loss on the university part as the revenue will decrease by that percentage but then to dissolve every reasonable doubt,they ought to show them the result of the test if it will make any difference.

Oga u can't get tired cos u clearly still have a lot of schooling to do. Its not spelt convenant but covenant.
U'l thank me l8r.

Shut ur trap u fool if u can't read well..what does this have 2 do with covenant..mumu like u

I agree wt u dia ryt has been violated

Linda abeg free dis jist abeg!nest plssssssssz

@_OliverTweet said...

@RNC you're a very BIG FOOL...u no sabi spell sef!! too broke to afford/have afforded a private uni??? STFU n stop hating!!

mccoy said...

okpo!!! Dis is not covenant university ooo
btw i support d skul 100% cuz d rate drug abuse by youths dis days is too much

@ RCN, glorified secondary schools they may be in your own opinion, but they don't force you to register with them. If you want to attend a university with strict religious beliefs then you must obey their laws or leave. I agree with Chidozie, this issue could have been handled better.

RNC abeg read d story first b4 passing ur judgement. d school said Redeemers university not Convenant university. dey are not d same oh

Its not covenant tho but redeemers uni @RNC

lanre said...

At least their should be some counseling for them and monitor them whether the school can stop them from the drugs. Everybody deserve second chance though doing drug is bad. ***so sad*** post my comment o.

hrm paul ojeih said...

what happened to forgiveness, what happened to taking back the prodigal son what happened to spank the child with the right hand and pullin that child back with the left hand
oh covenant university, covenant university wen will controversy end in this institution

Doing drug is not good but that was too harsh they shud think of the money it's not easy. If u live in London and need an African chef to cook in your home here is the link http://www.gumtree.com/p/jobs/african-chef-available-for-indoor-catering/1007509408

Mschew.they should sue the school.

I think the result sufficient in this case is to show them the photo of MAJEK FASHEK "before and now"

If u can't abide by the rules and regulations of a private institution, then stay clear. There are other universities in Nigeria..

I think the results should be shown to dem for more verifications

and the first thing the school is concerned about is their revenue..how pathetic

plsss dis is ma uni u guys are calling "glorified sec skol", am only here bcos fed uni did not give me admission,and 4 d expelled ones,i pray dey call dem back cos most of dem are in final year,but what dey did was very wrong sha.

Linda, U need to delete comment of people that use your platform to test yabin skills. RNC & d anonymous this matter is serious many student have spent some year in school paid so much and at the end of the day expelled from school it quite unfair. This schools are meant to refund part of the money they have paid since admission.

I'm a 400 level student of Redeemer's University and the truth is the school has invaded on pple's privacy which contravenes to section 37 of the 1999 constitution...although the school rules says it would expel any student in possession of drugs and anyone caught in the act but for Christ's sake this student were not even caught taking the drugs and I doubt if the school clinic even has the facility required for the test
My school could be very harsh, unjust and unfair in their trial, they jst love to focus on unnecessary things and that is why afta about 7 years, they've still not moved to their permanent site
Someone, pls ask my school what happens to their merit policy or a situation where a student has extra points sef??
The guy acting has the C.S.O of the school should also be investigated because his hands are not clean
Just recently, the female hostel was on heat because some men came in the middle of the night and forced open some doors and robbed some girl's of their valuables. This has been happening for years and still the school has not done anything about it and not that they would replace those items, they'll just give you '1,600' to buy a carton of noodles..
I'm glad that the nation did this write up... Investigative journalists could do a write up on my school if they take their time
Please forgive any error seen and forgive the long story, just bitter about the school

I'm a student of the school and I tell u its nt loss of revenue for the school because they allow you to pay ur full school fees for the next session before expellin you.. And also the present 100 level students were stil admitted even in november sef and you need to see how much they paid..

1. This is not Covenant University, its Redeemers University.
2. I'm a Redeemers University student. Not all students were expelled because of drug use, yes some were, and they were students that had been previously caught with drugs and had signed promises to never use again. So when they tested positive to drug use this time, the school had no choice.

Why go to a school when you know they can expel you at the end of the day based on some bogus "religious" reason?!
What a waste of time and money all to prove that you're religious?!!

This church leaders can't even transform Nigeria, yet they are claiming to raise students that will transform the world! WHAT A FRAUD! LOL

Foolish schools oo.. Rubbish!

Sharap dia! Private my ass! Glorified secondary school, whr you have to queue b4 you can get your food, you have to report b4 you can leave your skul.. TF! It is higher institution, yours is lower institution,even my second skul days gan, I was free to do whtever.. Berra goan obtain anoda jamb form..

You all shud sharap mhen! RC is right about the glorified secondary schools, whr you have to queue b4 you can get your food, you have to report b4 you can leave your skul.. TF! It is higher institution, yours is lower institution, even my secondary skul days gan,I was free to do whtever.. Berra goan obtain anoda jamb form..

im so irritated with all these glorified secondary schools and universities set up by churches that that their average member cannot attend.look at this man talking about losing revenue instead of helping these young children with their drug problems if they have any at all.so pitiful...God help Nigeria.

RNC said...

There are obviously a lot of jobless childish idiots here. Enuff of all these private glorified secondary schools... SHIKENA

STFU! You think you are in a private institution, you are still in high school to me, with all those una glorified secondary school! Even high schools are way better than that skul..Religious my ass, una bad pass anything! Pretenders!

You all shud sharap mhen! RC is right about the glorified secondary schools, whr you have to queue b4 you can get your food, you have to report b4 you can leave your skul.. TF! It is higher institution, yours is lower institution, even my secondary skul days gan,I was free to do whtever.. Berra goan obtain anoda jamb form..

Sharap dia! Private my ass! Glorified secondary school, whr you have to queue b4 you can get your food, you have to report b4 you can leave your skul.. TF! It is higher institution, yours is lower institution,even my second skul days gan, I was free to do whtever.. Berra goan obtain anoda jamb form..

Foolish schools oo.. Rubbish!

We know use of drugs are not advisable but is expelling them the solution? Most of them are in 400l and extra year, they weren't even showed d result, things are not done dat way now.

You Hɑ̣̣̝̇̇v̶̲̥̅є̲̣̥ said it all. It is not by force to attend. Ɣ☺ΰ can't obey d rules? Don't register. Period!!

Covenant University, Redeemers University and Babcock and Madonna are just glorified secondary schools but Covenant and Redeemers look more like JSS.

I like the statement he made "we are loosing revenue"... that sounds like the priority to these schools.

Anyway, the students should look into the contract they signed before they where admitted only them can they say they have a case.

goodie said...

All dz curse cos he made a mistake??

I am a student and I have friends that wr affect, the truth is ; there was no stupid test! And these student can't afford the drugs they"claimd" to have been "suppectd" to be consuming, cos I saw the letter, simply bcos dey have religious crowd doznt mean they can end one's career afta 4yrs!!! Even xtra year students! Haba! And derz no f* rehab centre in this f*d sch!

Whether the students took drugs or not is not important at this stage, of course I'm not in support of taking drugs. However the students should be given a fair hearing in this case, the university should have set up a disciplinary panel so that the students could appear before it to defend themselves. Even students who are expelled from public universities appear before their school's disciplinary panel to defend themselves before they are expelled. The students should appeal to the school authorities for Fair hearing, and if the university refuses, they should go to court. It simply the principle of Natural Justice. In addition those drug tests must be shown to them or their guardians and the accuracy of those tests must come into issue. You can't just base something on nothing

LInda :) said...

These convenant or covenant(however they spell your secondary school name) kids here are rather aggressive. Please have a kit kat and some kunu or zobo. Or eat fresh, eat Subway :D

Can they guarantee that the sensitivity and specificity of the test was 100%? What if there were some false positiVe and false negative result.

Blackey AAUA said...

wetn RNC do all of una nw. It might b a mistake, it seems most of u dat commented r covenant students.

Imagine d man saying they cannot conspire against them. Liars!!! I spent 4 years within the walls of that school, and I can tell you for certain that some people were conspired against. It's nothing new. They didn't even test them in certified hospitals. It's that useless clinic where the Dr. is barely at work, and gives u panadol for stomach ache.
What if the samples drawn were mixed up, and the innocent is made to go down with the guilty? These people never use their heads. Smh!

you guys should be ready to follow and obey the rules of all our mission schools if not take your children/wards to public schools.

Sebi is becos your wards/children cannot jam jamb into the public higher institutions that is why you choose mission schools so ready to pay the price.

you pple are not getting it at all. isn't it better for them to learn their lesson in a had way than patch them to rotten in hell fire? lets learn how to see things in God's eyes and not the other way round. passing thru this university is equally preparing them for heaven. sin is a destroyer and let us not excuse it,or call it a weakness, for if pamper will lead one to hell. on the other hand if they show remorse and feel sorry for their deeds let them pray to God and who knows God can move in their situation and the decision revisited. let God's Will prevail.

hahahahahaahhaha...pls u people should leave this RCN to rest nau..pls..he made a mistake we knw..but correction would do no harm to u,right?

hahahahhahahahaha...please u guys shud let this RCN of a guy be...we all knw he made a mistake,but will correcting him do u harm?

Linda they have expelled more than 28 ooh, includng final year students. I think u should pay this school a visit to know more. I will gladly show u around for more inquiry!!! I'm an anonymous RUN student!!!

Bloomandgrownaija said...

Na wa o. Buts we all hv done something stupid in our lives before. And we didn't done out bad!!!

most of them are final year students oooo, PLEASE PRAY FOR US

Sadly, 2 of my brothers were among the expelled. My brothers were taken to 2 different labs after this horrendous happening and they tested NEGATIVE to drugs. I do not support drug usage, but let's be fair, the school should have told the students about it, I'm sure 50% of the students were innocent. (Besides this drugs must have been taken while the school wasn't in session, so how does their life outside the 'school' affect the school itself?) Why won't the results be shown to them? Why? Its unfair as to why I 'religious' school should cast away its students, will God ever turn his back on us? Rather than expulsion, what happened to community service and proper rehabilitation, I'm disappointed at this action.

I run fast pass!!

scredark said...

That's totally wrong. The student should proceed to court for justice.they should at least be heard, 'audi alteram partem'. This is similar to the case of Garba v university of maiduguri. Go get judgement joo.

I think dey went too far in what dey did...in their mind dey think deyve succeeded in gettin all of dem...dey dd d right thing by doin d test,bt expulsion,nah dats extreme...suspension is more like it#rubbish

Madam rebecca. Its NEXT!!!

saheed badmus said...

Most of Ʊ people Are fools why abuse RNC no b him hand he take write instead of Ʊ guyz to correct him Ʊ foolz start reigning abusive words on him all Ʊ oponus...no one above mistake foolish people

Toksyb: what is d diff btw convenant,babcock,leadcity,redeemers and all this yeye university.They ve worse student,unrully children. Glorified secondry school.Hisssssss infact I don't kno wat to say.If the student ve good lawyers they can take it up.how can u do a test for someone and u won't give dem or their parent the test absolute rubbish this can only happen in nigeria. Wen we r talking univeristy we r talking Lasu,unilag,ife,UI,osu etc. Instead of using my money to send my kids to all this glorified second school I ll send them abroad rubishhhhh

what the school authority had done it not bad in my opinion because the affected students must have been informed in the rules and regulations and penalty for an offence that is contrary to the school authority

Hypocrisy is the order of the day in Nigeria,please am tired of all these rubbish talk about these private universities who just take everything to the extreme.I attended one of de best Universities in Nigeria,values and religion should be thought @Home,nursery/primary/secondary schools...By the time a child gets to the university level,there are certain decisions that you need to allow that child to make,whether wrong or right,he/she will face the consequences overtime..They just over stepped their boundaries this time by not letting them know about the test,and also not even showing them the results
Before expelling them...That's just wrong by all standards
Pretty Girl

There are a lot of final year students, most of them are..and the worst part is we're writing exams atm!

As a christian institution, they ought to consider rehabilitation centres or atleat one year suspension, its unfair to just expel the students like that especially those in final year.

There are no two ways about it, stick to the rules or get flushed out. I think justice was served, those students could have negative influences on others

This will not happen anywhere in the world.How come the students were not told they were doing drug tests? How come the results were not given to them? Where were the tests conducted? How were samples taken? Where they informed of consent before samples taken? Was a disciplinary panel set up to investigate the matter? Where there wards/guardians/parents called in to be intimated of the alleged infractions of school policy? This is just pure archaic third world mentality that bedevils tertiary education al policies in our country. A mindset that is draconian,authoritarian and rigid. However attending such private glorified ivory towers makes you a victim of the whims and caprices of Neanderthal school administrators and owners.

They should have been heard and probably giving last warning before expelling them if they fail to adhere to the warning....at least for the sake of their parents that paid so much money for school fees.

Spend some moment with God everyday. Visit www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com your Online Christian blog. God bless you richly in Jesus name.

Come to lead city uni ibadan ..

If children choose to enrol in oyerglorified secondary sch dy uni. Fine. Dy must adhere 2 d rules,face d music n not learn from dir mistakes like anormal human. Just sayin...

Modupsy said...

Funny story.... Students test positive for drugs and the next step is expel them? This is supposed to be a Christian school.... I wonder if this was how Christ distanced himself from sinners if we would have had hope of salvation. Smh .

I hope no error was made in the testing procedure. I hope they were told what they tested positive to.

Mr Chidozie Mario when you go for a job interview abroad and you pass the interview the don't give you notice to go do their drug test because if you don't take the drug 24hrs before the test the will be no trace of it in ur system so if they had been told alot of them would ve stayed away from the substance before going for the test. and if you fail the drug test the don't hire you neither do the show u the result the tell you verbally that you failed the test.

Well said...

Sorry o, I just want to know.There seems to be a large number of Covenant University students and graduates here. Is
LIB a course in your school? As for the RNC man who is on his high horse, Federal Uni graduate , you don get job?, or don dey do business? Generally, you don dey chop at all?

Fuck Christian schools! Such hypocrisy!

@OJ_SEYI said...

Abeg RNC tell us the school you attended where you studied botany. I can smell your illiteracy over the internet. Could it be because you couldn't afford to pay you Lead City school fees after you got admission or you are just too broke and idle just looking for something to do. Just so you know you can't make money writing stupid comments on linda ikeji's blog sir, she makes the money when you make stupid comments.

@_OliverTweet said...

Yeah...Covenant University student and a proud king. Nevertheless, most of us know how to manage our shit.....Did I just see Lead City while scrolling...is that a school or mine??

They must have panel-beated ur brain for u not to see that it is not Covenant University.3-|

beewhy said...

you weren't forced to leave a comment, and it is NEXT not nest!

Itsekiri girl:

This is wrong, but if you go to a christian university,be ready to obey the rules and regulations or get expelled and waste your fathers money.

And to those that love dissing covenant university,i guess your father was not rich enough to send you there, so shut up and let the eagles soar. Up Hebronites!!!

itsekri girl

Beautiful Linda please post my comment,because this @RNC is taking the piss

Will a top company employ people from these universities. Maybe they do I don't know. Wy they go thee I don't know.

You obviously look better than u speak. Ur quite dumb

Even christ said give to caesar what is his. If the school have laws then please obey them

@ Modupsy, u are Ryt...hard drugs aint az bad as ple tink dey are..its d addiction dats bad..cos SEX is SWEET dsnt make 1 an addict##likewise drugs too...#talkin frm xperience#...

Covenant university, redeemer's university?! Please dere's no difference!!!

@RNC its obvious you never went to schl.cos you def dont know how to read and spell..sucker!

Redeemers University is nt a rehabilitation center. They were told b4 getting into d institution.

people sometimes use some products that simulate drugs eg in some hair products. is the lab capable of making the difference

Kopho said...

Hian....informing them about the drug test will change the fact that they had drugs in their systems abi? mscheeew....abeg this is not a CU affair...if they were caught by the police they wld be facing jail terms...they knew the rules n they broke em....its sad that they are in final year ehn....but just take a look at Majek fashek...i'm very sure thats how he started too...

Please Linda, try to research and post the deliberate BLACK OUT in OAU Ife residential Halls while student still have exams and lecture. This act is getting too much of the magt. They are wicked even to the postgraduate halls who are having exams and some still have lecture. Kindly run a story on it for the public to know what we are going through in silence. Great IFE of yesteryears is gradually dwindling. They want to run this once great institution like a boarding house secondary school i went to.

@RNC,ur beef wit Covenant tho.I tink ur problem is dat u cant afford 2 be in a place like dat.CHURCH RAT.

barbie jagz said...

I was a student there n trust me, no 1 wakes up to run drug tests on students, no student gets xpeld without facing panel ok! Its nt Gold buh pls sm ppl managed to graduate der meanin its nt so bad either

proud CU student said...

first of all, there was nothing wrong with what the school did, the rules are supposed to be adhered to, they knew it wasn't allowed and they decided to take drugs......the skul gave them a chance to get rehabilitated, those that went for counselling didn't get expelled.....where is the wisdom in informing students or even anybody of an impending drug test pls enlighten me. the person that said something about christian skuls being stupid.....jo beru olorun, dont heap curses on your head pls respect God....... ABEG ABEG ABEG!!!!!!!! ITS COVENANT UNIVERSITY AND NOT CONVENANT UNIVERSITY.

whats wrong with queuing to get anything done......that's just discipline...smh....Nigerians and their backward mentality

Thanks you, infact, God bless you!

@RNC foolish guy ure not even ashamed of urself first of all u cant spelll secondly ure saying rubbish im sure ur skul is not quarterly as good as 'convenant university'if at all deres a university spelt dat way next tym if u know ure not strong enough wif ur wordings u could share it with ur roomates or ur family and as for d RUN students who got expelled i hope dey forgive dem and help them into the right part cause expelling them doesnt mean dey would change.....

Fucked up schools! I hp you are nt there sha?

Thanks you, infact, God bless you!

@_OliverTweet said...

Truly, the wish of most good parents in Nigeria is to see their ward(s) in good private school(s) buh some can't afford them. I know most of y'all here are broke af and God go punish anyone hating weh be dropout cos its definitely from your villages. I want to round up by saying- stick to your businesses. If you're in a GLORIFIED HEAVEN, good for you. Lastly, HATING ON PRIVATE UNIVERSITY STUDENTS WON'T MAKE YOU GRADUATE 4rm A PUBLIC UNIVERSITY ANY 'FASTER'. *drops mic*

Hordhunharyhor said...

Well said indeed. It marvels me how some of our religious institutions act irrationally. What actually is Christianity? Does it permit you to become a jury over other people's misdeeds?
Christianity transcends beyond you claiming it by tongue rada it HS a lot mre to do wif ur actions.
If the 'so-called' Christians detest sinners and seggregate dem, who den will show Dem d pathway to righteousness?
A Yoruba adage has it dat 'Behaeding isn't the therapy to Headache'.
If students are indulgin in illicit acts that are not as grievous as cultism, gangsterism or d likes, den d best way to scold Dem isn't totally disregarding Dem or truncating dier education. Dat in itself is enuff 2 mke Dem becme depressed. Idleness might mke Dem resolve to deviance at d longrun.

the fact that these schls CU, BU, RUN, etc r glorified sec schls doesnt mean that wat the students of RUN did wasnt bad. doing drugs in schl is nt a very good decision considering the fact that it's a pri uni. btw we shd al rememeber dat u go 2 d uni 2 acquire knowledge...as long as u can efend ur certificate, there shldnt b any discrimination...

IFY said...

Did you read the story well before commenting?I don't think so, most of the students were given a chance for rehab but they turned it down so go bak and read again thanks.

U shud think of using your money to learn how to spell 1st before *covenant*

Well said...

What is it with all these people saying christian institutions shoudnt be like that.. Christian institutoins have rules, people know about these rules before they get in the school.so its either they abide by the rules or they get out.

Yea ryt like serzly it doesn't make sense u expel students cos dey whr tested positive 2 hard drugs nd u call it a Goldly institution y nt jus continue wif d church nd knw dat u'r raising pipo 4 christ

Guy,itz nt a private uni bt an advanced secondary skool.y'all live less than adults in those skools n itz a pity. I don't support drug use tho' bt ds skool jst showed gross injustice n yet claim 2 b religious.plus dat adeleye dude jst confessed dat such skools as urs are into 'revenue' tinz.

Shut up na! A hundred of you convenant creatures have correct him. Can we move on???

Well said...its a serious issue cos if help cnt com frm religious bodies den i wonder. U said it all!

@RNC being in a private institution is not by force oh!! You either conform or you get the hell out. Sides, its Redeemers and not COVENANT University.

@tiffany malu wat r sayin?for ur mind,ur actin like a patriotic nigerian...well New flash:deres sth called 2nd chance..

Kim said...

so @rnc u r saying drugs is right abi? u guys should free us in private unis, nobody forced u to pass write their entrance exam or even pass it.. so u guys should all park well. And please read properly before making any comment on any post, the school in question here is redeemers not covenant they sound alike in any way neither are they spelt alike..its time for u guys dissing privates schools to sleep \___

First of all private unis hav done a lot of good 2 nigerian students. Dey admit everyone else who fails jamb or post ume. And dashing students easy 2.1 gpa. Following the schools rules is the least anyone can do.I don't see anything wrong with the schools judgement.if a student is caught with the possesion of anyform of drug in a federal institution,d student wud b arrested and it wud be filed tainting d persons name for life. Expulsion is really a modest punishment.

@RNC r u blind? Its Redeemers not Covenant n pls check the spelling its not convenant. U r too busy hating to even notice ur spelling. Oh my bad... maybe u just can't spell.
OMOTENIOLA

Anon 5:53 PM... LIB course kor LIB course ni. Apart from that u r quite funny.
OMOTENIOLA

Well private universities didn't force anyone to buy admission forms.You applied to the school,the school didn't apply 2 u.# Irestmycase

Please kindly ask your brother if they sought their consent, otherwise it's a breach of the law(in a sane country).
It's their test result and they have the right to have a copy.

Hmmmm! This is really sad,how can a private christian skool say bcse of drugs they will expel 400l studnt who are meant to graduate in july, According to the dean of studnts affairs *he said he knew a studnt was taking hard drugs since 3yrs nd he did nothing about it! The registra also said they are sad d studnts are going cse its gonna be a loSs to the skool dat means they don't even care about the welfare of the student but the money involvd or dat a studnt doesn't go for lectures more reason they av to tell him to leave when he is already in 400l??! Did they not know all this while dat he didn't use to attend lecturs they are meant to help retrace their steps by counseln them not sending em out of skool to the street cse most of em are alraedy fraustrated nd mite not even go home cse of fear! They shd look for a way out of this mess not discriminate.

am a CU guy 4 lyf up CU

Doing drugs is bad but expelling them is d worst judgement.biblically,Jesus didn't condemn d adulterous women even wen she was abt to be stone to death....u don't show love by condeming ppl.expelling them may even make them go back to their vomit...d best option wud av bin suspension.

Doing drugs is bad but expelling them is d worst judgement.biblically,Jesus didn't condemn d adulterous woman even wen she was abt to be stone to death....u don't show love by condeming ppl.expelling them may even make them go back to their vomit...d best option wud av bin suspension.

Oops! I saw it, a great eyesore

RNC said...

These CONVENANT glorified secondary school students are cracking me up. Oh...did I get the spelling wrong again? LOL

I finished from RUN nd I tried to avoid all dis kind of mess, there is no freedom of speech u can't say what u have against the sch d nextthing is expulsion but on a more serious note that CSO needs to investigate well and most of d time all dis rules are nt written in d handbook

OJ_SEYI said...

@RNC all and all to be the retard you have been depicted as... FUCK YOU!!!

berry...... said...

why the viciousness in your comments CU students? calm down and let the mistake pass. since nt all the students were tested, it means its possible to stay out of trouble init? as for the occurence it is best one abstains frm such act and if you cant abstain pls dnt buy the admission form. life is full of choices indeed. folks shud also nt force their kids to such schools. let us apply wisdom in our comments, read and pass if you dont have somethng proper to say and nt insults abeg! btw, i am a COVENANT UNIVERSITY student. God bless.

Its a university not a Rehab,let their parents take them were they shld be,if d church start flogging them in the name of deliverance,na una go still tlk.That's the best thing they did.

@RNC, u r too bush, just accept the fact that u dont know, and learn or u keep shut and die a mumu.And for the 1000th time, its COVENANT UNIVERSITY

see dis mumu, u r tryin to cover up ur mistake ehh ,abeg go to blazes. its a glorified secondary school, can u afford it?@RNC

@RNC, did you ever make it to a school gate, whose fault that you re BROKE! If a child can't understand the need to take corrections its understandable, but wen a grown BOY, can't YIELD to correction, then he is a disaster going somewhere to happen. WISDOM calls for change.
BTW... It's C.O.V.E.N.A.N.T not convenant.
Ode Oshiiiiiii to infinity

@RNC, did you ever make it to a school gate, whose fault that you re BROKE! If a child can't understand the need to take corrections its understandable, but wen a grown BOY, can't YIELD to correction, then he is a disaster going somewhere to happen. WISDOM calls for change.
BTW... It's C.O.V.E.N.A.N.T not convenant.
Ode Oshiiiiiii to infinity

@_OliverTweet said...

LESSON LEARNED: don't fuck with CU students on here...we are *prolly the largest community of L.I.B readers!! ^_^

Some pple can never be gud @ spellings no mata ow hard dey try,dey probably wernt thot dictations in pry schl,bt dts nt to snuff out lyf frm d poor RNC guy.ah han,wat has he done to deserve such insults? This is not a platform for abuses nd insults.som pple wud rada luk 4 odas mistakes dan make comments,nd it shows dat a large percentage of commenters hia are teenagers who barely can differentiate dere right frm dere left. Plz let's be careful ooo

If u can't afford covenant university fees, den u shouldn't insult it cos ur judgments might b based on anger.... #I drop my mic

supremacydone said...

Flat breasted monitoring lizard! #U are sighted

@RNC, You started it, and you must finish wat yu started, FYI We are proud to be in a 'covenant glorified secondary school' that is the privilege you never had.. We aint complaining

University of Nigeria Blog said...

If you can't afford going to private university, don't judge them in anger. And you call christian school 'stupid' do you know majority of the schools are set-up by missionaries?
God forgive our little heart. Amen.

Bolu Ola said...

All this senrenre bcos some dimwitted dude cant accept his faults. N I am simply tired of all this sad people abusn CU. We are sorry u cant afford d skul fees. Stop channeling ur anger 2wards us. Jobless n Pathetic.

Bolu Ola said...

n its a skul, an institution not some hopeless place or a charity home that caters 4 alredi destroyed lives. Linda abeg post my comment