FG not responsible for failure of states to pay salaries | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 May 2015

FG not responsible for failure of states to pay salaries

The Federal Ministry of Finance said the Federal Government was not responsible for the failure of state governments to pay workers’ salaries.

This is contained in a statement signed by Mr Paul Nwabuikwu, spokesman to the Minister of Finance, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, in Abuja on Wednesday.

“Regarding difficulties in salary payment, certain governors are trying to blame the federal government for their predicaments.
“This is wrong. They had been told through the Federation Accounts Allocation Committee to prioritize salaries, they chose not to do so, hence the backlog that some states are experiencing”, it said.
The statement also added that the 50%  drop in revenues simply meant that salaries should be prioritized and that the federal government should not be blamed for mistakes that could have been avoided but made at state level.

It added that it was wrong to allege that federal workers were being owed salaries.
“This is incorrect. Staff salaries at the federal level are up to date; workers have received their April salaries”, it added.

46 comments:

All this hullabaloo stories will come to end wen GMB takes over.

Na WA o

Hmmm... issokay!

Pay our Allawee o. Lol.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Who then is responsible..this politicians should fear God abd be compassionate to their fellow humans

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Later dey blame mugabe 4 his statement of facts....mtcheww

Then Who Is Responsible??? . . #LindaPostMyComment

Which workers, i knw of teachers that hasn't been paid since dec, so u can imagine how they've been coping

Qinat said...

God help us in this country

Which workers ve received their April salaries, i knw of teachers that hasn't been paid since dec, so u can imagine how they've been coping

Aunty linda gudmowin,am Olanrewaju a corp member serving @sokoto state,pls u need to hlp us post ds cos dey are treating us as slave here,yestday we reciv alert for April allowance nd nysc officials hav deducted 3k frm our alloweee witout any reason,,instead of 19,695 dey paid us 16,695,,dis is frustrating bcos dey knw we cant do anytin.,pls hlp us out mayb d DG can read it thru ur blog,tnk u sooo much,,

hormolah via lumia world

But you just paid it.you still came on air on Tuesday to say the FG has just borrowed 473billion to pay salaries.We also heard that the military were going to go crazy due to unpaid wages but a certain someone residing on bourdillon came to the rescue.
Please stop lover explaining cos you say something different everyday.

Aunty linda gudmowin,am Olanrewaju a corp member serving @sokoto state,pls u need to hlp us post ds cos dey are treating us as slave here,yestday we reciv alert for April allowance nd nysc officials hav deducted 3k frm our alloweee witout any reason,,instead of 19,695 dey paid us 16,695,,dis is frustrating bcos dey knw we cant do anytin.,pls hlp us out mayb d DG can read it thru ur blog,tnk u sooo much,,

hormolah via lumia world

NMaa said...

Yes. They used d money for elections nd now blaming the FG. Amaechi nd co.

2niceNorthEast said...

Haba y are u lying was it not yestaday u paid

If FG isn't responsible den who is?
Neeeeexxt!

Liar..Doctors @ federal level haven't been paid for April. Stupid country

Abeg Na which kain animal talk be dis? We don stop dey sell oil? Is FG executing anymore Capital projects? Abeg oga GEJ do dis tin well make Jungle no go mature O! Hian

I belive dat

phatgal said...

then who is responsible?my papa wey dey villa?

which federal level? I weep for my country! pls let buhari enter office fast so that all these lies will end!

Dats their biz, make una first give me those bundles on the table. Linda take note!

Fuel is still bin sold for 150 in Akure o

na wa for this country.

Not all workers have received their April
salary.

lami said...

This is no news, we all know this.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Pls state governors shld stop shifting their blame to federal government

Tell them o, States are supposed to pay their workers

The State Governors are just exhibiting executive rascality. Are they trying to tell me that they have no Internally Generated Revenue in their states? If a State solely depends on the Federal Government allocation it gets to run their states, then they are not worthy to be called states. Useless politicians. You can not pay salaries yet you live large. How can a state government be looking solely to the center and not be able to generate revenue? Idiots!

What are these people saying? Yes salaries are important, but what of the direct charges to the FAAC allocation from interest payments to debtors. what of projects?.

it is becoming clearer that this government has taken us to the brink of financial crisis. It can't pay allocations, it is owing subsidy payments for almost two years, after making provisions for this same subsidy up to the tune of 900billion for the past two years.

It is well

Thank God she made dis clarifications bcos some states hav b using dis as white lies to their workers. God help us.

I hope suswam is hearing dis one so he should find a better excuse. Haba how can u owe people for 11months their hard earned money o. Let him pay o thief. Ole . Barawo his karma enh God dey.

ANYA IKENGA said...

Sure d FG can't be responsible For mismanagement at State level. At least the states could save for 2 months and pay d in arrears of one month. Some chose to spend all they get and owe for 6 months. Eg Osun and Benue.

They used the money for campaign

Frederick said...

I heard Kogi state Governor has'nt paid.

Exactly. Most govs prioritize their own personal needs before what dmasses.

Especially that ugly Aregbesola...

Them governors should think deeply before holding on to people's salary, some live on less that 50k, if they have a heart they'll know its very wicked to hold back salaries of people who have to pay rent, feed family transport themselves to work, probably help other family members etc

Fool! FG is not responsible for paying state employees. FG sends monthly federal allocation to state which they have obviously chopped. #Aregbesola

anonymous said...

Amaechi has supported buhari wiv all Rivers States funds and now deyve not paid workers,pensioners n for 3months now..and he even has d audacity 2 insult pensioners as dead people...people who are his father's n mothers...my dear FG isn't 2 be blamed..d states mismanaged deir funds during d elections.

She spoke well for d Governors didn't consider their workers welfare. Thumbs up to her.

Fg is lying workers have not received their salaries

Whose responsibility is it to pay state salaries? State government. Dem don use am do campaign

LIES OF THI OKONJO IWEALA WOMAN DON TOO MUCH. GEJ INSTRUCTED GOVERNORS NOTTO PAY SALARIES SO WORKERS WILL GO ON MASSIVE NATIONWIDE STRIKE TILLTHEY CHANGE GOVT TO MAKE BUHARI GOVT LOOK INCOMPETENT.

State govt shd find all means 2 pay der workers o