Nigeria’s Stolen Girls - What New York Times wrote about GEJ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 7 May 2014

Nigeria’s Stolen Girls - What New York Times wrote about GEJ

Below is a New York Times editorial published yesterday May 6. Y'all need to read this. Find below..
Three weeks after their horrifying abduction in Nigeria, 276 of the more than 300 girls who were taken from a school by armed militants are still missing, possibly sold into slavery or married off. Nigerian security forces apparently do not know where the girls are and the country’s president, Goodluck Jonathan, has been shockingly slow and inept at addressing this monstrous crime.
On Tuesday, the United Nations Children’s Fund said Boko Haram, the ruthless Islamist group that claimed responsibility for the kidnappings, abducted more young girls from their homes in the same part of the country in the northeast over the weekend. The group, whose name roughly means “Western education is a sin,” has waged war against Nigeria for five years. Its goal is to destabilize and ultimately overthrow the government. The group’s leader, Abubakar Shekau, said in a video released on Monday, “I abducted your girls. I will sell them in the market, by Allah.”
This is not the first time Boko Haram has attacked students, killing young men and kidnapping young women. The security situation in Northeast Nigeria has steadily deteriorated. In the first three months of this year, attacks by Boko Haram and reprisals by government security forces have killed at least 1,500 people, more than half of them civilians, according to Amnesty International. Until now, there has been little response to the violence, either in Nigeria or internationally. But the kidnapping of so many young girls, ages 12 to 15, has triggered outrage and ignited a rare anti government protest movement in Nigeria.

On Sunday, after weeks of silence, Mr. Jonathan admitted that “this is a trying time for our country,” and he said that Nigerians were justified in their anger against the government and appealed for international help. The reaction of Mr. Jonathan’s wife, Patience, was stunningly callous; according to state news media, she told one of the protest leaders, “You are playing games. Don’t use schoolchildren and women for demonstrations again.”

Boko Haram’s claim that it follows Islamic teachings is nonsense. A pre-eminent Islamic theological institute, Al-Azhar in Egypt, denounced the abductions, saying it “completely contradicts the teachings of Islam and its tolerant principles.” Although Boko Haram is believed to number no more than a few hundred men, Nigerian security forces have been unable to defeat them.

Mr. Jonathan, who leads a corrupt government that has little credibility, initially played down the group’s threat and claimed security forces were in control. It wasn’t until Sunday, more than two weeks after the kidnappings, that he called a meeting of government officials, including the leader of the girls’ school, to discuss the incident. There is no doubt the intelligence and investigation help President Obama offered on Monday is needed.

The kidnappings occurred just as President Jonathan is about to hold the World Economic Forum on Africa, with 6,000 troops deployed for security. That show of force may keep the delegates safe, but Nigeria’s deeply troubled government cannot protect its people, attract investment and lead the country to its full potential if it cannot contain a virulent insurgency.

286 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 286 of 286

You na small boy wen u grow up u go understand abeg sit am for back.

I can imagine how foolish u are.

I dey laugh u becos you are sensless

Na you wow betide. Idiot money wen dey lick lime.

Your head. Aminal

Stupid.

Go sit down anti US . I know u. You like evil good tins u hate. Drink ur garri tomorrow. You know God. See u.

Shut up Jonathan' brother. Crime dey every wia but nija own tire wrapper. U blind abi .fake person .

Close ur month yusuf must u talk. Rubbish

Mallam yusuf u no get sense.

Before unko. D trust dey pain

May Boko boys cut your balls. Ewu Gambia

If dem no go as dat dey affect u. U dey enjoy d biggest economy . So make dem sit down. U na racist sef

Who u bi. Y u no go help d situation like say u help dem for no come. Nija leader own too much.

Kerpy go sit down

They also forgot to mention that dude was a retard and his illiterate wife needed to be bound and gagged and thrown back into the bush they dug her up from. The fact that we call such a freak show "1st lady" is enough for BH to wanna kill us all. She isn't my 1st lady..dunno about u guys

No racist here pls. Our mumu done do

Anti Us I know .

Which one of Nigeria's government wasn't corrupt? Matter of fact, massive corruption and ineptness of 37yrs out of 50yrs, among many reasons, explains the nation's under-development. Yet, has the NY Times ever written such a scathing report on those previous administrations? So, why now? What's in it for the New York Times and its sponsors? What sort of crystal ball could the CIA/agents have looked into, in order, to prophesy, as it were, on Nigeria's end/demise by 2015? And, is Boko Haram including myriad hidden backers on both the domestic and international fronts the necessary catalysts to expedite her death? These questions and more
deserve scrutiny before the gullible masses & short-sighted and greedy leadership play into the hands of certain elements that have never
wished well for Africa's most populous nation and her people.

God bless u .

Close dat hole u call mouth.

No be ur fault u no get sense d matter clear .racist

chidi, NYC said...

Fucking thief! Corrupt asshole! All he thot he was gonna do was sit back and feed fat off the countries resources and pardon criminals and murderers. But now it's time to actually work! BITCH!!!

You dey crazy.

Weti sugar coated for wetin dem talk

With brand new english too

E clear say jona and pat na ur person . Hand go soon meet u.

Kaks comot for road u infected maggot dat tinks he/ she is human

Kaks you no well at all.

And so.

So I guess everyone who writes anything negative about ur beloved GEJ is now an APC mouthpiece. Even when those things r true! A truly despotic characteristic.

The most foolish human being I have ever seen in my 34yrs on this earth.

who the hell is prince? We are talking #bringbackourgirls you have time for eulogy. Take several seat behind mr prince.

Anon 8.37pm, ur parochial thinking sums up everything wrong about Nigeria. So even when a Southern President is killing the country, we should let him remain there just because of where he's from? How r u better than those u condemn? What we need is a true leader, irrespective of tribe, religion or creed. And Jona is definitely the wrong one. Call a spade a spade and not a big spoon.

Kaks, that may be the best thing for us o! But na Int'l community say make Jona dey stupid?

Bia, Emeka, which country do u live in? Surely not Naija. Rally round a totally incompetent President who had turned down offers of help from Day 1 while doing nothing about the situation? A President who was busy dancing and campaigning while the citizens he swore to protect were being killed like goats? Ur watch must be running counter-clockwise.

If we did not want their "trojan horse", why did we not help ourselves? Then their help would not have been necessary.

PATIENCE JONATHAN CHAI CHAI ...MGBEKE FIRST LADY ONLY IN NIGERIA..HE NEEDS TO GET A TUTOR FOR THAT WOMAN...FOR GOODNESS SAKE!!!

America will exploit this opportunity, no doubt. But I doubt it will be worse than we r already doing to ourselves. And by the way, my mother has a Master's Degree and speaks excellent English, and so does my wife.

God forbid for us to go through another 4yrs of this!

Goodluck Jojo said...

Fellow Nigerians. Stop abusing there word "corruption". It is mere theft. How many times do I have to repeat myself.

What has US done in finding d Missing Malaysia Airline? GEJ has good intentions like his predecessor Y'aradua, is bad companies of GEJ dat's killing us. Remember sometimes ago GEJ cried out loud dat BH has infiltrated his govt? I blamed GEJ bcos he failed 2 take action,fail 2 arrest dose de stabilizing his govt, he knows dose ppl threatening thunder n brimstone but he let go of dem. Northern leaders has failed dia ppl dnt blame GEJ. #Brassman#

Anon 8 30 thanks for this response

U wish someone death and u want to be alive,how wicked can human beings be,my goodness

Very shameful

Yes, America will not risk the lives of their precious citizens for nothing. Its only Nigeria that does big brotherlism with nothing to show for it. GEJ is simply clueless. Cant u see? We need help urgently. It is America's fault that there is corruption and poor governance in Nigeria. Abeg all we want is to bring our girls back. And feel safe in our country again

Aymii said...

I like all these oyinbos.....them no dey beat round the bush...them dey talk the thing just as e take be

Ill just pick some of the key phrases that summarize the article..

1."Goodluck Jonathan has been INEPT and SHOCKINGLY SLOW at addressing this monstrous crime"

2."The reaction of Mrs patience, Jonathans wife was STUNNINGLY CALLOUS!". (touche!!! Aswear! It hit it just right there)

3. "Mr Jonathan who leads a CORRUPT government that has LITTLE CREDIBILITY!."

My people Times Magazine no dey lie!

#linda of life..God bless you for putting this up#

On 2 The Next!

look at this fool! so in all of this what you see is someone trying to give GEJ a bad name? it's not about north & south, it's about gross incompetence and mediocrity. would you rather a fool and a thief rule you because he is your brother. The current level of theft and corruption is unprecedented. missing$10 billion oil money, oil subsidy stealing, embezzlement of SURE P money, Boko Haram etc. really bros, is this the best the South can offer? Common we are better than this.

osas said...

AMERICA ARE THE WORST COUNTRY ON EARTH I REGRET WHY MR PRESIDENT SIGN THE RUBBISH ASSISTANT FROM THEM AND THAT AS GIVEN THEM THE AVENUE TO TALK TO OUR NATION THE WAY THEY LIKE I DON'T BLAME THEM ANYHOW... COME TO THINK OF IT ANY COUNTRY AMERICA GO FOR HELP THEIR EFFORT IS TO WORSTING THE SITUATION and lute their national resources... we are just fall for them...God will see us tru..Lady Linda pls share my comment

Aymii said...

RotfLmao, @anon 12.17...Estee take heart....some of these Libers can be very foul mouthed!

On 2 the Next!

He Jst said it all... our president is a woman. Nonsense

Charleswhite said...

Na wa oo,Nigeria is finished,God help us ooo

It's no lie o. Extreme truth in fact. But my own is just that they should help with our girls and then go back to their country. That's how they 'helped' Iraq and now they have a big say in d oil control of d country. We need help for our girls but we don't want them meddling with our oil

GEJ will survive this. The Northern agenda is playing out. They want power at all cost.

It's pathetic! My God! What is wrong with us? How can a Jonathan be the president of this great nation? Sadly, fear ll not allow us take any action to remove him. It's so painful. He has countless times proven that he is incapable of that sit. He is clueless, yet he wants to perpetuate himself in power. I weep, oh I weep!

Everyday we c d comments of hypocrites in denial in nigeria.the u s govt hv a base in germany r d nt dr fellow white men.all we do is say its a lie or d hv a plan like if d leave us we will cm up wit one

We keep saying all we need is prayers like God will cm down frm heaven nd do it wen he gave us brains nd God uses pple to help pple so stop saying all we need is prayers.u need ur brains n pple too

Anon 8.35 am sure u still wonder y we r still a 3world country.its cos of myopic retards like u dat find dr way to govt

strangegal said...

There has bin claims that d America govt has a hand in what is going on in nigeria, on reading the article it made abit of sense wen looking at it from their perspective. T he American govt has proved they can go to the lowest to achieve their own aims. At this point it is really confusing and 1 doesn't know what to believe anymore. WatEVER THE CASE MAY BE all these arguement are distractions Jonathan should do what he was elected to do. Protect the people!

@Anonymous12:47, I totally agree with u. Nigerians are sooo deluded. We like to lie to ourselves and that is why our country is as bad as it is. Ppl like Charles and the other stupid commentator just dig the head into the sand so that they don't confront the real issues bothering us while selling lies to the public. Enuf is enuf. Time to wake up from our slumber. God help Nigeria.

@All these naysayers, what will they do to us that ur useless government haven't already done??? At least if we become an American state, we will enjoy all the benefits that at the moment we travel all the way to enjoy. There will be electricity, they will make our country secure again. And they will help us reach our full potential as the giant of africa that we once were. I hope they come and take over sef.

Kenyan Gal said...

good luck...thank you for taking care of my president mr. uhuru kenyatta onhis trip to naija...we heart him much...

The nation has been handed over to the beast eventually. There's no hiding place as the anti-Christ world govt has assumed control of Nigeria. Christians beware and get ready for your Flight!

What gives the writer the authority to say that? These are two mutually exclusive issues. though one can affect the other, there can be no defined absolutes. The writer is a journalist and thus should state facts not his opinion, nobody asked for it and that makes him unprofessional.

And so ends the political ambition of our dumb Mr. President. A vote of no confidence has been passed on him by all a sundry; the Nigerian people and the international community. How can such a person with a zero percent opinion poll win an election unless they rig it. PDP better field someone else because if he wins and Nigerians fight then the international community would support the masses, but would we fight or even oppose if the opposite is the case. We are the most docile people on earth and being called the happiest people on earth is a curse.

i like this part " Mr. Jonathan, who leads a corrupt government that has little credibility, initially played down the group’s threat and claimed security forces were in control. "

hahahahaha

On point.What kind of people are we in this country,we cee black and call it white, now outsideers are exposing our president and his wife.I have seen this long coming

The reaction of Mr. Jonathan’s wife, Patience, was stunningly callous; according to state news media, she told one of the protest leaders, “You are playing games. Don’t use schoolchildren and women for demonstrations again.”

Y do I ve ds feeling dat afta these countries are done helping us , dey ll stil use al ds against us in d nearest future..

adetomiwa said...

Well, am not surprised. This is not the first time we will be washing our dirty ""underwear" in public. #NigeriaMyCountry

Gej you are finished #Doro true

hmmmmmm heard the FBI s landed in Naija wonder where this country is going more over yall need to see d girl they buried this morning alive and stoned r to death i seriously cant get over it patience jonathan guess uld probably cry n not dt u did few days ago

@Charles Arinze- you appear to me as quite delusional with all the happenings around us. You're either a sycophant or just too blind to see the truth- so typical of a bigot.

Is Jonathan really Nigeria problem?. Nobody is even mentioning d governor of Borno who by law is d number 1 citizen & Chief security officer of d State. With all d security votes he collects wat has he done with it?. If people re saying d president has failed Nigerians, d governor of Borno state has failed d entire people of Borno state & as such shld b asked 2 resign frm office.

Yesterday, he was a young student with no shoes, torn uniform, book less torn school bag, his mother laying on her ragged mat at night with tears of despair constantly wondering what the future held for her innocent but disadvantaged boy. Today he has bought all the shoes in the world, not only do people lose their shoes, they now lose their feet, he hops into several private jets at the same time, he spends N1b in the kitchen yearly, he sits on top of a government that collects from the poor and gives to the rich, he buys off people's consciences, spends so much on media propaganda, he cares less about who goes to school or who does not, he sends police after harmless, frustrated and defenseless lecturers, 200+ children can disappear for all he cares, his loving sweetheart summons office holders at will in the comfort of her palace and orders the arrest of already bereaved women who will not bow to her whims. To this yesterday's boy, Nigerians are not poor because private jets are increasing everyday, a Nigerian is the richest man in Africa, Nigerians have not started eating from dustbins bla bla bla. I simply ask, how rich was the family of a shoeless boy yesterday? When tomorrow comes, Nigerians will forever remember there lived a once shoeless boy and his collaborators in the garb of pastors, imams, babalawos, iyalawos etc. in the meantime, Nigerians shall keep watching the drama, commenting on the drama and shall determine the next actors, God willing. The choice is yours.

chei... #AmericaHasAlreadyKnown ... diaris God oo

Gajio said...

It's a disgrace that Nigerian believe so much in conspiracy theory rather than common sense. Tribalism, corruption and political profiteering has clouded the sense of reasoning of some of us. The american press hit the nail on the head. GEJ has failed us and international Communities can never take us serious no matter how we over rate ourselves.

Anon 10:34, your father, grand father & you are the capital mistakes for referring to the President of this nation as that Oshi. Do you know what it means to be leader & much more of this country? Pls take several seats.

Stella Adedotun said...

WELL, I'M OF THE OPINION THAT NIGERIA SHOULD BE SPLIT...THE NOTHERNERS SHOULD GO THEIR WAY AND REAR THEIR CATTLE MAKE WE FOR KNOW THOSE OF US WEY REMAIN FOR NIGERIA!!

The opportunity waiting for has come, a sovereignty
state now a treasure Island for tigers searching for
missing puppies of misfortune dog, even in the animal
kingdom there are territories and the ability to guide
your territory is an ability to survive. Great Britain,
USA, china, ..., are now invading our dear country in
disguise of searching for our missing girls, hope we are
not calling for clash of titans, hope we are aware of
many hidden treasure to explore in the quest for
missing treasure, can a dog pursue tigers out of her
territory after a lost of guard?, why are we calling our
army forces toothless dog in the name of politics, our
pride is going down the drain, the labour of our hero
past, shall not be in vain (amen).

From the article "Mr.Jonathan, who leads a corrupt government that has little credibility,"

The highlight there is Little credibility, are they saying that he didn't win the election or that the election was a fraud.

Enough of this guys, their is gun shots in American almost everyday, they have their own share of trouble, I just think Jonathan didn't handle this properly and I'm not sure how our military intelligence are working.

We must unite regardless.

As u have all gone off ranting, u should all ask if d published article is right in the first place. I'm not saying gej or dame r perfect

yhemmee said...

THIS IS ACTUALLY THE TRUTH OF THE MATTER.
I KEEP WONDERING WHERE MORE THAN 200 LIVING SOULS ARE KEPT AND ALL OUR SECURITY FORCES COULDN'T FIND THEIR LOCATIONS.
I SMELL A FOUL PLAY HERE.
THIS GOVT SHOULD STOP POLITICISING WITH INNOCENT LIVES!!!

yhemmee said...

THIS IS ACTUALLY THE TRUTH OF THE MATTER.
I KEEP WONDERING WHERE MORE THAN 200 LIVING SOULS ARE KEPT AND ALL OUR SECURITY FORCES COULDN'T FIND THEIR LOCATIONS.
I SMELL A FOUL PLAY HERE.
THIS GOVT SHOULD STOP POLITICISING WITH INNOCENT LIVES!!!

Please, let us be realistic. It surely takes one to know one. Let us not be blind to the fact that America is in no better position to point out our corruption when they are swimming in it themselves. We do not need the president of the United States to come to our rescue. What we need is to wake up and start helping ourselves. Nigeria is perfectly capable of handling it, all they need is to stop being callous and start acting.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 286 of 286   Newer› Newest»