Former South Korean President Park Geun-hye goes on trial for alleged bribery | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 23 May 2017

Former South Korean President Park Geun-hye goes on trial for alleged bribery

Park Geun-hye, the former president of South Korea appeared in court early on Tuesday and denied that she engaged in bribery and leaking government secrets at the start of a criminal trial that could send South Korea's first female leader to prison for life if convicted. 

Police escorted her in handcuffs with her eyes downcast, into court for her first public appearance since she was jailed on March 31, 2017 based on the same corruption allegations that led to her removal from office.

Park emerged from a bus with her inmate number 503 attached to her dark-colored jacket, walked into the Seoul Central District Court and sat before a three-judge panel.

Park's trial is expected to take several months.

11 comments:

This is a former president of a nation on trial for just "ALLEGED BRIBERY" But in my own country, an ex president have immunity for life even when there are glaring evident of corruption - obasanjo: $18 billion electricity project scam and dont even talk about Jonathan. That one need special prison on snake island. Until we tear that stupid constitution that was written by military govt to protect them from been punished for wrong doing and write one that is objective we will never move an inch as a nation

known anonymous

Poor yuh, Madame.

Rubbish!!!

GOOD TO SEE

AUNTY LINDA 👸

jummy said...

This is what I want to see in this country., All handcuffs... But maybe I can only see it in my imagination cos it won't even take place in my dreams.

FRESH said...

When would GEJ go on trial for treasury looting? His wife who has no known means of livelihood except being a fat wife, is still contesting ownership of 58 million dollars with the Nigerian government. Abeg where she get 58 MILLION DOLLARS?

Oga Fresh make I ask you; all those past military rulers who are presently sitting on top of piles of money, what means of livelihood did they have prior to becoming Head of State to justify the gazillions of money they own? Educate me, please.

Imagine if this were Babangida, Obj or Jonathan, all the people in the region where they come from will set fire to the country claiming tribal persecution.

FRESH said...

Bros,if a thief comes to your house & someone saw him,Pls ask the police not to bother arresting him cos' he's not the only thief around.Am I making sense sir/ma?

AGB said...

@Anonymous 12:23 My brother/sister, you have spoken well. Yet, many of the same hypocrites are here chanting "this is what I want to see in this country." Whenever it happens in this country, the same hypocrites would trivialize it through bias and sentiments of/for religion and ethnicity.