"Nigerian movie producers are all beggars" - Aremu Afolayan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 March 2012

"Nigerian movie producers are all beggars" - Aremu Afolayan

"Nigerian movie producers are not celebrities in Nigeria. We are just traders. We produce movies and give them to marketers who pay us what they like. Forget those of us that drive big cars. Ask them if they bought the cars with money realised from sale of the movies.  It is our fans that feed us. We are all beggars. I own big cars, but I will still tell you that I don’t have money. Fans help us. They call us and tell us they like our movie and ask us to send our bank account number." Actor/producer Aremu Afolayan, was quoted as saying in an interview with Punch today.

Fans dash money to celebs just because they like their work? Enough money to buy 4 big cars? I'll like to know your fans oh, Mr Afolayan...:-)

51 comments:

Olawande Ayewalehinmi said...

Na lie, jst 2 discourage upcoming ones, and not to focus on dem as rich men nd women, '' i own big 'cars' '' hw much wil a fan donate for a good work? N1m? N2m or N10m? Abegi, dont dciv us.

the white enchantress said...

ehen is there anything wrong with your handwork being appreciated? you linda, no b one of your fans just stamp your visa for embassy werrin you de here de ask ngwa fans answerna true? if you dont have fans do u think you wld have had d number of army behind you during you MNW....man no war battle with Susana?

please if what he's saying is true then it means we nigerians appreciate our entertainers joor.....but dis guy is looking pretty younger here compared to d past photos... whats happening?

na real u like to knw his fans...lols. once heard Ariri gave a nigerian singer 30mill naira for dash,say him pikin like d guy song.

lols

Who is he trying to fool?abeg abeg.Next please.....

HUSSLER! said...

all nah cover up!
next puleeezzz!

Me tooo , I want to know, so how do they pay the actors? Is it the fans too?

BLOGLORD said...

yelsss, fans dash them money of course plus their personal runs(if u know wat i mean)..all join to buy big cars

Ms Flinstone said...

Aremu Afolayan is so right and he is d greatest beggar i v ever known, he slps wit rich older women for money....forget movie! He's a bloody gigolo....

I like you bcos u no lie like others

Ofilispeaks.com said...

"We are all beggars. I own big cars, but I will still tell you that I don’t have money."

Tell me I did not just read this rubbish? How can you own a big car and then not have money. You better go and sell the big car and buy small car so that you can invest the money into something else....nonsense!

Shebi it was fans that gave baba suwe the drugs na.

emerald said...

so you mean the likes of ini edo,uche,rucky sandal and host of those fucking female actress who turn their self into producers are beggars

I don't believe it jor!If it wasn't lucrative at all he won't still be producing movies.

Sassie said...

U dey form fine boy, wen u don't have money. Lmao. Anyway, I don't even believe ur story, I'm sure u r sleeping wit d women who send u money. Shikina!

MU said...

Linda please pass those details when u get them. I need such fans myself...They dash enough money for BIG cars..mmmhhmm

Beyonce vs rihana. womens cot, boys cot, girls cot. From different producers o. Some of them shot with camboders under 3 days. Aki and paw paw, two rats, tom and jerry, ben 10. Such nonsense. Action packed, suspense filled, nail biting, na lie. All u see is emeka ike shooting wooden ak47. I'm saying, all these producers should stand up and get it right, the talentless ones should stick to what they know best-holdings lights for their camera men. I tell u, without these junks that answer producers, the alaba boys dont stand any chance with pure talents for I know the lights are too bright for their dull eyes.

Sly said...

I aint one of your Fans.ur elder n younger brother are better n natural actors.
Having dreadlocks in traditional scenes is meaningless in ur films.
Just why r the afolayans not in same movie like Muka-Ray Family

Lol, it's possible tho....your work speaks for you remember???

Dis one wey look like gay.. Wich fans dey dash am money? Abegi free us oooo.. ur work? Wich ones? E Neva get sumfin wey we no go hear from dese people ooo.. Na ur fans buy d big cars give u as well? If people don dey suspect u based on ur nu levels beta find sumfin else instead of dis fans level.. Na alhaji dem buy dem big cars give u????? Hence ur WORK is exceptionally outstanding.. U dey joke I must say.. Enjoy..

I like his family,I mean AFOLAYAN family

Dorothy Njemanze said...

As an actor, all i can say is despite the obvious improvements in d industry, there's still room for improvement. Especially as has to do with funding for movies, freedom to be expressive and use constructive imagination just as is done in hollywood. The film and video sensors board needs to cut down on their gatekeeping functions. Let the editors do their work and the censors board rate the movies. Also, let parents do their jobs as parents. Thats what happens where hollywood producers work.

Iamlani said...

abi oooo

candylove said...

Hmmm!guess i have 2 start producing movies too.this guy look good and finer without his dreads,abeg maintain dis look oo*candylove*

jescci said...

Linda leave d guy alone o cos he has just spoken d truth o.Ds is wot most movie producers can't say publicly cos of d fear of rejection from d so called marketers.

It's TRUE! He ain't talking nonsense,that's the honest secret!

C'bone said...

Linda, u don't need to know his fans. U got your fans who can dash u more money. Just contact them. Pin 312ad095. or follow @iheduruc on twitter.

na wa oh. Anyways Linda have you seen this video on youtube, hilarious. Shit naija artists say. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=KWXB8Ft4CFQ#!

kelvin.john82

He really does look hungry.....who is fooling who. At least his family members would not ask Him for money with these begger statements he is spewing out.

HATER IS BACK!!!! said...

He is saying the truth!

Go Alaba int'l market and see what is happening there!

EdgeVINCI 007 said...

There just might be some elements of truth in what he's saying though he might not be completely right....

Ebenezer said...

Thats because they do their work like quacks! Nollywood is not pulling her weight. Their actions are crap. Their tricks are crap, their audio production/sound quality is crap, their makeup is crap. Its not even real to life (at least in the Nigerian settings). Yoruba movies and comedies are even better sef.

Your right Nigerian Movie Producers are beggars & your fans dont dash you money because they like your movie they dash you money because you supply them Actress featured on your Movie i have been down that Road not 1nce not Twice #in short nigerian movie producers are P.I.M.P simple.

tatfo said...

Linda sometimes you just act real ignorant. If you don't believe there are Nigerians who spend money like its water then I dont know what planet you are from. Naijas especially Yorubas Hausas and Benin people can blow money. I personally know of a chick who does runs and only dates business men...not even politicians o. Chick has a house in the Netherlands of all places and 2 in Nigeria. She is only 26. Sit down there and be acting like one johnny just come. I even heard when one singer came to yankee last year, one olodu guy bought him a hummer and even shipped it to naija for him. You better believe one money miss road can and will buy gifts for actors or actresses they like

Austion said...

=))º°˚˚˚°ÂºÐ½aĦaнaº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​=)) Lindiwe, you won't kill somebody oooooooo. I read same yesterday, but saw nofin wrong with wot he said. Upon reading your comment, I just cannot help but L̃̾Õ☺Õ̾Ô=D:D=));)ÕÔ☺ÔÕ̾L̃̾ ! Nice one dear, I so much love your inquisitive mind.

Linda, u want make we dash u money? Ask directly ,no use style style ask!

his a fine boy so possibly is those female big mamas all over lagos abuja and PH so linda is possible d guy fine jooor.

Don't mind the gigolo, like we don't know what himself and Kunle Afolayan his brother does with women. This Aremu is particularly dumb and lousy. He can't act to safe his life. Kunle is slightly better in acting but they are both gigolos with prices. Yes u and ur brother are beggers but don't rubbish other people's hard work and intelligence. Were omo.

i believe him to some extent, actors/actresses dont just get money from people they BEGGGG, d ones i have come accross BEG i beg, once u get familiar wt them, they start wt all their problems and start telling u how u can bail them out and u too wl feel sorry and start giving, i beg they r beggars, beggars and dem girls r run girls

99.9% of NOLLYWOOD actors and actresses are HOs. They fck for money to make ends meet. Every single one of them and those who dont now and are now A listers, they did it before they made it.

being a nollywood actor or actress is a new way to advertise one self (whether they are a horrible actress or actor or not) and do their prostituting undercover. We know it all.

stephanie said...

Oh shut it kunle!! I don't see u begging on the streets, instead u do more movies......

yoruba man and their cunny cunny ways....u want only you to chop d ego okwa ya?

so u want to discourage future producers to compete with you

onye oshi

kiz said...

1) this one is a rubbish actor...yep! i said it..he doesnt even know how to act..and the pple giving him money sef,smh...they just wanna screw u trust me,not because you are one correct actor.
2) the english actors are paid better than the yoruba ones..so yep,i guess thats why the yoruba ones are beggers
3) one popular yoruba one sef was begging me for money a couple of months ago...i was like wtf! what do i look like?as in he was even telling me he was in love with me.oloshi oloriburuku..weytin i resemble??okola?
hiss....so yea,the yoruba ones really do beg for money..but i dont know about the english ones.

He is RIGHT, they make 100movies in a year and dont get paid more than 10,000 - 100,000(for the seasoned ones) per movie, think of how expensive everything is in naija, plus all the effizy...

I know all of them do runs to afford their lifestyle and the runs are with their fans.

linda wat is ur problm?dat u'v nt post my coment since 5days anymore?do u wnt some of us to stop coming here cos i notice am nt d only one complaning i was d 1st to write a post in dis topic yet am nt seeing anyting or u tink typing is easy?pls if u do dis again i wil stop coming here and go bck to nairaland or meet lolo and lalaland where my post dnt hv to go 4 approval wat is dis or u tink i dnt hv better tings to do?i hv so many works on my table i only cm here for fun.

Wow!!am surprised,is Kunle Afolayan really a gigolo?he seems to me as the serious and focused type

everyone is talking this one too open mouth to talk abeg park for corner jor

bb said...

C'mon say' I am a beggar' not generalizn jare.

EVEN GOD DEY LAFF said...

HRM,CHIEF JIGOLO of NOLLYWOOD,badt guy iF na so dem dey dash money i for happy o,MTCSEWWW NONSENSES

Cynosure faces said...

It's possible, if his fans are rich and influential pple :)