'Not a fair question' Chris Eubank Jr says when asked to choose between British title and health of boxer he knocked down | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 March 2016

'Not a fair question' Chris Eubank Jr says when asked to choose between British title and health of boxer he knocked down

British boxer Chris Eubank Jr refused to answer a journalist who asked him to choose between the British boxing title and Nick Blackwell's health. Nick Blackwell is currently in a state of coma after he was rushed to hospital following severe bruises to the brain from boxer Chris Eubank Jr's punches on Saturday night.

Eubank Jnr and his father/manager, Chris Eubank Snr, held a press conference on Tuesday where Channel 4's Matt Frei asked Eubank Jnr:
 'If you had the choice of having Nick Blackwell in perfect health - he didn't have to be in an induced coma - or holding on to your belt, what would it be?'
The boxer replied:
'That's not a fair question, I'm not going to answer that. This is my life, I'm in there to do a job. I don't wish any harm on anybody outside the ring and I wish him a full recovery.'
Frei, 52, had earlier riled Eubank Snr when he asked:
'If it's about winning; is this advice you gave to your son giving him mixed messages; is it confusing?'
Eubank Snr replied: 'Your line of questioning is not conducive to a good interview.'
Frei: 'Why?'

Eubank Snr: 'It just isn't; it's not going anywhere. You're asking me...'

Frei: 'What's wrong with the line of questioning?'

Eubank Snr: 'It's unfair.'

Frei: 'Why is it unfair?'

Eubank Snr:
'The objective is to score your points. If anything, this fight wasn't an exception in that I gave him this advice, it's a rule of thumb. If you don't need to land shots to the head, then don't. It was a command I gave him in telling him to go to the body. I walked back and left him to it and he has to make the decision.'
When Eubank Jnr was in the corner after the eighth round at Wembley Arena, TV cameras caught his father saying:
'If the referee doesn't stop it, then I don't know what to tell you, but I will tell you this: one, if he doesn't stop it and we keep on beating him like this, he is getting hurt; two, if it goes to a decision, why didn't the referee stop the fight? I don't get why. 
So maybe you shouldn't leave it to the referee. So you're not going to take him out to the face, you're going to take him out to the body.'
Chris Eubank Jr said, 'I'm glad the doctor stopped the fight because the referee wasn't going to. I was playing.
His father, whose fight against Michael Watson in 1991 ended in with his opponent in a coma and requiring six brain operations, added:
 'Even in sparring, I tell Junior to stay away from the head because his punching is fast, powerful and dangerous. So most certainly I was saying this to protect the fighter. He had the fight won. This is a dangerous sport and we are real.' 
No celebration by Team Eubank has happened and will not happen until Nick makes a full recovery, and I mean full recovery.'

Source: DailyMail

22 comments:

Ogbasara mu?

They should let him be and question the Ref who did nothing to stop the match

Truly not a fair question. Linda take note!

U can imagine!

Eubank Snr is a real father..wish him full recovery

I don't think he did anything wrong...boxing is a game,is either U win or u loose...nice reply

Kayode Odusanya said...

I ask again...why didn't the boxer in coma's coach throw in the towel? If he ha thrown in the towel, then the match would have ended, and maybe the dude wouldn't have ended up in a coma.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Love the way he answered the question.

See question...looking for to to hold by his word,right? #EpicResponse

Hmmmmm

Demmy said...

His father shud keep quiet joor,, unah wan kill man pickin?
He license shud be revoked already, like father like son.

Like father like son .. lol

PrettyChi said...

Lord Bsek said...

The blame obviously should be tabled @the ref corner for not stopping the bout when it mattered,Blackwell's team should share in the blame for not throwing in the towel.

If it doesn't concern you, then don't f*cking comment

KWEEN said...

No, you SHUT UP. Why didn't the ref stop the fight? Why didn't the opponent's coach. Stop it? Why should anyone blame this dude? Abegy.

Abeg make wuna free the guy....

Hmmn

Biutiful genie said...

Oh no not again!it takes me back to chris's fight in 93 or so. That sport is too dangerous mehn. And people still hate Chris for that incident. Shame.

Taking a good look at a situation and doin the "right thing" irrespective of the consequences is called initiative.

He should have used his initiative.