Attempt to hide evidence on Titi Arowolo's case by police | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 4 August 2011

Attempt to hide evidence on Titi Arowolo's case by police

Dear All,
This is a call to renew our call for justice on Titilayo Omozoje Arowolo, the slain Skye Bank official's case. Information reaching us is that there is an attempt by the police to withhold some vital evidence from the court. In a telephone conversation with the family lawyer earlier today, he raised concerns on attempts by the police to withhold some vital evidence from the scene of the crime from the court. He pointed out that 2 strategic photographs were missing from the photographs the police presented during the arraignment of Kolade Arowolo.

We have all been involved in this call for justice not just for the deceased Titi, but for as many 'other' Titi's that are and may find themselves in similar situation if nothing is done.

Please use every available medium you can access to spread this message to the Nigerian Police and the Judiciary that we are watching to see how this case will play out.
Best Regards

Kate Ibeanusi
Programme Officer, Human Rights Education
Project Alert on Violence against Women
21 Akinsanya Street, Off Isheri Road, Ojodu Berger
Lagos Nigeria
234 806 983 9295
Here's a report by Wole Balogun of  The Sun Newpaper which was published online on Friday, July 29, 2011
Family of murdered banker raises the alarm - Help, they want to kill this case!

Members of the family of late Titilayo Arowolo, the young lady allegedly killed by her husband, Akolade, in their Lagos home on June 24, are still very angry. They are understandably angry with the man they believed murdered their daughter for ritual purposes. But that is not all. They are also angry with the police authorities, who they believe are not too sincere in their investigations.

The mutilated body of Titilayo, a staff of Skye Bank, was discovered in their home in Isolo by her family members. The husband, the number one suspect, is already having his day in court.
But the Oyakhire family isn’t impressed. The family’s lawyer, Mr. Nelson Ekoh, said the police were still holding on to vital evidence that would affirm the family’s allegation.
Titilayo’s family members are also insisting that the deceased was a victim of ritual killing, asserting that her body was badly mutilated by her husband.

Ekoh, who spoke with our correspondent on Wednesday, said the family was convinced that Titilayo’s murder was for ritual purposes based on the discoveries made at the scene of the murder. He, however, accused the police of failing to produce some of the photographs taken at the scene in court at the last arraignment of the suspect.

According to him, the two photographs which he noted showed vividly that Titilayo was killed for money rituals included one showing the N100 note that was soaked in the lady’s blood as well as another showing an object that was picked on the floor at the scene of the crime.

“The objects which looked like baby diapers were actually some bits of flesh from one of Titi’s eye that was plucked out,” he said. “We found that some parts of Titi’s body parts were missing at the scene of the crime. I can say that one of her eyes was missing. Then at the scene of the crime, in the pool of her blood was something that looked like a diaper but was actually bits of Titi’s flesh from her eyes.

“On the day that Akolade was arraigned, two photographs were not brought along with the ones supplied by the police. And I commented on that. One of the photographs is showing the N100 note that was soaked in blood and the photograph showing the object that we picked on the floor at the scene of the crime. I believe that the photographer is trying to be smart or the person that brought the photographs is trying to be smart because I don’t know the reason why they had to do that.

“I took the photographer to the scene of the crime. He took a picture of Akolade’s car when it was at the police station together with the picture of the N100 note. But when we now got inside the house, the guy who came with the police and claimed to have come with them as their photographer said we should allow him to take the other photographs. We allowed him, thinking that everything would be brought together. So, the photographer I took along did not take the photograph of the object that we picked on the floor. But I have told the police that they must present those pictures.”
Ekoh also expressed optimism that the autopsy report on Titi’s corpse would affirm the allegation that Titi was a victim of ritual killing. “The autopsy has been done but the pathologist, who did it, has travelled out of the country and would not be back until August 9. I saw the result itself and he was correcting some parts of it before he travelled.”

“So, as from August 9, we should be expecting the full text of the results. Now the police only charged Akolade Arowolo for murder. The situation of the offence might be more than that. Moreover, if some parts are missing, I still rightly believe that the reports would reveal all that. And then one can conclude that they wanted to use her for rituals.”

Ekoh said the family wanted the law to take its course.
When the reporter contacted Akolade’s father on phone and asked him his position on the issue, the old man sounded angry. He said: “Look oga, I have no comments to make. The police are on the case. We cannot say anything. Please, leave me alone. I don’t want to react to anything.”
Ekoh, however, said Akolade’s father had been appealing to Titilayo’s family. “The last day we were in court, the father of Akolade was there and he was crying and appealing to the family of Titilayo. But we want the law to take its course.”

23 comments:

WTH?

"According to him, the two photographs which he noted showed vividly that Titilayo was killed for money rituals included one showing the N100 note that was soaked in the lady’s blood as well as another showing an object that was picked on the floor at the scene of the crime.

“The objects which looked like baby diapers were actually some bits of flesh from one of Titi’s eye that was plucked out,” he said. “We found that some parts of Titi’s body parts were missing at the scene of the crime. I can say that one of her eyes was missing. Then at the scene of the crime, in the pool of her blood was something that looked like a diaper but was actually bits of Titi’s flesh from her eyes.

SMH

Berry said...

Very depressing story. I pray justice is served.

www.berryfeistypen.blogspot.com

Ori awon people yi ope ni men as in they've got nuts appealing for what is an animal that died i'm so upset right now to type further

spicy said...

everything should be done to keep this guy locked up forever. it will be a disaster to allow him walk free cos he will repeat this again. Justice we cry for!

CAN U JUST IMAGINE?INSULT UPON INJURY! EGBIN ONI YORO!WHOM SO EVER IS PLANNING TO COVER ANY EVIL,THEIR WHOLE FAMILY WILL SHARE FROM IT, EXPECIALLY THERE CHILDREN, AWON OLORIBURUKU...OLOSHIN GBOGBO!MY GOD WILL JUDGE THEM, TO MO-TOMO...AMINNNNNNNNNN

A good lawyer would have his own copies of the photographs available in court.

Did he present his own copies as exhibit?

Or did her family not have their own copies of the alleged murder scene?

I initially suspected that the lady was killed for a money ritual. That is the truth of the matter. @Anonymous 4.00pm, thanks for the info.

tayo said...

and that is how the guilty go scot-free!!!

I pray her death will be avenged soon!!! He must never go scot-free..!

Worried said...

Sad story....but I wonder what sort of people are now recruited as police officers in Nigeria. Don't they know what questions posterity may ask them with their blatant commitment to disregarding all sense of right or wrong. I also wonder if they do not belong to any family system and what sort of responses they expect from family especially their Children.....This investigation has even been acknowledged properly no the said Freedom of Information act brought to bear on the proceedings.....God help us all

Ronny said...

This is so disheartening!cant believe am reading this, Nigeria Police hiding evidence in this case, oh my God,What is this country turning into?!God help us o

Janyl Benyl said...

This is really sad. A family that lost so much, with so much torment and pain, and all they ask for is to at least see justice being meted out and some people in their right senses will try to obstruct that? These Nigerian police people sef, do they have a heart at all? I wonder how much was being used to buy their conscience like this!
No empathy at all! Na wa!

Gbenga said...

That's why no on will ever trust them, we gracefully romance crime and set the table of injustice for the high and mighty to dine on while the unprivileged are left in the loo to manage the brown bananas. I hate police.

Nigerian police will always want to disgrace their already disgraced self.. people without reputation. *SMH*

sad sad sheet.

14me said...

We all need to pass this message ooo this case must not die like that oooo

Nkemjika said...

i dey one corner dey watch this trial,if they release this man eh??i go catch am and when i catch am,i go cut off his gbolo and give my neighbours ekunke dog to wack.....

i throway salute to una ooo

ronke said...

thunder fire whoeva wants to help dis useless bastard....ahn ahn wat rubbish!!! dey sud even release d idiot nd c weda nigerians no go carry fuel,kerosine nd tyre burn am alive...tsewww!!! linda i don vex

sleekreek said...

I knew the police will play a nasty role in this case just like they have always done with many sensitive cases such as dis........

@annon Aug 4,4:47pm....i say a resounding Amen to ur prayers,,,so shall it be for anyone who dares to sweep dis case under the carpet.

The Omozhoje's family lawyer is not competent enof too cos he is supposed to have copies of the pictures for cross examination in the court,,,he is a nigerian and practices his profession in nigeria so he should know what the police is capable of.....

Akolade's father,,,its not time for u to shed tears,,,will ur tears or apology bring Titi to life again??ur time to cry has not come....

I pray Justice prevails......

I dont think the law recognizes ritual killings (i stand to be corrected tho)...as far as the law is concerned murder is murder so wether the evil pple that are hiding the evidence like it or not,the full weight of the law will still fall on Akolade. Even if the decide to be dodgy about it and free the murderer i can assure him that the chances of him living beyond 24hrs are very slim cos there are too many angry Nigerians following the case so they will Lynch him...Shikena!

It is high time for our opinion to insist on justices. We should not accept anything that is not proper again.

We have to ensure that justice is done. Any police that tamper with justice should have his or head put into it. Any Judge that give bad judgement should be brought to justices.
Justice is our birth right. We should not let go. Enough of this non-sense in Nigeria. The public should rise for justice and bring nigeria to become a place where the rule of law prevail.

In this case, Police can not, i repeat, they can not stop justice from being done. We will not agree.

There are many people like Akolade who need to be taught a lesson. We have to make sure that sufficient or maximum under the law is passed on this criminal. Nobody should escape judgement in this kind of case

Israel said...

What is the next thing now? Is the othopsy report out? Infact as a matter of fact they should not allow this kind of person to stay near where human being are staying, he should be slauthered like Samuel doe of Libaria. God will reveal the whole secret.What is the next thing now? Is the othopsy report out? Infact as a matter of fact they should not allow this kind of person to stay near where human being are staying, he should be slauthered like Samuel doe of Libaria. God will reveal the whole secret.

Foye Oyedokun said...

Honestly,
...Im trying to remain sane as I patiently read and watch events unfold on this case...
Not like Im surprised at the way the police is going about this though... we all know there are more bad eggs in the system than there are "policemen" in the true sense of the word...and Titi's family lawyer has no simple evidence as pictures?....MY GOODNESS...what happens if the autopsy report is re-worded to ruin his case?
...for me, posterity I plead will judge. But on a second thought, why dont we deliver justice by ourselves...if we cant get him to be convicted, we cant get him lynched, what the hell happened to African Magic?...im no pro-juju but I guess this is a brilliant time to have this guy tormented spiritually till he confesses and DIES...WTH!

how does autopsy proove ritual murder i beg