Video: D'Banj Surprises Pupils at Plumstead Manor School | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 24 May 2012

Video: D'Banj Surprises Pupils at Plumstead Manor School

This D'banj has gone international o...

116 comments:

mary gift said...

Wishing him all the best, he should also stop the dissing and avoid going broke anytime soon ...............

Janded said...

See dbanj o. Roles Models

Blunt Queen said...

Okay oooo for those who think he can't survive without don jazy . How una see am

Chinyere said...

And they seemed genuinely excited...i SEE the naija flag in ur back pocket..God will continue to lift you higher Dbanj

Linda I think you are a tribalist. What is "THIS Dbanj"? if it was Psauare or Don baba, you wont call them "this P sqaure" or this Don jAZZY...SAD

Dbanj has gone international.....dats stale news,and its "plumstead"

Big ups man! Representing Naija possitively 4rm other thugs who make Naija feel luks as if we are war zone n home of tauts...

Dbanj, please come to Harvard. Some of the students there would love to meet you

aww said...

Aww the excitment is soooo refreshing. Dbanj those who do not wish you well can kindly jump off a steep cliff

Very nice but can some1 pls tell dbanj to stop waering those daggone shades all the time

Linda I think using the term "this" dbanj is condescending

Well done Dbanj..really proud of u..people need to stop beefing...

Still on this oliver twist steez? Ok o. ride it wella.. cos by d time d song fades if u aint got a follow up, u fade along.

hmm said...

how do the kids know who he is? do they show his music videos on the tv over there? if so thats a great accomplishment o...Sade, Seal, Fela now Dbanj.thumbs up

dbanjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj

surprise ke surprise ni? something that was obviously arranged. besides dbanj has changed london to his country. he's always in london!

will olu said...

Nice one! Very happy for Dbanj, deserved!!!

he's doing well 4 himself....happy 4 him...

Lowlah

ETHAN said...

The sky is ur limit dapo.

sakara said...

apparently all da black kids n plumstead manor knows dbanj,next time he shd pls pull up his pants so d kids dont start wearing their pants half floor

Na wah o........

Miss Yoyin said...

Wetin be plumstead manor? My friend;come to feyingbole grammar sch where u will be treated like a star jare and where they know your other songs apart from oliver twist!

team dbanj said...

RESPEK! Dear Dbanj, GOD’S BLESSING WILL INVITE ENVY. As He lifts you higher, others will try to pull you down. Some will fight. Some will spite. They can hate you but THEY CAN’T STOP YOU. They will set traps for you, but the Lord will order your steps. HE WILL TURN THEIR STUMBLING BLOCKS INTO YOUR STEPPING-STONES. Keep your heart pure. Walk in love. Forgive your enemies. Be wise. Remember this: WHEN YOU’RE BLESSED, YOU’RE BLESSED!

Eerrrr ayam muhhh daaan confuuuzzed iy cyant even taip well.... Wdh??? What's he gonna be telling lil kids ???ur My kokolets ??????? Nna nawa ooo

Lin pls stop serving us rotten food! We are tired of this guys gist!!!! He's so irritating; always standing like a bush pig or house boy! Very disgusting inferior material. Any of his stupid voltrons that will reply me here ehn! Monkey go barb your hair for your yeye sleep

Nice, keep flying the flag

O oooooooooo sheeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Wow! I'm so loving D'banj. Keep moving higher dude!

Haters may God allow u all to live n c dis movement grow.......ntooooooor all of u shall not die o but live n c d success in motion....meanwhile dbanj u don make donjazzy vex himasef wan deg talk 4public now o.....I laff

All d Marvin put together...........I greet una o.I wish all of u show in d Uk.I pity d promoter Seymour go bbring una come....Na loss account.itellya

so why cant he come to nigeria and visit the students too

Well done DBanj!!!! I love the Nigerian flag in his pocket too. Nice one.

Se lori oliver twist yi naa... Oma ga o.

Is he the first african musician to have gone international or wat? Is this really news??? Abeg pass the mic

Antonia said...

I am so happy for him. A Nigerian putting us in a positive light for once. x x

shoooo!....dbanj don turn student icon

rierce said...

Dbanj Ñž☺ΰ re a fool,there re diff schs here in africa and even ur country that needs surprises Ñž☺ΰ re doing it for the people who care less about Ñž☺ΰ smh.

kaffie said...

Nigerians made him wat he is today, he should have started with a Nigerian school or is he too good for a Nigerian school?
#justwondering

aww he is such a cutiee, i wish him well, i think he would reach the top,better than where he is.

Plumsted!! Hahaha! tha razz area in south london..known for Jamo pple and Naijas that carry drugs! That's where drug dealers live in London!
Anyway no hating..:D

oh i'm so happy for him!

i like it when pple do things in a global way....dbanj pls ride on ...its not enough sitting down and getting comfotable in one little corner.....its high Nigerian artist started mixing with foreign artist...stop being a local champ....dbanj keep up the good work

Fantastic!

Blackknight! said...

Wow, this made me smile.I like D'Banj's strategy here....It sure will keep the crowd rolling. Nice one mate.

How many Naija artist go receive that kind scream for UK school?

How many has he surprised in Agege?

Wow...This is my Secondary school. Im proud to call myself a lady of the Manor....well done d'banj, the ladies look so happy.

wont go that far Linda. First of all its Plumstead. thats about the only place he would be recognised as its 90% Nigerians and thats where he used to live. When he does a sell out show that is not a 100% Nigerian nationalities then we can say he has gone international.... Im seriously struggling to buy the hype.

Nice one scibanj ..I went to college in that school...buh true how many student will scream like that in agege

Amiga said...

Just saw this on ITV news at 10.
Why can't D'banj ever comport himself. He is forever mucking about when he is asked a question that everything he says is lost in foolishness. Sort it out dude. Aaargh

Shameless dbanj hw many did he visit in mushin n co.pass d mic #tired of dbanjz gist Joooo

Saw d tweets on twitter. I'm happy for him. His taking Naija places. He really is a gambler. And to think I was team Donjazzy! *kmt* I understand it all now. Dbanj wanted to take a risk, don jazzy wasn't willing to. He thought "y go there n fail when we have it all here already". Hmmm. I'm sure wherever he is now, he'd b angry with himself. But to each man their own

CHI

LPS said...

Congrats Dapo

Plumstead...hahahahahaha!!! I laugh so hard. Till you go to a school in Chelsea and get such welcome before we know you have arrived.
Secondly, the white girls look so so lost, like who is this...*rolling*..This video is priceless

Stupid nonsensical goat! Why a school in plumstead? He should go to one in Yorkshire or chelsea sef and let's see if they know him.
I'm sure him and his team bought half of the singles, plus this is pure pr drive... nothing for him, it is all a big hype!
Dbanj is now trying to speak fone and the only fone he knows is 'top of the morning'... he should keep see,king fame abroad & neglecting his naija fans who clearly ain't good enough for him anymore... you go soon see how far and yes i am hating, sue me!

Nice one skibanj, osheee

Kaffie; Nigerian school in London? Ignorance is a disease! Please read the post again. Nice one D'Banj.

Bunch of losers (commenters)on this Blog. I see the reason why most of them dont do well in life.

Also for the Anon comment that claimed that is 90% Nigerians, you must be blind like Nigerian politicians

ONOME says.......
Yes ooooo.Saw him on BBC news.Apparently he said he was a bin man some 10yrs ago there.And when he got there,he called his mom and said"mommy,we did it !".Wish u all the best bro.The world is ur oyster:)

sexylove said...

Seriously cant βε̲̣̣̣̥ bothered by this d'banj news....NEXT!!!!!!!!yawns

DdeeXclusv said...

@holuwase, heard hes changed his name from dapo to ..........?

Yet you spent time to read the news and even comment...na wa o, what will you do when you're bothered?

Exactly! I saw it on itv news too and I thought 'what the heck is he on about'??? He can't express himself, he can't answer a simple question without making a fool of himself, how on earth will anyone take him seriously? Can someone tell me how he is taking Naija forward????

I think Dbanj needs to calm down and then go back to school. End of

Linda, it's not fair o! You are always ignoring my post. I wonder the criteria you use to approve posts, that by the way, D'banj the sky is your starting point.

The entire mavin crew has commented on dis post.. Especially Bizzle

DEEFLAMEZ said...

Reading some comments here made me speechless...Well, since am actually writing, speech won't be needed.
I think some of you really need to calm-da-fuck-down, yes i said it. D'Banj made a surprise visit to Plumstead which used to be his hood back in his days, it doesn't matter if its Ghetto, Jamo or 500% Naija inhabitants, all that matters is that he did it, if you want him in Yorkshire or Chelsea, get his number & talk to his Manager, if you can't, kindly fuck-off.

And to those asking how many Nigerian schools he visited while in Nigeria, oh well you obviously weren't part of his Crew and am sorry to tell you that he actually combed the hoods of Naija thus earning him Street Credibility. He's a businessman and he's marketing himself to every category the best way he can. What aint 'bad' is 'good', he's done NOTHING wrong here, so you either drop your Congrats or move-da-fuck-on

To those hating for nothing. My favorite quote for you: "If you derive pleasure in hating another man's success, you have no business being successful"...now let me put it the MFM way: "Everyone who wishes his fellow man down for no reason, May you NEVER see REASON to make it in Life" ***AMEN***

Now those who will attack me for this are those who are actually 'guilty'. Don't worry, just take the prayer while i say a loud AMEN to it again & again. #nuffsaid

@willadebo

cylina'dor said...

Lol.......@Any of his stupid voltrons that will reply me here ehn! Monkey go barb your hair for your yeye sleep. Sorry I am #teammavincrew say whateva u like, I like dbanj no beef buh I love don jazzy n wat he is tryna do down here! #teamdonjazzy.

There must be a lot of pressure on him, if he can't follow OLIVER TWIST with another banger, he's finish. I wonder what is happening to the man who made/produce the beat? I feel for Don..I feel he's been cheated! Kanye CAN NEVER make dbanj sound GOOD like Don Jazzy.

orisirisi said...

my gosh! when will this pure unadulterated hatred stop in this naija of ours..what has dbanj personally done to any of you to warrant all these personal insults? a goat? a bastard, a fool? why? and you blame the politicians when half of you cannot live in love and be genuinely happy for each other

kiz said...

Linda, you should also put the video where he was dancing with the students...very nice! the kids were singing along.it is on youtube.

kiz said...

Linda, you should also put the video where he was dancing with the students...very nice! the kids were singing along.it is on youtube.

Na wah for haters o..someone said its just plumstead even when hes number 9 in the UK national charts not urban or r&b but National. Face the fact people, hes big now and am proud of him as a Nigerian. He was on ITV news too here's a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWzvGAgQ7Sw&feature=related

good for you dbanj. keep doing your job and be the best you can. now, on a lighter note, the other white kids were looking like "tha hell are we doing here?!"lol looks were priceless

producer$

Femiluv said...

I'm so happy for him, congrats!! Although I have to say, watching the video many of the white girls in the schl looked confused while the black girls were screaming hysterically lol

Femiluv said...

Anyways, the thing is whether it's a school in a posh area of London or a 'ghetto area', he still got invited to a school overseas. How many Nigerian artistes can say that?

See haters oooooooo

All you critics eh!!! Madam Chi, u need to get your story rite. Donjazzy probably jst didn't like the idea of being subject to any1,I guess he imagined himself too big to be working under sum1 and I reason with that besides he s nt a musician bt a producer and he has come a long way. It was ok for dbanj to leave but donjazzy wud ve just been a "follow follow" if he had toed the same line, besides wat would have happened to the remaining mohits crew if donjazzy left. It jst didn't make sense to up and leave like that. For another person who is saying its time for a nign artist to mix with international artiste, are you saying without the international stars they can't shine. I think that is a complex issue you have there. Did tuface or sade adu have to leave their label and sign with or sing with international artistes to go international? Its just grace, and to any one that it happens, good for them. See Akon, he is an international star,has his own label and has done major collabos with top international artistes, that s someone I respect.......and yes m a mavin fan, quite indifferent abt dbanj,wish him well nonetheless cos he s nigerian. That's all for now folks*smiles*

Mehn see haters oooooooooo! You're right, Mavin crew don comment for this page tire apart from the lovely tiwa savage.
So what if he went to Plumstead instead of chelsea. Uk na Uk. I have seen white people dance to his song at the gym and my white colleagues talk about him as well in uk. Oya you sef go to mushin primary school and see if the gate man will not chase you away with his koboko!
As for the ITV news interview shown yesterday. He spoke well using his trademark but yet you expect him to speak like Wale Shoyinka? Every artist has a signature. Go watch any ladygaga interview.
Dbanj jor, ooshheeee!!

big ups dbanj, bigger ups 2 don jazzy who made d beats dat took dbanj places... wonder who's gonna make him better beats now.

I rep #TEAMMAVIN till i lebete

kaffie said...

Anon 11:29: Nigerian school in london??? Don't we have schools in Nigeria?... U r obviously d 1 suffering from dat disease.

iamfascinating said...

wow, nice

Order for your top skin products now at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

Dis ur sermon is annoying&so irritating,biko,pack well jare.

Ode ni e.ode oshi

I cld hav swrn u wish u re in his shoes.get a life,stp 8in

truthhurts said...

Please please and please stop wearing those shades!!!!

Dapo said...

It's just the starting point! I can assure and bet on this D'banj won't go far without Don jazzy although he will do well but before that time come d'banj na just back up entertainer for willow smith. By the way how much did Kanye pay these kids to clap for him

doll (retired blogger) said...

congraaaats

wale said...

Bad belle,as I will alws say,continue d beefing while he continues 2mk more success.Olodo like u calling LONDON a country.shiooooor

wale said...

Did any1 FORCE u 2 read d story?continue beefing while he continues 2 mk more success.incase u avnt heard,he's going 2 star in Kanye west's new movie.bad belle!

wale said...

Bad belle!

wale said...

Bad belle!am so sure u were not forced 2 read d SUCCESS story of skibanj.na una sabi.wats ur own success story? Do u av any @ all? Shioooor!

wale said...

Na wetn concern u?bad belle!oya answer ds question,jst name any top 9ja artist dat has visited a sch er? Stl thinking?go 2 hell!

wale said...

Bad belle!am so sure u were not forced 2 read d SUCCESS story of skibanj.na una sabi.wats ur own success story? Do u av any @ all? Shioooor!

wale said...

Bad belle!

You need to have your head examined.

Occupy me said...

Did he ever visit Maroko Government school? charity begins at home you know? Nijja made Dbanj before MTV Base helped project him to the world to acquire international status. .Dbanj my man, When they forget your name you will come home O ! hmmmmm.

Ifeoma-adiagwuagwu said...

abeg, when D'banj go visit schools wey dey east london?

Ur brain must have a shuffle button...sumtyms ur thoughts must come from ur feet. How d fcuk did u deduce dat linda is is a tribalist from "this d'banj"? Lettuce like u...

Some people should do their research before concluding, he has visited local schools in Nigeria and also he has donated books, money etc to these schools. Check his facebook page for info. Let him be whether good or bad,u can't judge anyone only God can.

U will die of hatred if u dont stop hating on this dude doing well for himself and d continent in general. D'Banj God go continue to de make u bigger

keepin it real menh... www.9janewsmag.com

DBANj'SGEHFREND said...

"Linda I think you are a tribalist. What is "THIS Dbanj"? if it was Psauare or Don baba, you wont call them "this P sqaure" or this Don jAZZY...SAD" ---> is it just me/ is anyone a bit lost on what this dude is saying..

p.s:Linda, you need to remove irrelevant comments like this from your blog

ANYWAYYYYYYY

AAAARRGHHHH!!!

Why is Dbanj going to surprise a RANDOM school with RANDOM people that won't appreciate him

He should come back to Lagos joh and visit me :'( :'(
nott fairrr

Naijarian said...

To the 3rd commenter, Oliver Twist was put together by Don Jazzy... So technically, he is still not on his own...

Good for him, plumstead is a black neighborhood so what do u expect? the black kids will make him acceptable there.
Let him go to south ken, central schools and lets see if he would get such recognition.

Guys def going places but he may have to modify his style to suit all his fans or fans to be. you cant sing with yoruba and expect proper "british" folks to understand or enjoy his music.

#jusysaying#

Was counting the mins-secs..when someone would use Plumstead to demean Dbanj..end of he's loyal to his fan base..what do folks in Chelsea listen to???..everything..Oliver twist included..respect his hustle not easy being a success and wanting to even better urself..@str8frmdaHips..

I feel dis was all planned pls,we only heard screams but no reactions from d pupils....how are we sure d screams were not recorded.....na wa oh Dbanj shld take it easy he is just too desperate...so is he saying dat he wants his fan base abroad not in naija...oya na we have heard....Mavin records oya carry go for naija...luv don jazzy to bits.....team do jazzy.....

To the person who commented about Dbanj singing in Yoruba and not expecting people to sing along or understand better believe if the song is catchy and people are willing to think outside the box and explore, they will sing the songs and even learn the lyrics. Do you know one year at Yale University, for African night, we played Fela's beast of no nation egbekegbe and I was shocked at how many oyibo people were singing the song. Even Sunny Ade's let them say, white people know the lyrics so your arguement hold no water. Infact they need to learn some of our naija words

Hiss how many times has he gone to govt schools in naija to surprised the pupils. Abeg make I hear word jara

kaffie said...

U are obviously d 1 suffering from dat disease.Dont we have schools in Nigeria he can visit? Next time u read,involve ur brain n not ur eyes only

DEEFLAMEZ said...

LINDA, WELDONE OH...SO YOU DIDNT POST MY COMMENT ABI?...IT IS WELL OH

*me sef go buy Blog, going shopping* ( ' . ') ( .__.)

@willadebo

naijaninja said...

...and that talentless gummed called don jasi koto can go hang himself right now....

Tostie said...

hmmmm Dbanj is defo repping!!

deekay said...

Trying his hardest to stay relevant. Mchewww!! Biko, shift one side. We r tired of seeing u. U and kimk /kanye I dno which is worse. Mchewww!! Hungry for fame, much?? Irritant.

total nonsense

why did the kids look like they were forced to scream for him initially? all the same, happy for him;)