Former Delta state governor, James Ibori awarded N400 (£1) in damages over unlawful detention in London | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 23 May 2017

Former Delta state governor, James Ibori awarded N400 (£1) in damages over unlawful detention in London

Convicted former Delta state governor, James Ibori, has been awarded £1( N400) by a High court over his claims he was unlawfully detained by Home Secretary Amber Rudd.
Ruling on Monday, Justice Cheema-Grubb admitted that he was unlawfully held for one day, 18 hours and 10 minutes between December 20 and 21 last year but ruled that James Ibori, who had claimed £4,000 in damages for breaches of his human rights, is only entitled to a nominal £1 of the sum.
According to her, she said the Home Secretary 'failed to have regard to her limits to detain” as attempts were made to claw back millions from the fraudster.

Rejecting Ibori’s bid for thousands in compensation, the judge ruled: 'There is no compensatory loss to Mr. Ibori and I fix nominal damages at £1.'

Ibori who pleaded guilty to 10 serious criminal charges over the appropriation of massive amounts of public funds during his two terms as governor of Delta State was jailed for 13 years in 2012.

He was released from prison in December 2016 after a court order. He served 4 years out of the 13 years he was sentenced to.

18 comments:

Cyril said...

Next thing na to go collect the check for the £1.
Lucky man.

Hahahaha
UK government know how to use person do yeye!!!
Chai!!!

Smh

The amount sef is not worth the paper used to write out the cheque.
Mchewtxxxx...
Nonsense.
Yeye... lawsuit claim!!!
I know say lawyer(s) must charge him legal fees too join...for such display of madness.

Long live JAMES IBORI the lion

Lol. After all he stole and convicted for,he still had d guts to go to court . Serves his ass right.

Lol.

Okogba said...

This was what Brymo sang about, £1

Desert Flower said...

He thought he was in Nigeria where he can steal money that isn't his. Severs him right. Criminal!!!

deggy said...

Long Live Ibori The Don of Nigeria is Back

Saidat said...

lol I love this? 400 NAIRA? 😂

EFCC OYA?

AUNTY LINDA 👸

I love United Kingdom, LOL! May God Bless that Judge, Amen.

Useless man you think you dey Nija yeyeye man tell your PA to go and collect it.White people you people are funny...nuel

Ode Oshi

Odimma

Chineke!... dee

Pascal said...

Ibori is so jobless suing for one day detention