SENATE COMMITTEE PROBING OBASANJO / ATIKU RESIGN. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 March 2007

SENATE COMMITTEE PROBING OBASANJO / ATIKU RESIGN.

Atiku and Obasanjo
Wonders they say shall never end. The things happening in this country are becoming increasingly alarming. How many of you guys know that members of a Nigerian Senate committee probing graft allegations against president Obasanjo and vice-president Atiku Abubakar, have all resigned? The seven man committee who were asked to look into the allegations said the Senate leaders were interfering with their investigations. They also said there had been pressure on them to "water down" their report which alleges money belonging to a government agency was misappropriated

Senator Umar Tsauri, chairman of the committee, told reporters that they had met "repeated roadblocks" in trying to present the report to the Senate and felt its release before the elections was being prevented. "We pleaded with the leadership of the Senate to allow us to present our report but they said no and we just felt it was better to resign because it'd be a blow to our integrity, " he said. "Our integrity was at stake. We resigned because we are principled people."

You guys all know the story. EFCC accused VP Atiku of diverting money belonging to the Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF), which he denied and is presently in court challenging his exclusion from the presidential election

The Senate is currently debating the sudden resignation of the committee members behind closed doors.

Naija la wa. Anything can happen.

No comments: