Photos: Inside female hostel at Medical School Idi Araba (LUTH) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 January 2013

Photos: Inside female hostel at Medical School Idi Araba (LUTH)

This is where women have their baths. Such an eyesore. Instead of spending billions on one person's home/office, i.e Sambo, the Federal Government of Nigeria should instead look into renovating and rebuilding facilities in institutions like this. Heard there's no stable light there, difficult to get water and mosquito nets at the hospital are torn. Some medical students from the school sent me the photos after seeing the ones from the police college. See more photos after the cut...

268 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 268 of 268

I couldn't stop the tears stinging my eyes, when you have been outside Nigeria and compare our Nation to others you will weep. our leaders hate us, we hate ourselve, the VC of that school is an animal. two weeks ago i was at Kwame Nkrumah University of Technology Kumasi and saw so much superiority in how things work in small Ghana. Nigeria and Nigerians are butterflies calling themselves eagles.

UNIBEN'S hostel toilet and bathroom is still like this o, so take note.

i tink naija universities shld b pravitized! check out private Universities. i went to 1, OMG! d toilet can never b like that even if 10 pple use it without cleaning. FG, SHAME ON U!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OMG!!!!! these skols shld b privatized oooo> a private skol toilet can neva b like dat even if 10 pple use it without cleaning> BIKO! thank God i dint attend such skol. my skin wld av roatten

Excuse me what's with "thank God OOU lacks hostels"? Who told u it applies to only hostels? It applies to anywhere u have female students (dirty ones at that)

U r partly right but it still boils down to a gross lack of maintenance of these facilities by those responsible. Just imagine a busy medical student having to search for water to flush everytime she needs to pee... will she bring a water tanker from home or is it her duty to clean? Are there no longer porters and cleaners who receive monthly salary for that purpose? Pls be sensible. People run abroad for medical care for sundry reasons, some very stupid and some due to ignorance. A dirty hostel does not translate to poor knowledge or incompetence. And as a matter of fact, those girls still manage to be cleaner than you

SUE JORDAN said...

I WENT TO COMLAG AND IN MY 6 YEARS THERE THE SCHOOL NEVER PUT A COAT OF PAINT ON THE WALLS.....WE THE GIRLS WERE RESPONSIBLE FOR KEEPING THINGS CLEAN, SUPERVISED BY OUR SENIORS ALL THE TIME...

SO MY DEAR MED STUDENTS, YOU HAVE NO EXCUSE...THIS IS SHAMEFUL, AND YOU ARE TRAINING TO BECOME DOCTORS??? SAD!

Yes. Where are the people responsible for taking care of this place? The school authorities, the hostel managers etc? People just don't care. And btw, why do these students continue to use the place? Why can't they just agree to go to the authorities en masse and lodge their complaints?

U think u did teach him his job but he knows more than u can ever know... unless u r a doctor yourself. Go ahead, say it again that u taught a doc his job... hope it makes u feel really good. :p

And this university is said to be the best in Nigeria no wonder parents are sending their children to Republic of Benin, Ghana, Gambia, Kenya for university education.Where are the Alumni? what are the religious institutions doing( this is a better cause than buying private jets)? Shame on The President of Nigeria! Shame on the Vice Chancellor of this University!!, Shame on the Nigerian people!!!

Imagine, our state governor focus on people that violating traffic order, punishing them, who will punishe him now for not keeping his state.

Adriel said...

Its like I can see the germs & diseases coming out from the walls *shivers* This is disgusting & I will always say it...We are our own worst enemies! Look at a medical school & before that it was the police college looking like where rats are breed! No wonder our police officers are what they are smh & all GEJ could do is blast Channels T.V for their investigative journalism works (he thinks all T.V stations are like N.T.A )leaders & people in authority sucking their fellow citizens dry

Shut up! Bomb is in ur head, Fool.! Why don't you have a cloth and keep washing it till it fades out, then keep on wearing it. Ode.

na wao

Na wa o....this is why we have quack doctors.

na wa o but its not just LASUTH its all government schools

A̶̲̥̅♏ also a part2 student! N d rats ar medically oriented, dey knw wat Τ̲̅ȍ eat n wat Τ̲̅ȍ nt eat! N d lyt is seriously bad!!! Dey shld help o o!

I agree

I think the focus should be on the management of the various institutions,there are budgetary provisions for all government institutions. The chief Executives of the various government agencies are smiling to the bank rather than using the funds for what they are appropriated for. The national assembly should wake up to it's responsibility and take there oversight functions more serious

sheylee bee said...

The reality is that some of our major structures were built under the military era, the so called democratic rule we've been clamoring for cannot even renovate this structures....nigeria is hopeless

Es3 said...

This level of rot after 12 years of ACN leadership in Lagos and ownership of a prime medical institution such as LUTH?!

What has Lai mohammed got to say about this???

Bulllllllllllllllllshit.A̶̲̥̅♏ vomiting now.pls don't show ♍ƺ again.inuwo

The University of first choice and the nations pride :)

This i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ shameful, hostel be like dust bin

Maintenance is the major issue. After it's renovated, how will it be maintained.

Wisdom(S) said...

Students should av maintenance culture BUT i still blame d aurhorities cos they're suppose to have workers responsible for cleaning n maintenance.

So it is d sanitation that is affecting the door too abi......she is not talking about it been dity. Kindly look at yhe building and you would realize it needs renovation.

female doctors are very dirty people... i know one in my compound... very dirty girl. yuckk!

Ugobest said...

The question is; Who can we send? Who can go for us to repair these govt facilities without stealing the funds? An average Nigerian, from the public to the govt officials are looking for an avenue to steal. Barely no one is trust worthy. loot, loot,loot, Steal, steal, steal, bribe, bribe, bribe, pay,pay, pay. Everything in Nigeria is all about, "how much are you willing to pay" May God have mercy!!!!

i get the fact dat u d ladies shld be blamed too buh it's jst to sn extent.....wu maintains sumfn bad? wu?.....4rm d start,dz hostels wre meant 4 two pple to a rum,dre re 12 rums on each floor....nw,wat we av in our hostels r 6pple to dat same rum size,sum 4 n sum,two,of wch 3 pple r nau allocated to the ones dst used to be two.........do the maths!!! das s OVERPOPULATION!!!!!!!!! aw do u expect 60 pple(minus squatters and floaters o)to manage wat was originally meant for 24 pple?.......wen i was in part 1,our lecturers cum to class nd tell us dt during dir own tym,dey were jst two in d rum,dir laundries wre done,dir rums wre swept 4 dem and all......all dey had to do was to go to class nd read......NOW wat do we av......we sit on metals,half the seats in our classes are bad,no lyt,no water,d rum z sumfn else!!!!!!!!!!......4 d past few wks,my class hs bn "oozing".....ril bad dat pple had to cum to class wv *sprays*........it aint nyc @ al..........my class' exam z in less dan a month,we stl av lectures,we sti av 5 undone tests.......dey r rushn us lyk we r machines,we stl av lectures til lyk 6 and we r supposed to pass dz proffessional exams??????????? jst 2de,i learnt dat dey v added extra 8k to ds same hostel fees o......v neva seen anywia dt u hit ur legs on the floor 4 rats nd dey stl stay dre....buh here in luth,u stamp ur feet on d ground and dey stl run 2wrds u.......our toilets dnt flush...d tanks have no control,evrywia s always flooded...nd lots more......i'm pained,my heart "bleeds".....it's so sad!!!!!!!!! *crying*............4rm a pained student!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This has little to do with govt. How about this girls raise funds within themselves and clean their hostel?
If these girls contribute a portion of the lot they spend on BB and weaves to get their bathrooms cleaned and sweep their corridors,then we can listen to them and ask the govt to repair the infrastructure.
The bathroom is dirty before any other thing.

I agree wit u Gbam! Wen i wz servin,d Sojaz wl b chasin som babes 4 sanitatn nd 2 kip dier toilets clean,instead dy wil b runnin,dy prefr shot-put & b throwin dier padz bhind d walls wer ppl ar livin.Hw many babes buy paint say make i jst do am b4 govt com repair d hostel?

Evrytin GEJ,make una kil am make person hear word sef.SMH

@Anon: 5:51. Its surprising dt in d midst of all this, na condom wey dey ground u dey identify.

To those saying the girls should do environmental sanitation and clean the place by themselves first...CANT YOU SEE.??? This one calls for total renovation, not cleaning.

Anon 9.59 A.M made the most sensible comment here.

Anon 9.59 A.M made the most sensible comment here. People should be reasonable in their way of thinking.

dat's y a lot of naija women nor fit born. Infection don scatter deir belle.

It's easy for people to say they aren't maintaining it but it's not the students' fault. How are they to maintain it without water or with the rats running around with reckless abandon?

I wish my school hostels were this fresh

...itzcaseyboze

Anon 7:56am must be mad. The toilets in oou lecture theatres are kinda nicer looking though. And without hostels, oou students' residences will rival the homes of working class people in lagos. Choke on that.

Tare said...

hmmm...horrible pictures.

uwaifo peter osaa said...

Chika,i suspect u for sending linda ikeji these......lol

a whole lot of government institutions looks worse than this. students/individuals yet struggle out of this shithole with good grades and still get no job.
this is what we will keep getting when we have government with misplaced priorities.

so irritating,our govt should do sumtin to help those girls from contanct staphlococus

I STAY IN JAPAN ...MY JAPANESE WIFE SAW ME READING THIS NEWS AND SAW THESE PICTURES...SHE ASKED ME BABY WHERE IS THIS? I LIED TO HER THAT, IT IS NIGERIA PRISON BUT HER REPLY WAS.....WHY IS NIGERIA PRISON SO MESSED UP...IMAGIN IF I TELL HER THE TRUETH WICH I DID NOT ,,,LOL

If they are complaining about this what do they want us to say about the NYSC camps, I personally think that d worst...

Practicus said...

Where are the ALUMNI???????

Harvard has $30+ billion endowment due to donations and investment of funds received from alumni, corporate entities, philanthropists etc. When last did alumni visit their schools? Same goes for all universities and secondary schools in naija. Is there school pride? "Homecoming" in US universities is an opportunity to bring alumni back to campus once a year to see the school and squeeze them for donations.

The fact that it is a public institution does not preclude it from having a large alumni driven endowment for maintenance/building of facilities and buying equipment

Nawa oh,Lord av mercy, dis is more than disgusting,cant imagine living there:(

You are all Dim bats for asking the ladies to do clean up!!! Are they going to clean those old doors or dead beat tiles... Those need to be changed and re vamped... Yes they can keep their environment clean but this is not a cleaning issue it is a structural maintenance issue. That is why we don't move forward when our Govt has no maintenance culture and illiterates back them up by saying the ladies should clean up.

Don't be stupid... Let the money be allocated first and when we the people find out it is not used as it should, then we can protest that is what the Students Unions used to be for ...

Another nit wit...

Not true carry placard and protest ... Even ten peoples voices can be heard... Also call channels Tv to broadcast it...use the power of the media and the Student Union voice... Only be peaceful!

Don't mind the idiot and Nimcompo the trash is not the problem.. Look are the doors should they dispose of them too...what of the tiles and floors should they be thrown away too. Obviously you are an illiterate if not you would not open your mouth to speak in a public for without understanding the issues

Another nit wit...

You Are a nuisance so you think the students carried sticks and beat the doors or carried sand and dirt and poured on the tiles... Fool!!! This is from years of usage and no maintenance. If you don't have anything tangible to say Shut up!!!

Illiterate...

Idiot... Shut up!!!

Illiterate...

You Are a nuisance so you think the students carried sticks and beat the doors or carried sand and dirt and poured on the tiles... Fool!!! This is from years of usage and no maintenance. If you don't have anything tangible to say Shut up!!!

So many schools toilets/bathrooms/laundry rooms in Nigeria are in similar condition. My school Rivers State University of Science and Tech. had same looking bathrooms (Hotel D and B) Class of '99. I don't know what it looks like today. But through my 4years + strike and all, I never ever used the toilets in the classroom blocks. And when the then NEPA will strike we had back up generators. Even my secondary school in Port Harcourt was the same. Always had like 2-3" of dirty water on the floor, nastiest ever.

This is the same in most schools in Nigeria. Even secondary schools with 2-3" of dirty water on the floor. This is the nastiest sight ever. Also the students are dirty too, some do not even have good water flushing toilets at home so they cant maintain these.

The facilities in LUTH are terrible. Not only the student hostels but also the patient wards. I actually wanted to use the toilets one day in the patients ward I couldn't because it was so disgusting had to run out,no running water imagine in a hospital.A visit to the patients ward will make you cry for Nigeria. I gues channels should do a documentary on luth.That hospital needs visionary management.Imagine dentists using torch lights when the light goes out

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 268 of 268   Newer› Newest»