"I own Mohits; Don Jazzy is my artist" D'banj tells Ebony Magazine | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 March 2012

"I own Mohits; Don Jazzy is my artist" D'banj tells Ebony Magazine

"Coming from Africa I’m my own manager, I have my own label called Mo’ Hits with my artists Dr. Sid, Wande Coal, Don Jazzy, D’Prince and K-Switch. I own Mo’ Hits and we’ve won numerous awards by the grace of God." D'banj tells Ebony Magazine.

Read the full interview after the cut...

Culled from Ebony.com

On Sunday (Feb. 19), fans from as far away as Maryland packed into New York City’s Irving Plaza to see D’banj, Nigeria’s biggest Afrobeat star in concert. The self-proclaimed “Kokomaster” hit the stage to screams and even fainting, as one woman sunk to the floor after D’banj touched her hand. Running through his three albums No Long Thing, Rundown Funk U Up and The Entertainer including his international hit “Oliver Twist,” the MC born Dapo Daniel Oyebanjo commanded the stage with waist wines, glittering outfits and jokes about his “Koko,” also known as his manhood.

EBONY.com: How will you break into America’s entertainment scene?
D’BANJ: I’m bringing my culture, my music and preaching the gospel. We’ve been learning from America’s Hollywood scene and other areas in Africa because our continent is developing. We look up to the way you’ve built your industry and we try to do ours in the best that we know. It’s so good to see that Americans appreciate my music so that’s what I’m bringing, just original Africa.

EBONY.com: How did you join Kanye West’s G.O.O.D. Music label?
D’BANJ: I had a concert in Dubai and when we pulled up to the airport’s first class lounge and a hostess ran up to me with a plaque with Kanye’s face on it, asking me to sign it. I said ‘I’m not Kanye West, I’m D’banj but Kanye West is coming? All eyes open.’ Then my manager spoke to Kanye, came back and told me ‘He’ll give you five minutes.’ I walked over -- as an African man I’m always prepared -- and I played my music ‘Stand Out,’ ‘Fall In Love’ and ‘Scapegoat’ for him on my iPod. Before we knew it, I’d almost missed my flight and he invited me to New York.

Coming from Africa I’m my own manager, I have my own label called Mo’ Hits with my artists Dr. Sid, Wande Coal, Don Jazzy, D’Prince and K-Switch. I own Mo’ Hits and we’ve won numerous awards by the grace of God. Being with Kanye for the last eight months and me leading a successful label in Africa, I’ve learned a lot and I believe people will see what we’re going to do. I signed with Kanye in June and that same month I won the BET Award for Best International Act. My New York concert isn’t done by G.O.O.D. Music, it’s done by Live Nation, meaning I’m already a moving machine. So who better to introduce me to the global world than Kanye West, a crazy genius?

EBONY.com: What is your chemistry like in the studio with West?
D’BANJ: Kanye doesn’t try to change you. He has great ears and great people working with him. I learned the way people do music in America is different, number one, the budget. You don’t have to rush a song, you can take your time. I was glad because I have a studio in my home but I thought I was doing too much. I’ve been working with everyone else on G.O.O.D. Music too and John Legend and I worked together in London recently. It’s been great experience, I just beg people to listen with an open mind.

164 comments:

D'BANJ OWNS MOHITS? SINCE WHEN? OGAAAA O! LOL

Hmmmmm... Fire!!!

This was bound to happen at some point.
Dbanj and Don Jazzy are a pair made in hell. Money and ambition kept them together for a while now ego has invaded the empire.

Kemi said...

I always thought Don Jazzy owned Mo'Hits or at least he co owned the label with D'banj? Is this part of the unravelling of their relationship or was D'banj just bragging at the interview for better effect? I await.....

Modupsy said...

Ghen ghen!!!

D'banj, na wa oh. Don Baba J na ur artist? U r so annoyingly proud.

Oge (NR) said...

O God!!!

Moi said...

hmm...Dbanj na true...? person wey dey climb up they remember the people wey e dey pass for road o!

Abeg some of your english no too correct, abi na ebony no edit am well. you no even dey too coherent for the interview sef. abeg u dey rep naija o, no go fall our hand biko nu.

all in all u dey try sha even if ur music no dey too make sense like dat, na d beats me dey gbadun ( I been think say na Don baba J dey arrange dat part, abi na u too?)

All the best, owo yin ma ma roke o!

inanukwa dbanj owns good music not don jazzy hmmmmm i am waiting for round 2 from don jazzy

Str8FrmDaHips said...

na dis statement cos fight..it seems..quite sad if they were to part but music industry is all about oversized egos...

chichiluv said...

daarrrrnit, where is my pop corn? this is going to be good!!!

He must be kinda drunk when he granted the interview. The backlash from this misyarn is gonna be momentous!
I've been wondering why you've kept quiet over this issue since rumors of their breakup emerged. It's not really ok if your favorite blogger decides to meshonu over the hottest news in town.

So this saga is reali tru..... He has such an ergo!!!!!!!!!!! SMH

wats going on ere?? We need to hear from IDJA asap. Der is more to all des diffa rumours/stories. I am ere wit ma popcorn en pepsi drink... #ACTION#

HOMEMADE ENTERTAINMENT said...

D banj, like really

LOL!! That is journalism for you, they pick out every word out of one's sentences. Main reason celebrities have to be axtra careful with what they say. D'banj might have said it mistakenly or he just might have been blowing the trumpet that he doesn't even have. Too much excitement when these people get interviewed abroad, they sort of lose focus and start misyarning. That might have just been his case.

Banger said...

overtake don overtake overtake

Well done proprietor of Mo' Hits! *roll eyes*.

Banger said...

overtake don overtake overtake

Adebola said...

Bobo Dapo sha ma chat shit. Shior..The answer he gave to the question was totally irrelevant.
Next please.....

oh dear..i can see the storm brewing. If there was a fall out at all, D Banj just proved it. Once again i believe that all GOOD music wanted was Don Jazzy not D'banj. More like an 'asset strip' if you ask me. Well lets wait and see.

Muse said...

Really D'banj? that is news.
Fab shirt!

Linda, you sha no dey waste time to carry gist. lol. If he really said that, then i think we should all calm down and wait till the truth comes out. D'banj's statement might or might not be true...you never know, because in business, anything can be projected in public but what matters is what is on paper and under what title each signature appears.

i saw this coming

Airtel internet bundle said...

No Linda, this is a joke? Dbanj own mo'hit?

This guy is an ingrate. wtf

Watch live match on PC said...

I use to think it is the other way around? Abi?

Jamb results 2013 said...

This made my day. Was thinking don jaz was the sponsor-

Thats one HOT news!
Gbenga's fan

Mimi said...

this kokomaster going places oh.

just stumbled on this blog by an indian/american woman married to a naija man who recently moved to lagos
http://nj2nigeria.blogspot.com/search?updated-min=2012-01-01T00:00:00%2B01:00&updated-max=2013-01-01T00:00:00%2B01:00&max-results=50

BLOGLORD said...

Don jazzy ur artiste??? *surprised*
Am beginning to think ds dude is getting more arrogant or is this confidence?
hmnnnnn........

Nwamaka said...

Well... if it’s true, KUDOS to you and Don Jazzy for been great partners. May you both continue to be exemplary figures of Igbo and Yoruba brothers (and other tribes) working together in peace. Linda you sha like to look for trouble, love you and congrats on your blog

Kelly said...

I really hope D'banj knows what he is gettin himself into? this dude is getting so arrogant by d days... anyway cant wait to hear from Don jazzy who is d CEO of mo hits abi dem dey get 2 CEO's ds days... issiorai.. sitting and watching as ds drama will end..

Ofilispeaks.com said...

Coming from Africa I’m my own manager, I have my own blog called ofilispeaks.com with my bloggers Linda Ikeji, Uche Eze, Arianna Huffington, Jesus Christ and his 11 disciples (I had to let Judas Go)...and then I woke up!

HAHAHAH WHAT MADE ME LAFF IS WHEN DBANJ SAID "I PREACH THE GOSPEL" WHICH GOSPEL HAHAHA DBANJ,U GOTTA LUV HIM

Nkaytchee said...

E DON HAPPEN!!....oga don turn houseboy...lol

Mr. D'banj...be careful o! Do i smell pride in there? What is it the bible says...pride goes before a fall...

Miss pepe said...

I don't care...next gist plsss *bb not interested smiley*

o_O

you just knowing that?
D'banj owns MOhits
Don jazzy's work is to make beats and he truned himself to DON.
Dbanj has new artiste sef, you'd all be suprised what will happen in d next 8months

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mo'_Hits_Records

"Then my manager spoke to kanye" who is d manager he is refering to wen he is his own manager? Y is it now dat he is reavealin he owns Mo'hit and Don jazzy is his artist...ISORAI

look at this big fool,how can he say Don jazzy is an artist? av always known this Dbanj to be arrogant and once again he's proving himself to Nigerians, your down fall might even be from Good music, what an ingrate, never a fan never will be, but i Love Don jazzy to Death, D banj go fuck ur self local wanna be.... u own Good music ismh you think without Donjazzy you will be somebody. oloshi bi obo

roses said...

Dbang is sure getting too big for his dross/ pants!

Chi said...

AHAH

Since when....after saying that his manager went to speak to kanye, he now said that he is his own manager.

SINCE when.....KMT

Seriously dbanj; did u have to stress on that first class lounge bit? Goes to show you don't do it often! Money & fame can't buy you class....araoko! You're just freaking overrated, should learn to control your big mouth!

hahaha.....you're such a joker!!!!
judas wld have been d best asset for your blog, he knows how to handle d money

tobie said...

D'banj needs to shut up! He lies too much. Let us not expose him on how he really met Kanye West! He too dey lie... ah ah.. now he is saying he owns Mo Hits. Hes full of shit. Does he not know the world knows that Kanye West is more interested in Don Jazzy than him???? Foolish boy! So his producer is now his artist? He for even say dey own mohits togeda but hes now lieing all over the place.

kAz said...

badt guy tinx.... D'banj u're goin down wit dis oooo

Miss Juwon!!

Please STFU and go an sit down...always talking rubbish.

The Don himself is d'bangs boy,,, Chei, i day shame for here way i day.

Serious BIG FOOL i swear! He should come out and tell us the truth! He is using Kanye West name to shine. Since him and Don Jazzy are not on good terms anymore the truth shall surely come out. Who is he without Don Jazzy? Can he sing? Or is it his kindergarten lyrics? Arrogant nonentity. This is just the beginning for him. He has not seen anything! Someone who was there should come out and tell the world the truth about how he met Kanye in dubai! We will soon open your nyash. Foolish boy

Tobi said...

Why do people jump to conclusion? Why conclude that D'banj is lying? Lets hear from Don Jazzy first b4 making assumptions.

I never like the stupid tramp sef! We shall see who will buy ur CDs n attend ur concerts! Don't u dare Drag our DonJ in muds! Stupid skinny scaliway oshi!

Oga ooº°˚˚°ºoo moni •̸№ GƠ̴̴͡Ơ̴̴͡d ooº°˚˚°ºoo .imagine after 9yrs wit eachoda don j turn †• Boyboy.hmm hmm.dbanj fall
m̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ hand.bsd U̶̲̥̅̊я sond truly •̸№ make sense if •̸№ b fr U̶̲̥̅̊я boyboy beat n ℓ̊ wonder wetin make us D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ sing n dance self bt ℓ̊ stil prefere psquare †• Dapo sha.n e b lyk say dat church D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ hungry U̶̲̥̅̊ abi chai nw ℓ̊ knw say world D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ end smal smal cuz na dbanj wan bring dis church tin †• 9ja ooº°˚˚°ºoo n cuz ☺ƒ moni †ђε upcmin artiste go follow.haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.dapoooo.

Prideful asshole.

HULLABALOO SHA

These comments made the post. They need their own comments. Haha!

Why is everyone commenting concluding that D'banj is lying?and why does anybody not think D'banj can own mohit. don jazzy could be an artist signed under his label but producing songs for all artists in the label. pls don't jump to conclusion.

Omare said...

Despiration is a disease. Dbanj get well soon (**)

Well if he is claiming he wons MoHits then how come the site shows a different story? check this out http://www.mohitsrecords.com/about/

Lol,i laff so hard when people believe this kind of baseless rumours,its a glaring fact that d'banj is about to release an album,oliver twist didnt appeal to audience if not for the oliver twist competition,video was shoot with alot of millions and was eventually banned,the only way we can talk about them is a rumour like this,fyi have any one noticed don jazzy hasnt tweeted since march 3rd when this speculation was going on?this is a business strategy,don jazzy cant do without d'banj vice versa(who is going to make the beat)i bet this will make his album sale..kudos to both of them.

Ode! U own wetin? abeg abeg carry your nonsense talk go somewhere else.

We KNOW for sure that he is NOT the owner! Either he owns part of it or Don Jazzy owns it! I know that for sure.

He owns it from where?? HOW??? Please this ingrate should shut the hell up! Ungrateful goat! Could he have ever been anything without Don Baba J?? let him come out and tell us? can he sing?

I think some of you are taking this too personal.

Fact: Kanye signed D'Banj as an artiste and Don Jazzy as a producer. I don't know the inner workings of Kanye's mind, but obviously he saw something in both of them to sign them on.

Who really owns Mo' Hits is something only the corporate docs can determine.

I will say this though, without D'banj Don Jazzy is nobody , but without Don Jazzy, D'banj can still be relevant... Just go ask beats by the pound and puffy or Mannie Fresh and YMCMB

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mo%27_Hits_Records

According to Wikipedia, Don Jazzy own Mo'Hits records signing D'Banj as 1st artist.

Where is the truth if D'banj's Wikipedia page (see link below) acknowledges Don Jazzy as his producer?//

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D%E2%80%99Banj

The public demands accurate info re- Mo'Hits...

Duchess___ope said...

Linda, I didn't see my comment oh

Don Jazzy is a fool if Dbanj really owns MoHits legally. Don Jazzy is a bit too quiet and not very sharp but that should not be a reason for Dbanj to con him.

Don Jazzy who is your lawyer? Dandandindin? Our people are behind, let them keep calling Dbanj a liar.

We hope Don Jazzy has not sworn any oath with this greedy Ijebu man. Na death o...

tobie said...

Don Jazzy is the current CEO/President of the label and D'banj is the vice President. its means he as a say in the label's affairs.

We are watching o. Omuti gbagbe ise...

oby said...

dbanj...why now?even if u own mohits..u would ve waited for us to find out for ourselves dat way d story wil b sensational in ever way.

U know guys,this promises to be an interesting drama!!! Popcorn and Zobo at hand to watch this play out!! D'banj kenan!!

"Founded in 2004, Mo Hits Records is the Brainchild of prolific Music Producer, Singer and Song Writer Michael “Don Jazzy” Ajereh, with its first recording artiste being D’banj. The label has since signed four other talents (Wande Coal, Dr SID D’prince and K-Switch).

Since inception these artistes have collectively won multiple awards and sold over 50 Million records worldwide.

Mo hits Records, in 2008 also branched out into the production of TV content with the airing of the 2009 reality TV show “Koko Mansion” and in 2011 “The Entertainer”."

Go to www.mohitsrecords.com/about

Even for website they tell us say na DON JAZZY own Mohits and D'banj was its first artiste to be signed.. Chaiii Dbanj sabi LIE sha.. WE DON CATCH AM!

wot a pity,so much for d struggle and toiling 4rm Don jazzy and d rest of d mo'hits crew jst to make u a name,n dis is how u'l pay back...remember 'PRIDE GOET BEFORE A FALL ',dont destroy ur future,d illiminati cnt offer u anything good.

Even if d'banj owns mo'hits, should he have delared it so. Come to think of it, the first two letters of Mo'hits represents Don Jazzy's real names......

Anyone that comes here to say anything good about Dbanj is a mumu. That arrogant ungrateful boy! Who is he please??? What can he sing? At least the world knows that Don Jazzy has talent! But what does dbanj have? Only to be removing shirt and throwing to the crowd! Dont be so shallow!

God bless you for putting this here. Those of us who know how mohitsrecords started and when dbanj in previous interviews thanks donjazzy for having faith in him and signing him to mohitsrecords.

Typical case of biting the finger that fed you...thumbs down D'Banj, u no try.

Shut up dunce! MO'is don J's initials!

Semira said...

na wa. dbanj sha.oh well. such is life. children the moral of this story is..............nothing is ever as it appears. stay tuned as the saga unfolds.

WTF is this? Can u read this trash u wrote? O_o

Trolling!

Please take a seat \___. You just yarned japanese balls..ewu awusa!

You mad bruv?

SHUT UP der..Amebo!!!

d banj is rather silly! don jazzy his artist, abeg when don jazzy turn full time artist? Also, if he's gonna say rubbish like this to international magazines, then let mo hits website confirm the story! mumu pikin, d website says tis don baba j's brain child, with d banj being the artist! http://www.mohitsrecords.com/about/

u go fear wetin small int'l fame dey do to person. abeg don jazzy shouldn't stoop to this guys level by replying, he has more class than that!

don obyno said...

you guys should lean to give people chance with their success, if dbanj sale him soul to be faim is it you peoples buisness?
if dbaji is the owner of Mo hit is it you guys biz? what make them star is all this bizzy body talk from mugus of niger people.

almost famous said...

Dbanj is slowly alienating his fans with all his lies, we all know Don Jazzy isn't an artist in the real sense of the word!dbanj shld b careful, looks like signing up wt good music wasn't such a good idea after all, hez bn getting a lot of not so good press!

Hey fellow readers, we all know what dbanj was trying to say!!!free am...yes! Is choice of words may be wrong but believe me, as an african man been interviewd by an international mag...u tend to overhype!..IDJA sef go understand though na sh*t!.....nugar!

Don Jazzy and D'Banj own Mohits together, he was probably trying to big himself up in ebony and it is allowed. Who remembers when they came out? Before wande and the rest were signed. It was two of them hussling together and they are the owners, they both make 35 percent off any artist they hire. All the artist end up with 30 percent of whatever they make vos d'banj and Don Jazzy take 35 each. Sunday Are is the manager of Mo hits. Don jazzy probably understands he had to big himself up. It's Ebony guys,
I pray they don't split like people are instigating they make a good team
My 2 cents

toyo eros-so lanky said...

this guy is high on something (probably mosquito coil)....don jazzy will not say a word believe it or not and if he does, he will speak in parables...he's someone who prefers action to words(forget that he's conscious about his voice and that's why he hardly speaks)

HKE said...

Ghen ghen! Dis is wah dey call indian film. Donjazzy won't reply all dis nw. Mk una wait mk d mata die down 1st na em una go see Donjazzy reaction. A whole my DonBaba J na em Dbanj rat dey disgrace so? Chai! Ndi igbo call it "ALU"! Abomination!

Monblaze said...

Wow, i want to believe its the editor's error or something.

I know Dbanj n Jazzy jointly own Mohits, n Jazzy is also a registered artist along with Dbanj. If he said it this way, its possible for the editor to have restructured it this way...

because, lol, this is quite ridiculous and doesnt make sense...

Leave the boy alone...he's making money and fame while y'all are busy throwing rude comments around....I'm not a very big fan of his but it's disgusting the way we Nigerians display hate and jealousy..

D'Banj don Fk-up!

yes we know dbanj is the brain and engine behind mohits but all through the years, they have fronted Don Baba J as the mysterious CEO who hardly speaks... and the drama has really pushed the group into stardom over the years...

Now out of yeye pride, D'banj has spoilt the nice drama... just like someone said earlier, "pride goeth b4 a big fall" ...

This statement marks the death of mohits!

oh that was a mistake he meant to say am the artist, don jazzy owns mohits.

I am, the no Sender. said...

He did not say he owns G.O.O.D Music but that he owns Mo'Hits

Chimezie Njoku said...

Wow, this negro is selling out. What a loser. Stepping on the toes of those who made him what he is today to impress Americans. Dbanj-- Kanye should have educated you on how the music business is handled.

seriously i dont think dbanj is mentally well. He has forgotten numerous interviews he gave in the past where he acknowledge donjazzy as the founder and owner of mohits. He also forgets that without donjazzy's production he wouldnt be popular or even relevant. Donjazzy will still be relevant after dbanj fades because he makes the platforms for the songs and can do it for different artists. Dbanj forgets that pride comes before failure. He forgets that his partnership with donjazzy made him relevant. Oh well i hope they settle all amicably, i just hope this statement doesnt ruin his career.

Haha. According to http://www.mohitsrecords.com/about/

Founded in 2004, Mo Hits Records is the Brainchild of prolific Music Producer, Singer and Song Writer Michael “Don Jazzy” Ajereh, #TheEnd!

d'banj Baba e ma run down..cuz don jazzy ma funk e up...you are on a loooong thing!!! so.... fi le!!!!

YES said...

"Then my manager spoke to kanye" who is d manager he is refering to wen he is his own manager? Y is it now dat he is reavealin he owns Mo'hit and Don jazzy is his artist..."

Exactly. The interview makes no grammatical or common sense sef.

Obviously you do not know the history behind Don Jazzy and D'banj. It was actually under the covering and platform provided by D and on Jazzy that D'banj got his break. MO'Hits is a Don Jazzy outfit where he is the President and D'banj it's Vice President. Have listened to both Wande Cole and Dr. Sid give kudos to Don Jazzy severally for the opportunity given them to ply their stage craft. This is the much I know. I stand to be corrected though.

Well, me thinks, this is a sales gimmick for D'banj. All concerned from Kanye,D'banj to Don Jazzy are in the know. The intentions are to generate controversies and hopefully, people might gobble the CDs of D'banj when he releases. I think they settled on the wrong strategy. Nigerians may not take kindly to betrayal as D'banj has been portrayed. Though the CD may have a global market as target if this betrayal tag sticks on D'banj it could cause more harm than good. Somehow it will boomerang and not translate into mga dollars.

ekeismyhobby said...

Goodness you all need to calm down. Personally I dont think he would lay claim to something he cant back up but until I read the article or hear from Don J. I comment my reserve

Frenchie said...

Dbanj need to do less talking and more work and focus
wasn't he supposed to drop an album since 2010?
this interview is rubbish
they just want people to talk about them free publicity stunt
besides where is don jazzy? he used to yarn on twitter all day long he just vanished 10 days ago
I know these two don't take their fans for idiots na

SO WHY ARE YOU PEOLE SHOUTING NOW? ABEG! ABEG!! LETS HEAR WORD. THE SAME YOU PEOLE WERE DEFENDING HIM WHEN HE GRANTED THAT INTERVIEW ABOUT SUBSIDY. I SAID IT THE DAY I HEARD THEY HAD SIGNED WITH GOOD MUSIC. I TOLD SOMEONE THAT WAS THE END OF MO-HITS. SEE! SEE AM! DBANJ OWNS MO-HITS? HIAN!!! DAN SANDA YA AURE BARAUNIYA SUN AIFI AKULKI!

All i can say is 'Pride comes before a fall'

Errrr! Ezkus me he was in an interview and could have corrected himself!

Mo'Shafar said...

Wikipedia is not the most reliable of sources, since anyone can alter a page at any time, subject to review. Objectively, Mo hits may be owned by either Don Jazzy(whom i like to think it is)or D'banj. However, D'banj's history of arrogance does not allow him much credibility, but, what is legal is legal. In my own opinion(which every individual has a right to), D'banj is not much of a musical talent. Don Jazzy on the other hand seems to have it in loads, and i strongly believe that is what has made D'banj's songs a success. I would never listen to his lyrics alone, but i would listen to a Don J beat over again. After all said and done, the point is, D'banj has made a very immature and pompous statement, whatever the case is.The declaration was rather small-minded, so were most of his answers (i.e first class lounge, lol) during the interview. It is quite unfortunate, although, i guess it only proves what does of us who were never fooled by him saw from the start. I do hope Don J would refuse to dignify him with a 'rofo-rofo' fight, if he chooses to reply, i hope it will be very dignified and civil. Some things are not worth a fight.

Soo full ov himself! No wonder I never liked him!!! Rubbish!

One word...ILLUMINATI!!! Let's pray for our brother dbanj...may he not be a 'fallen hero' IJN!!!

Kayem said...

He claims to own MO'Hits? Well, we all know he doesn't. Why bother? Unless there's more to the gist... Time will tell.

What do you guys really know about don jazzy?

Chaunncy said...

It's possible.

I no fit laugh..

If you own Mohits and they are your artists. What do you gain by going public with this statement?
Na me do am, na me first buy am, you see the car wey I just land. Na me! na me!! na me!!!
Why una no dey hail me loudly, make the whole world hear? I go soon do something wey go make all of una sabi say na me better past. I fit just run mad so that una go pay attention.

Michael Collins Ajereh (born November 26, 1982), better known as Don Jazzy, is a Nigerian Multi award-winning record producer, singer-songwriter, musician and CEO of Nigerian record label Mo' Hits Records founded in 2004. Born in Umuahia in Abia state, his first signing was D'banj who is also the Vice-President of the label.
Don Jazzy's first full credit production work was in 2004 on Tongolo for Nigerian singer D'banj. He went on to produce D'banj's first studio album titled No Long Thing released in 2005.
He has produced tracks for Dr SID, Wande Coal, D'Prince, Darey, Naeto C, Sauce Kid, Ikechukwu, Jay-Z, Kanye West & Beyonce
He recently was rated as the 36Th. "Most powerful celebrity in Africa" according to Forbes

I NEVER LIKED DBANJ THE GUY IS ARROGANT AND LOUD
HE IS NOTHING BUT A FOOL BOWING DOWN TO KANYE WEST!! WHERE IS THE NAIJA PRIDE ABEG

Oluwa o. Are you kidding me? I can't believed this until Don baba speak out..

swisslhurv said...

Lmao @meshonu over the hottest news in town......

He was obviously carried away, first class lounge........,my manager........,I own my label with various artist..........
WHO ASKED YOU? Proud fellow. Don't go biting the hands dat fed u dude

It was obvious from the get-go that egos would eventually clash. I don't care for the two of them anyways, anyone wey dem like make dem do jare...

3d glasses on,3shots of vodka,awaitin d next scene...

HI EVERYONE, BEFORE YOU SLICE ME, THINK CAREFULLY AFTER READING WHAT I HAVE TO SAY.

IS IT POSSIBLE THAT EBONY MAGAZINE GOT IT WRONG, THEY MIGHT HAVE USED PARAPHRASING(4GIVE ME IF I SPELT IT WRONG). D'BANJ IN HIS RIGHT MIND COULDN'T HAVE SAID THAT IN AN INTERNATIONAL MAG. WHEN HE KNOWS THAT THE WHOLE WORLD KNOWS WHATS UP. SO HE WILL NOT LIE BLATANTLY.

IN MY STRONG BELIEVED OPINION, I THINK HE MEANT THAT HE IS HIS OWN MANAGER, AND HE WAS JUST LISTING THE NAMES OF PEOPLE WHO WERE ALSO IN MOHITS ALONG WITH HIM. AND TRUTH IS, HE OWNS MOHITS ALONG WITH DON JAZZY.

MY PLEA TO DON JAZZY, IS THAT HE SHOULDN'T LET MEDIA SEPARATE THEM, PEOPLE CAN NOT STAND WHEN ANOTHER PERSON IS SUCCESSFUL. ESP AFRICANS, OR RATHER NIGERIANS, IF THEY ARE NOT PROGRESSING, THEY WON'T LIKE OTHERS TO PROGRESS.

YES LATELY D'BANJ'S P.R HASN'T BEEN TOO GOOD, BUT THE TRUTH IS HE IS JUST HUMAN, AND ALL THIS COMES WITH BEING A MEGA SUPERSTAR, WHICH ISN'T EASY. MOST NIGERIANS IF GIVEN THE SAME OPPORTUNITY WOULD HAVE FUCKED UP WORSE IM SURE.

SO PLEASE CUT HIM SOME SLACKS, IF ANYTHING, HE HAS HELPED IN REBRANDING NIGERIAN'S IMAGE IS THE INTERNATIONAL EYES. WHETHER WE LIKE IT OR NOT, WE'LL STILL DANCE TO HIS MUSIC....

HE IS AN INFLUENTIAL FORCE TO BE RECKONED WITH, WHY ELSE DO WE HAVE OVER A 100 COMMENTS ABOUT HIM???

WHO EVEN KNOW'S IF THIS IS A PUBLICITY STUNT BY MOHITS, COS THINK OF IT, HOW ELSE TO GET MORE ATTENTION, AND IMAGINE WHEN EVERYTHING HAS BEEN SETTLED, THEN MOHITS RELEASES A COLLABO, IMAGINE THE SALE THEY WILL MAKE, SO PEOPLE DON'T BE FOOLED BY MEDIA, I SUSPECT ITS A PUBLICITY STAUNT, COS OTHER CHANNELS HAVE BEEN USED LIKE TUFACE HAVING MULTITUDES OF CHILDREN AND FINALLY MARRYING, ICE PRINCE FOLLOWING IN TUFACE'S FOOTSTEPS, ETC, SO MOHITS NEEDS TO COME UP WITH THEIR OWN, AND THERE'S NO SUCH THING AS BAD PUBLICITY, PUBLICITY IS PUBLICITY, BECAUSE IT GETS YOUR ATTENTION....

Omo yoruba oshi.....mchteeeeeeeew....no comment until my CEO Don Jazzy speaks....

#Queeny!

almost famous said...

Oh puleezz, with dis ur grammar dat can cause headache pls shut up if you don't av anything relevant to say!

almost famous said...

That's a wrong approach with nigerians oh, publicity or not if we no send we no go buy d CD, we never buy anybody's CD anyway. Maybe hez doing dis for his gullible American fans tho!

almost famous said...

Oh puleezz, with dis ur grammar dat can cause headache pls shut up if you don't av anything relevant to say!

Cynthia said...

I dont beleive Dbanj said such. he probably said something and trust the media, they blew it out of proportion just to sell their magazine. I dont believe. Even though they are quarelling now, ......i doubt Dbanj will say such.

yinotinto said...

another one from D'banj first he was totally dumb about fuel subsidy saga when he was supposed to be youth ambassador. now he's talking carelessly about MoHits and Don Jazzy. Pride they say goeth before destruction. it is dangerous to fall head down from the top. watch it and beware u are only an artist, Don Jazzy makes the art out of artists.

Now Checking the form 07 of Mo Hits Records......
It shows that Dbanj and Don Jazzy both owns MO HIT Records.

Now Checking Mo Hits Records form 07 which shows records of owners and directors of a company.
Its states that Dbanj and Don Jazzy both own Mo Hits Records. Wanna know the percentage each individual own???

Not to make this a tribal thing, but i notice gbenga always comments on negative thing towards the ibo or other non yoruba tribes, an 25% ibo, and rest hausa/fulani, and i have to say this does not surprise me,most yoruba people are known to betray people in their greatest time of need.I am just saying. Nothing personal but wanted Gbenga to see how people can easily infer things about his tribe by one man's action. Doesnt feel good. P.S: meant this as an example, nothing personal @gbenga

these oyibo's can misquote people sometimes sha! this calling of names seems like raising mohit profile to me, but was wrongly presented.

you see mo ;hits has sent a letter to linda,so i tink the drama should stop,

nawa oh this ugly looking dbanj too is claiming mohit ownership goodness me i now believe that sometin is really wrong with dbanj you there bite the finger that feed you chei just hope that this does not affect you later as your fans would have you for dinner nonsense ungrateful silly thing.

don jazzy we all know that you own most of mohit so take no notice of this attention seeker called dbanj okay if dbanj wants to go let him move and try your skills on other upcoming artist as that is where we like your work...

Lol...the power of xcitement

They are playing a script. This interview was done shortly after the live nation concert where Don jazzy performed . all of a sudden they split and Don jazzy is his artist. dont be fooled. both of them have refused to say anything about it.not even have they tweeted for more than 1 week. beef is normal marketing strategy

Chisco said...

See Dapo o!!!! As if we cant remember that your first stupid single "Kiss me again" where you were whining like a mosquito. Yes o! the same one that featured Annie Macauley in the video. The same awful song that out of pity, Emmanuel Egoli made Number 10 on his music show that used to run on Fridays on Minaj. You remember the song was so awful it didnt last more than one week on the show.

After that obvious flop you ran to London to be hanging around JJC them, you were not even a member of the 419 squad, you just used to be some sort "attache". Michael now suggested that you both go back home and make something of your talent, and was even willing to invest in you cos he believed in you. What did you have? How much could you boast of?

You've forgotten how you "dobaled" for him after receiving the key to your BM?

Isnt it the same arrogance that led to you being removed as a Glo ambassador? You thought you were indispensable.

Anyway, dog wey no dey hear hunter whistle, na im dey lost for bush. Na you sabi pass.

Emeka Sweet said...

this is the wrongest move D'baj will take...first: the public has seen u as in-great and arrogant by saying all this in an interview,this is someone u started with,now his ur boy...i think ur special advisers are not doing their job well,because when the public hates u;its finish....so my great brother do not allow PRIDE stop ur shine cos u've never done anything yet....secondly: Nija is Nija and America is America,u no fit carry guy go America cos na dem be guy...the only sell-able market in mohit is Don Jazzy cos he has what American market need....D'banj i like u as a brother and i will never want u to fall, so kindly think twice

Who are those pple saying don jazzy is nobody without d'banj, are they delunsional? Have u listened to d nonsense d'banj sings? He's songs are nonsense without the beats, that's a fact. Don j, has hits with wande coal, sid, ikechukwu, da prince, and any other person he cares to produce for, so what rubbish r u pple saying? Except this is a publicity stunt like someone else said, Let's see d magic d'banj is going to pull, no be only good music, hope he knows, if he doesn't appeal/ sell records in the USA, he'll be booted out of the record label, and I don't see him selling anything in the U.S, neither do I see him selling in nija with good music beats, I de laugh o.

EVEN GOD DEY LAFF said...

genge genge,action film scene one.dbanj i knw u dont mean wat u said but guy dem force u talk,imagine don jazzy,don baba ur artiste.dis must b pride o

kwase said...

Ghen ghen ghen.*Grabs popcorn & coke*

Lol, amen o

i hv always hate dat fool dat cals himself dbanj cos his so full of shit all he knws how to do best is to fuck pussy,i love u dan jazzy and wil always do ride on love.

Mine said...

Abeg wetin concern me, dem break up dem make up...e no go take fuel back to N65..*eating yam n stew*

Chidoh Evulobi said...

dbanj no get sense, no be him de shout "don jazzy again" for all his music. He was so quick to forget the finger that fed him.

2sinjo said...

abeggi, make we all wait make Don J talk, there's more to this than pride and fame..... joining in the popcorn and fanta thingsss....

D'banj is an ingrate...let him know dat the person dat made u wat u are can still u reverse it.#smh

dbanj this would teach you a lesson or 2 that next time you would limit those whom you grant interviews to as this running around that you are doing of recent and leaking oyinbos boots would not help you as you have now know that they can do and undo

you there open that your yeye mouth to say that don jazzy is one of your artist? what an insult on DON you best go and apologies to Don as without don you would have been nowhere today very ungrateful human being you are all in the name of fame and i am sorry for you hope this would not turn your fans against you sha ooo

This one na real OVERTAKE DON OVERTAKE OVERTAKE. iRepIDJA.

@Chisco,ur point exactly?Wots wiv all the stewpid details u have written here on this post?Don Jazzy himself said D"banj encouraged him to come home and that they would make it in Nigeria which they sure did.U were there when he was given the BMW years ago by Don Jazzy abi???Running ur mouth chatting shit that he prostrated.Pls shut up and as we all know,neither D"banj nor Don Jazzy is indispensible.

I am writing dis lerrer to linda and her people for abusing my husband, D'banj. Leave my husband alone. He's not perfect but he's nice guy, talented, handsome and I like his koko too(wink). Take it easy on him sha.

wow, this one is good, gonna use for another sport but i think it'll be just as good, BIG thanks :)
Ahighbloodpressurediet.com

joshua4excel said...

CHECK THIS OUT PEOPLE : EBONY.com: How did you join Kanye West’s G.O.O.D. Music label?

D’BANJ: I had a concert in Dubai and when we pulled up to the airport’s first class lounge and a hostess ran up to me with a plaque with Kanye’s face on it, asking me to sign it. I said ‘I’m not Kanye West, I’m D’banj but Kanye West is coming? All eyes open.’ Then my manager spoke to Kanye, came back and told me ‘He’ll give you five minutes.’ I walked over -- as an African man I’m always prepared -- and I played my music ‘Stand Out,’ ‘Fall In Love’ and ‘Scapegoat’ for him on my iPod. Before we knew it, I’d almost missed my flight and he invited me to New York.

Coming from Africa, I’m my own manager, I co-own a label called Mo’ Hits with Don Jazzy and we represent artists Dr. Sid, Wande Coal, D’Prince and K-Switch. I own Mo’ Hits and we’ve won numerous awards by the grace of God. Being with Kanye for the last eight months and me leading a successful label in Africa, I’ve learned a lot and I believe people will see what we’re going to do. I signed with Kanye in June and that same month I won the BET Award for Best International Act. My New York concert isn’t done by G.O.O.D. Music, it’s done by Live Nation, meaning I’m already a moving machine. So who better to introduce me to the global world than Kanye West, a crazy genius?

Make Money Online said...

Wonderful, i just couldn't help but think that this strive got to stop.

Jamb UTME 2013 said...

Nice, i just couldn't help but marvel, is D banj truly the owner of Mo hits?