Nigerian Taxi Driver Killed In Ireland | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 25 November 2011

Nigerian Taxi Driver Killed In Ireland

Moses Ayanwole
A Nigerian taxi driver, Moses Ayanwole (41), married with a child and based in Hartstown, west Dublin, Republic of Ireland, has died after being attacked in his taxi by a passenger at about 12.30am on Monday Nov 21.

Moses was punched in the head, and he fell heavily on to the ground as his taxi was parked on Pearse Street near Erne Street junction. After the attack, he fell into a coma and died yesterday at St. James’s Hospital in Dublin after suffering serious head injuries.

It is believed that a large group of people flagged down the taxi, but the victim told them he could not take them all. There was a brief discussion and the group got out of the car and flagged down another taxi. But one man stayed behind and exchanged words with the taxi driver. As he was leaving, Mr. Ayanwole was punched and fell.

His attacker, a 20 something yr old, was initially arrested and released without charge, but with Ayanwole's death, police are planning to re-arrest him on manslaughter charges. A post-mortem will be carried out to pinpoint the exact cause of death.

14 comments:

Brazil: a new magnet for European immigrants said...

May his soul rest in peace. Driving taxis is one of the most dangerous things a person can do...

Veronica said...

**fuming seriously** ahn ahn! dis is becoming too mcuh now! first na one story of taxi driver wey die for UK (abi na US?) now na for dublin anoda one dey die...

y'all shld just come back home joooorrrr

Atobatele said...

The attacker was released without any charge. What a waste in anoda man's country. It's high time FG found solution to this kind of issue, its getting too much.

Don't like Ireland..not as freindly as people are making them out to be..with their economy going south...they would pick on the usual suspects..IMMIGRANTS!!..R.I.P..another taxi driver lost..remember the one in Washington!!

Amaka's Notepad said...

Eyah, poor guy

Another of ours killed just like that! Nigerians pls come home, it is better u re among ur own people however good or bad than for foreigners slaughtering u in their lands like sheep
ME

grace said...

lol@ME its not like life in nigeria is all rosy! i understand ur point but nawa oo with the rate nigerian taxi drivers are killed i wonder what is wrong with the world.

Pyrexzy said...

wat ar d American Government doin abt it? Goodluck i tink u dey hia nw, if to say na whites wey die hia like dat we 4 don begin dey hia difrnt stories oooo hmmmm.

May his soul rest in peace. You all say come home come home. What do we come home and do? At least some of the countries give us the opportunity to make a living and feed our children. Too much suffer in Nigeria. If you no get connection for Nigeria, count your self unlucky.

The truth of the matter is, with the global economic meltdown, all these white/western societies are becoming more hostile towards immigrants. Even here in the U.S, a country that came to be as a result of migration from around the world has long lost its hospitality. The minute you open your mouth and they hear your accent, they treat you like shit.

A time is coming when the hostility towards foreigners in western societies will become so unbearable, that immigrants will not feel safe living amongst the local indigines anymore. I don't know about you but I rather die in my home country where I have my loving family members than die abroad. Very soon, advanced countries will start tightening their borders by making it near impossible to get a visa. If our african leaders don't wake up and put our house in order, they will be in for a rude awakening. Due to the sagging economy, white people don't want we Africans coming to their countries anymore to share in their diminishing resources and jobs. If you live abroad, kindly gain your education, save your money, build a house in Naija and see if you can start a business. That is the smart way to go except if you prefer to be treated like an unwelcome nuisance in another man's land and thereby tragically loose your life in the process.

at Pyrexzy, Ireland is not America. Get a Map!

this is so sad Linda, we attend d same church and also in the same department (choir)a very quite,humble man, to think i saw him on Sunday,
God please strengthen his wife and son IJN

Anon 4.45 said...You all say come home come home. What do we come home and do? At least some of the countries give us the opportunity to make a living and feed our children.

I said...
nuff 9jas that live abroad like uttering this words..like as soon as u leave 9ja..u all abide by this convenant..
End of day..just because you get opporunities which is an illusion in the long run..doesn't mean you have to die there..open your eyes opportunties are abound..but just as u hustle abroad you have to hustle in 9ja..and who says UK/US ia not all about connections..depends on the level you playing at!!...wise up and open your eyes and as the saying goes don't leave all ur eggs in one basket!!..R.I.P

Andy said...

May his soul rest in peace. I am a taxi to Orlando airport driver too i know its risk in safely picking and dropping your passenger at destination by risking your life and also your lovely passenger life.