President Jonathan Sacks Farida Waziri as EFCC Boss | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 23 November 2011

President Jonathan Sacks Farida Waziri as EFCC Boss

President Goodluck Jonathan this morning sacked the boss of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commision (EFCC) and announced Ibrahim Lamorde, a police officer and EFCC Director or Operations, as the new acting chairman of the anti-graft agency.

Ms Waziri was appointed chairman of EFCC in May 2008 by late President Yar'Adua and her tenure wasn't supposed to expire till may 2012. So erm, what did she do? Why the sack?

42 comments:

Here 'he' goes again..
Go-slow Ebele Jonathan

paparazzi said...

she refused to play ball, hence the sack.

Ques is..what didn't she do??..maybe she has been harassing some of GEJ's friends..EFCC is just one toothless bulldog anyway!!

She probably stepped on some huge toes or noticed some real misapropriation in the government beyond her comprehension.The GEJ government is the most corrupt government ever and that's why they want the fuel subsidy removed.If Farida's removal was founded on good and clear grounds.Then the government should let us know what she did wrong.Is there no transparency anymore?

good for her she has never concluded any case since her resumption idiot. we can now see the diff btw her and ribadu

I got a classified gist that Madam Waziri was foot-dragging on the investigation of Timipriye Sylva and was probably covering up certain info that she has in her possession apparently because she had been paid by Sylva. Learnt Mr President felt Waziri was undermining his authority in the Sylva's case.

I don't know how true this is.

"One" Ibrahim Lamorde? He's been running EFCC since Ribadu's tenure. There's nobody more competent for the job.

Atobatele said...

What exactly is wrong with this Goodluck guy? If i may ask, what's her offence? Now i agree that Goodluck is a PDP errand boy. Shameless President.

Igwe Osita One said...

Good Riddance to bad rubbish!!!

Atobatele said...

Has the President sacked the non-performing federal contractors who has been wasting our funds in the name of constructing non-sustaining roads with the FG being complicit? The sacking of Farida Waziri is a sack of no confidence and compliments by all standards. Or after the sack what next? Please, kindly leave me alone in my safe cabin of patient-faith and prayer.She probably stepped on toes. Victory over corruption will remain a mirage as long as the EFCC top officials remain in a shaky state. It's still the usual "follow Oga's orders" or else...I personally do not think Waziri Farida is our problem,the challenge facing nigeria is Goodluck jonathan himself.

Long Over due..all she does is wear designer frames, and let corrupt politicians walk free. Well Done Jono!

She was interfering in his 'girlfriend's' affairs...girlfriend come ask bobo wetin concine Waziri with her Austria abi na Australia mansion??? Guy gats to react na! Na dem sabi sha. Wat goes around comes around.

about damn time this spineless sunglasses wearing woman goes.

She was about to take them down. Idiot Jonathan and those stupid legislators.

The good, the bad, and now the good. This is just a roller coaster ride. Lets hope this sticks. A wise move Goodluck.

Na dem sabi. What irks me is dat after making much noise at d arrest of any corrupt person, we r not given any account of how d "recovered" funds were handled/spent! Who is fooling who sef!

very simple linda she was not performing her duty well shekena hope the new person would do better

long over due

Mena UkodoisReady said...

I would also love to know...

http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2010/06/dear-patriotic-streetsmart-nigerian-how.html

winnieuk said...

wow.dis is unbelievable

Really! this is serious o! Just seeing it on ur blog now Linda. I wonder wat happened?
ME

because 48 hours ago she said corruption was more than threat to nigeria than bokoharam , 48hours later the president sacked however i must say that was a very stupid comment to say.

gossipbabe said...

Jona Jona! she probably was'nt loyal again. she made a statement on d 22nd of nov.'unless there is a political will, it would be difficult to fight corruption in Nigeria'

dem sack her ... so as to pave way for the amendment of the EFCC law so accommodate plea bargain by Top offenders in the EFCC net like Dimeji Bankole and NAFADA ...

InofitShout said...

Sack kè? hmmmm wonder wonder!

augustivity said...

please he should state d reason for his actions.... nt a fran for efcc bt nigerian need to knw y e did what e did. and dis one e put a police man dere.. hmmm coughing

Oh my goodness, sorry Aunty.

augustivity said...

please he should state d reason for his actions.... nt a fran for efcc bt nigerian need to knw y e did what e did. and dis one e put a police man dere.. hmmm coughing

Son of Babylon said...

She was wack and there was no action from her tenure as EFCC boss. She probably took the most bribe anyone can take in that position. All her cases were already done by Nuhu Ribadu and she just took over the cases and yet no one was locked up or sentenced except Ibori who was caught abroad.

Ibrahim Lamorde is a gangsta and I expect a lot from him as EFCC Boss but then the game at that level is different compared to the 419 guys that Ibrahim is used to. Can you compare the bribe from a local fraudster to the one offered by a Tinubu caliber?

Sikiru Salami said...

Eventhough her stay in the anti-corruption agency was quite uneventful compared to her predecessor's, the manner of Mrs Waziri's removal, to me, is unhealthy. I would be more comfortable with a situation where the EFCC is independent of the Presidency, and possibly only answerable to the National Judicial Council. Trust Nigerian politicians, all the cases currently being prosecuted before her sack are forgone deals. Back to square one!
She hunted Ribadu; now time to be hunted!

Artful Dodger said...

Political appointment, political sackin'...d EFCC is the same broadway show wit different leads season 2 season, expect nutin new.

Sikiru Salami said...

Eventhough her stay in the anti-corruption agency was quite uneventful compared to her predecessor's, the manner of Mrs Waziri's removal, to me, is unhealthy. I would be more comfortable with a situation where the EFCC is independent of the Presidency, and possibly only answerable to the National Judicial Council. Trust Nigerian politicians, all the cases currently being prosecuted before her sack are forgone deals. Back to square one!
She hunted Ribadu; now time to be hunted!

What exactly do u folks want?When Gej sacks you complain,he keeps u complain!* hisssss* abeg u pple should free d guy joo......leave him to do things his own way ah ah.he already told u pple that he is not a general or pharoah but he will govern his own way!simple

WELDONE GEJ,THAT WAS A GREAT DECISION. SHE SHOULD GO. WELDONE MR PRESIDENT.

Farida Waziri' hands were tied whl in d EFCC and @ least she brought up significant cases..
I tink more attention should be put on the 9igerian Judiciary for making MESS of all EFCC cases

luga owoski said...

Linda not everything look the way it seems..under the right circumstances ibrahim was suppose to have succeeded Nuhu as the efcc boss or have you forgotten in hurry how ribadu was sent to the national institute of police and strategic studies(NIPSS)in kuru near jos in plateau state for a nine month course(2007) which aid in his removal as the commission's chairman?...to me ever since yar'adua came to office,the incapacitation or removal of Ribadu has been on the agenda. Athough Yar adua frequenly talks about his seven point agenda. In truth it was an eight point agenda.
The (NIPSS) kuru gambit was perfect becase Ribadu himsef had looked forward to going for the course as part of his ambition to be the iG (as the qualification is a pre requisite) but he had thought he would be going there still as the EFCC chairman. While the decisioN was taken to send him on the course it was also agreed that nothing directly would be said about his status with the EFCC except to appoint an acting chairman in person of Ibrahim lamorde but we all knew the end of the story.. Eight months After he was dispatched to kuru nd 3months B4 his expected graduation, the police service commision(PSC) announced the demotion of Ribadu alongside 139 other police officers. The PSC stated that the earlier promotion of this officers did not follow 'due process'..How can anyone ever justify rewarding a brilliant performance with multiple demotions?....the guy was promoted frm ACP to commissional of police(CP) on dec 12 2006, nd four months later he was promoted 2the rank of AIG...RIBADU was bin decorated based on his deligience nd I wonder why the PSC never said a word when this promotions were announced. Ironically the then IGP okiro was also a beneficiary of such double promotions. Why didn't the PSC retroactively reverse Okiro's double promotion which he earned when he moved from a commissioner of police to deputy inspector general of police thus jumpin the rank of ASP under the same president who promoted Ribadu twice(obj)....we all know this actions was taken in bad faith to get at Ribadu and EVEN though the IG nd yar adua had told the country that Ribadu's absence from the EFCC would be temporary, it later became clear that they had decieved the nation as the president lerra removed Ibrahim lamorde who acted as chairman after Ribadu left for kuru while appointing Mrs farida waziri as the substantive chairman of the commission... Sikiru I concurr johr What goes arounds comes around my brova!

steezz.com said...

i see forces against special court for money laundrying at work here.

Mbieri Diva said...

@ Son of Babylon, i totally agree with your second sentence! i gather she was more corrupt than corruption itself.

"Hired today Fired tomorrow" dats the way it is in 9ja government. no job is permanent.

how can you appoint a theif to watch over theifs. thats thge problem with nigeria. this woman shouldnt have been appointed in the first place if records of appointee are carefully scrutinized. waziri is was and will always be a corrupt person. he did it with 419 people at milverton where he enriched herself.419 people were paying homage to her which explains her ties with ikedi ohakim of imo state. she is a theif and efcc has been ineffective under her reign. all she does is come out on the pages of newspaper and prosecte people. tell me how many cases hhas been finalised since her appointment. she need to be prosecuted too.

Uchyyy said...

Nigeria is terrible corrupt! The evil is getting worse by the second..... Help us Oh Lord; we are truly fed up with all these hide and seek game our leaders are playing with us!

Jonathan, please repent! The poor masses trusted and voted you in out clear sympathy but we have never felt you atall.... Please repent!!!

Since the inception of the EFCC, about 1500 arrests have been made. Most of those arrested have been high profile members of our society; Bankers, Governors, Government officials, and other high ranking business officials. These officials have been charged with stealing or misappropriating billions otherwise meant for safeguarding the future of our children. The truth is such large volumes of high profile arrests had never happened in the history of Nigeria.

A situation where Nigerians are being held to account for their activities while in executive authority opened a doorway for a better more hopeful Nigeria. Anyone who would say that these arrests are wrong is evidently on the wrong side of the Nigerian people. At this point in time while most Nigerians can't get a job, provide for their families or even get a loan to actualize their dreams, the government is Knocking down the likes of Farida Waziri charged with protecting the sovereignty of the Nigerian people.

I recall the prosecution of Halliburton an American oil company. A case in which Dick Cheney, an American vice president was charged. This again is unheard off.

Am I, a well-meaning Nigerian supposed to simply discount all these and numerous achievements to a firing with no reason?

Financial crimes in Nigeria accounts for the 90% of the problems we face as a nation. 70% of this problems stems from irresponsible governance. The remaining 30% is because the average Nigerian is unable or unwilling to stand up to bad governance.

Nigerians must resist all decisions that aim to set free all those who have stolen the dreams and futures of our children.
EFCC's prime responsibility is to arrest and make charges on suspicion of financial crimes. It is not and has never been
the responsibility of EFCC to circumvent the courts. In that regard, EFCC has been very successful by any standards.
If the courts fail to imprison those arrested, then the real problem is with the court system and NOT Farida or EFCC.

Nigerians need to understand what is being lost by this firing and need to make a statement, for or against.

In the years following Farida, I noticed a wave of fear following the perpetration of financial crimes in Nigeria right down to the local government level. It is worth noting that those who are happy with the firing are the criminals and those who may now continue to steal our children’s future with impunity.

I feel the actions taken by the Jonathan Goodluck government in the removal of the EFCC chairman and the manner prescribed is not just plain wrong, but also morally criminal and it sets a dangerous precedence in the realm of fraudulent economic activities.

In summary, It is my belief that the firing of Mrs. Farida Waziri is both ill-advised and detrimental to the fight against corruption in Nigeria. Over here in the US, it is criminal to fire a public official without giving a valid reason. Such acts when perpetrated are intended to demean and set as an example.

At a time when qualified Nigerians are jobless and our elected & executive officials continue to siphon billions into their personal accounts, the Goodluck Jonathan government has chosen to declare that the legacy left by Mrs Farida Waziri is bad and should not be emulated. Mrs. Farida Waziri’s legacy is one that suggests that financial criminals perpetrated during or after the tenure of an official may very well be used to bring him or her to trial.

Modi