Wednesday 3 August 2011

New Video: Timaya - Love Over Me

18 comments:

defacto said...

Gosh! are these artists produced by the same people?They all sound the same.similar beats,vocoder voice overs.Same applies to the so called film industry.No artistry,talent,or groundbreaking innovation.I met one of our so called superstar on a flight last year and his lack of knowledge about music was astonishing.Ours is a know nothing generation.Culturally decrepit.

there are so many underrated artist in Nigeria..... its so so sad. take Tillaman for example(listen to his song on youtube called TRYING) he is so underrated to name a few. anyway the likes of dbanj timaya terry g etc don't even have a positive message to their songs its so sad. none can read music or play the instrument.and don't get me started on wizkid...(aje omode) sytl plus. lagbaja..etc way to go pity they aren't recognized nowadays just the silly wanna be... p.s i love asa too.

Nwamaka said...

Defacto, Please shut up! Until you write a line in a song or even try to write a line for a play not even speaking of a movie, then your opinions don't matter.

hahahaha defacto. i like the music, but i agree, a lot of it sounds the same.
J Martins is the biggest offender.

Mehn i no feel am abeg....timaya! wagwan u be gangsta...na dat way be ya way.

defacto said...

@NWAMAKA
Abuse is the refuge of the uncultured and uncivilised.How on earth do you come by your opinions.Film and music critics are not film directors nor musicians,but are still able to form opinions about a particular genre.I bet some one like you could not sit thru a woody allen,bergman or kurosawa films.That is, if you have ever heard of them.

Adetutu said...

Timaya! Timaya! Timaya! How many times did i call you? Do you know the shape of your mouth in this video while you sang is freaking hilarious? Do you also know that after this love song trial, you should just go back to your dem mama songs and calling out your enemies with the same beats we have heard time and time again? May i also ask you, what exactly is the chorus of this song? Thank you.

Noella said...

I am just so unfamiliar with these artists...it appears this one seems to have a bad reputation...what is he known for??...i am just so so behind in the main stream events and pop culture going on in nija...

phyll said...

i agree with defacto, the biggest art critics dont do the art and yes i've come across a couple of these superstars who dont knw the first thing about msic n art..nonetheless some of them do try and put alot of work in wat they do, but imagine wat would become of the music and film industry if creativity, artistry and innovation meets with their hardwork...jst saying.

phyll said...

i agree with defacto, d biggest critics dnt do the art, and i've met a couple of these superstars who knw nothing about music...nonetheless some of them do try and put alot of hardwork in wat they do, imagine wat wld happen if creativity, innovation and artistry meets with their hardwork, bt until den we'd have to keep listening and nod to the ones that dat sounds good to the ears..

nonsense and ingredient song

Adetutu i reckon with ur point, for crying out loud what is the mouth thingy all about, anyways dude is smilling 2 d bank

kekere said...

i wonder why nigerians in diaspora like dissing nigeria on this blog? its totally wrong. if it is not our music, then its our fashion, or our lifestyle. i mean most of y'all in diaspora are living from hand to mouth and doing a whole lot of shit and those who are even living the life there are doing it on (naija)tax payers money so quit with the high handedness and snobbing. just cos you are there does not make u better. we have a whole lot of talents here and we love our music just the way it is. true there are the good ones, bad, ugly and totally wack ones but so are there in all d other nations of the world. i wud appreciate it if y'all quit hatin for just one minute. sheesh!!

defacto said...

@kekere
Actually I live and work in Lagos.I am bombarded by crap that passes for music daily. Hence,I hardly listen to any of the radio stations.
What asinine comments.

Nwamaka said...

Defacto, for your information I am attuned with the work of great artists. I agree with Okereke, that we (myself included) in the diaspora can be judgmental to the effort our brothers and sisters back home. Meanwhile some of us are here living from pay check to pay check. We are only in the beginning stages of mastering the entertainment business. And so far, we are surpassed all our critics. May God continue to bless Nigeria and Africa as a whole. Thank you!

kekere said...

@defacto seriously asinine comments? Smh. Was that rily necessary? I have a right to my comments and so does every one else so quit being so obstinate.music is not rocket science. It is meant to entertain and I quite like this song and d beat. I mit not like it in a couple of weeks cos it is not a classic but if timaya sang it to me now say @ a show or something, I'd blush. If u don't like it then stuff it.

ChezzyPrecious said...

Timaya,this one no be ur talent.I no feel u at all

Anwuli said...

Seriously Timaya fuck up for this video, this is so cliched, he sounds just like every oda musician for naija now, wateva happened to the Timaya with his dance videos, wen everybodi dey jolly to, timaya i was one of your number one fans but ol boi u too mess up for this song... was not catching or different, not interesting or stimulating and to be honest i will neva listen to it again and defacto is right in saying "are these artists all produced by the same people".... too bad, tot Timaya was different and a change to the naija music scene, them don make money dem no dey interested in their fans any longer. .. this is an absolute rubbish music