Nigerian woman, Kate Anolue, is the new Mayor of Enfield Council, London | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 12 May 2012

Nigerian woman, Kate Anolue, is the new Mayor of Enfield Council, London

Kate Anolue in her formal red robe
A Nigerian born Councillor Kate Anolue is the new Mayor of the London Borough of Enfield in the United Kingdom. Councillor Anolue, who served as Deputy Mayor last year took over from Councillor Christiana During. Councillor Anolue represents Upper Edmonton Ward and was first elected to the Council in 2002.
In an emotion laden voice the new Mayor said, ‘I wish my father and my husband were here today to witness this event, but I know they are up there looking after me. Unfortunately again, my mother could not be here, but I know she is with her Rosary somewhere praying for me’.
The new Mayor said she will use her tenure to raise money for the E18HTEEN Project which supports teenagers between 16-19 in Enfield, Barnet and Haringey who are about to leave care to lead independent lives. She said also that she will be the Voice for sufferers of sickle Cell Anaemia and Thalassaemia will also benefit from the fundraising
Speaking after the ceremony Ichie Damian Ogene who represented the Regent of Nanka said ‘this is a wonderful feat; thank God I am an eye witness to this great occasion and achievement of a remarkable Nigerian. You Nigerians in the Diaspora are indeed making us proud and I wish the media in the Western world report positive news like this’
 Councillor Kate, a widow who single-handed brought-up 4 children who are today gainfully employed. The astute and hardworking Nigerian born Councillor Anolue is a Registered Community/Hospital Midwife and also a qualified lawyer. However, she did not give up her midwifery career rather she became the Royal College of Midwives Steward for North Middlesex University Hospital Midwives; Member, Racial Equality Council, Enfield. She is a Panel Member of Health Scrutiny, Women officer for Labour Party Group and Governor of two schools in Enfield and Vice Chairman Association of British Nigerian Councillors.
The ceremony which took place in the Council’s Chamber was attended by the Borough Councillors, Alhaji Umar Ahmed Head of Chancery, Nigeria High Commission, London; Chief Sylvester Debe Ojukwu, Mr Christopher Brown, FBN (UK) Ltd Mr Afam Anawana, Ichie Arinze Ezeasor, Prof Joe Irukwu SAN; Hon Justice Anthony I. Igu (rtd), Nze Sympathy Nwosu, Barrister Chiedozie Ezeasor, Chief Aaron Muorah, Dr Eugene Mgbemere, Ichie Damian Okeke who represented the Regent of Nanka, Igwe G. N. Ofomata, Chief Greg Abani,  Chief Mike Ndukwe, Ms Megan Clement and other   notable Nigerians in the UK and abroad.

48 comments:

Bhet nigerians like london sha.bhet lynda wetin i do?post ths tin now!!

Congrats Ma'am....

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Wot an achiever!

That's North London area,this is good news,if only the media will report feat like this.

Wawwww she's indeed a great woman am soooo inspired

sakara said...

well done Lady Kate, some good news comng out of our black pot! not like this one who broke records n pellets smuggling http://themetronewsng.com/nigerian-woman-bola-adebisi-sets-world-record-in-heroine-swallow-just-caught-at-washinton-dulles-airport/ total disgrace to a nation

Congrats,God will continue to strength u..xx

Big up 2 Enfield...I'm an Enfield girl!!
Billie jean

mimi said...

Big UP 2 enfield..i use2 b an enfield girl..the good old days mahn..congrates 2 her..we need more of stories like dis..

Woman said...

I grew up in north london. I am so proud of her GGMYB

Ope oooo ... No gangs , drugs , nhs n benefit cheats this time around

Big Ups Madam .. May ur days be long

www.gamugaza.blogspot.com

poshcateyes said...

Congrats to her: meanwhile pls download goldie new single: #DontWannaLeave By Goldie http://tooxclusive.com/2012/05/12/goldie-i-dont-wanna-leave/

Na wa o!!..tale of 2 citizens..one a shining light..the other world break in misdemeanours..

We too dey claim. She is British and Britain made her who she is today.Nigerian born in, Nigerian born ko

Uche said...

Nice 1!

Uche said...

Nice 1!

I love London sha! That place is like 2nd Nigeria, but in an advanced country! I lived there for a while and I really enjoyed it! There is a market where you see Naija women selling gari, yam, even snail!! They shout just like in Lagos markets (come and buy oooo), you feel like you are home, lol! You can see women carrying babies on their back the Nigerian way! I which I could live there, but it's hard do get paper :'(

Lulu E said...

NANKA THE LAND of d educated Elite! Am so so Proud am 4rm NANKA!

deekay said...

Congrats !! This woman, hook me up with a job nau :(

Congrats to her! But man, she ugly as fuck!

Olu-omo of d source said...

I guess she cancels out d Ibori-disgrace,1-1!Congratulations mayor!

Woot woot woot

BLOGLORD said...

way to go...
no be only bad things dem go de know naija for.
congrats maam

Igbo women!! Always reppin' big. Keep doin so. Congrats ma'am.

floricks said...

Am proud of her

Janded said...

Women like this give me the drive I need to succeed. Congrats

Lovely!

It’s always wonderful to hear news of Nigerians doing great things in the diaspora. That is why at Bellanaija.com, we are very proud of Councillor Kate Anolue was has recently been officially unveiled as the new Mayor of the London Borough of Enfield in the United Kingdom.

She takes over from Councillor Christiana During, who has been in the role for the last year.

The former midwife who hails from Nanka in Anambra State, Nigeria, followed her father’s desire for her to become a nurse and moved to Edmonton more than 20 years ago, starting her training in May 1972, eventually qualifying as a midwife.

She says she has delivered thousands of babies since becoming a midwifery sister at North Middlesex Hospital in 1984, and wants to be a role model for women in her village.

She was made a chieftain of the village in recognition of her achievements in Enfield.

She said: “In my village people recognise that I am doing something worthwhile. It is a very real honour and I’m thrilled. I am so proud of this.”

She becomes the second black female Mayor of Enfield, following Councillor During who was the first when she assumed the role.

* * * The position of Mayor is a mostly ceremonial position that holds little power – but it is seen as a ceremonial distinction on a serving councillor that is respected by all parties * * *

For the next year, Councillor Anolue will devote most of her time to civic functions and will preside over full council meetings, as well as acting as the returning officer at elections.

During her mayoral year, she says she wants to raise money for children’s charities and for young people.

She said: “I have spent all this time delivering babies – I need to know that someone is looking after them. It is a big responsibility. It is a dignified and honourable thing to do – and I can do it.”

Part of her duties as Mayor will be to raise money for the E18HTEEN project which supports teenagers between 16-19 in Enfield, Barnet and Haringey who are about to leave care. The project helps them to lead independent lives.

A parent-led group to help disabled children called The Voice and sufferers of sickle cell anaemia and thalassaemia will also benefit from the fundraising.

Well done Councillor Kate Anolue!

@Sakara, u spoke my mind. I had d same thoughts when I read dis piece. Please hands on deck everyone, nigeria's image needs more positive boosts. Congrats ma'am.

Critical observer said...

more power to Kate Anolue's elbow.. I am proud like she's my mother!

a 'rich' man has many friends; it's now they know she's Nigerian

Congrats to her and her family. Really doing Nigeria proud

CHI

See hw God is promoting women wt integrity! Nigeria men n women oppressors give us a chance!

Igbo women!! Blah blah blah.... Ode e... One Nigeria Joor...

Anon 12:10, I'd rather live in Atlanta,USA than UK

Akwa Ibom Ayaya said...

This is a clear testament of the fact that we are richly blessed with human capital resources in this great nation. All we need is to believe in ourselves, stay positive and work hard toward achieving a common goal, which is nation building.

I find women who cu their hair so low unatractive

@deekay
u have to go through the proper way to get a job here,its not who u know like africa no.sorry mate there is dicipline here.

@sakara
she is not the first African mayor in london they are alot of them here.
Anyone can be a mayor in england its all about involving your self alot with the comunity thats it.And some one mentioned her low cut,its england everyone is simple,coz no one will look at u,minister,mp's go on public transport,the mayor of london him self boris he rides a bike to work and a raksak on his back,its Awesome to be in a developed world.pipo mind there own bussines.

Olumide said...

It's good news, congratulations to her. At least she gives Nigeria a good name.

Olumide said...

Congrats Anolue!!!

Aѕking questions are genuinely gooԁ thіng if you are not understanԁіng
anything fully, but this ρaragrаph provides
pleasant unԁerѕtandіng yеt.
Also see my webpage :: how to stop snoring

My famіly all thе time saу that I am
κillіng my time herе at net, but І knоω I am getting know-hoω
evеry ԁаy by rеadіng ѕuch pleаѕant cοntent.

Fееl free tο suгf
to my ωeb blοg: quick payday loans
Also see my web site - quick payday loans

I гead this агticle fully concernіng the comparison of hottest and earlier technologiеs, it's remarkable article.

Feel free to visit my blog; same day payday loans
My page: same day payday loans

Wow! In the end I got а blog from where I know hоw to іn fact
get νaluable information rеgarding my study and knowlеdge.

Here is my ωeb site :: bad credit loans

Ѕtunning quest there. What ocсuгred after?

Τhanks!

Heгe iѕ my ρage; payday loans
Also see my web site :: payday loans

Wow, that's what I was seeking for, what a material! present here at this blog, thanks admin of this web page.

Stop by my page ... payday loan

I know this web page presents quality based posts and additional stuff, is there any other web page which offers these kinds of stuff
in quality?

Here is my weblog; making meaning übersetzung