Black college girl confronts white college man for wearing dreads | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 March 2016

Black college girl confronts white college man for wearing dreads

A video showing a black girl and her friend stopping a white man wearing dreadlocks has gone viral since it was shared online. The confrontation took place stairs by the bottom of the stairs of the school building. 

Both students have been identified as students of San Francisco State University. In the less than 1 minute clip a black girl was seen asking the white guy why he had dreads on his hair. She confronted him for 'appropriating her culture'.
The dreadlocked man in the video was identified by SF Weekly has identifie as Cory Goldstein.
In the video another male student, who is also black, defends the woman.
After accusing the white guy of wearing a traditionally black hairstyle, she asks her friend if he has a pair of scissors.
'You're saying I can't have a hair style because of your culture. Why?' asks Goldstein.
'Because it's my culture,' the woman says.
Then he said what if dreads was an Egyptian thing and asked her if she was Egyptian.
She then throws the question back at him asking him if he's Egyptian before asking over and over 'Where is Egypt?'
Then he tried to walk away from her but she pulled him down the stairs by his shirt to prevent him from walking up a stairwell. 
'Yo, stop touching me right now,' Goldstein tells her.
She then pulls him down the stairs saying, 'come here', and tells him not to put his hands on her.
'I don't need your disrespect,' he says as she finally releases her grip.
He then walks away.
As she followed him up the stiars, she noticed that someone was recording the incident and asked him..why he was filming.
The guy said: 'Just for everyone's safety,'

Goldstein then wrote on his Facebook after the incident: 'I just got physically assaulted because I have dreadlocks woe.'
Then he wrote: ' I am not filing any criminal charges against the girl who harassed me yesterday. I did file a formal campus police report and I decided to let the education system deal with her'.
SFSU released a statement saying they are investigating the confrontation: 
'We are aware of the video made of an incident which occurred on campus yesterday afternoon. University police were called to the scene of the incident when it occurred. 
'The two individuals involved in the incident are not San Francisco State University employees. Further, no criminal charges have been pressed at this time to the University's knowledge.
'San Francisco State University promotes the rights of the campus community to engage in free speech, but does not condone behavior that impedes the safety or well-being of others. 
'We are taking the matter seriously and will promptly and thoroughly investigate this incident through applicable University channels, including our campus student conduct procedures'
Watch the video below:

69 comments:

Lord bsek said...

She for come try such shit with me if no be her teeth she for pick for ground,

Abeg o, this whitey wants to belong o.... He better go and dye his skin black too

I did not see sign of serious aguement. However, its good for the black to make them feel aweful a times

I don't get it, what is her business anyways.

blacks abroad always wailing, but I see Nigerians appropriating their culture as well

Jobless People

I did not see sign of serious aguement. However, its good for the black to make them feel aweful a times

Kayode Odusanya said...

I heard those dreadlock extension are pretty expensive...like over a thousand dollars or so. But why bully the poor white dude? Isn't this meant to be a University and not a secondary school? She is not even serious...what of black people wearing all kinda of people's hair on their head? Indian hair, Brazilian hair, Filipino hair and all that.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Smh

Hmmmmmm bcus is ur culture d boy no fit wear instead of the girl to respect herself 4 another man's land better pray dey dn't expell u.

PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^

That black girl is a racist... Stupid bitch

Ahn...has d tables turned?

No comment!

Ha she dey find trouble be that o what concerns her if a white is wearing dread

Na wa o! Racism would never cease in dis world. Linda take note!

Black Americans are the most racist people in America the always try to inject race into everything. So the are trying to say the white guy should not wear dreads because it's made for black peoples seriously the need to go and kill them selfs.

Am not watching mbok

D black girl is very stupid. If na white do am now we go shout racism

The reverse has always bn the case....e favour them...

Girl is definitely not ok upstairs. If a white guy did this to a black person, they would have filed 1000 cases of racism within 30minutes.

Smilin....pls watz der concern?

Yeah right. She should have 1st asked black girls why they put on fake brazilian hair n stuff

She's totally wrong!

Nawa ooo

Nawa ooo

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

That girl is a bully. I know their type. Always fighting in highschool. If that guy was 6ft5" would she be pulling him like that. She needs to be suspended or even expelled. It was uncalled for. Imagine what she does when no one is watching. Ikensi- Newyorker ( Linda let's get married )

Free him

Chinedu said...

Hiiaaaa

Sylvia said...

Na wa.... dis babe must be high on cheap coke..... So y are black people using relaxer on dia hair to straighten it like d whites??? Na so Una dey find trouble.. Wen d oyibo shoot Dem go say Na Hate crime and racism..

Lol,truth be told,the dread will never fit oyibo,see how he kon resemble mad man

shuga diva said...

Her culture indeed

G said...

Black americans and their overdo. The same blacks put on brazilian and white hair and some men jerry coil their hair. No white woman came to them with a scissors. They should stop their hypocrisy its getting boring

Lol...she probably likes the guy and was her best way of approaching before the person videoing spoiled the moment, I see they were both smiling till the end...

She probably liked the guy and that was her only way of approaching him but then the person filming got it all busted...lol

Is surely Black vs White. One thing they forget is that first we are humans before the colour

Adaobi said...

This was a very planned attack, the guy set a trap for the lady by making dreads and the idiotic lady took the bait! the guy was too nice, and didn't even sound angry. and his friend was filming it..

Mtecwww.

PrettyChi said...

Their headache oooo

Nawa black gals get plenty wahala sha

Can u imagine...
Nawa oo

loveman said...

I would like to hear what this lady will have to say about black ladies who wear Brazilian hair, is that one a black culture...

She is stupid, foolish and insane..... All the worries in the world and all she is concerned about is the dred a white lad fixed..... Mumu.....

Uchenna said...

These Akata people (Black Americans) are as racist as white folks.Very ignorant girl that doesn't even know where Egypt is.I see no reason why dreadlocks should be rocked by only black people,very dumb opinion.Black people rock wigs/weaves of different colors and textures,we naturally have nappy hair.If Na so,they should stop putting in extensions cos it is the white man's thing.

Dat girl should get a life.

#LibBadBoy

shame... she is fighting to remove a speck from a white dude when our black girls wear white wigs daily...hypocrite

His choice

Stupid woman and stupid hypocrite. The clothes she is wearing are they from her culture?
She has no culture and yet challenges someone else for stealing her culture..

Lol,the girl is crazy

That Lady and the guy should be arrested, That is pure racism... If it was a white who said to another lady not to wear blonde, the blacks will scream "Racism" .... Blacks could be racist too....

Haha she must be Kenyan

kemikane said...

Just negodu. If it was the white guy now we no go hear word. People are crazy irrespective of religion,tribe race or any thing evil dwells within some being they just hide under an umbrella at least he recorded it.

kemikane said...

Just negodu. If it was the white guy now we no go hear word blacks would have shouted racism off their throats. People are crazy irrespective of religion,tribe,race or anything evil dwells within some beings they just hide under an umbrella at least he recorded it.

Wahala

Stupid girl. I hope the black americans are seeing this. They are quick to shout racism over every little thing. If a white person did this, we wnt hear word today. As if black women dnt fix Brazilian hairs and Co. Mstchew.

Hahaha,she is not serious oh. #RadicalBlackGirl

Too know

Yetty k said...

She s crazy.dt mins whites v d ryt to confront naija s tok den.evry1 has d ryt to make any hairstly.she s very silly

Amaka said...

All the black girls with fake hair, do white girls harass us. The black girl is a big fool.

Vela said...

people no dey mind their business

They stesl our culture and they racially oppress us, if you want to be black, dress and act like black people, then you respect black people.

Arabs are not Egyptians, they stole our land and culture, chased us down from the Nile to Sudan, they are still persecuting the people in Sudan.

It was from those people that the Yoruba people came from to settle in what is now Yoruba land.

God will see her through. Linda see to that case

Is she originally crazy? whose culture is having a straight hair?

emeka4rl said...

Ignorance in Uni places.. havnt she seen white men with dreads, or brazillian hair should be removed from all Nigerians. Just Foolishness

Umm anon 1:06 you must be a different and special king of idiot fo that statement. "They steal our culter"? Is hip hop ur culture is engl languag u culture? If I check i'm sure u go by d name of cynthia or Micheal, is that ur cultural name? It's a free world negro! And it's just a bloody hairstyle no need for the drama and the black psychotic lady on the phone I j tryin to be relevant but all she' being is a ridiculously expired bully

Cultural appropriation is actually a problem. It makes it seem like black people don't exist because why should a famous white person take something that is part of your culture and use it and only then does it become noticed. This girl's problem is not only with the guy, it's also with Kim K, Iggy Azalea, and Justin Bieber. I also don't see any physical assault though but then to Americans, any slight thing is harassment

Why put on brazillian, Chinese or Indian hair? Has anyone accused blacks for stealing brazilian, Caucasian, Indian or Chinese culture? Or a white man can't rap, do reggae or jazz coz it's black people culture or a black man can't dress in suits, plain shirts and ties coz it's european?