MNET FACE OF AFRICA WINNERS. WHERE ARE THEY? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 March 2007

MNET FACE OF AFRICA WINNERS. WHERE ARE THEY?

Venantia Otto (2006)

Oluchi Onweagba (1998)

Benvinda Mudenge (1999)

Nombulelo (2000)

Ramatoulaye Diallo (2001)

Kaone Kario (2005)

Where are these girls? Does anyone know what became of them? Please let me know.

18 comments:

they all a bunch of loosers.dont care where they are.

@ ogene. they are not loosers. just washed up..ha ha ha

this girls have done so much for themselves,country and humanity.i cant beliv anyone would call them loosers. they are all successful models in their own right.linda keep up the good work.

just came across yor blog.it is great.keep up the good work

we all know oluchi is doing great in the US, benvinda and nombulelo have retired from modeling, rama is still modeling actively in france. kaone is one of the most sought after models in africa and venantia is in the US trying to make it.

oluchi is the only one of the lot who made it. Others didnt go very far.some just gave up.

BOBBY said...

Its not easy...

LINDA DO U READ MUCH?OR DO YOU GET OUT OF NAIJA AT ALL??

APART FROM THE OTHERS WHO ARENT UP TO MUCH.

OLUCHI IS STILL THE ONLY VISIBLE ONE.EVER HAVING DONE SOMETHING.

ABEG DONT THINK BECAUSE SHE IS NOT ON EVERY MAG COVER SHE ISNT DOING ANYTHING O.
GIRL HAS HER FUTURE SECURE ON A LOCKDOWN MEN.

AND DONT ASK HOW I KNOW.

Doc A said...

Oluchi's husband is the Italian (US based) fashion mogul that owns Luca Luca, home girl is stil modeling but she has truly crossed over. Her man Luca Orlandi is PAID!!!!

Meadows j. said...

I STILL SEE OLUCHI IN MAGAZINES.

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Meadows j. said...

@ANONYMOUS. NEVER MIND, YOU CAN'T AFFORD THE MAGAZINES I READ REGULARLY. OWUITE NEVER WIRE YOU FINISH.

Meadows j. said...
Empi said...

Oluchi, who was the first winner is still the most successful. I'd attribute it to a couple of factors. She was the first - therefore, a model from Africa was a novel idea (after her, it's not so novel any longer). Secondly, Elite Modelling Agency was part of the prize package. These day the winners get a contract from a South African agency, which (let's face it) doesn't exactly result in global fame. To be successful in the fashion industry a model has to hit New York, Paris, Sydney, Tokyo etc. (the fashion capitals of the world).

Case in point, Kaone Kario once disclosed in an interview that she's mostly done retail campaigns for Foschini.

Nombulelo Mazibuko was fired from the New York Agency she worked with for not being thin enough (at size 30), so that's how come she decided to quit modelling.

Modelling is a cutthroat industry and very few make it to "supermodel" status. It doesn't mean they aren't making a good enough living. Don't make the mistake of thinking that they've failed because 'you' don't know where they are.

Think of it, how often do you hear about the winners of America's Next Top Model? And these are winners from the US - home of one of the world's fashion capitals.

Anyway, my two cents

Kaone is doing fairly well in New York as part of Welhemina Models. she is doing quite well. the rest i dont know