US jails 3 Nigerian scammers for 235 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 May 2017

US jails 3 Nigerian scammers for 235 years

Three Nigerian scammers have been given jail sentences for defrauding victims they met on dating sites of tens of millions of dollars.
Oladimeji Seun Ayelotan, 30, was sentenced to 95 years in prison; Rasaq Aderoju Raheem, 31, was sentenced to 115 years and Femi Alexander Mewase, 45, got 25 years in prison, according to a report by Infosecurity Magazine. That brings it to a total of 235 years in prison.
They were tried and found guilty by a court in the Southern District of Mississippi. Their crimes include; identity theft, mail, credit card, and wire fraud; and theft of government property.

Ayelotan and Raheem were also found guilty of conspiracies to commit bank fraud and money laundering. 

The scammers have reportedly been carrying out their operations as far back as 2001. They were part of a string of scams against Americans, facilitated by internet communications. They got involved in what is popularly called 419, where their victims are promised a massive amount in return for making some payments into the criminals' accounts.  The criminals did not stop there but went even further.

They reportedly befriend women on dating sites, start a romantic relationship and then either get them to send money or have them participate in fraud schemes, usually without the victim’s knowledge. Sometimes the unsuspecting women were made to cash counterfeit checks or use stolen credit cards to buy things. They were used to launder money via Western Union and the likes.

They were also accused of running romance stings to steal from lonely people, shipping fraud, running fake work-from-home businesses, check fraud, and hijacking other people’s bank accounts and credit cards to divert funds.

21 defendants have already been charged in the case, which is still ongoing. 12 of whom have pleaded guilty to charges involving conspiracy and 11 of whom have been sentenced. 

17 comments:

Zee9ja said...

Chai why are yoruba boys disgracing me.i Thought it was only igbo's dat are involved in such kynd of thing

This is a set-up. There is absolutely no way, this story is legitimate.

Agbomen said...

SMH.

Good for them. Everyday for the thief......

235years wickedness

After they will say igbos like money! This one is green card issuance. Remain in the prison till death. Nawaoooo

Ur very stupid and compounded fool. Set up ko transformer ni

Glow! said...

Oh shut up please!!!
Set up indeed, facts don't lie ok?

zidon said...

This one is wickedness death is better

this is terrible,since 2001,but this guys bad sha

wawu ...lucky devils, free food & accommodation for them for the next 235 years.

Since 2001 I wish they get more fraudulent guys arrested n also prosecute them....

Neeyo Linda Ikeji Birth Mate

YORUBA(STARDS)!!!

Yemi said...

Make una just face una own problems. Dem don ball the money finish. Their time don end. Una wey still dey on minimum wage dey talk shii

chymo said...

chia my guys una too much joor at least una don chop up since 2001 till date e no easy joor i hail una

chymo said...

chia my guys una too much at least una don chop up since 2001 e no easy i hail you guys joor

I thought na only igbo like money.yorubas wey like to dey fuck anything on skirt don dey like money too.abeg leave money for the igbos make una dey busy dey fight for toto