Photos: Why didn't the referee stop the fight? Boxer in coma after suffering brain injuries during boxing match | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 March 2016

Photos: Why didn't the referee stop the fight? Boxer in coma after suffering brain injuries during boxing match

British boxer Nick Blackwell (right) is in an induced coma after suffering a bleed on the brain following a domestic title fight defeat to Chris Eubank Jr on Saturday night. The referee didn't stop the match and allowed it to go on until the tenth round, when a doctor indicated Nick Blackwell couldn't continue the fight due to severe brain injuries from punches by Chris Eubank Jr.

For the referee to allow this fight to go on until the tenth round despite seeing the severe injuries inflicted on Blackwell from the first round up till the tenth round is so inhumane. Blackwell is now in a state of coma.

More photos

63 comments:

Wawuu! Look at his eye.
He should have asked for the fight to stop,was he held there at gun point.

Kayode Odusanya said...

WTF! Look at the contour on his head. Why didn't his coach/team throw in the towel? I am guessing a mafia don bet on this fight, and they couldn't end it like that cos of the heavy stakes involved.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

no be u say u be oga na why u dey run

Chinekeeee!!! 4wat?

#LibBadBoy

They wanted the boxer to die?

Eyea

The a doctor stopped the fight due to the swelling on the eye as opposed to the brain injuries.

chy said...

What a shame, Chris ubank Senior also killed a fellow boxer during his era.. Similar thing is about to befall on his son.. My it never happen in JN

Na wa oo,this is too bad,is just as if they really mean the guy

This is too bad, is just as if they really mean d guy

after seeing so many action movies, probably he thought he can still carry on like JET LI, Linda, you female and you dont know the rules, the guy got a doctor and coaches, either of them should have stopped the match !!

Eya sorry boy,life is not easy

These isn't a friendly game at all. Don't like it a single bit

Money palabra

Chai,diz is disturbing.

Na wa o. Nothing is easy in this world

oben said...

#iHateDisSport

It's a pity, wsh him speed recovery

Its part of the price you have to pay to become a champion

I hate boxing, this pics is heart breaking, thunder will fire that referee for not stopping them on time when he saw danger

Linda they know what they signed up for. The referee did his job.Nothing inhuman here.
I hate boxing wallahi

The guy sef no gree oO

May the mercy of God locate him and grant him quick recovery

Eyah...wishing him quick recovery

Oladimeji said...

Boxing gone wrong. Pele blackwell.

Yetty k said...

Am sure d guy dt hit him dis hard is on drugs

I don't like this sport. I wish him speedy recovery

‭OKORO UPGRADED

D referee is wicked...

ngfineface said...

I just can't figure out how a normal person will wake up and decides that his mens of livelihood is boxing. Tufiakwa

Shaun said...

OMG Chris Eubank Jr is just taking after his father. His father is know to beat people into disabilities and comas. Just google what his father did to Micheal Watson.

Chris Eubank jnr. Like father like son. They should place an embargo on that family boxing wise. Lesson learnt. Never get into a ring with a Eubank

What a fight... nicely beaten

The referee is not a doctor. The guy probably indicated he could keep going. Hope he gets better soon.

Too bad, i so hate this and wrestling, don't see them as sports at all

KC said...

Not the referee's fault at all... D boxer wanted to continue... Wish him speedy recovery

(Linda d Kim K's fan)

UJCOOL said...

NA THE GUY TALK SAY HIM SABI BOX. THE BLACK MAN DON SHOW AM OKURIN META. THE REFEREE DID A VERY GOOD JOB.

Na wa ooo

Abwiz said...

Who send am

This is really pathetic. The referee is very very wrong and should be sued. That is why i don't really like boxing.

[Perock7 said...

Oh my father......this is one of the major reason i will never do boxing

He's working for his pay, wetin concern me??? Linda take note!

PrettyChi said...

Nawaoo, this is one of the reasons why I hate it

Kojevspin D Realist said...

Dats so wrong KC. It is d responsibility of d umpire to step in n stop d fight wen he feels d boxer is in danger. In dis particular fight it was obvious Blackwell was severely hurt but neither d ref or his corner stopped d fight. Google this fight n u will see wen Eubank Snr was telling Eubank Jnr not to throw punches to d head of Blackwell. He was so frustrated dat d ref had not stopped d fight, bc he remembered how he too sent a boxer into coma during his time n this haunted him for years. Pls blame d ref n Blackwells team for not throwing in d towel

Goldmine said...

It's not the job of the referee to stop a match...if the boxer and his coach believe the can still win the fight, regardless of the blood. If he is so weak to continue, he (or his coach) should throw in the towel.

Demmy said...

I really pray he's out of coma soon.

I hate boxing.

Nawa o

intussuception said...

Did anybody force him? Shebi na him want the cash?

intussuception said...

make cash right here http://VisitsToMoney.com/index.php?refId=885679

this is serious

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

So gross! He should have signaled for the fight to stop! May God save his life.

I watched the match live, the referee was a bastard because even Chris nse told him to stop the match he ignored.

I personal feel the referee was a racist trying to buy time and give the white boy a chance to win but it back fired badly.

Olaide Davies. said...

He no go die in Jesus name amen.Next time no fight person wey strong pass u .

LIB PIKIN said...

This is what happens to u wen u don't know ur mate. Merciless beating. Chaii

I can never be entertained by this sport

Linda, I watched the match live and am an avid boxing fan. I never miss a live boxing match for 15 years in a roll. There are several rules in boxing and in this actual instance, Rule 1: Only the Referee can stop the fight, should have applied. The boxer's corner also had the rights to throw in the towel if they felt their boxer was weak and can't continue. However this was a championship bout, in fact the British welter weight championship and Nick Blackwell was the defending champion. Two things played out here 1. Nick being the defending champion will not let go without a fight 2. His corner still believed he could turn the game around. However, in the boxing ring, there are 2 boxers and each with his own ambition during that 12 rounds of boxing. The upper cuts from C. Eubank Jr. were to accurate and Nick wasn't moving around or holding to avoid them. He took too many upper cut and blows to the head. In fact, in my watch, the bout ended around the 6th round, but he kept on showing resilience and hope of turning the tide around.
Chris Eubank Jr. is a legend in the making and a fine young boxer. This bout will lead him to fight international where he would be tested by more experienced and rugged boxers in the game.
Come Saturday April 9th in Vegas, it is Timothy Bradley vs Manny Pacquiao III for the WBO welter bout, this will be fun. In London England, O2 Arena, Anthony Joshua v Charles Martin (IBF heavyweight). Anthony Joshua is actually Nigeria Born Heavyweight and he ko'ed Dillian White in the 7th Round last December. April 23: Inglewood, USA, Gennady Golovkin v Dominic Wade (WBA/IBF middleweight), Roman Gonzalez v McWilliams Arroyo (WBC flyweight) Both Gennady and Dominic are undefeated prospects.
I will be your boxing authority and consultant - Holla " Davidb3x@gmail.com

No he did not kill a boxer. Pls get your facts right. Chris Eubanks Sr. Fight with Michael Watson left him partially brain damaged. This was due to paramedics not arriving on site until about 30mins or so and no oxygen was given on time. He was in a coma for 5 months and took several months to recover. He had to learn to talk and walk again. Boxing can be dangerous at times. By the way Chris Eubanks sr and Michael Watson are still good friends. At the end of the day it was an accident and the injury was not intended. Chris even stepped into the ring during this fight to tell his son to only hit him on the body as he unsure was to why the referee is not stopping the fight and did not want his son to hurt the guy any further that may lead to serious injury.

Dekunle Questa said...

It is not easy to make money like Mayweather now!

Black own boxing😁😁😁

Little wonder Mayweather dey chop him money like a wolf. He never can tell when Parkinson steps in

Time to stop this old brutal roman spectacle by modern day romans

Nawao