Fellow Nigerian slaves: CBN has again decided to limit our freedom to our hard earned money | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 April 2015

Fellow Nigerian slaves: CBN has again decided to limit our freedom to our hard earned money

Lol. This one affects me o. From $150k a year to $50k year - that's all you can spend now when you travel abroad. Dr Peregrino Brimah of Ends.ng says it's not right. Read his article below...
Dear fellow Nigerian masses,
In response to the spate of governing cabal looting billions of dollars and laundering this via private jets to South Africa and beyond, the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, governed by Godwin Emefiele has again decided that we the people must be punished and deprived of all rights to receive and send our hard earned personal little money for the little business and living necessities we manage.
In an unbelievable but expected new move, the CBN sent the below letter to us with the latest restrictions on our financial freedom.

Dear Valued Client,
The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has in its circular dated 17th April, 2015 condemned the rising trend of currency substitution and dollarization of the economy. Deposit Money Banks operating in Nigeria have been advised to desist from the collection of foreign currencies for payment of domestic transactions on behalf of their customers and the use of their customers’ domiciliary accounts for making payments for visible and invisible transactions (fees, charges, licenses e.t.c) originating and consummated in Nigeria.
In compliance with this directive, you will be required to provide supporting documentation for all payments to and from your domiciliary accounts as proof that payments are not in breach of this directive. Please note that this applies to payments to or from entities/individuals within Nigeria.
Foreigners, visitors and tourists to Nigeria are allowed to continue to use their cards for payments or exchange their foreign currency for local currency at any of the authorised dealers’ outposts including hotels.
Thank you for banking with Standard Chartered Bank. As always, we remain committed to providing you best-in-class financial solutions.
--- END---
As with the other new policy revisions, there was no prior warning. The notice was sent to take effect immediately.
With this new restriction we must explain every penny our family and friends in America wire to us to help them build their houses in Nigeria or to simply save or invest for them in Nigeria; or to pay school fees of their wife and girl friends.
We must explain and defend WITH “PROOF” [supporting documentation] every dollar we wish to send to friends and loved ones abroad or that we receive.
This does not happen anywhere in the world.
We are in prison!
They have forced all our cash into the bank in the cash-less imprisonment system only seen in Nigeria and never seen in any developed nation and now they want to give the banker-cabal the right to pry into our every business and seize our little money at will.
But how about those who carted $15 million in suitcases in private jets to South Africa? How about those wives of governors caught in Bayelsa in 2006 laundering millions? How about the cabal given all types of concessions, intervention funds, with billions of dollars import waivers [N234 billion waivers to PHCN in 2013 only], and never monitored?
We mentioned in our alert just this week [ENDS.ng: CBN Governor Mr. Godwin Emefiele Drives Nigerians Like Slaves] that the CBN under Godwin Emefiele had decided with no warning to suddenly decrease to one-third the forex withdrawal limit and forex purchase limit of our naira cards; on a day notice decreased to $300/day and $50,000 per year.
This adds to a list of limitations to the financial freedom of the masses since the era of the former governor, now Emir Sanusi Lamido Sansui that are not seen in any nation around the world. Below listed is part of the growing list from our article criticizing the former governor for the impingements to the masses in defense of the wallets of the banks and cabal:
Customers pay N10-50 per sms alert, even for bank error repeat texts; though bulk sms texts are offered to businesses by mobile networks at N1/sms.
Hardware token for security is issued at N2000 ($12);
Bank statements are charged at about N40/page;

Renewal ATM card is issued at a charge of N1000 ($6);
N500 monthly maintenance fee for current accounts ($3);
First Bank and Keystone Bank even have a N100 monthly ATM card maintenance fee!
You have the Value added tax—lol at “value.”
Even reference letters are fulfilled at a charge of up to N2000 ($12). Compare this to America for instance, where banks do not make money on COT, deposits or withdrawals and most of these additional bank services are offered for free to customers.
ENDS warned about Godwin Emefiele when Jonathan first appointed him in February of last year, that being a banker/banks man, expect him to lock us helpless masses in Guantanamo prisons while the banks, cabal and government officials bloat on our misery. Read that on ENDS.ng: “A Banks Man: Expect Higher Charges with Godwin Emefiele as New CBN Gov.”

We have been proven correct. There is no one ot defend the interests of the masses against these monsters. Godwin meets with bankers and they rise from meetings with new insane and never before seen on the planet, decisions to restrict our freedom and we are never consulted or represented.
Without allowing us adjust to one deprivation and limitation, they add another and another on it. Even communist China is better to its people than these vile, vicious vampires in this kakistocratic republic.

As Godwin’s tenure comes to an end, he is in a hurry to raise the prison walls and build a moat around it so we the 100 million destitute Nigerian masses living under a dollar a day, and millions other poor and managing small businesses will never see the light of financial stability and opportunities and the little happiness we pursue.

Because new technology and the expected new Integrity government is anticipated to further inhibit the looting of the Nigerian oil wealth, the thieves who all now own one big corporation or the other in Nigeria are finalizing their systems of stealing from the incapacitated and imprisoned slave masses.
One day we will eat them.

Dr. Peregrino Brimah; http://ENDS.ng [Every Nigerian Do Something] Email: drbrimah@ends.ng Twitter: @EveryNigerian

131 comments:

Any man wey get big money call am dorobuchi

Someone can not spend her money again.

Abeg, the letter three long! Hope its for our own good.

I SUPPORT CUZ OF SOME PPLE...TOMJERRYSWIT

Doesn't affect us wey never enter plane b4....not to talk of going abroad

Linda Tuface son Zion turned 7. We need a post. Lol

This doesn't make sense. My dad pays £16000 + for my tuition per year, accommodation £6000+ , Allowamce(feeding and other bills) £6000+ = £28,000 = $43,190. That's almost $50,000 and I've been managing Cuz things are expensive here. This will certainly affect most student's life as they need more than this. I don't get why CBN can't face other pressing bank and money laundering issues thru some other way.

@arkiss said...

Dis is bad

I couldn't read it, my hair is scanty. Pls read n help a sister

Joy C said...

Change is here, this shall also pass.

What nonsence? Where is the privacy? They will encourage pple to have a safe in their houses.not all moneys should be explained and what happens to pocket money given to one in dollars so u will explain that one too.. emiefiele is mad I cn see... mtshweee.*lab scientist*

I still insist that SLS is one of the best things that has happened to CBN.All I see with this Godwin led leadership is just exploitation and outright cluelessness.

Lol Linda u crazy walahi with that caption.."Fellow Nigerian Slaves" these people they mad I swear. And what's with all the sacking of top govt officials lately? Anyway I will take any bullshit from dis govt till May 29...I've been taking it for years so a few days won't kill me.

I hope dia are machinery that can check mate our transactions abroad! Rubbish policies! Let me see how our high rank government officials will spend only $50k!

Dear CBN governor. I write wit a deep cut in my heart. You and I know who the looters are around here. Why is it that every policy, law and decision is targeted at the poor ones. Pls Nigerians are not fools. If you notice tins are changing around here. Hehehe

I ve never loved this Emefiele Dude.
The idiot has been a fraud from Day 1.

Keep quiet. Obey the law or face the consequences. Or are you about to start a campaign against him like you keep doing to his people? What nonsense.

Nawa!!!

This is unbelievable. I hate it. It will really affect the business men.

Annoying!

I am wondering this 100# card maintenance fees, I just tire oo. GOD help us!

And what are we Nigerians going to do...Talk trash on social media and do nothing...We need a leader to rally the youth out to the street...We need a revolution......

Linda,your hero,Mr president sacked Alhaji Sanusi and brought in this new man who threw the CBN vault wide open for the elections.
We haven't heard any updates on the money that was taken to SA in pastor Oritsejafors PJ(By the way,where is he?).Where are the noise makers?FFK,MRS PATIENCE GOODLUCK,DR OKUPE,RENO?

You guys are way too quiet.Please give the blog something to argue about.Miss you guys.

Back to the jyst,while I understand the need to check foreign currency transactions,we the masses will be the worst hit.Why don't you tackle this from the top.its alleged that $700 million in RAW cash was at the minister of petroleums home vault.How did she amass this much?During the elections,the ruling party doled out billions in foreign currency.why not mop up this funds before setting out to punish people.

I would like to believe there is another way out that won't require this draconian action.

No need to be alarmist. CBN has not halted inflows from abroad in dollars. It has halted payments within Nigeria for transactions consumated and carried out in Nigeria. Thus, your family can send money to your dom account to build their houses with no issues.

The restriction on card withdrawals is to reduce the pressure on the Naira exchange rate. You can still use your dom account to transact outside Nigeria. The restriction is on your naira account. Go and buy from a BDC

Linda, u make a noise here. Wat ur problem giving explanatn 4 ur expenses? Are u sponsoring/supporting terrorism? No cause 4 alarm. Shut up!

Yes,one day the poor will eat the rich.

Linda how does it affect u lol #poverty mentality, i must show off

They shld take it easy oooo.

Linda, at least the authorities are trying to do something about this fall in the naira value.
Yes, you may be rich and able to afford anything even if dollar to naira is #300 exchange rate.
But what about the people struggling? My parents r trying their best to give all their children quality education, just this time last year the exch rate was #160 now its over 200, how do you think they feel?
I applaud cbn on this.

the year of the anti christ reign is beginning in nigeria, with the BVN being implemented, expect more. the mark is coming

linda nawa o so u dey paid dis kin money lolzz oya giveaway friday 2 ur special libers

SAMANTHA HAYKINS said...

I wonder the rationale behind this. Is it not ones money. I initially thought it was peculiar to my bank not until I saw this. I really wish something can be done about it

LInda yes it could be slavery but you don't understand financial market.. this limit cant last for long. they are trying to build the economy..you said it is only Nigeria go read about China and Malaysia financial structure in history

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

This is unacceptable.
Since we are in the season of sacks,Gej better sack this retard of a Cbn governor b4 he leaves office.
What sort of slavery is this huh?
Who monitors their spending spree?

Bible said ye shall know the truth and The truth shall set us free, Govt has killed us but God will help us all

lucybings amebo said...

Chai

Peter A said...

Wow, so ever wrote this article just spoke my mind.what I've been thinking and crying in my heart for years someone is more hurt than I am and decided to speak out.well am off to Twitter to ff @everynigerian right now.we can't just sit down and expect to be heard by these criminals.

na wa!

This is so wrong.. for our leaders to continually cheat and dis-stabilize the little resources, biz and savings we earn just for their own selfish interest.

CBN knows what moves to make to curb stealing and looting but they think all these frivolous restrictions would do the trick. Well I can't wait for the Buhari regime to shoo out this regime and bring in the promised sanity.

Gosh!... de turning us into a slave! WTF

Haha! There is always a way around it. Get mastercard from differnt banks. But Linda you should be using a black card..no limit.

Dude is right. Why would they tell me how much I can spend abroad. Are they mad? Useless government. All those politicians they won't arrest them. Wayo Wayo country

Every policy being introduced by this CBN Governor is to favour the banks only whilst being detrimental to the interests of the people and their small businesses. No wonder the first thing he did is to impose a N65 charge on ATM usage on customers. The billions of Naira the banks benefit from this alone is almost incalculable.

5thMarch said...

Something must be done!

A lot of ignorance in this post by ENDS.....There is a limit for foreign exchange withdrawal in every country, Citizens in these foreign countries tend to be more honest and have better integrity...the CBN is not limiting how much you can spend...but how much you can use your card to spend.(You can and could always go to the bank declaring what you wanted to pay for and they would assist you)
You want change...but when that change comes, you complain..you want corruption reduced...(How else is corruption supposed to be reduced?? these politicians use foreign accounts to aid looting)

Anyways, in developed nations, most people would prefer the cashless option..it's simply safer and better. instead, you should focus on telling retailers that they should adapt to the cashless options.
I am very much affected by the withdrawal limits..but it is a price i have to pay because of the really many corrupt NIgerians

Abeg make he dey go biko, ao can u say I shd nt withdraw more dan 60k per month, is it nt my hard earn money? It shall nt b well 4 all of udat doesn't wish we masses well IJN. Haba! Sick n tired of all dis useless n never do well policies

Linda pls!!!!!. So you are one of the uneducated. Have you tried to find out why he is doing that. Fiscal policies to manage the cash crunch we are facing. Nigerians are as aggressive in their complaints as they are in every other thing. The in coming administration will come in and find out that these same policies that the outgoing administration has been making are the only way out in prevailing circumstances. You guys are in for a big SHOCK.

Pse stop all these senseless publications. It won't be too long and we will see our God sent messiah.

HUMBLE EVE said...

Nice one,hahaha

HUMBLE EVE

This is bullshit!!!
The Fed government shud look in2
It and if possible stop it.

Uhmm..This CAN trend is becoming more & more difficult...Really unpleasant.

Uhmm..This CBN trend is becoming more & more difficult...Really unpleasant.

Happpiest buffdai to me....
I think dats all dat matter today...

Pray with me and for me today my people

jkcyno@yahoo.com

This one no concern.....

i have never posted on her before but i am a regular reader since 2012 (5 times a day at least) pls lets all fight for this slavery.. we student can only withdraw £190 a day at an exchange rate of 314 naira to a pound instead of £500 before and we get charged 400 naira per transaction. The banks are happy cos they are feasting on us we poor student. And to make things worse there was no notice period.

Dear Linda, use your common sense, while you spend so much laundering the wealth you make off those that visit your blog, you also squander it on a few designers who do not provide employment for nigerians or grow the economy of nigeria.
i welcome this development from CBN , its wake up time to run this nation the proper way

Change has started o...!Linda take note

yes we will eat them all.

The are just joking

@iamnoble_d said...

I am going to follow him on that. the most annoying thing is that I pay #65 naira fr every transaction made on atms even wen I want to recharge my phone and my bank (Union bank) do not av ATM machines anywia near. it very bad. it needs to be reviewed and that so called man should b sacked. Hes a thief

Godwin Emefiele, Zenith Bank. Isn't that where the "missing" $20billion was eventually traced to? Rouges!

I'll go back to re-read it, saw a report on this a while ago, I don't get it yet cos it makes no sense to me

This country is a joke. Anyone can come and experiment on the people with no impunity

I hate this CBN governor with a passion! Linda I'm a student in the US and this daily withdrawal limit is killing me! When I want to pay my rent it's hell with this $300 dollar limit a day! What kind of useless policies are these? I thought I was the only one that thought they were ridiculous! Thank God for this article I now know I'm sane!

eka said...

they even refused daily withdrawal to $300
well, heard its 2 prevent d total collapse of d economy
as 4 me; they should remove that bank charges attached 2 multiple atm withdrawals..

GOD BLESS YOU SIR FOR THIS. I PRAY WE GET A MESSIAH TO SAVE US FROM THESE MONSTERS(BANKERS) THAT ARE RIPPING US OFF....

That one that big people problem

I have always said it!

This CBN governor is very short sighted. He doesnt understand how things work. Just a very clueless fellow!

Linda! that headline, 'Dear Nigerian slave' is offensive. Change it, tnx.

There is God. At the end na only d masses go suffer. Linda take note!

What a country!!!

Petite Diva said...

Honestly that directive is ridiculous!! $300 a day? What the heck?! They need to change it!! It is not okay at all o!!

Samuel Yomi said...

mr man or na woman you be. u are not speaking for masses. masses do not send dollars abi u don hear say poor man send dollars to anyone within or outside the country?
the CBN Gov has make it clear for the looters like u to learn to invest in ur country and stop wasting money outside. dollar is not paper, poor man will not dash dt out even if he has some. you are speaking for the rich Mr

anonymous said...

Very Very Soon,Nemesis will catch up with these people of frivolous and unacceptable acts.

Sad sad sad country to be born into!!!!

Karlsson said...

Why re they always introducing useless laws into Nigeria only targeted at the poor n average people. CBN governor must be very stupid. Buhari ll soon sack U.
Ubanagum

princess said...

This is terrible...

Maybe this should apply more to politicians and not individuals with private businesses who have worked hard for their money

abass said...

As in ehn,
The way bank deduct money from my account this day ehn,
Na wa oooo,
I just dey wonder
First bank is not customers friendly at all join with Gtb.
They're all thieves

To whom it may concern for now. Lol

But this is a very old news nau linda.... I think you have posted it before sef

aeesha said...

Can someone jst tel me wat d point realy is?cos I dnt seems to undstnd anytin here

$300 a day is ridiculous though! I've worked hard for my money. I now can't spend it.

Don't be daft. It is referring to payments within Nigeria. So an extremely basic example is u go and pay 50dollars for bread that u are buying in market. Dollar is not our legal tender in Nigeria and should not be used to pay for things in Nigeria. If u want to use it, have a damn good reason. It has nothing to do with sending money abroad. .plus does the writer not understand that all these measures are to try to curb the free fall of naira? People just be complaining for no reason

La said...

The stooge called Emiefele should be removed, he has done nothing since he became the CBN governor. Sanusi scrapped the ATM fee, Emiefele introduced it again. He is simply wicked.

And you also do not have bank charges.
So it clearly can't affect you

I read this on Laila's blog a few weeks ago. It's just ridiculous! I thought the 150k limit was too small, now 50k!?? Just dumb.

You don't have to love him. He is there to do the job whether you like him or not.

Let's nigerians come together and protest this is too much,they know who they are looking for. D day nigerians Will stand up to protest that is d only time nigeria will change. Whatever they say will only complain and adjust to it. Look at dstv increase we are all paying it already.is only we d nigerians that can change this nation no goverment will change it for us. Wherever they push us we gladly follow wt a smile on our face. Stand up nigerians. Linda pls post

Start and we will follow

Anon you are amongst the daft Nigerians that believe any and everything thing. Do u know what $700million dollars is? U really need to get your head examined for believing that shit. What the cbn governor has just done is a step in the right direction. We keep enriching other countries with our wealth what is wrong with spending the money in our country or attracting such foreign exchange into our country? Nigerians pls think. We all need to make some form of sacrifice to make our country a better place.

Again you have commented like the illiterate that you are. So you would rather prefer that we keep strengthening the dollar against the naira. Some Nigerians are really daft and stupid.

Don't mind Linda let her keep displaying her ignorance. I bet it's only those that are in the financial sector that can understand what the cbn governor is trying to do.

You are not ashamed you can not read, the letter three long! Bla bla bla, Godwin Emefiele, will leave that office sue, he think Nigeria is one of the bank he was a manager before useless criminals

I beg leave this place, we are tired of counting how many children of tuface celebrating birthday...we tire, we don't need no post thanks!

Amen Rachy, E go better

Rach Edoja Nigerians have to be the most difficult people on earth to manage. We compkain about everything without finding out the reason. Could you first of all find out why the CBN is doing this instead of always jumping on the band wargon all in the name of "CHANGE". It is getting too much. HABA!!!

Don't be stupid. Foolish illiterate. I can't blame you though. Perhaps poverty has blinded you to the stage that you are not reasoning well any more. The new administration will come in and do even worst. Are you a financier?. All you know is complain foolishly without asking why policies are being carried out. Go to the UK for just 6 months and see what taxing is all about and then tell me your opinion of everything after that

EVE said...

I LIKE THAT PART, ONE DAY WE WILL EAT THEM

Neso said...

This is insane, very disturbing

Looooooooooooooooooooooooooooool
Lmaooooooooooooooooooooooooooool

Who are you fooling? Mega rich Nigerians do not spend abroad using Nigerian cards so go and sit down. The middle class Nigerian's altogether can not match your top 1%'s spending abroad. Stop fooling your people and tell them the truth!

Yes, I knw u idiot wl come here again n yarb rubbish, u v never comment bt 2 antagonise, u r d illiterate, u lack everytin a well 2 do person shd gt, now I knw u r so daft n foolish n idiot is ur last name. Oloshi ode

Rich people don't behave like Linda. (For real rich people)

HEARD!!!!

"A few designers". Stop it

Sazzy C said...

God will save us in this country called Nigeria.

...Linda show off..make we for know say you dey spend pass $150k when you travel. We don hear oooo.

She's richly daft and stupid..........to fine no be to get sense

Why yuh no do your school for your motherland

Come bk to Nigeria where u would be charged nothing for withdrawing........ And pls kindly stop making noise

Archaic man....wot are u doing with Union bank, where u born in the 60's, other banks don't charge, better leave that pension bank .........ancienNigerian

Omg! The height of ur stupidity amazes me, obviously ur brains don't work n has never worked. What has BVN got to do with the coming of the anti christ???? U really need brain surgery

Best comment bro.....lmao.

Fellow Nigerians: pls grow wid d development of our nation. This law has been in existence like forever ago in other developed countries like south africa. U want change? U want a growing economy? U want better infrastructure? This is one of the sacrifices. Nig is a country where anything goes, this has to stop. Nig is the only country where money goes in & out widout control.

Oloshi elebo oron, 2 go sch u no go, abeg edit ur eng b4 posting aiit? Ur mama daft, ur grandma stupid, ur aunts den no gt sense. Oloriburuku omo ofo

Anon 5.41pm, cos he doesn't want to graduate and remain semi-literate like u.

Bee said...

Did the man just say fellow masses? lol...

This is the best understanding so far. U can send money abroad or receive any how just don't useany foreign currency for payment within the country. U can pay your 50k USD school fees without any hazzles with form A. Just dont pay 50k USD fees to any school in Nigeria. The fellow who wrote the article clearly does not understand.

Firstly,
To all the ignorant people out there, the masses refers to a general populace/a common people.
Secondly,
This move by the CBN governor is a very horrible one. I don't think he took into consideration the effects it would have on people's lives. Especially Nigerians schooling abroad. So from being able to withdraw £1000 a day i can now withdraw just £200
Just look at the drastic difference. How does he expect is to pay our rents? My rent is £5500 am i expected to withdraw £200 every day till the money is complete? We could use our UK accounts but international students prefer to receive money in our Nigerian accounts because its faster. This is just not fair. Another way for Nigerian banks to steal from us cuz with every £200 withdrawn their are added charges and at the end of the day you are being ripped off. I hope Buhari appoints a new CBN governor who would atleast know what he's doing and fix this mess. Appointments should be based on qualifications and not because someone is being compensated.

When you read some comments, you ask yourself if we are humans or idiots. May God help this present generation that cant use google to find out the correct position of things.this is my first time of commenting on linda's post. She sounds so discouraging. This is Nigeria our country we must fix it. Even those wey no get is shouting too.

Change is inevitable.lets support millennium cashless banking. However I need the limit increased to 100,000

Dr Peregrino Brimah, You are entitled to ur own opinion. However, let me let you know that it is people like you that might have initially supported the entry of Emiefiele to begin with. When Sanusi tackled corruption in the sector and prosecuted bank cabals, he was a bank's man? When the value of Dollar fell drastically below 150, he was a bank man. Should I go on? I MEAN, be reasonable. Sanusi's crime was that he made sure that banks contributed to the real economy, rather than the cabal economy. As for Emiefele, Im not surprised. From Day one, I knew he had nothing but pain to offer. becos he represents bank cabals, not the masses. if only u knew wat I know in terms of what he has done in the CBN since he took over, you will realize that his continuing as CBN Governor will result in DOOM for the financial system

Bonita, SLS is light years ahead of Godwin. They r not even on the same planet intellectually. Godwin na houseboy and na the work wey them put am to do there be that.

Team G.POINT said...

The Government have already put fear in everybody. So who will want to protest when Yoruba/ hausa and Igbo now sees there self as different people and our brothers are now police and army with big guns. So who will want to start the Protest and who is ready to follow??? That is the questions that needs an urgent answer!

What type of nonsense is this for God sake? This is what happens when u have a local man as a president...60 thousand naira per day? 300$ abroad? people don't spend more than that when they go to buy food stuff? Is Nigeria ok?