Cynthia Osokogu’s murder: court releases pharmacists | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 November 2012

Cynthia Osokogu’s murder: court releases pharmacists

The two pharmacists arrested in connection with the July 22nd murder of Cynthia Osokogu have been released unconditionally by a court in Lagos. Maduakor Chukwunonso and Orji Osita (pictured above) who are pharmacists at Oxpharm Pharmacy where the drugs used in sedating Cynthia was bought, were released based on the advice of the Director of Public Prosecution.

The Lagos High court ruled that “there was no evidence where the pharmacists had an agreement with the first and second defendants to kill the late Ms Osokogu."

48 comments:

Gbam!

Yeah.I always thought they didn't deserve to have their reputation tarnished cos they did something every pharmacy in Nigeria does-sell control drugs.There's no real regulation.Trust the daft,corrupt police investigators to lump everyone into the case!Thank God someone else had the brains to separate criminals from innocent men.God alone knows how much was creamed of the two men!

daayur said...

just hoping the case will be thoroughly investigated.

The drug in question should be banned, it provides no medical remedy so why have it on the shelf?
http://theglamfile.blogspot.com

Its been a long time coming *sigh* this will definitely be a lesson for us other pharmacists....

Thought he's been released all dis while.

Issorai! At least they are innocent of the murder.

"K"
@MzEllatyra

Its sad what the drugs were later used to accomplish but there was no use holding those guys in the first place, the drugs bought aren't prescription drugs or red alert drugs or something, and anything that has to do with over the counter drugs you can't hold a pharmacist responsible for selling it or what the buyer does with it.
May Cynthia continue to R.I.P

Good. Not fair 4 pple 2 suffer wat dey didn't dO! Buh 4 dos 2 remaining guys... Na capital punishment fins ooo. R.I.P Cynthia.

Y wld they even sell d drugs see their tif face

Thank you!
Justice has prevailed!

Billie Jean

No one should just come here and type stupid&ignorant information!!!
These pharms are innocent,people come to buy valium all d time&they can use it commit suicide too..blame it on nigeria where u don't need prescription!!!

Mr Franklin Flaming Sexy said...

Fair enough! here is what bothers me "is the investigation thorough enough?" Nigeria's justice system is a joke. What are the genuine efforts being made to prosecute every one involved in the poor girl's killing? has anyone in the justice or police system been bribed? we will never get answers to these questions *sigh*

yh, that's true, no matter how it seems, as long as there is no evidence, we cant just prosecute them for selling a product, something they do like everyday

wat dey wud ve done a long tym ago ****switchloe****

finally.....

finally......
May her soul rest in peace and the culprits convicted.

Hmmm...interesting...but I concur with d judgement... Livin in a country with no structured system on how to do things... In developed countries u hav u get presription frm ur physician b4 u can purchase drugs... But hia in naija my country I can walk into GEJ's (clueless man) pharmacy and purchase cynide no questions askd... Naija unna no dey fail o! Even as d country b o! We stil dey laugh o!

That's nice, the pharmacists didn't know what they are going to use the drugs for so they should release them abeg.

June said...

No Evidence! So they are innocent...cool!

ETHAN said...

Thank God for this two.They didn't knw wat those killers wanted to use d med for.

mtcheww police can be very shoddy in their investigation

Chinyere said...

praise God!

dats gud..the pharmacists did nt knw what plan the people who bought the drug had..the we're simply sellings their market..*igbo boyz*

Sharrap if na u wat will u do?

Ada Yankee said...

Kai so its only now that they are releasing them, even after it was proven that they were innocent!! Naija is a hot mess!!!

wat a story... i pity the late girl oooo...more gist on entertainment and celebrity lifestyle here at www.gistyinka.com

Blessing God's name 4 ds.thank U dear God

Am sure those murderers were steady customers of these pharmacists, one can only assume that they knew what the drugs were meant for but kept quiet about it.

Life is not all about sales and money.
A precious life has been wasted because of our complacent way of life, this attitude of "e no concern me, after all no be my sister" is simply wrong.

It's better the drugs don't come from you at all that is don't stock it, don't sell it! Am sure most comments posted are from relatives of the dubious pharmacists. God is the ultimate judge.

Awwww poor young pharmacist , thank God they are released now

helen said...

let there be no magomago in this case...Gbam

www.naijaopenmouth.com

Scarlet Xi said...

Thank God for them, justice for these ones atleast.

MBK said...

@ 5:38am, nt every pharmacy sells controll drugs over d counter pls, check facts b4 u post, am a Pharmacist n i knw dat nt all Pharmacies do dat, am jes glad these Pharmacists were released, they will jes face d diciplinary panel of d Pharmacist Council Of Nigeria, cos theirs is a case professnal of misconduct. I reli wish them d best n hp they will learn frm dia mistake.

Some drugs need a prescription....They should be jailed for not asking questions before selling the drug.

Nonya said...

Anon 10.29am, how daft a person you are. To go in your line of thinking: A man has a shop where he sells kitchen utensils. He sells a knife to a woman and the woman uses the knife to murder her husband. You are saying that knife seller should also be arrested and thrown in jail with the murderer? Kai Nigerians and their useless ways of thinking. God help us.

Seriously??? U are daft sha! Did Nigerian govt ban d drug, why won't they stock it?? The drug is a sedative, some people actually use it for the purpose it was produced..

They are two pharmacists.
Oversabi

Anon 10:29 all I can say is"God pls dnt let this person die ignorant"...and nope,I'm not in any way related to the pharmacists..

Anonymous 10:29am u must be the most highly down sized twat on earth. shallow good for nothing idiot. Besides that drug makes someone high and puts you to sleep slowly it's a drug bought every day by people so how and why would you think or say the pharmacists knew anything about it.. You just come and write trash her just cuz u wanna be part of people who commented. It's jst sad she fell a victim (hard luck) may her soul rip and may the main culprists be jailed 4 life for this inhuman act.

Why wouldn't they? Are they not pharmasist?

kendra said...

Anon 10:29,why didn't u google what that drug does to the body before commenting? That drug makes someone high,then put u to sleep gradually.. So how were they suppose to know what the boys needed the drugs for? Besides,it wasn't the drugs that killed her cos they guys said they drugs didn't work on the girl that much that's why they tied her and beat her up,then gave her a blow to the head which was how she died(RIP).

So don't come here and talk trash outta ignorance,that ain't cool at all... BTW,nobody asks u any question in any pharmacy in Nigeria.. Go to common benin republic,no pharmacy will sell drugs for u without doctors prescription and other countries to,even parecetamol wouldn't be sold until a doc prescribes it for u,so why are u blaming the 2 pharmacist?

Am sure ur soul is still grieving n dt has confused u, they sold d drugs cos they r pharmacists. U r d only person who commented like a fool on dis topic.

leave d busines men 4 body alone na dia bely dm d find o

Hmmm up naija.. I know that gradually dey will release all of them..

Ify said...

My only question is this,if the killers've confessed to the killing why are we yet to see their faces clearly in the media?I really don't trust the police in that country!

Wht abt does suffering frm insomnia or does dt wanna undergo surgery, dnt dey use sedatives...Drugs dt falls into dt category cn't b banned bt thoroughly controlled