Video: Michelle Obama marks Mother's Day & speaks out on Chibok girls | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 May 2014

Video: Michelle Obama marks Mother's Day & speaks out on Chibok girls

In this week's address, Michelle Obama honored all mothers in this upcoming Mother's Day and offered her thoughts, prayers and support in the wake of the terrorist kidnapping of more than 200 Nigerian school girls. Watch...

93 comments:

This is the kind of 1st lady we need and not the one we have now I.e saying "darris God ooo" Patience Jonathan learn from her.

Forth coming mothers day? how many times do dey celebrate mothers day in a year...

Jdy said...

Good for her, God bless

Jdy last posted...There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you

May God bless her #bringbackourgirls

DOBY DOBY said...

Amen oo. . # bring back our gals. . Pls nobody shld start insultin patience..

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" that's so good of her. May God bless her endeavours.

TrustGod said...

She said it all😢😢😢😢😢....#bringbackourgirls🙏

HMD

femi said...

Abi na... #Chai

Ooops! Lady grabs John Dumelo by the Balls(Photos)

God bless her #prayforNigeria

Good one #bright bravo#

Mehn..... World wide.....

There is First lady and then there's Patience Jonathan! Chai there is God oooo

No crocodile tears,diaris God ooooo
Ola Brampton say so

Tessy said...

God bless her, linda plz update ur bloggers on d track down n arrest of one of bh leaders yesterday by d us marine intelligenge with sophiscated satelite tracking device

Well, thanks Mrs O. She is an American and therefore expected to talk like one. Our very own Mrs J is just like our mothers here,who went to school during their old age (the baby boomers generation) and so expected to talk the way she is.Pls appreciate her and look beyond her crudeness and see the goodness in her.She is a good wife and mother and also doing what a good wife does for her home,she protects it with all she has.Nigeria is her home and a good mum will not watch her home catching fire.

Etsako Pearl said...

She try. #BringBackOurGirls Now

power said...

Thank u ma #bring back our girls.

Whats de meaning of what u've just said, can u stand in front of patience Jonathan and repeat dis nonsense u've just said here, u are such an idiot, foolish girl, copy copy

Na ur kind dey throw banana to black, mumu oshi.... Can ur mother speak correct english?

God bless her! GodblessNigeria#

Jah bless...

God bless u for your comment

DOBY DOBY said...

Y is it dat nigerians always feel inferior wen it comes to developed countries.. y ar they insultin patience. . Michelle obama made a nice statement.. appreciate her rather dan insultin ur first lady. . D fact is dat wen u insult ur president nd his wife u ar also insultin urself. . We ar al nigeria nt only gej nd d wife.. wats painin me most is dat evn pple dat deir mother cnt speak correct English wil b d 1st to start d insult. . Evrybody makes mistake evn linda.. lets love one anoda dan usin her weakness against her

You ppl like critizing your own, leave Patience Jonathan alone,respect her as Your President's wife. For the Fact that she's not Eluquent in English is not a crime

Me said...

All the countries under Great Britain celebrates their Mother's Day in March. America and all the the countries under America, including canada, celebrates their Mother's Day in May. This is a known fact. People always ask this question on this blog, including Linda.

God bless You

What a speech from US first lady. I don't blame nigerians who stand to support our first lady who ridicule the image of the country in front of the whole world.. "deris God oooo na only you waka come" all this are joke and a shame to us abroad. #bringbackourgirls

I weep for my country Nigeria, this is how a mother and a first lady speaks, she is totally aware of the impact this act has on the family members,Nigerians and the world as a whole. she has spoken well and I am refreshed and heaved a sigh of relief. Shame on you Market woman Patience, u belong in Okrika, where you come from, selling Okrika or stockfish in the market(no pun intended). May the girls be found and brought back home to safety, and may God teach the Nigerian govt, what way and direction to go to be able to lead and move our blessed country forward. Direction is what we need now as a nation, these headless chickens and nincompoops must GO. Labaran Maku, Doyin Okupe , so called aides of the President at a distress time like this still have time to wear buba and sokoto,Maku(in his interview with Cnn) was shown decked in full regalia(with a cap on his head, properly tilted to the side at that)what ever happened to dressing smart? seyatou was so frustrated with them I could hear her salient yell of" these people are so stupid, elusive and clueless" these men with no direct trail of thoughts nor accuracy are the so called advisers to THE PRESIDENT AND INFORMATION MINISTER IRONICALLY HAS NO INFORMATION HIMSELF... I say it daily and i repeat, till the day the president of this country is a smart dresser with shirt and tie, or skirt and blouse as you may, (which represents vitality, vigor, innovation and rebirth)we aren't going anywhere as a nation, these agbada, caftan, babariga, buba and sokoto wearing grandfathers are symbolic to me of a lackadaisical, irresponsible,uncouth, ignorant, selfish set of people who have no sense of direction,under educated with numerous honarary titles, unexposed and dont care for the nuances and plight of the people/masses; who should come on air looking disheveled with swollen eyes from sleepless nights and uncountable emergency sessions? these people are having a ball and don't give freaking care if the girls are found or not, so far their lives are ok and their pocket enriched regardless, the president said he wont sleep till the girls are found, but he planned a wedding for his adopted daughter and went through with it, then now he cant sleep right? sorry Mr President, that assertion is coming too late from you. let the will of God be done in Nigeria, and if this means polluted Nigeria burning to ashes then a new Nigeria is given life to, let it be so, cause we are in ruins as a nation and the situation must change.

Ehn ehn... Dats a first lady thr!

laimols said...

Wow! So touching. I could see tears well up in her eyes at some point. This matter is too delicate not to feel emotional, every mother would...

I think the Nigeria government and press men should always allow our first lady to speak in her local dialect(igbo)because it is a language recognized by our constitution. they should get here an interpreter to save us this embarrassment each time . abubakar

Anonymous 11;47 thanks for correcting these crude minded Nigerians who keep hauling insults at Dame Patience, she may not be as polished as Mitchel, but she deserves our respect. She feels those mother's pains. For those of you insulting GEJ, know that he only inherited Nigeria from bad presidents like Babangida, Abacha and especially Obasanjo who pepetrated so much evil.

I will always be proud of my president n his wife.... If your mother can not speak English does it mean your father will have to marry a new. Wife to rep your family? Y' all should just let our mama peace rest n stop disgracing her to de outside communities. Be proud of what you have.

To whom much is given,much is expected.As a first lady of a nation in this modern world a level of comportment is required from Mrs j this include being able to express herself properly especially in public,but if for any reason she is unable to do so it is advisable for her to speak in her local dialect and get interpreters to interpret in English.This wld save her and Nigerians from this constant embarrasment.

Anonymous wateve, hope say dis ur grammar no end 4 dis blog? Jobless goat dats d ignorance we r tlkin abt, jst a simple comment n ur blowin up evriwia... ODE, n 4 d 1st comment, na iti dey 1st go skul *waka*

chioma said...

Errrm anon 12:30 our first lady's local dialect is NOT igbo! Shame on u for u knw nothing about ur country. Patience is from okrika in rivers state! Olodo kobo kobo

There is school o! There is School o!! There is absolutely no excuse for Nda Patie's embarrassing mess on a national television because there is School o!!!. But a lion share of my blame goes to the people who imposed Jonathan on Nigerians, for they should have evaluated him properly before deciding to make him Musa YaraDua's running mate. They should have realized that should he become president, his wife was unfit to act as first lady of a country like Nigeria with very educated people. It's not too late for nda Patie to go back to school and brush herself up because there is School O!!!!,

w@rlord said...

No need to compare anybody. who wants to learn, and improve shud tap into dis. its as simple as dat. tank u madam 1st Lady. we appreciate ur concern.

Cintetic fool.

FUNMINISTA said...

U all must be related.which stupid good is she doing.patience jona is simply a national embarrassment

BLESSED SISTER NOELLA said...

we need to respect Patience, but she is not too old to have had a better education..the issue isn't patience but a breakdown in our educational system..even if she didn't go to college (university) at least she should have received a solid foundational education from elementary, and secondary schools...you don't learn to speak proper English as an adult, even though with a lot of hard work and reading books you could catch up. The foundation should be set as a child...Poor Patience, she is who she is and the only solution is to find a good script writer for her, and let her rehearse before she speaks, which is what everyone including Americans do before a speech.

Nigeria is a country of diverse languages and dialects, thus it is imperative that we have people in power that can communicate in the official language which is English, so that the majority will understand, this isn't too much to ask.

sam said...

oh my God i can believe we are here the point in which we see it only on television. but now the drama is unfolding before us.......well any mother should be concern when it comes to this issue of girls kidnapping i just pray all this will pass away...cheers.were still concern about student in all ramification our signature will tell more details

U might av celebrated Mother's day already where u live but we havent celebrated it here in the U.S& its 2mo May 11th so wish all Mothers here in d U.S a happy mothers day celebration!

I feel like crying right now love u ma'am God. Bless u.

It is very irritating when Nigeria's as home condone incompetence. This is a National Embarrassment for Nigerians at home & abroad an we should demand better from those we entrust as public servants to serve the public and not loot our treasury. Regardless of our ethnicities, we should strive for better leadership & better governance for a country & citizens with so much potential. Jonathan & his cronies are not up to the job to take Nigeria to the next level of greatness, and we the citizens should demand and vote the right caliber of candidates to be our public servants in leadership positions, so they have a vision & mission to eradicate the bad eggs who are in 419 & Terrorism from Nigerians Narrative to the World. NIGERIA as a nation needs to attract the right foreign direct investments & human capital to build our nation to greatness. HAPPY MOTHERS DAY TO ALL THE LOVELY MOTHERS OUT THERE.

eve said...

All these comments frm anonymous this and anonymous that defendn madam pee like it's world war 3 ... faith osakwe is that u defending your mum? Lwkm4h!!!! It's not like Nigerians enjoy taunting her... but she owes it to this great nation to polish herself.. she has had more than enuf tym to do just that! come 2015 we don't wanna hear talks of fellow widows n umblerras and wot not oh... get schooled or stay home!!!!!

Hahahahahahahah! Y'all shd take it easy on pey pey oh... she dey fall our hand yes but how we go do na? make we pity am small

This speech was so comforting and reassuring...God bless Nigeria

Pity fire!!! She dosnt av to go about yappn her mouth mbok! If English is a problem she shd stay in aso rock quietly n release recorded statements when necessary! Wot is bad is bad Nigeria let's leave sentiments out of it! Na she be the first illiterate? Employ d services of a tutor n improve urslf madam!! Do it for ur country if u won't do it for yourself!

Hahahahahahahah Faith Elizabeth Osakwe is that u bitching so seriously??? Abi na d new first son? Rotflmao

@cintetic, I guess your mother can speak good english

#bringbackourgirls

This is the so called educated delta state girl citentic raining abuses on the First lady of Nigeria but has no single idea how punctuation marks are used. #warri I hail oh.

CYNTHIA OFUBU
Thursday, 20 October 2011

IN EVERYTHING GIVES THANKS TO GOD
Dear Friend, there is no question we are living in difficult times. We are pressed on every side. You may be hurting at this very moment. You may feel abandoned and that you have been left alone to face the giants in your life. Regardless if you are experiencing financial hardship, emotional stress, loss of a love one, or a traumatic event please know that God has not forsaken you. We pray that over the next few minutes as you read the following words of encouragement you will be filled with new hope.
Sometimes when we are going through difficult circumstance we also experience emotions that we find hard to understand. In those times our inspiration seems to grow wings and fly away into some foreign land. Just because you experience these emotions does not mean you are away from God. You are out of your comfort zone. So many times we as Christians think that if we experience any kind of hurt, pain, or difficult circumstance that we must not be walking right with God.
Joseph was walking right before God and ended up in prison. (Genesis 37:18-27) I am sure to Joseph at first it seemed that he had been utterly forsaken. His very own brothers had first conspired to kill him, but opted to sell him into slavery instead. Perhaps Joseph even had a thought he would have been better off had they killed him. It seems a lot of us have felt that way at times, but it is simply not true. That is hurt and pain talking. Have you been hurt by a fellow brother or sister in the church or family member in your home? Maybe they hurt you just as Joseph’s brothers had hurt him. You may have found yourself even wondering how this person could do something to hurt you in such a way and be called a child of God. Maybe it was a family member and you find yourself now struggling with tying to understand how someone so close to you could bring that kind of pain to you. It is one thing to deal with an attack from the enemy but when you are dealing with the hurt or betrayal of a brother or sister it is even more difficult and accompanied with opportunity for confusion. After all this is just not supposed to happen, right? So when it does we usually ask why God, why is this happening. If you have been struggling with the divesting hurt or pain caused by another you will be inspired as we continue to look at Joseph. You see dear friend you are not the only one that has struggled with these thoughts or feelings.
I can only imagine the emotions that Joseph must have dealt with as the hurt and pain of knowing it was not a stranger but his very brothers that threw him into that pit. I am sure he cried out for them to lift him out of there. One of his brothers actually wanted to rescue him and take him back to their father. Look below at verse 22 of Genesis 37. He was the one that insisted they not kill him, but urged them to throw him into the pit instead.
(KJV) And Reuben said unto them, Shed no blood, but cast him into this pit that is in the wilderness, and lay no hand upon him; that he might rid him out of their hands, to deliver him to his father again
Cintetic at 02:17

No comments:
Home
View web version
About Me

Cintetic
I am an easy going person.
View my complete profile