Photos and profiles of the 4 Nigerians to be executed in Indonesia for drug trafficking | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 26 April 2015

Photos and profiles of the 4 Nigerians to be executed in Indonesia for drug trafficking

Here are the photos and profiles of the 4 Nigerians who are to be executed in Indonesia for drug trafficking.
Martin Anderson: 50 year old Martin Anderson (above) was arrested in Jakarta in 2003 on a charge of possessing about 1.8 ounces of heroin and was accused of being part of a local drug ring. He had traveled to Indonesia on a fake Ghanaian passport and has been incorrectly identified as Ghanaian. He was sentenced to death in 2004. According to his lawyer, Kusmanto, who like many Indonesians uses one name, Mr. Anderson was shot in the leg during his arrest — a method the Indonesian police are sometimes known to use when apprehending a suspect — and remains bothered by the wound to this day.
He has been in poor spirits since being transferred to Nusakambangan Island for execution, Mr. Kusmanto said. Mr. Anderson has filed for a judicial review of his conviction and death sentence with the Supreme Court, but his lawyer said he feared the court would not consider the appeal until after he is executed. Such appeals can take six months to be heard, Mr. Kusmanto said. “Obviously we hope it’s sooner.” 
Silvester Obiekwe Nwolise, 47, Nigeria - Smuggling Heroin
Silvester Obiekwe Nwolise’s story, as his wife tells it, is similar to those of other Nigerians on Indonesia’s death row for drug trafficking. Unemployed in Lagos, Nigeria’s largest city, he was lured to Pakistan by fellow Nigerians on the promise of a job with good wages.
But once in Pakistan, instead of a job, he got an offer to swallow some capsules – filled with goat horn powder, his wife, Fatimah Farwin, says he was told – and fly to Indonesia.
“They said they didn’t want to pay tax on it,” Ms. Fatimah said. “When he arrived at the airport in Jakarta, the police saw him – I don’t know how – they caught him and X-rayed him, and they found it and it was drugs.”

Arrested in 2001, Mr. Nwolise was convicted the following year of bringing 2.6 pounds of heroin into the country, and was sentenced to death.
During his trial, according to Ms. Fatimah, Mr. Nwolise had no translator, and his Indonesian lawyer could barely communicate with him. She said that a judge, through an intermediary, offered to sentence him to prison rather than death if he paid a bribe of 200 million rupiah, worth about $22,000 at the time.
“But he was just a poor courier. He didn’t have any money,” Ms. Fatimah said.

Ms. Fatimah, who is Indonesian, met Mr. Nwolise in prison in 2007, when she was accompanying a friend who was visiting another inmate. The two married later that year; they have since had two children, now 5 and 3, but she has not brought them to see him since they were infants. She has told them that their father is working in an office in another country.

In January, the Indonesian police accused Mr. Nwolise of running a drug syndicate from prison. No charges were brought, but Ms. Fatimah, who says emphatically that her husband is innocent of the accusation, believes it resulted in his being placed in the group of inmates now facing imminent execution.

“Some woman on the outside blamed him,” Ms. Fatimah said, referring to a police informant, “but when they came to his cell, they never found anything – never, never, never. He never had a trial and next thing, they wanted to execute him.”

Jamiu Owolabi Abashin, 50, Nigeria - Smuggling Heroin
Jamiu Owolabi Abashin was living on the streets of Bangkok in 1998 when a fellow African living there took pity on him and brought him home. Shortly thereafter, according to Mr. Abashin, his new friend asked whether he wanted a quick-paying job, in which he would get $400 for bringing a package of clothing to the friend’s wife in Surabaya, Indonesia, where she sold used shirts and pants.
Mr. Abashin readily agreed, but soon wished he hadn’t: The package contained nearly 12 pounds of heroin, and he was arrested after landing at Surabaya’s airport. Mr. Abashin, who was traveling on a false Spanish passport, contended he was duped.

He was convicted in 1999 and sentenced to life in prison, which was reduced to 20 years on appeal. State prosecutors challenged the sentence reduction before the Indonesian Supreme Court, which in 2006 sentenced Mr. Abashin to death.
In a request for presidential clemency in 2008, he admitted knowingly smuggling the drugs. The request was denied in January.

The Indonesian government refers to him as Raheem Agbaje Salami, the name on the fake Spanish passport he was using when he was arrested.
Ursa Supit, an Indonesian legal activist who is advocating on Mr. Abashin’s behalf, says that because he had no money, he was assigned a state lawyer for his trial and had no legal counsel when he appealed to the Supreme Court.

Mr. Abashin, who now has a lawyer, is challenging Mr. Joko’s rejection of his clemency request.
“He has been inside now for 17 years, and he has never broken a rule inside,” Ms. Supit said. “And now they are going to execute him. He’s never had money for lawyers. It’s not fair.” 

Okwudili Oyatanze, 41, Nigeria - Smuggling heroin
The YouTube clip shows what seems to be a typical Sunday religious service at a small church. A young African man, accompanied by an Asian guitarist, sings a heartfelt gospel song as the audience sings along. But the camera does not show the security guards, iron bars and barbed wire fences that would have indicated this was no ordinary place. The singer, Okwudili Oyatanze, was giving his regular performance at a penitentiary outside the Indonesian capital, Jakarta.

Known in Indonesia’s penal system as “The Death Row Gospel Singer,” Mr. Oyatanze, 41, was arrested in 2001 while trying to smuggle 5.5 pounds of heroin through Jakarta’s international airport, in his stomach, after arriving on a flight from Pakistan. He was convicted the following year and sentenced to death.

Mr. Oyatanze has made the most of his incarceration, writing more than 70 songs and recording multiple albums behind bars. He has performed with prison guards as well as fellow inmates.
In the video, shot in 2008, Mr. Oyatanze sang his song “God You Know,” which was also the name of an album he released that year.
“He has turned his life around in jail,” said the Rev. Charles Burrows, a Catholic priest from Ireland who now lives in Indonesia and is offering religious counseling to Mr. Oyatanze as he awaits his execution.

Raised in outheastern Nigeria, Mr. Oyatanze started a garment business in 1999, traveling to Indonesia to buy clothing and resell it in Nigeria. The business collapsed, and Mr. Oyatanze, heavily in debt, traveled to Pakistan to try to revive it, at the suggestion of a fellow Nigerian living there.
The plan involved swallowing capsules of heroin before boarding a flight to Jakarta. “There was a chance to earn some easy money, so he became a courier,” Mr. Burrows said.

Source: NYTimes.com

118 comments:

Rubylicious said...

So these people will die just like that? I believe in last minute miracles but if not, God please accept their souls.

Rubylicious said...

So these people will die just like that? I believe in last minute miracles but if not, God please accept their souls.

RIP to them

Nawa oo.. People don't learn from the mistakes of others.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

See their faces..when will nigerians abroad start learning how to listen for goodness sake..now see what sey've done to themselves

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Oh God! If only I had the power. I would've stopped this. Pls God soften the hearts of the executioners.
Comfort to their families.

Rubylicious said...

Choi.. dem don old o.. I tot dey were young dudes... ha! see fuck up

* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

Phew! What an end awaits them.
May God be merciful to them.

I THINK THE THIRD AND FOURTH PICTURE IS THE SAME PERSON...LINDOSKI CHECK IT OUT YOURSELF

See Anderson's head like coconut....50 year old mugu....y'all gonna rot in jail
Serves them right

Its a pity.
If only they stayed back home.

So sad. Only a miracle can save them now.

World People said...

Omg at the song 'God you know '

That title brought tears to me eyes .

Something should be done pls ?!!

Nky said...

OMG, 50 years old man.

Some of these men are innocent I bet you.

#long sigh#.

i feel sorry for them
#LIB OBI

My Prayers Are With Them..President Jokowi Is Just Being Unnecessarily Stubborn And Stone Hearted..Let God's Will Be Done.

Nigerians r just everywhere

Is such a Pity these men ruined their lives

Ehyaaa. RIP in adv

Its easy 2 pause 4a 2nd,ve a re-think & say NO but none of u thought so,well,I suggest u give ur life 2 God coz wt HiM ur red sea situation can ve a solution..

My heart goes out to them. It must be tough waiting for the hangman. It's not easy to be a man. Life can be tough. When you are down, people don't want to associate with you but when 'you've made it', you become the 'son of the soil'.

Its easy 2 pause 4a 2nd,ve a re-think & say NO but none of u thought so,well,I suggest u give ur life 2 God coz wt HiM ur red sea situation can ve a solution..

Jamiu owolabi & okwudili neck na fire o..

The 3rd and 4th guy tho........I pray something is done to avert it

No love for drug couriers in Asia, Nigerian youths should shun all forms of vices to quick wealth, or this will be the result.

They are old men seff...mtchew

I can't feel sorry for them. The only thing is that their barons still have others who are trafficking for them.

So Linda, if Anderson is a Ghanaian? Why have you lumped him together with the Nigerians? You want to make it sound like there are many of us carrying drugs, abi? Please change your caption to read three Nigerians. This is irresponsible journalism.

Poverty and d love for fast moni

Almost all of them Nigerians ?

RIP in advance Dudes.

HEARTBREAKING

So touching....Ignorance is no excuse for crime

Chaiiii...so speechless right now.

Quick money syndrome=quick death

Uhmm..Jst imagine now.

crime dose not pay

O ga o, I pray dey find mercy in d sight of God. Dey suppose 2 knw dat nt all country is as lawless as Nigeria, a great lesson 2 odas lyk dem

okay

Omashe o...What a life.

Sad endings. Have u seen d Range Rover that fell from d skies? Check out www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com

Nawah

Hmmmm! May God see dem 2ru!

I know that 1st guy!!!!

Na lie ooooo...but he sha looks very familiar, hmmm...

#itznenaD

AMIJEZ said...

God please save these ones appointed to death while living learn their lessons.

Rest in peace

Don't do the crime. Commit yourselves to God in truth as that is all you have.

dis is wat happens wen u tink u are above d law. i'm obsessed with Linda.

VERULE SAYS-happy Sunday.

That hotel is very gorgeous! I wish I had a lot of money because I really want to go in those hotel with my family. Thank you for sharing this very nice information!Florence hotel

Abeg the man in the first photograph looks more than 50 years oh. He looks 70. Well, all i can say is that the poor government and greedy leaders in Nigeria caused their poverty to the extent of smuggling cocaine or heroine. However, they shouldnt have committed the crime and disgraced Nigeria. Nigerians are not lazy people. We are hustlers by nature. They should have hustled and backed it up with God by praying to God for business breakthrough. Afterall, Adenuga and Dangote do not have 2 heads. If they can make it, you too can make it.

If I was a comedian I wil say their profile's r cool, and impressive. I pray God save their souls, and bail them out.

OMG!!!!!God have mercy on them...sad

It's people like this that makes it difficult to get a visa to Asia smh

Alexshoppee said...

May God help you out

Alexshoppee said...

May God help you out

If they had all made it big, they would have been the darlings of Lagos. Life is a risk, they risked everything with heavy consequences. I sit on the fence with these cases, although I must say Indonesia and other Asian countries are too tough with their laws. Maybe 25 yrs with hard labour would be reasonable, after all, most of these condemning judges aren't innocent.

IF THEY ARE GUILTY THEY SHOULD BE KILLED, NO MERCY....... I SAID SO...

THE MONK

Who dem help? Shud dey av made it dey'll neva carry am come ma house. Lindaobserve

KILL THEM, A DISGRACE TO NIGERIA...

KILL THEM...

what does the law say ? abide by the law, kill them.

Neekee said...

Dear Indonesia if u put someone on a death row kill en immediately and not let dem go through this how can they been in prison for about 15 years thereabouts and you still wanna kill Em. They r 15 years older Dan dey were wen dey carried drugs just deport them already why kill them

tinashee_ said...

I'm not Nigerian, I'm Zimbabwean and I pray for this country. #NoToDrugs

Have mercy on your children, oh God of second chance.

Nigerians shuld pls respect dem selves out side dere country so we @home cn b proudd of dem. Lesson 2odas

Dobzi fingers said...

Sad

http://dobzifingers.blogspot.com/?m=1

Sorry guys

May their soul RIP....

May God forgive them
and accept their souls...AMEN!

Favourmoyse Blog said...

eh ya

Sad!,, really sad!,

Effects said...

So sad

It is well, whatever be d case, let God have d final say on anyone he wishes to save. Amen

So Indonesia turned down the plea for extradition

That first guy's name is Martin Anderson? I thought it will be Alsub bin Rashid hin Garaji dan Lardarihabinkukujano.

If we had a proper foreign affairs ministry, these issues would be easily resolved! But I bet u, the foreign minister has never visited them or sent envoys to enquire about their situations.

Gadget ReviewsNG said...

RIP in advance

My brothers i do not surport dis way of survival as drug pushers but i understand ur strugles for better life.if not for our wicked politicians nd business men who has wrecked our ecnomy life wil have bin better in our country nd most dis strugle for greener pastures wont have been d case of d day.may God interven in ur cases.long live Nigeria

don't go to other countries with hopes of being a drug lord or breaking their rules. RIP

Edwin Akwudolu said...

so sad...Others should learn

Joy C said...

Federal govt should do something about them pls.

OMG am short of words now kai sad sad sad!!!

Ds is sad!

My God will speak 4 u guys!! IJNA

Can imagine what dia loved ones re going tru right now. Sad story i must confess
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Na wa o! May their souls RIP in advance as dem no value their lives. Linda take note!

One place in the world you don't wanna take banned substance to even if u re american

2 Nigerians and 2 claiming to be Nigerians.

They re old men means they re not human... Mumu!

tinashee_ said...

I wonder why you are all piting them. No one asked them to smuggle drugs!

5thMarch said...

Hmm... I feel sorry for them! I wish they should just let them serve jail term after all its only drugs they re not terrorist.

An Igbo man must be involved. Cursed tribe. The love of money is the beginning for death

You are a fool for saying this crap.

Your father

Quite a pity

U re more Dan an idiot for making such comment foool

Anon 9:53..... am so sure u & ur worthless generation re cursed!

Chai. Praying for a miracle.

Oby said...

Anonymous 9:53. It is you and ur generations before and generations to come that are cursed.

What a complete waste of life over quick money! Yet I fear this act wouldn't deter wannabe drug dealers.

May God punish your entire generation born and unborn for that statement. May you all perish prematurely!

May God have mercy on them

We need to consider repercussion of our actions before we take them. Don't break law.If you break ,thee are consequences.
For a new nigeria, we should bear this in mind. During Buhari -Idiagbon regime of 1983-1985.The same law applied to traffickers.Parents began to warn their wards after the first 2 executions. Now , we should apply this to corruption.It will surely be curbed .

hmmmmm don't know wat to say

Rather unfortunate

Be contented with the little you have ,develop other positive ways of making money.start small business and grow big visit www.iconmindscental.com start your nur and primary sch business ,with ease

RIP to souls of the departed

This people have hearts,they warns you of death penalty in Indonesia,but the are smart guys .i don't pity them.i was in Asia that tine working hard and now in Europe married 💑,got European citizenship.

Dear Nigerian guys both home & abroad, please know the son of whom you are & learn from others people mistake ,be wise with the type of friends you're moving with, wealth & riches belong to God,finaly don't serve as a scape goat .

Joko Widodo is a callous hypocrite who wants Indonesians that are drugs mules abroad pardoned and will not forgive foreigners that committed the same offense in Indonesia.
Do not get me wrong, I will NEVER endorse drug trafficking, it is immoral and wrong. However, why would Joko appeal to Saudi arabia not to execute an Indonesian House maid who killed the 4 year old she was baby sitting and in Indonesia he executes drug traffickers. That makes my skin curl.

Relatives and friends of 21 IGBO drug dealers in Indonesia who have been condemned to death, have marched to the Indonesia Embassy in Lagos to protest the death of the condemned Nigerians. According to them, about 2008 IGBOs have been killed so far in Indonesia and 21 are about to be executed too. They urged the Federal Government to intervene urgently to save the lives of their loved ones, adding that any delay to act could be dangerous.

4 IGBO drug dealers executed by firing squad recently:
1, Martin Anderson - an IGBO who had traveled to Indonesia on fake Ghana passport and incorrectly.identified as Ghanian.
2, Okwudili Oyatanze
3, Silvester Obiekwe Nwolise
4, Stephanus Jamiu Owolabi (He apprently used a mixed IGBO and Yoruba name on a fake ID, also had a fake EU passport with Raheem Agbaje.

Just confirmed, the Next batch of IGBO people to be executed by firing squad in Indonesia soon:

Kingsley Okonkwo
Michael Titus Igwe
Izuchukwu Ezioha
Ekperedike S. Olekama
Adam Wilson
Hilary K. Chinezie
Eugene Ape
Humprey Ejike
Okwudil Ayotaeze
Obinna Nwajiagu
Fredrick Luther ( Benjamin Obiora)
Sylvester Nwaolisa
Dennis Anumora
Ikenna Ezenweukwe.
Gabriel Nnadi - died in prison

Apart from the ones on death row, about 2008 IGBOS (excluding the ones killed recently) are said to have been executed in Indonesia since IGBOS started the DRUG trade there decades ago.

A death row filipino lady, Mary Jane Veloso whose case is causing international outcry was said to be a mule used by IGBO people, Donna Uche and Samuel EzeKalu.

According to Thai, Vietnam, Cambodian, Chinese, Malaysian, Indonesian police, Igbo people bearing Nigerian passports are a major source of drug trafficking in Asia and are now using local girls as mules to ferry drugs abroad. Nigerian passport holders are the subject of serious scrutiny and abuse by Asian police as a result of IGBO drug dealers and human traffickers. IGBO people are apparently single handedly making it impossible for Nigerians to holiday, travel freely and conduct business due to IGBO activities.