Super storm hits U.S | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 29 October 2012

Super storm hits U.S

At least 50 million people are bracing for the worst storm forecasters say could be the largest ever to hit the United States. 

Hurricane Sandy is expected to hit the East Coast at 8:50 this evening, and will bring that part of the country to a standstill in the next few days with battering winds, flooding and lengthy power outages.

State of emergency has been declared in NYC, Washington DC, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Virginia, and there's mandatory evacuation in all all low level cities. Public transportation, subways, bridges, schools, tunnels, businesses, have all been closed.

Much of the East Coat is on lock down right now as they are expecting a storm surge of 6 to 11 feet above normal high tide. The hurricane is expected to merge with winter storm and they say it has the potential to cause "unprecedented damage."

Thousands of flights into and out of the US east-coast have been canceled and president Obama has also canceled his presidential campaign to monitor the storm, which could cost the US billions of dollars in damages.

80 comments:

Stay safe.

Yup. Apparently Sandy's not playing. I spent the wkend in FL and the waves and wind were crazy. Then flying back into DC on Sunday was scary too. At least I'm working from home since my office has been closed till Weds :-)
Yay... Sandy. Now I'm praying that my area doesn't have power cut off. No NEPA moves pls.

And so what?????????

We jst dey learn for America side. Lord have mercy and keep us till our dying days.

Jona should charge nerma 2 take a cue from this

The end has come!!!Jesus loves you, its not too late.

Endtime people....lets go bak to base....

Eyhaaa! Ndo americans...

if it is the worst katrina nko?

Motunrayo said...

I'm in Boston and its crazy, but will my bosses give us the day off? NO. Almost all my friends are home sleeping and here I am stuck at work. Driving to work this morning was scary as hell, so not looking forward to my drive home. I'm just praying nothing happens to me o, otherwise dem go see African Magic.

Dis is terrible

Nana Benz said...

yes ooo, we are in NJ/NY tri-state area and everything is closed down. Cathing up on gistst...

Nana Benz said...

Aunty Linda, philadelphia dey inside Pennsylvania and Boston dey inside Massachusetts. As you put comma, comma, e no make sense.

God ve mercy on your people. Though we re sinners. All these is happening bcos of humanities acceptance of gay behavior n other immoral act. Pls brothers n sisters let us change n beg for God mercy.

Philadelphia is in pennsylvania miss linda.

Oh God,why is did happening...God pls make a way..

The world is surely coming to an end. Lord have mercy

Janie said...

Naht gonna be funny @'ll... May God take control

They are always prepared. I was in Louisiana when Hurricane Isaac hit and i bowed for America. Ordinary low velocity flood our 9ja no fit curtail. What a Shame!!!
More Said So

live in MD, its here, but not too crazy, pray it does not get any worse-wasaafrica.blogspot.com

who is that ignorant chap @5:34 pm. Isn't there flooding in nigeria right now. nonsense!!! thank you linda for alerting nigerians on what happening on the east coast right now. Im in Connecticut and we are also experiencing power outage

Nigerian leaders pleas take this tutorial on how prepare for a storm,adequate warning & evacuation NOT Medicine after death

John J said...

See country with a vision;averting natural disaster b4 it shows up BUT NAIJA..... Na when flood kill 1000 people & displace 150,000 people dats when d Government will release 17billion naira for flood victims. Hmmmm God help us.

Did I hear mandatory evacuation of all low cities? This is a country that is working.Nigeria and africa people learn learn the value of human life...America am coming soon.long life and Nigeria hoping for the best.

John J said...

My broda u're right oooo. Dis world is worst dan Soddom & Gomorra. Imagine men f***king men. Why God no go vex???

Oga Jona, u dey see am? Obama had to cancel his campaign cuz of dis. Here in naija president cancel his campaign cuz of blast? For where. Father hear our cry n give us mindful leaders. Lord be with America

I am in Boston and i am just praying against power outage o...and Linda, it is not the worst storm to hit the USA.It could be the worst to hit the North east area.Y'all cant just publish without confirming

Abeg which one is all this end of times shit? So all the madness going on in Naija is attributed to what??? Pls don't come here and start with your Pentecostal bullshit again! Paranoid fucks!

So what's ur point???

Big E said...

Crickey!!.....I pray God help them!
Peeps check out www.etx-ng.com for Degree verification and Electronic Transcript submission to any school worldwide!

Christ have mercy

May the good lord help us all.

Hurriamscane Sandy Webc said...

Just saw this... Scary stuff

Buhahaha... did I just read someone comment saying "And so?" evidently this fella is not in the States...

This is a country where things are working!!

BLOGLORD said...

God u promised not to destroy the world with flood again.
Nigeria-flood, U.S-flood.
Father forgive the u.s of their gay practice and Nigeria from corruption, rituals and thieves in govt.

Idiots comparing nigeria with the U.S....May God see them through this.

Dupe O said...

Am off school for two days! love that part of it but then it has not even started raining here in PA but this wind is on another level God help us all...

Dupe O said...
Lady Mel said...

God please ohhhhh please. All those states are mostly Democratic states. Please Obama need those votes. If the storm do major damages this election will somehow because people will be worried about their lives and property and less of the President. Only a week away, we cant afford distractions.

U well at all?

Anon5:58, what anon5:34 meant was d world generally is now sinful & wasn't limiting it 2 America alone. U really have an attitude if not u won't call someone “ignorant crap” & “nonsense”. Are u his mouth????

Oge Nsimah said...

This is government that have the people @ hrt ... U no see Rivers state buying jet when people are suffering cuz of flood. GEJ abeg learn from OBama pls

america u are too much..GOD loves u..but u must remove homosexuality from ur law..and hatred to the developing countries esp. africa..and watch GOD act on ur behalf.

Can everybody shut up about the comparisons, america v nigeria who cares!! Our lives our in the very palms of God's hands. There are things coming that america wont be prepared for at all because God is soverign!!....this world is pretty much gone...only thing that matters is where u will go when ur life is over.

Chop Chop said...

Pls tell naija gov't to bring us plenty aroplane to evacuate her citizens just in case we need to evacuate to naija.. Pls pls. Here is contract, donotdelet.com@gmail.com. I dey Midwest oo,

And this ur history lesson is for what now?

You forget say woman dey f***k woma too; some na even animals den dey do.smh

tax collector said...

Hope well prepared n hope it doesnt affect CNN.cos wnt to c it happenin.God hv mercy on us all.IJN amen

sue baby said...

Hahaha....mehn pepperbody wey naija ppl get, too much. Mnwhl, I was overcharged today in £ I almost cried, was depressed cos life in ds UK na mind,but since I tuned into Lib, I've bn reeling wt lafta, reading different topics esp d one with washing ur vj with water not soap, linlin, u d bomb, I love u all my lib fam, taxes no go kill pesin for here

Eewo,,,,abegi o,my twin sister dey maryland o

You think gay marriage is such a heinous crime that God will visit his vengeance on 50 million mostly innocent people, in a world filled with serial killers, rapists etc. Do you have similar explanations for tsunamis, volcanoes, earthquakes... that happen in the most remote parts of the globe to people who have done no wrong? Natural disasters have and will always happen, just try to stay safe when you are in harm's way and pray for the people involved rather than pass judgment.

You need to stay safe, the heaviest rains and strongest winds are later tonight in your area. Unless you live in Ocean city.

lmao lmao oo i cant breathe too funny lmaooo

LMAO @ chop chop. Naija govt send aeroplane for una under jona regime forget it!!!. Na River state govr buy private jet for em own use- he and his family ONLY but abandon the rest way vote am in. @ chop chop n others,God will take control. It wunt get to that extent have Faith n pray aswell. there is nothing God cannot do.

God protect and Guide them. And our loved ones in the prone areas God guide them...

No obama,no fagget marriage

Interesting how the Anerican establishment is preparing for this eventuality. Confounding how some people are comparing this emergency response to Nigeria..two very different spectre..comparisons and critique should be more objective and less pedestrian

Nigerians will always find fault with its givernment or ppl, hurricane sandy is ere n ppl r busy complainin bou how r govt cnt copy the us nd prepare for floods! Pls we shud learn to pray for ppl in disaster sstriken areas nd nt try nd fault others for our problem!! Only God can save our friends nd fam abroad nd in d flooded areas, we shud pray for them, they nid our prayers (viki)

NYC-1 says: Just like death, the world will come to an end when it will come to an end. Why do you FANATICS keep making this statement any time Mother Nature reveals its strenght in a way unpleasant to man? Religion and Love goes together, not Religion and Fear. If you are idle and can't find a job yet, let it be known to you that others have jobs and are happy with life. Please stop this 'end of the world' saga. Even if the world comes to an end tomorrow, you might not make it to Heaven bcos of your bad wishes for others. There is a Chinise proverb that says that "the tortoise in a pond thinks, that is the size of the world." Read between the lines.

Anony@ 8.28 PM, you disgust me. Every time you keep making this same statement any time someone makes a point.

chywe said...

De dia de correct grammar, pray u still got light to know wats up. You are defending the inevitable. North, south,east or west, wat affects one affects d other, abi no be d same US govt go fix d damages. Mtschew

You are right!Obama and Americans should repent now and return to God before it's too late!

I pray Romney wins so that anti-God,anti-life Obama would know what's up!

Yes!

I say this... said...

all those saying "and so" God will punish all of u, because u dnt have loved ones in the u.s bah? ediats!

You must be a pagan. Read ur Bible pls. Use ur head for constructive thoughts...

annonymous 4.36pm nmiri rikwa gi so bcos u dnt hv any of ur relation or a link to anyone abroad nt to talk of US is what mks u say an so what? after hearing d denger that is going to befall them soon?may d devil neve 4give u for dis olodo,may that flood eat u 1st heartless fool.

cld this be part of the Mayan prophesy or the "2012" movie prediction?...God be wif them tho...SB!

Saeid M. Teage said...

These are the signs that the Bible speaks about, this is to just tell us to make it right with our God, because we moving to the end of time. Jesus says come now or tomorrow will be too late.

Saeid M. Teage
Monrovia, Liberia

Halima said...

Amen. Got so many family members out there :(

Let us be watchful, this is to show that the end time is near.

They prepared for it and managed it WELLLL. Cameroon informed Nigeria months before that they were breaking their dams. All the other countries on the west coast line prepared for this hit but the so called RICHEST black African nation did not. SMH Nigeria i hail o

May God in His infinite mercy protect our people over there. This is scary indeed.

Hehehehe dont mind them...now they have access to the internet and can Finally see how things are in other part of the world and they Call it end times

Allah will not leave them bcox of the movie they did about the prophet(PBUH).
Anyway may God help them

God have mercy on his own. AMEN