In a statement issued in Ado-Ekiti by his Special Assistant on Public Communications and New Media, Lere Olayinka, Governor Fayose said it was strange that despite that the National Judicial Council (NJC) recommended only Justice Onnoghen to President Muhammadu Buhari for appointment as the CJN in line its rules, since October 13, 2018, his name was not sent to the Senate for confirmation.
The governor said that this is the first time Nigeria is having an acting CJN for the first time in its history despite that Justice Onnoghen's name was sent to President Muhammadu Buhari early enough.
He said:
“As at the time the NJC recommended Justice Onnoghen to President Buhari, it was 28 clear days to the November 10, 2016 retirement date of Justice Mahmud Mohammed.
“Why then was his (Justice Onnoghen) name not sent to the Senate for confirmation? Why appointing him as Acting CJN when his name should have been sent to the Senate between October 13, 2016 that he was recommended to the president and November 10, 2016 that Justice Mahmud Mohammed retired?
“Obviously, there is more to this acting CJN appointment than meet the eyes and in my opinion, it could be that President Buhari never wanted Justice Onnoghen as a substantive CJN because he is from the South-South or that they want to use his pending appointment as substantive CJN to make him do their biddings.”He lamented that "They have subdued the national assembly and are now in the last stage of muscling democracy by subduing the judiciary.
"If men of good conscience, especially leading lights in the legal profession refuse to raise their voices against this tyranny, they will all be consumed by the tyrant." Governor Fayose, who said playing politics with the judiciary, especially at the CJN level was dangerous to the survival of democracy, urged Justice Onnoghen to do his job without fear or favour, “bearing in mind that it is only God that put people in positions.”
“I am sure those who made sure Justice Onnoghen’s name was not sent to the Senate for confirmation until the tenure of Justice Mahmud Mohammed expired knew what they were doing. They obviously needed a situation where the CJN, being in acting capacity will be subservient to them, using his appointment as substantive CJN as bait.
“However, Justice Onnoghen must live above that temptation of wanting to be the substantive CJN at the expense of strict adherence to the rule of law and principles of democracy.
“He must resist any attempt to further gag the judiciary even if that will cost him his appointment as the substantive CJN,” the governor said.
27 comments:
Hmmmmm
Not interested
I think I concur wit fayose. He made a point
Issokay seen
This is really serious... I believe he knows his fate anyways, so...
Click my link and follow me on LIS ๐๐๐
For the fist time ever,I'm inclined to agree with Fayose.The grapevine info making round is that this man will never be CJN simply coz he's lost face with the president.
Another name will emerge soon,and trust me its gonna be a different name.This is why we always drum the independence of the judiciary from appointment to remuneration
Odi egwu! Linda take note!
ALL THIS PIGGY LOUSY GOVERNOR KNOWS IS TO CRITICIZE AND SHARE RICE. DO YOU NEED THE PRESIDENT TO DEVELOP THE STATE? STOP CAPITALIZING ON THE LEVEL OF ILLITERACY AND POVERTY OF YOUR PEOPLE TO BE SHARING RICE AND GARRI INSTEAD OF GOING THE WISE AND HARDWORKING WAY OF INDUSTRIALIZATION.
HMMMMMM
AUNTY LINDA ๐ฉ
PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI
He made a point! #Amamihe
it is well
Hmmmmm ok
hmm
I have thought of that. Why acting?, the problem now is that, ur the only Person that can speak without fear, it seems as if others are afraid to talk.
For the first time i agree with fayose
Agree with him even seeing the moody faces on the FEC members even the president was not happy Adesina was the only smiling on that day. Perhaps they wanted to find some corrupt charges against him and could not find any so thy had no choice than to make him.
To think this idiot fayoshit took thugs to a court,slapped and beat up a judge...is senility or amnesia setting up an industry in his miserable life?
Hmmmmmmmmmm fayose always disrupt ing buba's plan.lol
************************he made alota sense if u ax me.....
What point did he make? Or you just want to concur with him because he is your 'leader'? Everything fayose has said is just extremely foolish and makes no sense
Fayose is so foolish that it has eaten into his entire cerebrum. Has he ever heard about extensive security and background checks to make sure that the proposed CJN is free of corruption, especially after what we hv just learnt about so many judges including supreme Court judges. 28 days isn't that long to do a full vetting. Besides confirmation of his appointment will be done by the Senate and not by the executive. Fayose is just trying to whip up sympathy because he knows 2018 is at hand
You're an uneducated fool. So you cant comprehend this straightforward writeup. Illiterate idiot acting like he's any wiser.
Tpy na thunder go fire you. I see ur brain is expired thats why you're talking rubbish.u hear cerebrum carry dey run come write am here make we fear u. U learnt about corrupt judge ..idiot like u na una dis stupid govt dey fool dey use una do hand tools. Ode!